Skip to main content

Full text of "The Seventy-Fifth Anniversary History of Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine: A Condensed Record of the Courage, Convictions, and the Transcending Determination of the Early Osteopathic Pioneers, and those who have since Carried on their Concept of Better Healing and Health Care"

See other formats







THE HISTORY OF 

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE OF 

OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2011 with funding from 

Lyrasis IVIembers and Sloan Foundation 



http://www.archive.org/details/seventyfifthanniOOcype 



THE SEVENTY-FIFTH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY 

of 

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE 
OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE 



A Condensed Record of the courage, convictions, and the transcending determination 
of the early Osteopathic Pioneers, and those who have since carried on their concept of 
better heahng and heahh care. This is the Memorial Report of brave and brilHant 
Physicians and Administrators who overcame the bitterest trials, frustrations, and op- 
position in developing their new science of Osteopathic Medicine, and a magnificent 
new College and teaching Hospital complex in which to teach and prepare others to 

carry on their profession. 



By 
Cy Peterman 



The Kutztown Publishing Company, Inc. 
Kutztown, Pennsylvania 



Published by 

The Alumni Association 

of Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine 



Copyright June 1974 bv Ivan H. (Cv) Peterman 
Printed in USA 




SPE.'XCER G. BRADFORD 



PCOM Alumni Association 
Publication Committee Members 



Thomas M. Rowland, Jr., Exec. Vice Pres. PCOM 

Sherwood R. Mercer, Vice Pres. Educational Affairs 

WilHam B. Strong '26, President of Alumni Association 

Paul T. Lloyd '23, Alumni Assn. Historian 

Charles W. Snyder, Jr. '33, Alumni Assn. Secretary 

Galen S. Young '35 

Spencer G. Bradford '42, Chairman Publication Comm. 

Charles A. Hemmer '43, Alumni Assn. Treasurer 

Gustave V. Conti '53 

Alfred A. Grilli '48 



The preparation of this book was an exciting experience for all of us. We had a panoramic view 
of the birth, hardships, and growth of a great institution. We also had an inspiring encounter 
with the great but very human people who brought P.C.O.M. to its present prominence. 
We had the opportunity to observe a real professional, Cy Peterman, in action as a reporter and 
writer. 

The Committee knows where we came from, how we got where we are, and, out of that 
knowledge, has developed a strong conviction that P.C.O.M. will attain even higher pinnacles of 
greatness. 



Spencer G. Bradford, D.O., Chairman 
75th Anniversary Publication Committee 



To Friends and Alumni of P.C.O.M. 

The 75th Anniversary of this College, that has been such a large part of many of our lives, is a 
great occasion. I greet all of the Alumni, and wish that I could meet with each one personally. 

While we observe this Anniversary with pride, and with gratitude to those who made our 
successes possible, we also look ahead to even greater days for P.C.O.M., and to its pre- 
eminence among the schools of the healing arts in this country. 



Cordially, 

Frederic H. Barth 
President 



IV 



>T-r':w"t-w»''^'-''-'-"" '■ ' -1 1't i'^- ' "-J 



OFFICERS and BOARD OF DIRECTORS 
ALUMNI ASSOCIATION OF PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE 



1973-74 



OFFICERS 

President: Dr. William B. Strong '26 



14 East 60th Street 
New York, N.Y. 10021 



TERM 

EXPIRES 

1974 



Vice 

President: Dr. Richard S. Koch '38 



110 West Uth Ave. 
Olympia, Wash. 98502 



1974 



Elect 

President: Dr. J. Marshall Hoag '34 



40 East 61st Street 
New York, N.Y. 10021 



1974 



Immediate 

Past 

President: Dr. Robert J. Furey '52 



Secretary; Dr. Charles W. Snyder, Jr. '33 
Treasurer: Dr. Charles A. Hemmer '43 
Historian: Dr. Paul T. Lloyd '23 



307 East Orchid Road 
Wildwood Crest, N.J. 08260 

2225 Spring Garden St. 
Philadelphia, PA 19130 

202 Plush Mill Road 
Wallingford, PA 19086 

Glenhardie Apartments 
9 Anthony Wayne House 
Drummers Lane, Wayne, PA 19087 



1974 
1975 
1975 



DIRECTORS 

New England District (2) 

Dr. Harrison F. Aldrich '61 



Dr. Bruce A. Bochman '56 



Main Street 

Unity. Maine 04988 

15 Lionel Avenue 
Waltham, Mass. 02154 



1975 



1974 



New York District (3) 

Dr. Gustave V. Conti '53 



Dr. E. DeVer Tucker '27 



Dr. John J. Lain '35 



5 Fairmont Blvd. 
Garden City, N.Y. 11530 

112 Knowlton Ave. 
Kenmore, N.Y. 14217 

40 E. 61st Street 
New York, N.Y. 10021 



1975 
1974 
1976 



New Jersey District (3) 

Dr. Michael Sutula '59 



Dr. Robert S. Maurer '62 



Dr. William B. Wilson '32 



841 Galloping Hill Rd. 
Union, N.J. 07083 

1025 Green Street 
Iselin. N.J. 08830 



102 South Maple Ave. 
Ridgewood, N.J. 07450 



1975 
1974 
1975 



Pennsylvania District (5 - not more than 1 from any one county) 
Dr. Robinson G. Fry '56 

Dr. Galen S. Young '35 

Dr. George S. Esayian '39 

Dr. Aaron A. Feinstein '42 

Dr. Alfred A. Grilli '48 

Middle Atlantic and Southern District (2) 
Dr. Alexander D. Xenakis '56 

Dr. John A. Cifala '45 



Middle West District (2) 

Dr. Otterbein Dressier '28 



Dr. Henrv Salkind '56 



Far West District (1) 

Dr. Frederick M. Wilkins '55 



Alumni Office 

Mr. Paul J. Gebert 
Executive Secretary 



1319 Hamilton Street 
Allentown, PA 18102 

2300 Providence Ave. 
Chester, PA 19013 

113 North Ambler St. 
Quakertown, PA 18951 

Barth Pavillion • City Line 
Philadelphia, PA 19131 

5477 Steubenville Pike 
Pittsburgh, PA 15244 



333 N.W. 44th St. 

Fort Lauderdale, Fla. 33309 

2778 N. 'Washington Blvd. 
Arlington, VA 22201 



Garden City-Ridgewood Hospitals 
6245 North Inkster Rd. 
Garden City, Mich. 48135 

3415 Fifth Avenue 
Youngstown, Ohio 44505 



Phoenix General Hospital 
1950 Indian School Road 
Phoenix, Ariz. 85015 



PCOM - 4150 City Avenue 

Philadelphia, PA 19131 

PHONE: Area code 215 - TR7 - 6676 



1975 
1975 
1974 
1976 
1976 

1974 
1976 

1975 
1974 

1975 



CONTENTS 



Chapter I First Decade 1899-1909 

A Brave Beginning page 1 

Chapter II First Decade (Continued) 

A Tradition Begins page 12 

Chapter III Second Decade 1909-1919 

Rugged Candidates in Rough Times page 20 

Chapter IV Third Decade 1919-1929 

The Terrific Twenties page 32 

Chapter V Fourth Decade 1929-1939 

A Period of Trials and Triumph page 49 

Chapter VI Fifth Decade 1939-1949 

Out of Depression Into War page 61 

Chapter VII Sixth Decade 1949-1959 

A New Era of PCO Expansion page 79 

Chapter VIII Seventh Decade 1959-1966 

The Turbulent '60's page 90 

Chapter IX Seventh Decade (Continued) 

New Building, New Horizons page 104 

Chapter X The 1970's 

Fulfillment and New Challenges page 113 



ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS 
In the research and gathering of material for this 75th Anniversary History of 
PCOM, the author wishes to express his thanks for their help to the following: 
Dr. Spencer G. Bradford, Chairman of the History Committee; Dr. Paul T. Lloyd, 
Alumni Association Historian; Dr. J. Ernest Leuzinger for memorabilia and 
material; Dr. Sherwood R. Mercer, Dean Robert W. England, Dr. Charles W. 
Snyder, Jr., Dr. William F. Daiber, Dr. Galen S. Young, Dr. Joseph F. Py, Dr. 
Albert F. D'Alonzo, Dr. Eleanor V. Masterson, the Alumni Office and its Ex- 
ecutive Secretary, Paul Gebert, the Public Relations Department for 
photographs, and the helpful secretaries who searched the files. Also my thanks 
to Barbara Peterson, Associate Editor of the AOA Publications for early material 
in AOA files. 



CHAPTER I 



THE FIRST DECADE, 1899-1909 
A BRAVE BEGINNING 



The decision to found the Philadelphia College 
and Infirmary of Osteopathy was reached after 
several lengthy discussions between two mature 
teaching-students at Northern Institute of 
Osteopathy in Minneapolis, Minn, during the winter 
of 1898. Of widely different backgrounds, both men 
had been attracted to the recently launched science 
of osteopathic healing because of its salutary effects 
upon close relatives. Moreover, each was well en- 
dowed with talent and the gift of communication in 
an era of great orators, evangelists, and persuasive 
writers. Without microphone, radio or television the 
voices of Billy Sunday, William McKinley, Teddy 
Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson and the sonorous 
sentences of William Jennings Bryan reverberated 
across America. And they had plenty of company, 
whether at July 4th picnic celebrations, poHtical con- 
ventions, or in the great tents of religious revival 
where silver-tongued speakers delivered the message, 
person to persons. 

Of such magnitude was the Rev. Dr. Mason Wiley 
Pressly, a fiery Presbyterian minister from Coddle 
Creek, N. C. with degrees from Erskine College and 
Princeton Theological Seminary along with honors 
m literary composition and oratory. He was about to 
spouse osteopathic therapeutics as a second profes- 
sion. Dr. Pressly at age 39 would receive his D.O. 
degree shortly after making the compact with his 
younger partner, Oscar John Snyder, who at 31 
would finish a year later at the Northern Institute of 
Osteopathy with the class of 1899. 

Dr. Snyder, whose parents were of German im- 
migrant background, was born in St. Louis in 1866. 
When he was two years old the family moved up 
river to Buffalo county, in western Wisconsin, just 
above Winona, Minn. At 14 Oscar left the farm and 
entered Winona State Normal school, graduating in 
three years to accept a teaching position in Winona 
schools. Six years later he took up science and a par- 
tial medical course at Columbian (now George 




DR. 0. J. SNYDER 
CO-FOUNDER 



Washington) University and earned a Master of 
Sciences degree. Entering Federal government serv- 
ice he was for five years a Special examiner in the 
U. S. Pension Bureau. 

During this period he first learned of the new 
Osteopathic therapy and persuaded his sister, 
diagnosed as suffering from atrophy of the optic 
nerve and doomed to blindness, to undergo 
manipulative treatment. In one and one half years 
her sight was completely restored, and Dr. Snyder 
began studying for his D.O. at Northern Institute of 
Osteopathy. 

Meanwhile Dr. Pressly had completed his 
physiology and hygiene teaching contract, passed the 
final term examinations, and received the D.O. from 
the Institute in the Spring of 1898. He immediate- 
ly set about founding an osteopathic college of his 



own, and daringly chose Philadelphia, the recognized 
medical teaching center of the country, for its loca- 
tion. 

A shrewd and practical organizer, Dr. Pressly un- 
derstood the value of contacts and a popular follow- 
ing when launching an educational institution. He 
knew Philadelphia's history as a healing center and 
refuge for the migrant Acadians in early Colonial 
days, and of its later hospitals and care of Civil War 
casualties. He earlier had served four years as pastor 
of the Old North Presbyterian Church at 6th and 
Green streets in the Northern Liberties section of the 
city. He had held pastorates in New York City and 
State, also at Sewickley, near Pittsburgh, and later in 
Hamilton, Ohio. He was widely known both as 
preacher and teacher, and throughout his connec- 
tion with PCIO continued to fill pulpits as he prac- 
ticed. He became in turn moderator of the 
presbyteries in New York, Philadelphia, and Ohio, so 
dynamic was his sway. 

He also had the advantage of the year's instruction 
during 1897 when he enrolled as a student, while 
also serving as professor of physiology and hygiene 
in the American School of Osteopathy in Kirksville, 
Mo. There he became a favorite of the founder and 
originator of the osteopathic concept. Dr. Andrew 
Taylor Still. Dr. Still found the erudite Pressly a 
fascinating medium of conveying the idea of os- 
teopathic therapeutics to the public, and they had 
many long talks during walks in the woods. These 
conversations with the 'Old Doctor' also helped 
qualify Dr. Pressly for the organizational spadework 
in getting PCIO under way. It was to be the twelfth 
osteopathic college to be launched since Dr. Still's 
A.S.O. in Kirksville opened in 1892. 

During his sojourn in Kirksville, where Dr. Press- 
ly had originally taken his invalid wife, the mother of 
his five children, to be treated, he made a thorough 
study and investigation of Dr. Still's revolutionary 
system of drugless therapy. He then made frequent 
lectures on the new method of treating illness, and 
also became pastor of the nearby Cumberland 
Presbyterian church, where his sermons often 
received press coverage. He attracted such crowds 
that a larger church was constructed, while at times 
he preached in the Memorial hall of the A.S.O. 
through the courtesy of Dr. Still. All this brought 
wide publicity not only for Dr. Pressly, but for os- 
teopathy and its success with patients who flocked 
from all over the East and Middle West after full 
page articles appeared in the Chicago Sunday Times- 



Herald, Albany N.Y. Knickerbocker Press, and the 
New York Journal, and were carried over the 
Associated Press wires. Dr. Pressly was interviewed 
repeatedly after lectures, and became in fact a 
leading spokesman for Dr. Still's manipulative 
therapy that brought relief, and generally full health, 
to victims of accidents, of disease and serious illness. 

PRESSLY A DYNAMIC ADVOCATE 

Characterized by the editor of the "Osteopathic 
Physician" as "a perfect dynamo of thought and 
energy for our new science and profession," Dr. 
Pressly also became associate editor of the "Journal 
of Osteopathy" published at the A.S.O., and wrote 
abundantly for each issue. When Dr. Still was asked 
to provide a definition of osteopathy for the Century 
Dictionary, the 'Old Doctor' insisted Dr. Pressly 
write it, which he did. 

When the American School of Osteopathy at 
Kirksville issued its first catalogue. Dr. Pressly com- 
posed the chapter on osteopathy — forty pages of 
fluent, convincing exposition that evoked from the 
well known jurist of that period. Judge William M. 
Springer, a terse compliment: "It is a wonderful 
production; an argument of great power. It must at- 
tract medical writers and thinkers all over this coun- 
try." Later Dr. Pressly founded, edited, and wrote 
most of the material for "The Philadelphia Journal 
of Osteopathy" which sold 10,000 copies a month. 

With his background of honors and degrees, many 
post-graduate years of study at Princeton, Harvard, 
Oxford and the Sorbonne in Britain and France, and 
the theological prestige gained over twenty years 
service in the ministry. Dr. Pressly was in demand as 
a speaker from coast to coast. In Butte, Montana, he 
received $100 and all expenses for a lecture on os- 
teopathic therapeutics — an important fee in the 
1890's. While at Northern Institute he lectured to 
overflow audiences in the St. Paul Opera House and 
the Courthouse auditorium in Hastings, Minnesota. 
He was making as much as $200 for a few hours he 
could spare from teaching and study at the Institute, 
to devote to his practices in Hastings. His mail was 
deluged with inquiries about the new healing art, 
many from young men and women desiring to study 
and qualify as practitioners. During the summer of 
1898 Dr. Pressly made preliminary arrangements for 
launching the college in Philadelphia, but he did not 
actually settle there until January 1, 1899. By then 
he had two rooms in the new Stephen Girard office 
building, 21 South 12th street, in the heart of 




ANATOMY DISSECTION CLASS, 1908 
Shin-sleeved anatomy was the rule in PCIO's first decade at the 33rd and Arch Sts. basement laboratory here depicted. At center table (fit- 
tingly inscribed) the young man with long cigar watches as Dr. H. V. Durkee, '09 next to him, histology instructor, shows classmate Frederick 
Beale how to proceed. At third table are, left to right. Prof William S. Nicholl, Dr. John Warren, '08, and Dr. Ira Drew '11. Dr. Nicholl. a 
Kirksville alumnus, was many years a leading PCIO Faculty member. 



Philadelphia's business and professional district. 
Thus strategically located, he used one office for 
practice and the other for teaching and clinical 
demonstration. His first two patients became 
students; the first term enrollment was officially 
given as seven in the hand written records of that 
beginning. Five of these dropped out, two graduated. 
It was urgent that official registration be obtained 
for the new institution, so Dr. Pressly, finding no 
legislation on the subject in Pennsylvania, went up 
to Trenton, N.J. There, by virtue of the provisions in 
"an Act of the Legislature of the State of New 
Jersey," he succeeded in having the Philadelphia 
College and Infirmary of Osteopathy legally incor- 



porated on January 24, 1899. That is still the official, 
historic date of the birth of PCOM. 

There were other fundamental requirements, not 
the least of which was the recruiting and paying of a 
faculty. At the outset, however. Dr. Pressly did the 
teaching himself. He had held a professorship in 
physiology and hygiene, and had also lectured in 
anatomy at Northern Institute. He was proficient 
likewise in the subject of osteopathic therapeutics 
lecturing both in class and during the continuous 
debates that crowded his schedule. A daily proces- 
sion of interested or skeptical medical doctors — and 
medical students — sought his explanations and ad- 
vice. Two of his first patients enrolled as students; 




PCIO ANATOMY LAB CLASS, CIRCA 1909-10 
A bricked basement room with five croivded dissection tables and a mixed anatomy class of men and women contains members of the Class 
of 1910. Note the professors and instructors backed against the ivallfor the photo. Illumination is by gaslight, students in lab gowns and aprons 
have barely elboiv room but all are intent on their work. The College was located at this time at 1715 N. Broad St. in a two-domed former 
residence it occupied in 1908 and left in 1912. (Prof. Peter Brearley in bow tie against wall; Dr. John Cohalin dissects at second table from 
right) 



several M.D.'s intrigued by the new 'cult', also 
signed up. 

Dr. Pressly gradually became an information 
center for the Osteopathic profession, repeatedly ex- 
plaining to groups from Jefferson Medical College 
and the University of Pennsylvania's Medical School 
the fundamental concept of osteopathy as Dr. Still 
had impressed it upon him. In these discussions Dr. 
Pressly took the position that osteopathy offered a 
great new system to the healing arts; it should be 
regarded as a beneficial alternative, more than a com- 
petitor to traditional medical practice. His persuasive 
arguments did not always settle their minds, but dur- 



ing that first winter in Philadelphia he made progress 
in dampening down opposition from the entrenched 
medical forces that confronted the fledgling PCIO. 

PHILADELPHIA PRESS WAS 
GEl\EROUS 

Philadelphia newspapers were most generous 
toward Dr. Pressly and Dr. Snyder and their new 
College. During that first January the city editor of 
the Philadelphia Inquirer complained to Pressly of 
chronic nervous headaches from which he suffered. 
Under manipulative treatment Dr. Pressly achieved 
a complete cure. The editor responded by devoting a 



full page feature with demonstrative illustrations ex- 
plaining the osteopathic practice. The North 
American's editor was also a grateful patient. One of 
the earUest feature articles pubhshed on the College, 
its President Dr. 0. J. Snyder, and the Secretary- 
Treasurer M. W. Pressly, appeared Feb. 18, 1900 in 
the Sunday issue of the Philadelphia Times. This 
publicity served in large measure to prime 
Philadelphia, then the second city of the nation and 
conservative to the bone, into providing such a cor- 
dial welcome to PCIO and Osteopathy's educational 
introduction to the Eastern Seaboard. 

Dr. Pressly did not confine his advocacy of os- 
teopathy to Philadelphia, however. When D.O. prac- 
titioners in New York state sought legislative 
recognition. Dr. Pressly joined Mark Twain, the 
author-humorist whom he had met during his visit to 
Missouri, and they spearheaded a pro-osteopathy 
delegation in one of the hottest lobbying 
engagements ever heard in Albany. They did most of 
the talking. Eventually osteopathy won New York 
State recognition, but never would it have two more 
articulate sponsors. 

DR. O.J. SNYDER STATES PCIO'S CASE 

So the winter of 1899 passed and with Spring the 
first term examinations were given to the seven 
students, men and women, who came and went to 
Dr. Pressly's lectures and demonstrations. But on 
May 1 with the arrival in Philadelphia of Oscar John 
Snyder, a full fledged D.O. now by virtue of com- 
pleting his second and final year at Northern 
Institute of Osteopathy, there came fresh energy and 
wider scope to the Philadelphia College and Infir- 
mary of Osteopathy. Dr. Snyder immediately became 
President of the College, and Dr. Pressly assumed 
the offices of Secretary and Treasurer. Most of the 
preliminary bills would be paid by Dr. Snyder in this 
organizational process, but the combined income of 
the practicing partners revealed steep increase. The 
, cash receipts for their third month were $500; by the 
fifth month they took in $1,300. 

The "Osteopathic Physician" in reporting PCIO's 
beginnings noted in its "Gallery of Osteopathic 
Pioneers" in the October 1904 issue: "This joint 
practice has been a conspicuous success, amounting 
often to $2,500 a month. Drs. Pressly and Snyder are 
fast friends and work together like brothers . . ." 
Indeed, there is reason to believe that need for 
greater space in their practice, as well as the expand- 
ed program of instruction under Dr. Snyder's direc- 




MASON r. PRESSLY 
CO-FOUNDER 
tion, prompted a quick move of the College from the 
Stephen Girard quarters to approximately all of the 
sixth floor in the newly completed Witherspoon 
Building, Juniper and Walnut sts. It included use of 
the spacious Witherspoon auditorium where for thir- 
ty years or more, the College would hold its Gradua- 
tion exercises. 

Describing the facilities and newly acquired equip- 
ment. Dr. Snyder had told the Philadelphia Times for 
the Feb. 18, 1900 Sunday feature section: "We teach 
everything found in the curriculum of a reputable 
medical college. We feel that only the highest stand- 
ard of competency and excellence should be main- 
tained. To this end we have associated with us men 
of learning and skill who have absorbed the best, not 
only of osteopathic, but of medical training as 
well ... 

"Our corps of teachers consists of seven men and 
several assistant instructors, some of whom are 
women. There is a place for the fair sex in the prac- 
tice of Osteopathy — a place as high and noble as that 
occupied by men." He went on to list the first official 
faculty of PCIO: 

Dr. Snyder, President, also was instructor in 
Osteopathic symptomotology, therapeutics, and 
jurisprudence. Dr. Pressly, in addition to duties as 
Secretary-Treasurer, was instructor in physiology, 
philosophy and principles of osteopathy, hygiene, 
and dietetics. W.B. Keene, M.D., was instructor in 




FIRST ANATOMY DISSECTION ROOM 

This picture is among the earliest made by the emerging 
Philadelphia College and Infirmary of Osteopathy. It dates back to 
1905 and the first house, at 33rd and Arch Sts., occupied by the 
College. Classes were smaller and the students hung their coats and 
hats under the basement windows. Cadavres were hard to come by in 
those early beginnings. 



diagnosis, pathology, and surgery; Charles B. McCur- 
dy, D.O., instructor in chemistry, toxicology, 
urinalysis, and clinical microscopy; D.B. Macaulay, 
D.O., instructor in descriptive osteopathy and 
clinics; Dr. S. Prestion Carver, instructor in descrip- 
tive and demonstrative anatomy; and Dr. Phoebe T. 
Williamson, instructor in gynecology and obstetrics. 
All seven of this first faculty were rated professors. 

The College occupied a dozen rooms in the 
Witherspoon building, including the Snyder-Pressly 
offices overlooking Walnut st. Dr. Snyder's inter- 
view described the layout as "five operating rooms, 
one private office, one reception room, two large lec- 
ture rooms, and three laboratories located near the 
operating room. These were equipped with $3,000 
worth of necessities such as charts, mannikins, 
skeletons, and chemistry needs. 

Continuing, Dr. Snyder said: "The courses extend 
over four terms of five months each, at the expira- 
tion of which if the student has made required 
grades, he is graduated and given the degree of 
Diplomate, or Doctor of Osteopathy." 

The enrollment was eleven when PCIO began its 
second year's instruction in the Fall of 1899. Most of 
these were new students attracted by the improved 
location and a full time faculty. Of the original seven 
who started with Dr. Pressly's tutoring, two would 
continue and become the first graduates of the 
College. They were W. B. Keene, who had been a 
teacher-student the first year and continued to teach 
during his last terms, and Gene G. Banker, feminine 



D.O. who became active in alumni work. They 
received D.O. certificates after passing the ex- 
aminations in the Spring, and stand in PCOM 
records as the Graduating Class of 1900, first of the 
College. Although there were no graduation for- 
malities when Keene and Banker received their 
degrees, this did not diminish their pride and 
satisfaction at becoming the first alumni of the bud- 
ding College. 

ELEVEN GRADUATES IN 1901 CLASS 

According to an alumni listing in the College 
catalogue of 1910-11 there were eleven in the 
graduating class of 1901. From the published ad- 
dresses all but three were then practicing in 
Philadelphia or its suburbs. Dr. Rachel Read, 
however, had settled in Tokyo, Japan, and Dr. Ralph 
Davison had returned to Brockville, Canada, Dr. 
Frank B. Kann was in Harrisburg, Pa. Four of them 
had a part in organizing the Alumni Association and 
served as officers and members of its Executive Com- 
mittee. 

Before the second term of the 1901 college year 
has passed, students were gathering to discuss 
problems and hear advice and suggestions from the 
professors and the soon to be graduated senior 
classmen. This type of discussion with its exchange 
of ideas, an age-old heritage in campus life, led to the 
formation of the Neuron Society, organized Feb. 24, 
1902. According to the notes handed down through 
alumni generations, this society was "comprised of 
students and graduates of the College, to advance the 
welfare of the student body, and to establish a bond 
of fellowship among students, graduates, and faculty 
members whereby the success of the College may be 
furthered . . ." The Neuron Society was the 
forerunner of the PCOM Alumni Association. 

One subject that recurred during these formative 
years was the extent and propriety of promotion and 
self advertising among members of the healing 
profession. It was classified under the broad term of 
"ethics," but in notes left through the decades by 
history-minded professors and alumni, it seems to 
have been a deep concern among many osteopathic 
practitioners. As time passed, the hnes against it 
were drawn under increasingly stricter rules. 

The American Osteopathic Association meeting 
for its Fifth Annual Convention at Kirksville, Mo., 
July 2-3-4, 1901 voted to receive Philadelphia 
College and Infirmary of Osteopathy as a member in 
the newly organized Associated Colleges of 



Osteopathy. This first step into national osteopathic 
affiUation was doubtless proposed by Dr. Pressly 
because of his earlier association with Dr. Still. Both 
Dr. Pressly and Dr. Snyder made a point of attending 
A.O.A. conventions as delegates from PCIO. And Dr. 
Still was a perennial center of attention. 

During the Seventh Annual A.O.A. Convention in 
Cleveland, Ohio, July 15-18, 1903, Dr. Pressly 
opened the session "with a fervent and eloquent 
prayer," according to A.O.A. records. During the fi- 
nal day he delivered a learned summation of the im- 
pact and achievements of the new healing concept in 
a detailed paper, "Osteopathy as an Educational 
Movement; Past, Present, and Prospective." This 
paper created a profound impression at the time, and 
still makes interesting reading over its twelve pages 
within Volume 3 of the 1903-04 "Journal of the 
American Osteopathic Association." Dr. Pressly not 
only offered a federated plan of action for all 
Osteopathic Colleges spelled out in great detail; he 
also included many ideas since adopted through 
A.O.A. and the American Association of Osteopathic 
Colleges. 

During the closing session at Cleveland, delegates 
of the nine Osteopathic Colleges elected Dr. O.J. 
Snyder as their President for the ensuing year. Dr. 
Joseph B. Littlejohn, President of the American 
College of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery, 
Chicago, was elected Vice President. Dr. J.W. Ban- 
ning, then President of the Atlantic School of 
Osteopathy in Wilkes-Barre, Pa. became Secretary- 
Treasurer. All three represented the newest of the 
nine osteopathic colleges. After sessions at this par- 
ticular convention, tally-ho's were awaiting delegates 
outside the Hollenden hotel to take them touring 
Cleveland's spacious parks. The summer conven- 
tions provided opportunity for blossoming 
Osteopathic professionals — those in educational 
roles and those in practice from all over — to compare 
notes and exchange ideas. Aside from the toasts and 
speeches at banquets, entertainment was leisurely 
and without hazards unless some were jostled when 
the horses reared at the approach of a 'new fangled 
Horseless Carriage', during those park drives. 

The first formal Commencement took place in 
June 1902 for the third class to graduate from PCIO. 
It was held in Witherspoon Hall and Dr. Pressly 
presided. Again, this was a first for the College and 
its effect was reflected by the response from several 
of the graduates who contributed their time and gifts 
after establishing a practice. 



THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION 
ORGANIZED 

Shortly after the Fall term opened that year, 
graduates of the first three classes called a meeting 
with a view to "promoting the prosperity, and ex- 
tending the influence of their Alma Mater." It took 
place Sept. 8, 1902 and adopted an organizational 
plan that was the beginning of the PCOM Alumni 
Association. It has continued without a break to the 
present. 

Appropriately, one of the two original graduates, 
Dr. W.B. Keene, '00, was elected as first Alumni 
Association President. The Vice-President was Dr. 
Edward Burleigh, the Secretary-Treasurer was Dr. 
Harry E. Leonard. The Executive Committee con- 
sisted of Drs. Keene, Leonard, Gene G. Banker, 
Lillian Daily, and Ira Frame. Most of them remained 
actively involved in alumni affairs for several years. 
Dr. Banker, PCIO's first woman student, practiced 
in Germantown until the 1960's, died in 1969, a few 
weeks short of her 100th birthday. 

Dr. Keene continued for a time on the faculty 
where every volunteer was needed. In addition to the 
regular courses, night classes were also conducted 
until 1903, but then were discontinued. 

Another attempt at extension was the PCIO 
branch established in 1899 at 117 S. Virginia av., in 
Atlantic City. It proved an ill-advised effort 
hampered by distance, lack of promotion and 
without much demand. It was soon abandoned. 

It is interesting to note that PCIO was not at this 
time the only Osteopathic teaching institution in the 
East, or in Pennsylvania. During the Autumn of 
1898, a few weeks before Dr. Pressly arrived in 
Philadelphia, Dr. S.C. Mathews and Dr. V.A. Hook 
opened Osteopathic practices in Wilkes-Barre, Pa. 
After interesting several influential business leaders, 
they obtained a charter Feb. 21, 1899 for an 
organization they called the Atlantic School of 
Osteopathy. It opened classes that same February, 
and was soon overcrowded, so the directors bought 
an old church which was remodeled to accommodate 
the enrollment. The first class was graduated in 
February 1901 and numbered 26. By 1904 this coal 
country college had 184 graduates, but by then it was 
feeling PCIO's competition. So under its fourth 
President, Dr. C.W. Proctor, it was moved to Buf- 
falo, N.Y. It remained there several years but even- 
tually closed. 

As PCIO's curriculum expanded and the faculty 




PCIO'S EARLIEST TRACK TEAM, 1907 
Track and field athletics early became part of PCIO 's extra- 
curricular activities. Meets were held with teams from Hahnemann, 
Jefferson, Temple, Medico-Chi. and Textile Institute. PCIO joined in 
promotions that brought famed runners like Paavo Nurmi, the 
Finland star. Joie Ray and Charley Paddock as attractions. From 
1906 into the I920's PCIO was a formidable entry in Philadelphia 
indoor and outdoor meets, including the Penn relays. 

Included in photo, back row, 2nd from left. Dr. William Furey 

'06; 3rd from left. Dr. Fred Beale, '09, who became team physician 

for Frankford Yellowjackets and Temple University's athletic 

squads: and 4th. Dr. George Graves, '06. Dr. Dickie Richardson is 

seated, front, at left. 



increased in number and professorships, its enroll- 
ment slowly increased. By 1902 it was 16; by 1904 25 
students were attending both terms. There were 23 
matriculating students by 1906 but not until 1910 
did first year enrollment go above 30. By 1912 there 
were 44 candidates for D.O. but the ensuing World 
War I cut all higher education enrollment severely 
until the 1920's. Then it rose steadily until a 
matriculation of 84 in 1927 topped PCIO's registra- 
tion for that decade. 

Little, however, has been recorded on tuitions 
charged in those early days. However, there was an 
assumed obligation upon graduates to contribute to 
the College once they were in practice and earning. 
From more prosperous D.O. candidates tuition was 
expected, and the prevailing figure, given in adver- 
tisements in the September 1904 Journal of the AOA 
by Pacific School of Osteopathy, South Pasadena, 
Cal., and Atlantic College of Osteopathy in Wilkes- 
Barre, was $150 a year. PCIO followed this tuition 
schedule. Student board and room for three years 
was commensurately manageable. 

Of more interest was the method devised for pay- 
ing faculty members. When Drs. Snyder and Pressly 



organized PCIO they recognized that with initially 
low enrollments income from tuition and fees would 
scarcely pay the rental and cost of facilities. The 
Charter therefore provided for a profit bearing Cor- 
poration with 200 shares of stock, its par value put at 
$100. 

This stock was proffered instead of cash for the 
payment of professors and instructors, and was com- 
puted at the rate of $3 per hour of teaching time. 
When the teacher had completed 33 hours of in- 
struction, he or she would receive a certificate for 
one share of PCIO stock. Since the stock paid no 
dividends it was not easily negotiable, if at all. As a 
result of this arrangement, the cash outlay for 
college instruction was nothing. 

During the early, formative years when the 
College was undergoing location and organizational 
changes, there was tacit acceptance of such payment 
in stock. The faculty members, many being freshly 
graduated from the College or still taking courses to 
qualify for their D.O.'s while they instructed, were 
content with the arrangement. They also understood 
that income from a small enrollment would scarcely 
pay more than housekeeping expenses. All of them 
came out determined to embellish and promote the 
College reputation and establish osteopathic 
therapeutics as a viable addition to the art of healing. 
After they had set up in practice many contributed to 
what was the earliest clinical experience offered by 
the College. 

In 1903 PCIO moved from the Witherspoon 
building, across the Schuylkill into a large stone 
dwelling on the northeast corner of 33rd and Arch 
streets. The College had quickly outgrown the sixth 
floor accommodation in the midcity structure erected 
by the United Presbyterian Church as its national 
headquarters. A chief requirement was space for the 
college anatomy laboratory. During the period 1902- 
05 several new and capable physicians were added to 
the faculty. Dr. James E. Burt, an MD. who hke a 
number of others had decided to add the osteopathic 
technique to his allopathic preparedness, earned his 
D.O. in 1902 and remained at the College to teach 
diagnosis and dissection. During 1903 he became 
PCIO's first Dean, holding the position for one year. 
He was succeeded by Dr. Charles W. McCurdy his 
'02 classmate and alumnus, who served as Dean from 
1903 through 1908. while continuing to teach five 
subjects. Dr. John Carter was the third PCIO 
graduate to remain at the College as a faculty 
member. 



The PCIO Alumni injected plenty of spirit at the 
Third annual dinner of the Philadelphia County 
Osteopathic Society held Jan. 27, 1905, in the 
Colonade hotel. Dr. Ira S. Frame, then Alumni Presi- 
dent, ran the meeting at which Dr. E. R. Booth, Cin- 
cinnati's historian-physician, was guest of honor. He 
had delivered the first term graduation address the 
previous day. Dr. Frame spoke on "Let us rise to the 
occasion," predicting that osteopathy would prevail 
over its opposition because it offered what other 
medical practice could not provide. At this meeting 
the former Dean, Dr. James E. Burt, announced he 
was moving to offices in New York's Hotel Norman- 
die. The new Dean, Dr. McCurdy, delivered an 
amusing talk on the profession's lighter side, and 
Drs. Pennock and Muttart also had short speeches. 
The latter would become PCIO's third dean by 1908, 
and would help usher in the College's second decade. 

DR. D. S. B. PENNOCK'S KEY ROLE 

In these early years there was also the influx from 
the Kirksville American School of Osteopathy. Four 
of them were to become key figures in the develop- 
ment and guidance of the College, especially in its 
critical first 20 years. Of these Dr. Charles J. Mut- 
tart, A.S.O. '02, was Chairman of the Department of 
Gastro-Enterology, and Professor of Osteopathic 
diagnosis. He became PCIO's third Dean in 1908 and 
held that post through 1911. Then Dr. Arthur M. 
Flack, one of his students and a PCIO graduate of 
'06, assumed the deanship. Dr. Muttart was a man of 
judgment and influence during the period after the 
founders turned the College over to its Faculty and 
Board. The second of Kirksville's contribution of 
teaching talent would be Dr. Ivan Dufur, who 
became Chairman of the Department of Neurology 
and Psychiatry. He remained on the faculty for many 
years, hosted an annual 'Dufur day' picnic for the 
students, meanwhile building up one of widest prac- 
tices, and establishing one of the area's most 
respected hospitals for mental patients. There was 
also Dr. Robert Dunnington, a highly regarded 
professor who could teach several subjects. The 
fourth but not least was the practical-minded and 
resolute osteopath-medic. Dr. David Sands Brown 
Pennock, a fighting Quaker from Lansdowne, Pa. Dr. 
Pennock, after getting his D.O. at Kirksville in 1901, 
earned his M.D. at Hahnemann by 1904. He steadily 
built up PCIO's Department of Surgery which he 
headed until his retirement in 1947. Without Dr. 
Pennock and his medical degree, the difficulties in 



establishing a comprehensive surgery department 
during those years of opposition, with long delays in 
the necessary legislation for the osteopathic profes- 
sion in Pennsylvania, would have been insurmount- 
able. Because he held an M.D. degree Dr. Pennock 
was able to purchase necessary narcotics, anesthetics 
and barbiturates without which no surgery could ex- 
pect to function. He was during the first twenty 
years of the College struggle an indispensable 
member of its faculty. 

Above all, he was a devoted O.J. Snyder disciple, 
his ardent admirer and supporter. Perhaps more than 
any other in the PCOM Gallery of Greats, Dr. Pen- 
nock helped to heal the wounds and retain the 
Hfelong good will of Dr. Snyder after a faculty revolt 
forced O.J.'s resignation with that of Dr. Pressly on a 
stormy August day in 1905. 

After the 1903 move to 33rd and Arch streets 
there were meetings among members of the 
Osteopathic profession which ultimately led to 
organization of the Philadelphia County Osteopathic 
Society. The voices of Dr. Muttart and Dr. Dufur 
were prominent in these proceedings. With others 
from the growing PCIO family, the Kirksville D.O.'s 
on the faculty joined in efforts by the newly ac- 
tivated Alumni Association with Dr. Snyder, in for- 
mulating a campaign for legislative action to 
recognize and fully accredit osteopathic practitioners 
in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The move- 
ment gained momentum under the driving energy of 
the College President, but it would take several more 
years and major changes in curriculum and an ex- 
tended, four year course of study before the Penn- 
sylvania Legislature granted full rights and creden- 
tials to Osteopathic practitioners. 

O.J. PLANS NEW COURSE- 
TAKES A BRIDE 

Dr. Snyder was under no illusions as to PCIO's 
problem in winning legislative support. The College 
was offering two years' study and clinical training 
whereas the medical colleges required three, and ul- 
timately went to four years before granting a degree. 
This disparity was used by PCIO's opponents during 
arguments in legislative hearings. Dr. Snyder worked 
toward extending the osteopathic preparation but 
many students, anxious to get into practice, resisted 
his suggestions. When he prevailed upon the Board 
and Faculty to try an optional three year course, no 
students signed up to take the extra year's work. 




STUDIO PHOTO OF PCIO GRADUATES IN SUi\DA Y BEST 

Among the earliest group photos made of PCIO students, this one of Richardson s collection jvas made in Jan. 1907. Top row: left to right, 
Earle S. Willard, D.O. and George B. Graves. Middle row: C.E. Smith, D.D.S.. Fred A. Beale. William A. Graves, D.O., Harry- M. Goehring, 
and Frank E. Zindie, D.O. Lower row: Leonard P. Bartlett, Martyn L. Richardson. Walter K. Hall, and Mason W. Pressly; Jr.. D.O. 



Some of the difficulties of PCIO's first ten years 
were recalled years later when Dr. McCurdy, return- 
ing to his Alma Mater recalled the rugged old days in 
an interview published in the first issue of the Osteo- 
pathic Digest, Oct. 30, 1927. As the College Dean 
from 1903 until 1908 he had gone through the cur- 
riculum and faculty improvisations that were neces- 
sary in those times. He told how four men consti- 
tuted the faculty, and how each was capable of teach- 
ing several subjects. He regarded upgraded stand- 
ards, and the requirement of four years of college as 
pre-medical qualification as absolute necessities. 



There was so much more to learn, and so many wish- 
ing to become physicians, that there must be more 
courses, and insistence upon students learning 
everything about the human body, he said. 

"The very fact this particular college and hospital 
is too small to cope with the demand, warrants more 
confidence and appreciation from everyone in the 
country," Dr. McCurdy said. PCIO then was in 
process of finding another campus, and a larger 
education and hospital structure to accommodate an 
increasing need for physicians and surgeons. It was 
an experience by 1920 it had repeated five times. Dr. 



10 



McCurdy, who had 50 years in teaching and practice, 
(twelve of them in Canada) deplored the predilection 
of doctors for becoming specialists. The osteopath he 
considered by training and tradition to be better ad- 
vised to apply his knowledge of the whole body, and 
treat its illness accordingly. He was pleased at the im- 
minent change at PCIO to higher standards and 
stricter enrollment requirements. 

A number of unexpected events would take place 
during the College sojourn at the 33rd and Arch sts. 
house, but students and faculty in 1904 had a happy 
surprise. Dr. O.J. Snyder, then in his 38th year, took 
attractive and talented Miss Aline Ambrose Cantwell 
as his bride. She was the daughter of the late Dr. G. 
Howard Cantwell, a Wilmington, Dela., medical 
physician. The wedding took place in the Central 
Congregational Church, where the bride was given 



away by her uncle J.W. Ayres, and the only attend- 
ant was the best man, Dr. Mason W. Pressly. Miss 
Cantwell had just been graduated with high honors 
from the Marshall Seminary. 

After a wedding breakfast at the Lorraine hotel, 
where Dr. Snyder resided, the couple departed upon 
an extended wedding journey. They traveled by 
railway with pauses in New York, Albany, Niagara 
Falls, Milwaukee, Chicago, and ultimately St. Louis, 
where they remained several weeks. Upon their 
return they took an apartment in the Belgravia. Later 
Dr. and Mrs. Snyder made their home at 300 N. 
Narberth ave., in Narberth. They would reside there 
throughout the Doctor's long life during which they 
would raise two sons and a daughter, and O.J. would 
become one of the most honored and respected men 
in the Osteopathic profession. 




EARL Y TRACK TEAM OF PCIO, TAKEi\ MA Y 25. 1 907 AND 

HANDED DOWN BY W. L. RICHARDSON, FRONT ROW, 

LEFT. OTHERS .\0T IDENTIFIED. 



11 



CHAPTER 2 



THE FIRST DECADE 
A TRADITION BEGINS 



The middle years of the First Decade for PCIO 
brought a mixture of frustrations, sudden crisis, 
and a change in administration. They also implanted 
a tradition of service. By the end of 1904 Dr. 
Snyder's discoveries and contacts within the profes- 
sion, and the growing need for general practitioners 
had determined him to campaign vigorously for legal 
recognition of the Osteopathic profession in the 
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. He would push for 
support of an Osteopathic bill in both Houses of the 
Legislature, while concurrently pressuring all areas 
of student and faculty resistance to extension of the 
course for the D.O. degree from two to three years, 
and ultimately to four. 

The astute President realized that, like it or not, 
the Osteopathic colleges must eventually meet the 
educational requisites of their Allopathic and 
Homeopathic rivals. It was clear the main objection 
at Harrisburg was the difference in the required 
years of preparation for the M.D. and D.O. He decid- 
ed PCIO mu t eliminate this disparity if possible, 
then try anew for legislation providing equal legal 
status. 

Dr. Snyder was prepared for what was to come. He 
realized there was as yet no precedent among the 
other Osteopathic colleges for expanding curricula 
and extending the course. All twelve institutions 
were offering two year courses of 36 weeks each 
year. He was also aware that such an extension of 
PClO's course would encounter strong objection, 
and probably outright rejection. During the last two 
AOA Conventions at Cleveland and St. Louis there 
was discussion pro and con, regarding standards and 
the advisability of longer courses. So he understood 
the problem was not PCIO's alone as one of the new- 
est Osteopathic colleges. It was also competing with 
long-established medical institutions. It was a pro- 
gression all Osteopathic colleges would eventually 
have to make. 



All this was fresh in the Founder's mind when he 
returned from St. Louis with his bride. During their 
honeymoon the couple had been fascinated by the 
Louisiana Purchase Exposition, a World's Fair 
spread over 1100 acres which during 1904 attracted 
20,000,000 visitors. It had welcomed the Eighth An- 
nual AOA Convention July 11-15, declaring July 2 
Osteopathic Day in honor of Dr. Still. By that time a 
revered hero in his home state of Missouri, where 
the long struggle for recognition and acceptance of 
his osteopathic concept was widely known, the Old 
Doctor was a center of interest to nearly 700 
Osteopaths at the Convention. Manv had journeyed 
from the east and west coasts to meet and talk with 
him. 

Reporting the St. Louis Convention, the Journal of 
American Osteopathic Association commented: 
"The presence of the venerable founder of 
Osteopathy, Dr. A.T. Still, was a source of 
delight to all present. The ovations he received 
whenever he appeared were a genuine and spon- 
taneous attestation of the loyal and loving es- 
teem in which he is held by his followers." 
A serious reappraisal of the Osteopathic educa- 
tional processes developed during the Convention 
debate on upgrading instruction, and extending the 
college course from two to three years. Most dele- 
gates agreed the longer course was a prerequisite to 
winning full professional rights and recognition 
throughout the country. Unfortunately, some at the 
colleges were not yet ready to accept such a major 
change, although their authorized AOA Education 
Committee had placed before the Convention a 
recommendation, agreed upon after considerable 
thought and communication with the heads of the 
colleges. The recommendation called for a man- 
datory three-year course of nine months per year. It 
provided for only one matriculation each year. This 
was a serious step, and generated vigorous support as 



12 




D.S.B. PENNOCK. MD.. D.O. 
PROFESSOR OF SURGERY 



well as determined opposition during sessions held in 
the Assembly hall of the Missouri State Building. 

Dr. Snyder and Dr. A.G. Hildreth, the St. Louis 
D.O. who had been appointed Chairman of the 
AOA's Convention Planning Committee, had fre- 
quent discussions during this debate. Both were to 
see much more of each other during PCIO's long bat- 
tle for an osteopathic statute, for Dr. Hildreth the 
next year became Chairman of the AOA Committee 
on Legislation. He gave experienced counsel to Dr. 
Snyder at all times, often coming to Philadelphia to 
help further the legislative campaign. 

There was plenty to oppose at the legal level in 
those emerging years of Osteopathic practice. A 
relentless element among allopathic physicians 
stopped at nothing to discomfort or disbar prac- 
titioners of the new therapy. The period from 1900 
into the 1920's was scarred by the arrest, trial and 
harrassment of osteopathic physicians for allegedly 
practicing without a license. Without exception 
those cases reported from 21 different States by Dr. 
E.R. Booth in his early "History of Osteopathy" 
resulted in dismissal of the charges, or failure of the 
prosecution to take the accused before judge or jury, 
Pennsylvania had its examples, too. 

In 1904 bills were introduced into New Jersey's 



Legislature to force every D.O. to take a state 
medical examination before he could practice. When 
it failed to get support, another was introduced in 
1905 giving osteopaths one member on the State 
Board of Examiners, but this also failed of passage. 
By 1913 the D.O.'s had won a seat on the Medical 
Examining Board, but were still denied the right to 
practice surgery. The only advantage coming from 
such maneuvers was the good publicity the os- 
teopathic profession frequently received and, con- 
versely, public resentment against the allopathic 
persecution of D.O.'s found to have achieved cures 
where other doctors had failed. 

In Delaware Dr. Arthur Patterson was the only 
practicing D.O., but a bill was quietly slipped into 
the Legislature in 1905 to prohibit any osteopath 
from being licensed. Dr. Patterson with his attorney 
rushed to Dover, had the bill recalled from the 
Senate, made amendments satisfactory to all. But a 
Dover optician with a private school for teaching 
errors of refraction of the eyes, again delayed the bill 
to include his privilege to confer a degree of "Doctor 
of Refraction" on his graduates. When all the doc- 
tors objected, the bill was killed by the Senate. 
Booth's record of such nationwide bushwhacking 
fills 65 pages. They illustrate what Dr. Snyder, 
Hildreth, and others after them contended with. 

AOA MANDATES 
THREE YEAR COURSE 

A clause in the Education Committee's recommen- 
dation caused the College delegates to report hastily 
when they returned to their respective campuses. It 
read: "After September 1, 1904 no Osteopathic 
college will continue to be recognized by the 
American Osteopathic Association unless it main- 
tains a course of not less than 36 weeks in three 
separate school years, and matriculates but one class 
each year." Moreover, the AOA's Journal had 
published Dr. Pressly's challenging paper 
"Osteopathy as an Educational Movement, Past, 
Present, and Future." 

The question of adopting a three year course was a 
surprise to many of the assembled D.O.'s, a majority 
of whom had not heard of it until then. Under AOA 
procedures of that era. all registered at the conven- 
tion were considered delegates, and permitted to 
vote. This nearly brought about a rejection of the 
proposal. In a subsequent review of the debate in the 
Journal of the AOA, a disappointed delegate wrote 



13 




THE COLLEGE AS IT LOOKED A T 33TH AND ARCH STREETS 



that, although the three-year course had been 
favorably received at the Cleveland Convention the 
previous year, it appeared to be a new idea to a ma- 
jority of the delegates at St. Louis. He blamed this on 
the big turnout from Missouri towns and nearby 
Mid-Western places, and urged that a system of 
authorized delegates representing the State 
Osteopathic associations and the Osteopathic 
Colleges be accredited as voters. 

As it turned out, the Education Committee's man- 
datory, three-year course recommendation was 
amended to postpone its implementation for one 
year. The vote was 139 to 111 in favor, a concession 
to the American School of Osteopathy in Kirksville, 
which had asked more time in which to prepare. A 
clause in the Education Committee's report had 
provided that no Osteopathic college would any lon- 
ger be recognized by the AOA unless it adhered to 
the extended course after September 1, 1904. Re- 
lieved at its postponement, the Convention adopted 
the first AOA Code of Ethics, then petitioned Presi- 
dent Theodore Roosevelt to appoint Osteopathic 



physicians to the medical, health and sanitary staff 
during Panama Canal construction, and adjourned. 

When Dr. and Mrs. Snyder returned to 
Philadelphia, a crowded agenda awaited the 
President's attention. Since there still would be the 
two-year course and two graduation groups in 
February and June, he determined to push an ex- 
panded curriculum with a larger faculty designed to 
meet the ultimate requirements of a three or four 
year program. This would reinforce the College's bid 
for Legislative action, he argued. Before the 1905 
College year began. Dr. Snyder and his staff were 
recruiting from the Graduates of 1902-03-04 who had 
gone into practice in Philadelphia and suburbs. Such 
was the spirit and enthusiasm of these alumni that 
during PCIO's first decade many became long term 
faculty regulars who contributed important time to 
teaching one or more subjects at their Alma Mater. 

As time passed and the enrollment grew, this tradi- 
tion of practice-and-teaching prospered both the in- 
dividual and the College, and included a percentage 
who graduated from Kirksville and other 



14 



Osteopathic colleges. As noted, Drs. Muttart, Dufur, 
Dunnington and Pennock were Kirksville (A.S.O.) 
graduates. Later there were to arrive Dr. William S. 
Nicholl, A.S.O. '05, who taught physiology, der- 
matology, and surgery; and Dr. Earle S. Willard, a 
brilliant man who taught five subjects and put in so 
much time that he became one of the leading PCIO 
stockholders. But the majority of the faculty 
members were recent graduates of PCIO, and some 
were destined to continue this teaching and practice 
routine throughout their professional careers. 

Prominent in this long-term category were Dr. 
William Otis Galbreath, PCIO '05, and Dr. Edward 
H. Fritsche, who put in over 20 years teaching 
physiological chemistry while practicing at 1824 
Girard ave. where he also did a great deal of 
laboratory work for other D.O.'s. Dr. Fritsche, 
graduating in 1908, was a tall, muscular man of great 
strength whose hands were ideally suited to the 
manipulative therapeutics those first decade 
pioneers practiced to the fullest. Among his patients 
were leading citizens, political leaders like W. 
Freeland Kendrick, who became Mayor of 
Philadelphia, and the popular actress of that genera- 
tion, Irene Bordoni. 

Personal recollections of Dr. Fritsche and Dr. 
Snyder and their tremendous capacity for work were 
supphed by a Drexel Hill, Pa. pharmacist. Dr. Daniel 
H. Hahn and his wife, Anna. Mrs. Hahn was Dr. and 
Mrs. Fritsche's daughter, born in 1906 who thus 
became that year's "class baby". The Hahns are 
among the very few remaining intimates of those 
rugged apostles of the emerging osteopathic system 
of healing. Their descriptions of Dr. Fritsche's busy 
lab, where the youthful Hahn sometimes helped with 
specimen tests, and the overflowing practice offices 
of Dr. Snyder at 16th and Chestnut sts., provide a 
microcosmic flashback upon the lives and 
achievements of these incredible professionals. Their 
dedication was not only to their College, but to os- 
teopathic medicine and its advancement to highest 
levels of healing. As new D.O.'s were graduated, a 
select number remained to carry on with their Alma 
Mater. 

A TEACHING DYNASTY OF OLD PRO'S 

It cannot all be described in detail, but to similar 
degree early PCIO groundwork was steadily supplied 
by men like Dr. Pennock, architect of the Depart- 
ment of Surgery. He continued at the College until 
1947 when he retired, having been from the time he 




xpo6 TxjliopiA^Toad Street 



helped obtain a Charter and organize the first PCIO 
Hospital, its Chief of Staff and Chief Surgeon. He 
made the department. Dr. Flack, another early talent 
who continued a long time with the College after 
graduating in 1906, took over the Dean's duties in 
1911, continuing until 1924, while chairing the 
Departments of Osteopathy and Pathology, mean- 
time. Dr. Frederick A. Beale, '09, became 
Osteopathy's first team physician and healer of 
athletes' injuries and ailments. He ministered to the 
early track and field athletes PCIO sent into competi- 
tion in meets with other medical colleges, including 
the prestigious Penn Relays each Spring. Dr. Beale 
went on to become team physician to the Frankford 
Yellowjackets, first Philadelphia professional foot- 
ball squad, and forerunner to the Philadelphia 
Eagles. He also devoted considerable time to Temple 
University's athletic squads, and became known to a 
youthful baseball and football player from Northeast 
Philadelphia who, while a Temple student, was to 
become interested and take up his Osteopathic 
medicine. The young man was J. Ernest Leuzinger, 
Class of 1924, and he would expand and modernize 
the Department of Laryngology, Rhinology, 
Ophthalmology and Otology begun by Dr. Galbreath 
fifteen years earlier. 

This tradition of long-term and dedicated service 
by Osteopathic teaching physicians would continue 
throughout the 75 year history of what would be 
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine. They 
passed on the good news of Dr. Still's manipulative 
therapeutics, they shared that knowledge with 
mature men and women students throughout the 
didactic and clinical phases of their Osteopathic 
education, continuing with many who became in- 



15 



terns and residents — and professors — through the 
years. As the story unfolds, facuhy members who 
also maintained prosperous, general practices out- 
side the many hours spent in lectures and lab in- 
struction, are revealed as twenty, thirty, even forty- 
year veterans, loved and respected by succeeding 
generations of students who achieved their D.O.'s at 
PCOM. And in many distinguished cases, the new 
D.O.'s picked up the veterans' professional batons to 
carry on, maintain and improve on the educational 
product. 

Among those who went on record in support of 
Dr. Snyder's extended course was Carl P. 
McConnell, D.O., Chicago, who had been elected 
President of the American Osteopathic Association 
at the close of its epic Convention at the World's 
Fair in St. Louis. His telegram to Dr. Snyder was 
quoted in the Philadelphia /ouraa/ of Osteopathy: "I 
am more than pleased to note your attitude regarding 
the lengthening of the Osteopathic course." Dr. 
Pressly, Editor of the Journal, supplemented the 
AOA President's approval with a vigorous article en- 
dorsing O.J.'s arguments for the three-year course. 
Thus PCIO became the first publicly announced 
College to favor the action taken at St. Louis project- 
ing longer educational programs toward the D.O. 
degree. When in 1906 the three year course was of- 
ficially adopted under the strenuous urging of Dr. 
Snyder, there was strong protest from the other 
Osteopathic colleges, all of which were eventually 
obliged to do the same. 

The legislative campaign had gained momentum in 
the meantime. With the newly extended course to 
support their presentation. Dr. Snyder and the Hon. 
J. M. Vanderslice, a jurist who was teaching medical 
jurisprudence at PCIO, headed a delegation that had 
support of Faculty members. Alumni leaders, and 
several political adherents who had come over to the 
osteopaths' side. These included friends from upstate 
districts where Dr. Frank Kann, '01, who had been 
practicing in the Scranton and Wilkes-Barre areas, 
and had generated widespread good will for the 
profession. The lobbying was much more effective 
and at last succeeded in getting a sympathetic hear- 
ing. Dr. Harry M. Goehring, '07, who became physi- 
cian for the Pennsylvania Railroad in Pittsburgh; 
and a Philadelphia ward leader, William Knight, add- 
ed political muscle to the PCIO cause. 

The debate, however, had the usual opposition 
arguments against granting licensure to physicians 
who had not completed as many years in preparation 



as their medical college counterparts. This time they 
declaimed against anything less than four years of 
medical education. They did not prevail during the 
1907 sessions, however, as both Houses of the 
Legislature gave majority approval to the 
Osteopathic bill. 

But once again the victory was denied. In a shock- 
ing anti-climax. Governor Samuel W. Pennypacker, 
whether by his own views regarding an examining 
board, or from influence exerted by the die-hard op- 
position, vetoed the measure. PCIO and Dr. Snyder 
had to begin all over their efforts for Osteopathic 
recognition. This time O.J. thrust his neck out all the 
way demanding that, "If you wish to get a bill 
through the Legislature and have it signed into law, 
it is absolutely essential we go to a four year college 
course, to be on equal basis with our medical 
brethren." 

LEGISLATURE LEGALIZES 
OSTEOPATHIC PROFESSION IN 1909 

And that is precisely the formula Dr. Snyder and 
an aroused PCIO administration and faculty, backed 
by the alumni, finally adopted. Within two years, at 
the opening of the Fall term in 1909, Philadelphia 
College and Infirmary of Osteopathy became the first 
Osteopathic college to present a full-fledged, com- 
pulsory four-year course of study to its students. As 
always, each year provided for nine months work. 

The way had been paved by submitting yet another 
Osteopathic bill to the Legislature in which Dr. 
Snyder's program was embodied. It provided for a 
three years' course at a recognized College of 
Osteopathy, and after Jan. 1, 1912 it would be a four 
year course, each of nine months, with a preliminary 
educational requirement of a first class four-year 
high school course. The Bill also provided for an in- 
dependent Board of Osteopathic Examiners, and this 
was specifically designed to head off further confu- 
sion with, or interference by the Medical examiners. 
Governor Stuart, still in office, signed the bill after 
its quick passage in both Houses, and thus 
Osteopathic medical practice became legal in Penn- 
sylvania. But there were still problems. 

Again the protests and bitterness rolled eastward 
from other Osteopathic colleges that offered less 
than a four-year course. This time the objections 
would have added root, for both New York and Penn- 
sylvania had enacted stricter licensing laws which 
stipulated four years of medical or osteopathic 
college education. Graduates of the three-year 



16 



colleges who expected to practice in either of these 
states were obliged to take the fourth year at PCIO. 
Some of the out-of-state graduates who had been 
engaged to teach at PCIO were also faced with taking 
what amounted to a post-graduate year with their 
employer in order to practice. 

The growing pains of an educational institution 
that started without financing other than what its 
two founders had saved, which owned no campus 
and occupied rented offices and private houses for its 
classrooms and laboratories, involving six locations 
and five major moves in its first 20 years, must of 
necessity have generated considerable other trauma. 
While the 33rd and Arch sts. building with its gas 
lighting left something to be desired, housekeeping 
difficulties were not the most grievous. One of 
PClO's worst crises developed from the unusual 
system of paying and holding an adequate faculty as 
enrollment increased and the curriculum expanded. 
It followed O.J.'s ultimatum on increasing the 
college course, and was brought to climax in a dis- 
pute over money. 

The original faculty was about to be enlarged by 
the addition of seven more teachers before the 1905 
Fall term began. Some of the new men had attended 
Dr. Snyder's meetings with alumni and faculty, start- 
ing with the previous December 18 when he pro- 
posed a three-year course. By the time Commence- 
ment was over and the summer vacation was on, 
there were rumors of a serious breach over the 
manner of faculty remuneration between several 
professors and the "top brass," meaning Dr. Snyder 
and co-Founder Dr. M. W. Pressly. They were not 
prepared for what would ensue. 

Dr. Snyder was much occupied with legislative 
lobbying in Harrisburg, leaving matters of payroll, 
salary negotiations and budget to the Secretary- 
Treasurer and his partner in general practice. Dr. 
Pressly. But Dr. Pressly, the tireless preacher, 
teacher, orator and physician had his own deep 
troubles: His invalid wife, the former Annie 
Clarkson Worth of Asheville, N. C, daughter of a 
socially and politically influential family, had passed 
away Sept. 19, 1904. Wed in 1883 the Presslys had 
two boys and two girls, the oldest. Mason Wiley, Jr., 
graduating in PCIO's 1904 Class. He took a post- 
graduate year at Kirksville in 1905, and returned for 
his fourth year in 1907 at PCIO, thus qualifying to 
practice in New York. Later he practiced 30 years in 
Tampa, where he died in 1946 at the age of 62. 

Details of the disagreement between the Ad- 




PCIO'S HOME 1908-12 
AT 832 PINE ST. 

ministration and the dissatisfied faculty members 
remained shrouded in rumor, supposition and 
hushed versions that lost credibility with the passage 
of time. It remained for one of the leading figures in 
the episode, an eye-witness and one of the negotia- 
tors for the faculty, to put it into the record nearly 
half a century later. The occasion was Founders Day, 
January 31, 1953, a program held in Irvine 
Auditorium of the University of Pennsylvania to ac- 
commodate the students and alumni. For this was a 
special Founders Day celebration: the O.J. Snyder 
Memorial Medal was being awarded by the College 
for the first time. 

The honored recipient was David Sands Brown 
Pennock, D.O., M.D., F.A.C.O.S., alumnus of 
American School of Osteopathy '01, member of 
PCIO's Faculty from 1904, retired in 1947 to become 
Professor Emeritus of Surgery, the man who had 



17 



been Chairman of the Department of Surgery since 
he organized it prior to World War I. On this 
memorable occasion he would deliver the first of the 
O.J. Snyder Memorial Addresses. 

Dr. Frederic H. Barth, new Chairman of PCO's 
Board of Directors, presented the Medal with an ap- 
propriate accolade for Dr. Pennock whom he praised 
as an enduring pillar in the upbuilding of the College 
in its formative and difficult years. Dr. Pennock 
responded with a revealing address that cleared up 
much of PCIO's early history. At the same time he 
portrayed the Founder as a leader with iron will, un- 
excelled loyalty to the College and his associates 
within it, and in victory or defeat a strong man who 
accepted the decision, then devoted every effort and 
influence to its success. 

"I knew O.J. very well. I worked with him many 
years," Dr. Pennock began. 

"We had some arguments; some pretty hot 
arguments, too. We had them in those days just as I 
understand you have an argument occasionally 
— even now. But there was this about O.J. He would 
argue with you. Sometimes the arguments got real 
hot. But I'll say this for him. After the meeting, no 
matter if he won or lost the argument, he would never 
say a word about it afterward. If the meeting went 
against him and his ideas, he would go right along, as 
it was for the progress of osteopathy. He never would 
criticize after the meeting. He never threatened to 
resign or leave the college — "take a powder" I guess 
you'd call it today. O.J. never threatened to take a 
powder. Of course in those days, osteopaths in 
general were against taking any kind of 
medicine — powders, pills, even cough syrup! 

"At this time osteopathy had no legal standing in 
Pennsylvania. At the November meeting he had 
emphatically explained the necessity to raise 
educational standards of the profession in order to 
obtain official recognition. The whole profession 
should benefit, but our College would have to take 
the lead in order to accomplish this. He firmly 
proposed, therefore, that we raise the standards by 
extending the PCIO course over three years. I might 
add that the standard course in all the Osteopathic 
colleges then was two years often months each," Dr. 
Pennock continued. 

"Well, the proposed increase of educational re- 
quirements to three years of nine months each met 
with violent opposition from the group. It was es- 
pecially objectionable to those just graduated from 
Kirksville. But, as result of that meeting, the next 



Fall the Philadelphia College instituted an optional 
third year of study. Which I might add, nobody took. 
Not a single student matriculated for it." 

Dr. Pennock recalled the long struggle Dr. Snyder 
had to obtain legal status for the Osteopathic profes- 
sion in Pennsylvania, and how PCIO had the distinc- 
tion of installing the first four-year Osteopathic 
College course. He told how graduates of the other 
institutions, wishing to practice in New York and 
Pennsylvania, had then taken a fourth year at PCIO, 
until their own Colleges adopted the four-year 
course. 

FACULTY ULTIMATUM 
WmS ARGUMENT 

But the big surprise of his address came with the 
account of the Faculty strike during that summer of 
1905. Here are his own words: 

"I wish now to relate an incident that happened 
during the summer of 1905 and which illustrated a 
very strong aspect of Dr. Snyder's character which I 
have previously stated. At this time the faculty of the 
College consisted of eight men, Drs. Pressly and 
Snyder, Dr. John Carter, and Dean C. W. McCurdy, 
graduates of the Philadelphia College and four 
graduates of Kirksville, Dr. Charles Muttart, Dr. 
Robert Dunnington, Dr. J. Ivan Dufur and myself. 

"I might tell you about our salary. All the men but 
the two founders got paid in stock with a par value of 
$100. We were paid at the rate of $3 per hour, so for 
33 hours of instruction we would receive one share 
of stock. So at the time the annual financial cost of 
instruction in cash was nothing. It so happens that in 
the summer of 1905 the College had in the treasury 
almost $3000. The teachers felt that this money 
should be divided proportionately. Drs. Pressly and 
Snyder very violently opposed this. They said that 
they should be paid the whole amount. They wanted 
to take it all. The debate became violent, and finally 
they produced a note which they had signed as Presi- 
dent and Secretary, whereby the money was to be 
turned over to them. Whereupon Drs. Muttart, 
Dufur, Dunnington, Carter and myself wrote an ul- 
timatum which we presented to Dr. Snyder shortly 
before College opened in the fall of 1905. 

"This note stated unless Drs. Pressly and Snyder 
resigned from their official positions, turned over all 
their stock to the corporation and entirely retired 
from the college in every way, we five men would 
retire from the institution, and that furthermore 



18 



their resignation had to be handed in before college 
opened in September. 

"Several meetings were held and, after much 
violent debating and bitter feeling, they resigned in 
every way from the institution. Dr. Pressly retired, 
and that was the end of him professionally in this 
state. But Dr. Snyder continued to work for the 
benefit of the College and the Profession, and no one 
ever heard him say one word against either the 
College or the men who forced his resignation, 
thereby showing a strength of character that few of 
us possess. 

"So far as I know this is the first time in many 
years that this fact has been discussed, and I bring it 
up here to show the strength of Dr. O.J.'s character, 
and why his memory should be so highly regarded." 

And thus began a new administrative experience 
for the College. Dr. Snyder continued to lead in its 
legislative campaign, and as shown earlier, brought 
about the establishment of top standards in the 
College through which, as he argued so fiercely, the 
Commonwealth's legal recognition of both the in- 
stitution and the profession was obtained. 

Dr. Snyder carried on his work for PCIO alone, so 



far as the original two Founders were concerned. He 
worked as tirelessly as he had when the official Presi- 
dent of PCIO. Indeed, there is reason to believe that 
he continued to advise and persuade friends and op- 
ponents in the College, as well as in the professional 
field of osteopathic medical practice, as he had been 
doing from his first days in office. He was still 
PCIO's leader, and would remain close to, and 
associated with it, and likewise all Osteopathic affairs 
of importance for the remainder of his life. 

Of Dr. Pressly, there was strangely as little to 
follow up as there was so much to observe and learn 
from O.J.'s great career. He disposed of his Haver- 
ford home in due course, cut all ties with the College, 
and moved away. The Pressly partnership with Dr. 
Snyder was ended, and O.J.'s practice became one of 
the largest and most successful in medical-minded 
Philadelphia. 

The whereabouts of Dr. Pressly became a mystery. 
The AOA lost track of the man who contributed the 
articles to its Journal, and today there is no record of 
where he went to practice, or to preach. He returned 
once to PCO, on a visit. That belongs to a future 
chapter. 





A.M. FLACK, SR. 
Dean Prior To 1924 




CHARLES J. MUTTART, D.O. 

Professor Of Gastro-Enterology 

And Protology 



WILLIAMS. NICHOLL. D.O. 
Professor Of Principles Of Osteopathy 



19 



CHAPTER 3 



THE SECOND DECADE, 1909-1919 
RUGGED CANDIDATES IN ROUGH TIMES 



The years 1908 and 1909 were marked by big be- 
ginnings and epic achievements in this country. 
The U.S. Department of Justice estabhshed a new 
branch, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, better 
known as the F.B.I. The National Council of 
Churches was organized. Explorer Robert E. Peary 
reached the North Pole, placing the U.S. flag there. 
Two subway tunnels opened for New York traffic — 
under the East River to Brooklyn, beneath the Hud- 
son to Hoboken. Henry Ford produced a four-cylin- 
der, Model-T automobile that sold for $850. It sped 
Americans into the Twentieth Century much faster 
than horse-and-buggy. The Navy's fleet of 16 battle- 
ships circled the globe in 14 months, acclaimed in 
major ports of the Atlantic and Pacific where it 
showed the flag. William Howard Taft was elected 
President, succeeding Theodore Roosevelt, who 
went for a year's big game hunting in Africa. It was a 
time for boldness, in a nation graduated to world 
power. 

Meanwhile, Philadelphia College and Infirmary of 
Osteopathy was occupying a commodious, three- 
story, gas-Ht structure at 1715 N. Broad st. Within 
its windowed basement, where the dissection tables 
were closely spaced and overcrowded, men and 
women students worked shoulder to shoulder over 
cadavers while the instructor observed, and ex- 
plained, and the study of anatomy was more effec- 
tively pursued. A minor difficulty lay in the distance 
from the city's center, presenting a transport prob- 
lem for commuting students. The nearest education- 
al neighbor was Temple University, one block north 
at Broad and Montgomery Ave. where the Rev. Rus- 
sell Conwell's college for poor boys had in twenty 
years achieved University status. In 1907 it opened a 
Dental School to go with the Temple Medical and 
Pharmacy Schools, established in 1901. 

PCIO had rather drastically changed its ad- 
ministrative system from the early years of Drs. 
Snyder and Pressly by the time it settled into the 
domed headquarters on N. Broad street. The Board 




DR. IVAN DUFUR 

of Trustees consisted of nine members, all on the 
Faculty. The Hon. John M. Vandefslice, teaching 
medical jurisprudence, was Board President, and Dr. 
Pennock was Vice President. Dr. Dufur was 
Registrar, Dr. Arthur M. Flack, alumnus from the 
Class of 1906, was Treasurer, and Dr. Muttart had 
taken over as Dean. Others on the Board as listed in 
the 1910-11 college announcements were Jose C. 
Howell, D.O., H. Alfred Leonard, D.O., Ira S. Frame, 
Sc.D., D.O., and Earle S. Willard, D.O. 

The Faculty, in addition to those serving on the 
Board, included several new additions to go with the 
perennials who continued on PCIO's roster of the 
faithful. Outstanding in this category was Dr. Lillian 
L. Bentley, Professor of Hygiene and Dietetics, who 
taught well into the 1920's. Another in point of long 



20 



service from feminine ranks in PCIO's early years, 
would be Dr. Gene G. Banker, the diminutive other 
half of the first Graduating Class of 1900 with W. B. 
Keene. When Dr. Keene became the first Alumni 
President, Dr. Banker served with him as a member 
and Secretary of the Executive Committee. She had 
also been elected Historian. She did not teach at 
PCIO, but went into general practice in German- 
town. There she created an expanding fund of 
goodwill among her patients over more than 60 years 
of continuous medical care. The College officials in 
1951 sent her a bouquet of red roses on the occasion 
of her 50th year in practice, it was a climactic tribute 
from her Alma Mater to the wispy little physician, 
then in her 80th year, a highlight in a long life of ser- 
vice. She told all her patients about it. 

ACCOLADE FOR CEISTENARIAIS 
LADY D.O. 

After her death, which occurred another twenty 

years later in the Priestley Unitarian Retirement 

home in Germantown in the Spring of 1969, only a 

few weeks before her 100th birthday, a patient of 

many years, Mrs. Marion W. Jenks, wrote this note 

to the Osteopathic Digest. It would constitute a proud 

epitaph for any professional in the healing arts: 

"Dr. Banker brought to her practice a cheery 

optimism: faith, humor, and a zest for living 

that sustained her to the end. She was little 

more than five feet tall, thin of face, with lovely 

graying hair. But she was wiry, and with strong 

fingers and wrists she administered the 

treatments. She never became wealthy, because 

her services were frequently contributed when 

Eatients couldn't pay. She was an old-fashioned, 
ut wonderful family physician." 

During the time the College was at Broad St. and 
Columbia Ave., several women students obtained a 
charter and, on November 7, 1908 organized the Beta 
chapter of Kappa Psi Delta, the first Osteopathic 
sorority in the East. The Chapter continued active 
for many years, and sent from its membership to 
Faculty status Drs. Sarah W. Rupp, Mary Patton 
Hitner, Marion Dick, Helen Conway, Jean Sheperla, 
and Blanche Clow Allen. The latter for 27 years was 
instructor and Associate Professor in the Anatomy 
department. There were several others who moved 
up to faculty positions from Kappa Psi Delta during 
the 1930-40 years. Its alumnae continued to meet up 
to 1970, when the Chapter became inactive. 

By 1919 PCIO women students were sufficiently 
numerous to organize and install the Mastoid 



Chapter of the Axis Club. This non-Greek letter club 
was founded in 1899 at Kirksville, and had the dis- 
tinction of being the first of all Osteopathic College 
sororities. Moreover, it had the hearty approval and 
blessing of Dr. A.T. Still. When it came to PCIO it 
was with the help and encouragement of several 
alumnae from other chapters. By 1925 it had a 
membership of eighteen, including from the Faculty 
the respected Dr. Ruth Elizabeth Tinley '23, among 
the feminine greats of PCIO. The Axis club eventually 
became dormant for lack of female candidates. 

In 1909 a group of seniors and lower classmen, en- 
couraged by Faculty leaders, obtained a charter and 
established the Delta Chapter of Iota Tau Sigma. It 
immediately attracted an interested number from all 
four classes and by 1920 also had most of the big 
names on the Faculty. It has continued active and 
thriving ever since. There would be many other 
fraternities and professional societies into which 
future students would be inducted. 



THEY LEARNED, SERVED, SHARED 
KNOWLEDGE 

The contributions in time and teaching effort by 
women graduates of PCIO would continue in impor- 
tant measure throughout the years. From the first 
registrations there were significant percentages of 
women candidates for the D.O. degree. They enjoyed 
equal welcome and rights, and it followed that 
romance and marriage to fellow students became 'par 
for the course' to a fair number. The husband-wife 
team in general practice continues to this day, and 
the bride and groom in cap and gown are standard at- 
tractions in most Commencement class pictures. 
Women's liberation at PCIO preceded votes for 
women in the USA, and over the years as professors, 
physicians, nurses, executives, or technicians on 
staff, faculty, and Administration they have per- 
formed beyond the call of duty. 

The annual enrollment rosters reveal names of 
sturdy candidates who filled faculty posts at periodic 
intervals, equipped and ready to take on almost any 
assignment — like attacking waves of infantrymen in 
a beach-head operation. Perhaps the interposition of 
World War I, injecting its disciplines and problems 
during the 'teen years of PCIO, suggests this martial 
analogy. The record reveals a motivation to pass on 
the knowledge and techniques of Osteopathic 
medicine to the upcoming generations — the criterion 
of PCOM teaching professionals. 



21 




PROF. PETER H. BREARLEY, D.O. 

Among the early Faculty members at PCIO, Dr. Brearley headed 
the course in General physiology. He lectured with such vigor his 
students once protested — and received an appropriate 'bawling out'. 

Many of them combined teaching and practice, 
following the precedent of Dr. Snyder and others of 
the founding era. One of the early College An- 
nouncement's stated, "such experience has added to 
the instruction our students receive." 

Dr. Arthur M. Flack, Dean from 1911 to 1924, is 
credited with maintaining a capable teaching staff 
throughout the difficult years of World War I. He 
also put in his share of instruction as Professor of 
pathology, bacteriology, and applied anatomy. A new 
course on the list at that time, ophthalmology, was 
taught by Prof. A.F. Watch, Ph.D. from Sweden. 

Prior to 1913, and particularly during the 1911- 
1912 academic year when PCIO was completing its 
first four-year course, a confident galaxy of recent 
graduates were added to the expanding faculty. They 
included Drs. C.D.B. Balbirnie, (Clinical Osteopathy 
and Comparative Therapeutics), Peter H. Brearley 
(General Physiology); Edward G. Drew, (Histology; 
Obstetrics and Orificial Surgery); S. Agnes Medlar 
(Gynecology); Josiah Merriman (Chemistry); 
William F. Hawes; (Pathology); Ira W. Drew 
(Anatomy); and Lawrence J. Kelly (Histology).To 
these had been added earlier Onie A. Barrett, MD., 
D.O.; Eugene M. Coffee, Raymond W. Bailey, Alfred 
Leonard, Martyn L. Richardson, Charles L. Hoopes, 
William Durkee, Eva M. Blake, M.D., D.O., a 
Professor of Gynecology, and her assistant, Cecilia 
G. Curran, D.O. Later, by a year or so. Dr. C. Paul 
Snyder from the 1910 class would become a fixture 
with this group almost of all of whom combined 
teaching and practice. 



PIOISEERS WHO LOOKED TO FUTURE 

The Classes of 1909 and 1910 had enrollments of 
20 and 21 respectively, and each produced 
physicians who added lustre to the profession of os- 
teopathy. Dr. Durkee, one of eleven of the Class of 
'09 who were listed as Alumni Association members, 
was among the faculty members contributing $100 in 
an early campaign for building funds. Dr. John 
Bailey practiced in Philadelphia and did some sur- 
gery; Dr. George Graves became a G.P. in North 
Philadelphia; Dr. Hoopes practiced in Camden, and 
taught at PCIO. 

Seventeen of the 1910 class were Alumni Associa- 
tion members, and five of these were women. Dr. 
Carl D. Bruckner later became associated with Dr. H. 
Walter Evans, '17, in what was to become one of the 
busiest practices of obstetrics and gynecology in the 
Quaker City. Dr. Evans, of course, reached the ripe 
age of 80 as one of the great PCOM planners and 
builders who hved to see his "dream campus" come 
into reality. Also the perennial Secretary of the 
PCOM Board of Directors, Dr. Evans observed the 
educational-and-building climb of the College from 
modest status in rented quarters to its own combined 
College-Hospital building at 48th and Spruce sts., 
and then thirty years later, to the magnificent City 
Avenue campus of the 1970's. 

Others of the 1910 Class who excelled were Dr. C. 
Paul Snyder, long a member of the Board and Facul- 
ty, who also served on the State Examining Board 
and devoted his career to teaching and specializing in 
eye, ear, nose and throat practice. Dr. Curtis H. 
Muncie, also in E.E.N.T., opened his practice in New 
York, and returned to hold special clinics at PCO in 
the early 1920's. He made famous the operation to 
restore hearing by expanding the eustachian tube. 
Drs. Ralph W. Flint and his sister, Dr. Effie A. Flint 
established a practice together in North 
Philadelphia. Dr. Effie married Dr. I. Sylvester Hart, 
a classmate. 

Under the extended D.O. course that went into ef- 
fect with the Osteopathic law of 1909, the Class of 
1911 was the last one to graduate in three years. It 
had 17 members on the Alumni roster, out of 30 who 
received their degrees. Several were to become 
prominent in PCIO's future; all contributed to the 
furtherance of osteopathy. One, Dr. C.D.B. Balbir- 
nie, a former pharmacist who had turned to os- 
teopathy when convinced it surpassed drug therapy, 
was destined to become a member of PCOM's Gallery 
of Greats. 



22 



Described by one of his proteges (who is also 
enshrined in the Gallery) as "a friend to all, a 
wonderfully kind, understanding professional 
gentleman," Dr. Balbirnie can be categorized as a 
teacher who left the imprint of his character upon 
those he wished would carry on the work. This es- 
timate would describe several other old pros of 
PCO's Faculties. Others of the class who set up prac- 
tice in Philadelphia would include among many, Drs. 
Joseph Turkington, Albert and Cora Molyneux, 
Clarence Kenderdine, and John Wallace. A few con- 
tinued at PCIO after graduation to take up additional 
courses in view of increasingly strict tests by the 
State Board of Osteopathic Examiners, of which 0. J. 
Snyder, D.O. was President. 

EVERY PCIO GRADUATE PASSES 
BOARD EXAM 

Republishing an article from the Philadelphia 

Public Ledger of March 26, 1913, the Philadelphia 

Journal of Osteopathy, of which Prof. Thomas H. 

NichoU, D.O. was then editor, could report: 

"The Pennsylvania State Board of Osteopathic 

Examiners has always made it a point to have its 

examinations measure up to standards set by the 

Medical Board. For instance, the questions 

given one year by the Osteopathic examiners 

were taken from previous examinations given 

by the Medical Board, thus no questions could 

be raised as to standards. It is cause for 

gratification that despite this high standard, 

every graduate of the Philadelphia College of 

Osteopathy who took this year's examination 

passed: 100 percent average for the College." 

The Journal editor added, 

"We cannot be criticized for assuming this is 
itself a warranty of work well done — an 
assurance to the prospective student that after 
four years of study, he or she may be well 
qualified to apply for licensure anywhere in the 
iJnited States, equipped to prove professional 
scholarship, and equally prepared for the prac- 
tical problems of the profession." 
Among the successful PCIO graduates mentioned 
in the article were several from the 1910-11-12 
classes: Drs. John Bailey, Charles Furey, William H. 
Hart, Jr., Bertha Maxwell, H.L. Stem, Harry 
Thornely, George Tinges, William P. Masterson, and 
George Kraus. Highest marks for the examination 
were made by one of the ladies. Dr. Lydia E. Lippin- 
cott, who, with that distinguished Philadelphia 
name, achieved a general average of 93. 

Because 1911 and 1912 were milestones in the 
curricular expansion of PCIO, some glimpses of cer- 



tain men and women in those classes seem ap- 
propriate to a rugged decade. The Class of 1912 was 
the first to study four years for the D.O. degree and 
by so doing eliminate the persistent argument that 
osteopaths did not complete the same amount of 
study required of M.D.s. The fact was that under the 
tough leadership of Dr. 0. J. Snyder, the Founder 
who for forty years pushed for higher standards and 
broader courses, PCIO had set an example for all os- 
teopathic educational echelons. The candidate for 
D.O. degree was absorbing a great deal of informa- 
tion on general medicine and surgery, along with his 
learning in the study of osteopathic therapeutics and 
their healing properties upon the human body. 

It took much determination and desire by the stu- 
dent to master it all; from the instructor's side it re- 
quired a high degree of skill and discipline to impart 
the knowledge. This would gradually develop a tradi- 
tion of rules, attention, good behavior with a proper, 
cooperative attitude on the part of the students. 
Over the years these requisites have generated a 
proud and confident spirit which has carried 
students, faculty and the PCOM family successfully 
through the years. 

CLASS OF 1911 PRODUCED LEADERS 

The 1911 Class gave several outstanding leaders to 
the PCIO Faculty. Drs. Balbirnie, Brearley, Edward 
G. Drew, Ira W. Drew, and Lawrence J. Kelly — all 
became respected practitioners, and Professors in 
the College. 

Dr. Edward G. Drew was Professor of Gynecology 
and Clinical surgery, along with other subjects dur- 
ing the 'Teen decade and through the 1920's and 
'30's. He was one of the best. He was also on the Ex- 
ecutive Faculty headed by Dean Edgar 0. Holden 
which handled policy making and administration in 
the critical 1930's. Dr. Drew was responsible for the 
training of many osteopathic surgeons. His rounds 
and Saturday morning surgical clinics, expressly 
planned for students, were in the classical 
"Philadelphia medicine" style, and form a part of the 
PCO recollections of a large number of its graduates 
from that era. 

Dr. Ira Drew, who came from Vermont to look 
into the osteopathic healing technique and possibly 
to write an article about it, was so impressed that he 
decided to matriculate with the Class of 1911. A 
bachelor at age 30, he was the Burlington, Vt. cor- 
respondent for Boston and New York newspapers. 
He had been the first person to inform Vice Presi- 



23 




SARAH H. RUPP. D.O. 
PROFESSOR OF ^ EURO-ANATOMY 



dent Theodore Roosevelt, who was up there finishing 
a vacation, that President McKinley had been shot. 
He never quite abandoned his reporter's instincts, 
but in osteopathic practice he foresaw a more satisfy- 
ing career than in transmitting good and bad news. 
In the anatomy lab he worked beside Margaret 
Spencer, a brilliant student, and after they were 
graduated she was Mrs. Drew, D.O., and Dr. Ira 
Drew was no longer a bachelor. Together they set up 
a flourishing practice in the Land Title building, then 
moved to Germantown where they maintained their 
home, raised two sons, and continued their joint 
practice until Dr. Margaret's death in 1963. 

At the College Dr. Drew organized the Department 
and became Professor of Pediatrics, a new course 
that opened when PCIO moved to 832 Pine st. As a 
specialist in children's diseases he organized and 
became Chairman of the Bureau of Clinics for the 
AOA in 1914. With other veteran faculty men, Dr. 
Drew later became a member of the PCO Board of 
Trustees and continued so for thirty years or more, 
until he passed away in the new Barth Pavilion, Feb. 
12, 1972, in his 95th year. 

O.J. SNYDER'S FIGHT WINS MORE 
RIGHTS 

Dr. O.J. Snyder continued active and influential 
about the College throughout the faculty buildup 
and extension of curriculum. He gravitated between 
his office at the College and the committee hearing 



rooms in the capitol at Harrisburg. As Dr. Pennock 
described it forty years later: "The question of 
whether the law of 1909 gave the osteopaths the legal 
right to perform and practice surgery was an open 
one. We said it did, the medical brethren said it did 
not. Consequently an 'osteopath in the western por- 
tion of the state was arrested for practicing medicine 
without a license because he had performed an ap- 
pendectomy and gave the post-operative treatment. 
In a lengthy legal battle the case was carried to the 
Superior court where it was ruled that he had a legal 
right to remove the appendix and suture the incision, 
but that he did not have legal right to administer a 
quarter grain of morphine to relieve post-operative 
pain. The osteopath was fined for illegal practice. 

"This brought Dr. Snyder again into the 
legislative battle to establish proper surgical rights 
for the Osteopathic profession. As a result, under his 
leadership, the present Osteopathic Surgeons bill 
became law. Full credit should go to the untiring 
work of Dr. O.J. Snyder." 

The fight did not end there, however. The record 
reveals that under O.J.'s goading the osteopathic 
practice statute had to be amended in 1915 (the re- 
sult of the case Dr. Pennock described), and again in 
1917, and 1923. Among the D.O.'s prosecuted was 
Orrin 0. Bashhne, a Kirksville alumnus of 1907, 
who Hved and practiced in Grove City, Pa. During 
WWI and into the 1920's, Dr. Bashline was a 
Professor of Surgery and Orthopedics, and did assis- 
tant teaching in anatomy and obstetrics at PCIO. He 
maintained an office in the Real Estate Trust 
building in Philadelphia, and during the great in- 
fluenza epidemic of 1918-19-20 virtually 'commuted' 
to treat patients in Grove City as well as in 
Philadelphia. 

In his autobiographical pamphlet, "Memoirs of 
Fifty-five Years of Osteopathy and Surgery," Dr. 
Bashline recounted instances of ignorance, supersti- 
tion and persecution he had witnessed and endured 
in those early years of the Twentieth Century. Yet he 
revealed no bitterness over three arrests, none of 
which damaged him, as most charges were dropped. 
Once, when he was fined, the local press denounced 
the court's action, and derided the dubious 
testimony on which it was based. Grateful citizens of 
Grove City through their civic and social clubs ac- 
corded him all the honors at their disposal. 
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine at its 
64th Commencement conferred the Honorary Doc- 
tor of Science degree upon Dr. Bashline, and the 



24 



AOA bestowed Honorary Life Membership upon 
him. He was a Life Member and a Fellow of the 
American College of Osteopathic Surgeons, of which 
he was co-founder. 

Dr. Bashline's experiences reflect the devious and 
often vindictive opposition that prompted Dr. 
Snyder's continuing battle for full legal rights, and 
with them professional recognition and acceptance 
of osteopathic practice. In Dr. Bashline, son of a 
pioneering Pennsylvania farmer of German im- 
migrant stock who settled in Clarion county, O.J. 
found an ally and a fighter in a common cause. 
Neither quit until the issue was rightfully settled. 

NEW HOSPITAL, NEW 
CORPORATION, NEW HOME 

During the second year of the College at 1715 N. 
Broad St., the need of a hospital became pressing. 
This was emphatically voiced by those in surgery. 
While there was an Infirmary with complete staff 
headed by Dr. Dufur, it was not equipped for instruc- 
tion in hospital specialties and procedures. 
Moreover, without a hospital in which osteopathic 
patients requiring surgery might be given post- 
operative treatment, they had to be referred to 
medical hospitals. When they recovered they often 
were advised to see an M.D., which many did. 

Therefore the College — or a small committee from 
the College Board — went about obtaining a hospital 
charter in Pennsylvania. It was done in secrecy, and 
officially signed May 10, 1911. Then the Committee, 
aware of space and budget considerations the College 
did not yet possess, decided to keep the charter a 
secret. Nearly three years had passed when Dr. 
Snyder, not a member of the Board or its committee, 
brought up the need for a PCIO Hospital at the 
Philadelphia County Osteopathic Society's meeting. 
He moved that a committee be formed to investigate 
prospects for a charter. At this point faculty 
members of the Board present, quickly conferred and 
decided to announce having such a charter. 

When he heard, O.J. was furious. He indignantly 
protested their action without having consulted him, 
and in the heat of the moment demanded they 
destroy the charter and get another. After further 
discussion, however, he cooled down and, typical of 
the man to whom progress was more important than 
personal pride or injured feelings, he helped develop 
a plan of immediate action, using the charter already 
in hand. 



A Corporation for the Hospital was organized and 
authorized to buy all outstanding stock of the 
College, thus combining operation of the Hospital 
and College. This was quickly accomplished as the 
older faculty members readily turned in their cer- 
tificates, of which Dr. William S. Nicholl and Dr. 
Earle S. Willard, among many who had been paid in 
stock, held the most. This transfer of ownership 
placed both College and Hospital under one corpor- 
ate canopy, the Hospital actually owning and con- 
trolling the College. The staff, as before, was com- 
prised of Faculty members who taught and practiced 
in the combined roles of teacher and physician — a 
system that prevails in PCOM health centers, clinics, 
and hospitals to this day. There also has been a com- 
mon Board of Directors for both Hospital and Col- 
lege since 1918, when the new corporate name Phila- 
delphia College of Osteopathy was authorized and 
adopted. 

It should be explained that the first PCIO Hospital 
was located at 410 S. 9th St., and later moved to 1725 
Spring Garden st. where it absorbed the functions of 
the Osteopathic Dispensary. The Dispensary had 
been established at 1617 Fairmount ave., and this the 
committee had in mind when it obtained that vital 
charter in May 1911. If this is hard to follow, it is 
because frequent moves for necessary expansion are 







■ 


1 






KW^^H 




J^i ■ ^ ^^^1 


I 






!! 


r^iu)3^^^^| 



An early photo of Dr. C.D.B. Balbiraie '11 



25 



traditional hallmarks of any rapidly growing institu- 
tion, especially those devoted to education. 

Based upon conversations by Dr. Paul T. Lloyd, 
Director and Chief Attending Surgeon in Radiology, 
with the late Dr. D. S. B. Pennock, Dr. H. W. 
Sterrett, St., and others it is quite evident that the 
first x-ray apparatus at P. CO. was secured and put to 
use when the first College and hospital came into be- 
ing in the two buildings at 832 Pine St. and around 
the Corner at 419 S. 9th St. 

Dr. Sterrett, Sr., described the equipment and its 
operation sufficiently well for one to assume that the 
machine was a static generator energizing a "gas" 
tube, since W. D. Coolidge did not invent the hot 
cathode tube until 1913. 

It is a bit surprising that a static generator was 
purchased due to the fact that Clyde Snook, 
Philadelphia, had developed the "cross arm" rec- 
tifier some five years earlier (1907), an invention 
that proved to be a substantial advance in the 
development of roentgen-ray apparatus. 

PCIO no more than completed Commencement 
for the Class of 1912 than it was packing to move 
from N. Broad St. into a roomier, five story apart- 
ment house at 832 Pine St. It was around the corner 
from the hospital-infirmary on S. 9th St., and across 
the street from the grounds of Pennsylvania 
Hospital. That venerable institution was founded by 
Benjamin Franklin and Dr. Thomas Bond in 1751 in 
a Colonial neighborhood called Society Hill. 

PCIO faculty members and students were 
delighted to get back in mid-city. Professors handy 
with tools joined students in cleaning the walls and 
floors, removing partitions or converting kitchens 
into classrooms, and bedrooms into laboratories. 
This was PCIO's third adaptation of a dwelling struc- 
ture into a college facility. 

1912 CLASS INAUGURATED FOUR 
YEAR COURSE 

The 1912 Class numbered 40 and completed four 
years of study, first in the College to do so. They 
were a spirited group, gave generously to en- 
dowments with 27 in the Alumni Association joining 
the 1916 drive for building funds. The June Gradua- 
tion ceremonies held in the Witherspoon Hall were 
addressed by Russell Duane, prominent Philadelphia 
attorney who for years handled the College's legal af- 
fairs, later served as member and ultimately Presi- 
dent of the Board. The Baccalaureate service was 




DR. H. IVILLARD STERRETT 



held in Holy Trinity Church on Rittenhouse square, 
followed by a reception for parents and friends, and 
dinner later at $1.50 per plate. The Class secretary. 
Dr. Bertha M. Maxwell, noted that thirteen of the 
class returned for another year in 1913, some, in- 
cluding herself, getting their certificates that year. 

One of the latter was Dr. Charles J. Van Ronk, 
husky baseball and basketball player who was des- 
tined to become one of the country's best known 
athletes' physician. When interviewed in his 86th 
year Dr. Van Ronk's memory was keen as ever when 
he recounted certain occasions when he relieved the 
aching limbs of famous athletes. Connie Mack's 
Howard Ehmke and Lefty Grove were cured in time 
to pitch World Series victories against the Chicago 
Cubs in 1929. He recalled Manager John McGraw's 
promise if he could heal an ailing outfielder in time 
to help the Giants beat the Yankees in the 1921 
World Series. Van Ronk healed the player's arm, and 
McGraw sent a fabulous fee after his team had won. 
He fixed Tommy Loughran's bruised insteps after 
Primo Carnero (at 270 pounds) trod them flat in 
their 1934 Miami fight that Tommy won on points. 
Van Ronk's rugged therapy returned Loughran to 
boxing, and they've remained lifelong friends. 

His friendship with Dr. William E. Brandt, '21, 
then the Philadelphia Ledger's baseball writer, and 
later National League Publicity Director, brought 
recommended cases to Von Ronk, and other sports 
writers frequently wrote of his success in putting the 
athletes back in the lineups. 



26 



Once retired, Dr. Van Ronk visited 103 countries 
in every continent, logging over a million miles by 
land, sea and air. Living quietly in Norristown, he 
still gets calls. One February day in 1974 the former 
boxing great, Tommy Loughran, rang from New 
York. 

"Jack Dempsey's having trouble with his neck and 
shoulder. It's giving him lots of pain. Doc, do you 
think ..." 

"Bring him down here; I'll unretire just for Jack," 
said Doc Van Ronk, the athlete's friend. 

Another hardy perennial of PCIO '12 was Dr. 
Webster Samuel Heatwole, a strict adherent of Dr. 
Still's system, who although going bhnd, practiced in 
Sahsbury, Md. until he died in his 93rd year. 

BIGGEST AOA CONVENTION ENJOYS 
PHILADELPHIA 

The American Osteopathic Association set a new 
attendance record when for the first time it came to 
Philadelphia for its 18th Annual Convention. It was 
held Aug. 3-7, 1914 in the Bellevue-Stratford Hotel. 
It was the first time since the St. Louis World Fair 
AOA conclave ten years earher, that such elaborate 
preparations were made. Dr. William S. NichoU, one 
of PCO's earliest Faculty stalwarts who had taught 
almost every subject in the College, was appointed 
Chairman of the Committee on Arrangements. It was 
a big job, in the hands of a capable man. Dr. Nicholl 
was PCO's representative at the 17th AOA conven- 
tion in Kirksville in 1913, and persuaded the 
delegates to come to Philadelphia the next year. 

Mayor Rudolph Blankenburg welcomed the 
Convention to the Quaker City, and Gov. John K. 
Tener did the honors for Pennsylvania. Social 
sessions by alumni and fraternity members from 
different colleges were scheduled for Atlantic City. 
Two special neurological clinics were held at 
Philadelphia General Hospital. Dr. Ella D. Still lec- 
tured on bladder complaints in women. Tuesday 
evening's round table discussion on acute diseases, 
was moderated by Dean Flack. 

The PCO faculty was heavily represented as Drs. 
McCurdy, Muttart, Dufur, Nicholl, Pennock, 
Galbreath and Dr. Flack led a week's reading of 
scientific papers, chaired discussions, delivered lec- 
tures or moderated roundtable seminars. Others 
from the Faculty participated by showing delegates 
about the College, then well settled at 832 Pine 
Street, with side trips to the Hospital and Dispen- 



sary. The final day was devoted entirely to mental 
and nervous diseases, led by Kirksville's famous Dr. 
L. von Horn Gerdine, national authority on mental 
disorders in children. 

Dr. Nicholl and his Arrangements committee 
programmed tours of Philadelphia's historic 
highlights from Independence Hall to Valley Forge 
and back to Washington's pew in Old Christ Church. 
He scheduled trips to the Navy Yard, Cramp's 
Shipyard, an evening excursion down the Delaware, 
and, an 'Osteopathy Day' at Willow Grove, then the 
largest amusement park in the country. The report in 
the AOA Journal said over 2,000 attended the 
Convention, including D.O.'s who came on excur- 
sion trains ($29.50 for a 30-day round trip) from 
Chicago. A good many chugged in over unpaved 
roads in automobiles of many makes — and varying 
reliability. 

At the end of the week's activities the delegates 
elected Dr. O.J. Snyder as AOA President for 1915, 
when the Convention would be in Portland, Oregon. 
He was the first PCO leader to attain the honor, and 
along with other Convention events this received 
proper coverage in Philadelphia newspapers. 

When the delegates started home. World War I 
had been raging for a week, having begun Aug. 3 
when German columns smashed through Belgium, 
into France. Riding home, delegates no doubt 
pondered how long it might be before that eventual 
April 6, 1917, when this country entered the conflict 
upon Congress' declaration, and President Woodrow 




DR. iriLLlAM oris GALBREATH 



27 




OPERATION IN CLINICAL AMPHITHEATRE 



Wilson's announcement: "A state of war exists 
between the United States and the Imperial German 
Government." 

The war made little change in the official status of 
osteopathic physicians. When they volunteered or 
were drafted and applied for commissions in the U.S. 
Army Medical Corps, most of them were rejected 
because they were not M.D.'s. Medical Corps prej- 
udice overrode the D.O.'s patriotic desire to do their 
part in treating the sick and wounded in war. 
However, wartime experiences were instrumental in 
attracting a number of future leaders to the profes- 
sion. 

PCIO BUYS AND BUILDS NEW 
HOME 

A fund raising campaign in 1916 which appealed to 
students, faculty, and the public, raised $60,000 in a 
short, successful effort. It financed the first big real 
estate purchase by the College. This consisted of the 
large residence of Hon. John E. Reyburn, Mayor of 
Philadelphia 1907-11, at the southeast corner of 19th 



and Spring Garden Sts. Nearby was Temple Univer- 
sity's Dental School, recently opened. 

While the Reyburn house was made ready for 
College occupancy, a three-story Hospital building of 
steel, concrete and red brick designed for 50-bed 
capacity was erected adjoining the mansion on the 
19th street side. This long awaited building provided 
an operating room, obstetrical room, nursery, isola- 
tion, minor surgery and delivery rooms, with X-ray 
laboratory. There were also nurses' dressing 
quarters, clinical examination, diet kitchen and 
other service rooms. The College-Hospital was oc- 
cupied in 1917. 

Most helpful to students was its surgical 
amphitheater constructed between the remodeled 
Reyburn house and the new Hospital. It was 52 feet 
wide and 50 feet high, and equipped with 150 seats. 
The Hospital provided up-to-date facilities for the 
Departments of Pathology, Osteopathic Therapy, 
Obstetrics and Gynecology, Neurology, Eye, Ear, 
Nose and Throat, Pediatrics, Radiology, Gastro- 
Enterology, Urology and Dermatology. As the 



28 



patient load increased in a still largely residential 
area, additional fund raising was conducted in 1919 
($102,000) and 1923 ($70,000). By 1925, 880 per- 
sons had been treated in that calendar year, 400 
operations were performed, and 107 births were 
recorded. The out-patient dispensary admitted 916 
patients who totalled 9,200 revisits. 

All patients were under direct supervision of 
licensed Doctors of Osteopathy in the College. In- 
digent cases were treated in the Dispensary from 2 to 
5 PM Monday, Wednesdays and Fridays. The Board 
soon purchased two more houses adjoining the 
Reyburn property on Spring Garden street. The 
smaller one became the Nurses' home; the larger 
house, the College annex, Dispensary and Clinic. It 
was the first time PCO had adequate space for its ex- 
panding health care services, and for the instruction 
of students who, after World War I ended, would be 
numbered in the hundreds. 

As it turned out, the 19th and Spring Garden 
Streets location was to be PCO's home for thirteen 
happy, progressive and rewarding years. It would be 
a period of great development in the departments of 
the College, with the introduction of new equipment 
for radiology, and new techniques in eye, ear, nose 
and throat therapy, as well as in general surgery. 
Osteopathic healing was broadening its base, and a 
vigorous generation of talented D.O.'s were attract- 
ing attention throughout the Profession and partic- 
ularly with the public. 

DR. H. WALTER EVANS' 
DREAM BEGINS 

Once the impact of World War I struck the 
educational world, enrollments declined and 
economic conditions for students became difficult. 
For those who depended upon outside work to pay 
board and rent it was rough going. Some took early 
morning delivery jobs, others had part time tasks at 
night. They studied between these tasks, as had been 
the pattern for thousands of collegians before their 
day and since, except that a course for a physician's 
degree always has limited the 'cutting' of lectures 
and anatomy or chemistry lab work. It wasn't too bad 
until the United States entered the war, but then the 
PCIO enrollments began to decline, especially on the 
male side of the registration roll. There were more 
women students as 1915 and '16 passed; young men 
went into the Armed services with the summer of 
1917. Others got high pay on war industry jobs, 
earned a stake for future enrollment. 



The graduates in '15 included, Drs. Thomasso 
Creatore who was very active with the Philadelphia 
Osteopathic Society; Charles J. Gruber, uncle of 
PCOM's Dr. Frank Gruber, Chairman of the Depart- 
ment of Obstetrics and Gynecology; H. V. Hillman, 
New York G.P.; Elmer Hess, Captain of PCIO's mile 
relay champions at Penn Relays, who still practices 
in Philadelphia and who has provided material for 
this history; Sarah W. Rupp who had her office at 
12th and Chestnut sts., and taught anatomy of the 
nervous system in the 1920's; and Stephen B. Gibbs, 
who went to Florida, became active in Legislative af- 
fairs there. 

Of the 1916 Class the Alumni Fund roster lists 
only six, and three were women D.O.'s — Gertrude 
Peck, Matilda Rodney and Mae E. Wigham. Two of 
the men. Dr. Roy K. Eldridge and Dr. Charles R. 




PCO INDOOR MILE RELA Y WINNERS 
Front row: left to right, Emerson Lindsay. Fred Keiper, Norman 
Roome. Back row: left to right, Paul T. Lloyd, Fred Long. 



29 




ONE OF PCO'S EARLY RELAY TEAMS 
S. Gibbs E. Hess W. Dowd H. Lippincott 



Heard, were instructors on the 1919 Faculty and 
moved up in rank in the '20's. 

Dr. H. Walter Evans graduated with, and is on the 
1917 Class Alumni roll, and credited with a gift of 
$100. Others who gave similarly were Dr. Francis J. 
Smith and Dr. H. Willard Sterrett, both of whom 
subsequently had long Faculty affiliation. Dr. 
Sterrett became Professor and developed the Depart- 
ment of Dermatology and Urology. Again, a good 
many of the graduates were women. 

Dr. Evans became by any standards the most PCO- 
oriented and lifetime-committed alumnus of them 
all. His influence, his long service as a member and 
Secretary of the Board of Directors, his quick reac- 
tion in times of hardship and crisis for the College, 
with his capability and contacts that repeatedly saved 
the situation, all are attested by the records, and cer- 
tainly by the testimony of his Faculty and Staff 
colleagues. 

D.O.s SAVED FLU PANDEMIC 
PATIENTS 

Dr. Evans devoted himself assiduously to the PCO 
Hospital's needs and policies, from staffing and 
budget to equipment and space, once he had become 



a Faculty fixture. He established a remarkable prac- 
tice and reputation meanwhile as an obstetrician and 
gynecologist. He taught the two subjects for many 
years, serving as Clinical Professor, then full 
Professor and Chairman of the Obstetrics and 
Gynecology Department. By the mid-1950's he was 
Professor Emeritus but serving on the Board of 
Directors, and holding the office of Secretary. In 
that office he probably accomplished more for the 
College and Hospital through his wide connections 
and personal influence than had any previous 
Secretary. 

Dr. Evans was never one to seek the spotlight; his 
best work was accomplished quietly, often un- 
publicized. He shunned public speaking, and when 
he spoke usually kept it short. Of Welsh background, 
he economized with words and did not waste time. 

Once an interviewer asked Dr. Evans how many 
infants had he delivered in his long career. Had he 
kept a record? 

"Well, yes, sort of-" he hesitated with that slow, 
familiar smile. "Last time I checked it was close to 
4,000." He did not add that a good majority of those 
deliveries were managed after hasty telephone calls 
to his home, or office at 1526 N. 16th St., and often 
in the crowded rowhouse homes of Philadelphia. Dr. 



30 



Evans' administrative role continued to be of major 
proportions throughout the era of President Barth. 

The PCO Board membership, it should be noted, 
had changed greatly between 1910 and 1919. It began 
in 1917-19 when Samuel W. Meek, of the New York 
Times, was President. Three bankers and an attorney 
filled other offices. This changed by 1919 when 
William R. Nicholson, President of the Land Title 
and Trust Co. became President; Frederick F. 
Forbes, Managing Editor of the Philadelphia North 
American, was Vice President; Dr. Simon P. Ross 
was the Treasurer, and Dr. John H. Bailey, '12, was 
the Secretary of the Board, and Dean Flack, C. Addi- 
son Harris, Treasurer of Franklin Trust Co., and Dr. 
J. Ivan Dufur, Chairman, comprised the Executive 
Committee. Mr. Nicholson held the Presidency into 
the early 1920's when additional fund raising took 
place. 

The last two years of the Second Decade were 
marked by the worst influenza pandemic ever to grip 
the United States. It began in 1918 and continued 
into 1919, arriving in three separate periods — May- 
June 1918, again in September - November, and 
resumed in March 1919 with lapses between each up- 
surge when the highly contagious disease appeared to 



be over. While the incidence of deaths as now 
documented was low compared to the many 
thousands infected, in the U.S. there were many 
resulting from broncho-pneumonia, or hemorrhagic 
edema of the lungs. Victims were often among young 
adults. 

Osteopathic physicians had notable success in 
bringing their patients through the flu onslaught. As 
had been the case in 1890, when a similar pandemic 
struck the country and took heaviest toll among the 
middle-aged and elderly. Dr. Still's manipulative 
therapy, "accelerating the blood's flow, relaxing 
nerves and being conducive to rest," as Encyclopedic 
researches were to report, had a great part in 
recovery of the infected. At any rate the D.O.'s were 
doing considerably better with many sufferers than 
those left to medications and nostrums in an era far 
short of modern "wonder drugs." 

The onslaught of the "flu" was linked with 
American troop movements in crowded ships. In 
Europe the infection was traced to the Eastern front 
and spread to the Allied trenches in the West. 
Civilians blamed it on the war. But those who had it, 
and were treated by the family D.O., usually became 
lifetime believers. 




DR.O.J.SNYDER, FOUNDER 
Every Founder's Day in Mid- Winter a PCOM delegation of Alumni, Faculty and Students proceeds after the annual program and 
eulogy to West Laurel Hill Cemetery, only a few blocks from the City Avenue Campus of the College he launched, to place a wreath in 
remembrance. 



31 



CHAPTER 4 



THE THIRD DECADE, 1919-1929 
THE TERRIFIC TWENTIES 



The pace and tone of the terrific 1920's were 
probably set that memorable November 11, 
1918, when World War I was ended victoriously by 
the Allied Powers. Anyone around for that wild Ar- 
mistice Day would never forget it. Mingled exhilara- 
tion, relief, and joy exploded into nationwide pan- 
demonium. Americans continued to celebrate it each 
November thereafter, until World War II broke out 
some twenty years later. But there is no disputing 
that in the first decade after WWI the spirit of the 
United States was a blend of confidence, courage, 
bold adventure and new heroes. 

There was much to cheer and no end of excite- 
ment in the fields of sports and entertainment. The 
big bands and jazz orchestras kept things jumping. 
Victor Herbert's melodies floated from musical com- 
edy stages where Marilyn Miller and the Flo Ziegfield 
FoHies girls danced, and George M. Cohan became 
"Yankee Doodle Dandy" to patriotic applause. There 
was a lot of the flag, for patriotism pervaded enter- 
tainment. Babe Ruth and the Yankees, the Giants, 
Cardinals, and Connie Mack's Athletics made 
baseball really big league, while Jack Dempsey in 
boxing, Red Grange in football, and Big Bill Tilden in 
tennis were unbeatable before packed stands. Bobby 
Jones and Walter Hagen made golf a spectator sport, 
and President Harding played it. 

The Soldiers' bonus was voted but the League of 
Nations was vetoed. Then Charles A. Lindbergh, an 
airmail carrier, flew his single-engined monoplane 
across the Atlantic to Paris in 1927, thus becoming 
the greatest American hero since General U. S. 
Grant. All this in the 1920's which also brought 
prohibition, bootleg booze, the Teapot Dome scan- 
dals, Al Capone, the stock market's boom and bust, 
with calm Cal Coolidge steering the Ship of State. 
They were indeed lively times. 

For Philadelphia College of Osteopathy the 1920's 
generated new vigor, enthusiasm, and a broader 



program as students and faculty adapted to the most 
modern and commodious quarters the institution 
had until then enjoyed. Moreover, it was their own 
property, all previous accommodations had been 
temporary rentals. Thanks to the successful fund 
raising campaign in 1916, providing $60,000, there 
was a new, fully equipped 50-bed Hospital that filled 
a need which had handicapped the College and its 
practicing alumni for years. It was the biggest stride 
PCO had taken since its beginning. 

The commodious Reyburn mansion had been 
renovated and converted into classrooms, 
laboratories, Administration offices, and in the base- 
ment, a large space for the anatomy laboratory. The 
vaulted entrance and stairway became the College 
lobby, opening upon the intersection of 19th and 
Spring Garden Sts. in what was then, still a select 
residential area, with homes like John B. Stetson's 
not far away. 

The motivating factor was that PCO had outgrown 
all previous locations, and now with enrollment in- 
creasing after the declines of 1917-18, when nearly 
half of the students were women, the Reyburn place 
and two additional buildings at 1818 and 1820 Spring 
Garden St. provided ample space. Some of the 
women during the war years took up nursing courses 
which had been inaugurated in 1915 and would con- 
tinue until 1960 when the School of Nursing would 
be closed for budgetary reasons, at least temporarily. 

The School of Nursing occupied one of the 
buildings adjacent to the College on Spring Garden 
St., and was officially recognized as a training school 
in Pennsylvania. Upon graduating, nurses were eligi- 
ble for State Board examinations and the certificate 
of Registered Nurse. The nursing students received 
instruction from members of the College faculty, and 
in addition to service in the Osteopathic Hospital, 
had an additional six months at Philadelphia General 
Hospital, handling special types of cases. 



32 




The School was under the direction of several 
good Directresses during its history. The Misses S. 
M. Johnson, in the '20's, Margaret Peeler, later, then 
Miss Helen Sterrett, who saw it to its closing day, 
and Miss Sarah Thompson all ran a splendid School. 

WORLD WAR I SERVICE OF MIXED 
DUTIES FOR D.O'S. 

Some of the male students in the Class of 1917 had 
been drafted into the U. S. Armed Services, and 
others served with the National Guard. Sergt. 1st 
Class H. Walter Evans was with the Army, and Prof. 
Charles R. Heard, '16, had been a 2nd Lieutenant fly- 
ing a Handley-Page bomber with Squadron No. 1, 
U.S. Air Corps. Dr. Paul T. Lloyd was among those 
in the National Guard. Dr. J. Ernest Leuzinger, then 
a Temple student, was drafted and then assigned 
from Fort Meade to the SATC back at Temple. 

Another category which matriculated at PCO with 
the classes of 1918-19-20, included a number who 
completed college, disappointed at not being com- 
missioned although they too had been in uniform. 
These were undergraduates who combined military 
duty with abbreviated courses in the War 
Department's belated program called S.A.T.C. — Stu- 
dent Army Training Corps. An all-Services 



preliminary training project, it was organized on the 
campuses of American Colleges and Universities, un- 
der command of Regular officers from Army, Navy 
and Marine Corps. Students hoping to become air- 
men were put into Army uniforms and, at first op- 
portunity, transferred to Air Corps ground schools 
and flight training bases. Some won Army or Navy 
commissions. A share of these were later among the 
1918 matriculating D.O. candidates at PCO. It was 
quite a mixed bag but all the better for it, as most 
S.A.T.C. candidates had undergone considerably 
more discipline than if they had just arrived from the 
local high school graduation or a summer's vacation. 
The Journal of the AOA in November 1918 
published ten pages of names of Osteopathic 
physicians in the U.S. Armed Services, their unit, 
training base or camp, and hometown were given. 
There were 675 reported on the Service roster at that 
time, but an estimated half again as many had not 
been located or reported in service. Two were listed 
as killed in action, one died in a flying accident while 
qualifying for his commission. Quite a number had 
been assigned to field hospitals by combat officers 
who took a broader view than the Army Medical 
Corps which rejected D.O's because they were not 
M.D's. Several from PCO were listed. Many overseas 



33 



were located in field hospitals and the Ambulance 
service. 

The Captain of PCIO's championship relays team, 
Dr. Elmer C. Hess was with the 29th Field Artillery 
Battery, Officers' Training School, Camp Taylor, 
Kentucky. Still practicing at 5601 N. Park Ave., 
Philadelphia, Dr. Hess contributed useful material 
for this history. 

DR. HOLDEIS APPOIISTED PCO DEAN 

One who went overseas in WWI, Dr. Edgar 0. 
Holden, had received his B.A. and graduated from 
the University of Pennsylvania in 1915, and was 
teaching chemistry, physics, biology and embryology 
at PCO before entering the Army. He did not take of- 
ficers training but as a Sergeant Major with the 
358th Engineers, served for one and a half years. He 
returned a veteran of the American Expeditionary 
Forces, and saw enough war to determine his choice 
in peacetime vocations. Returning to PCO — 
remember its name had been shortened from PCIO 
when the Hospital was ready in 1918 — Sergeant 
Holden became a student again, this time for the 
degree of Doctor of Osteopathy. He made it with 




i:i>(, IR U. HOLDEN, 1924-1944 



honors, received the D.O. degree in 1922, then con- 
tinued for two years to instruct the same subjects he 
taught before the War. 

By 1924, Dr. Arthur M. Flack, Sr. after 23 years as 
Dean, was ready to relinquish that position and con- 
tinue as Professor of Anatomy, Pathology and 
Osteopathic Principles. So Dr. Holden, at 30 years 
the youngest man ever to hold the post, became the 
fifth Dean of PCO. He launched the Pre-Osteopathic 
School in 1931 in order to provide additional train- 
ing for qualified high school graduates before their 
acceptance as freshmen, and three years later raised 
the minimum requirements for admission to one full 
year's college work besides the high school cer- 
tificate. Another new feature was the Graduate 
School of Osteopathic Medicine through which, at 
classes held two days a week for ten hours each day, 
emphasis was put upon clinical subjects, laboratory 
work, and ward rounds in the hospital. This ad- 
ditional work enabled those students wishing to be 
licensed in New Jersey to quahfy. The course was of 
two years' duration. 

While PCO returned to peacetime routines the 
American Osteopathic Association was reviewing the 
nation's loss of hves due to the influenza pandemic. 
After its ravages in the civil population the Federal 
Bureau of Census issued weekly reports on the 46 
largest American cities with a combined population 
of 23,000,000. The AOA used these figures in its 
Journal and revealed that from Sept. 8 to Nov. 
9 — considered the most virulent period of the 1918 
epidemic — there had been 82,306 deaths directly due 
to flu-pneumonia in those 46 cities. Since they 
represented only one-fifth of the total population at 
that time, estimates of the total epidemic toll verged 
on half a million. 

One satisfaction projected by the AOA's research 
was the nationwide success that Osteopaths had in 
combatting the disease. Under the heading "Ex- 
periences with the Epidemic," letters from D.O. 
general practitioners appeared monthly in the AOA 
Journal. From cities in the Far West, Mid-West and 
the East, D.O's set forth their experiences in scores 
of cases, many giving day-to-day procedures. There 
was general agreement that drugs, serums and com- 
mon panaceas for fever were of little benefit. Several 
G.P's felt obliged to publicize "the best methods for 
handling influenza after it has developed." They 
agreed upon immediate bedrest for the patient, with 
salt-water gargle, hot baths, plenty of hot liquids, lit- 
tle solid food, one to three osteopathic treatments, 



34 



and a thorough purging of the alimentary canal. 
"When the patient is well enough to get up, make 
him remain in bed another day," wrote Honorary 
Life AOA member C.C. Reid, D.O. 

D.O.'S m TWO WORLD WARS 
TREATED WOUISDED 

So effective was the Osteopathic treatment that 
word spread rapidly of its success. Many servicemen, 
home on leaves, picked up the flu germ and when 
they were cured by Osteopathic therapy, told their 
military buddies. From Moncton, New Brunswick in 
Canada, Dr. J. M. Ogle reported on 43 flu patients, 
all cured. From Missouri a D.O. reported handling 
186 flu cases, of which only one failed to survive. Dr. 
L. M. Bush in Jersey City had 150 flu patients and all 
were restored to health. 

Most significant, perhaps, were the experiences of 
Osteopaths in the A.E.F. where a good many as 
draftees or volunteers served with or without regular 
commissions. Once overseas there was critical need 
of physicians at forward area medical stations, and 
the military hospitals to the rear. There was no 
hesitancy in assigning the D.O's to this duty where 
they worked beside the M.D's on the sick and wound- 
ed. Although a few were embittered at the failure to 
get Federal recognition and Commissions, most of 
the D.O's returned to home practice, pleased they 
had the opportunity to serve and show their tech- 
nique to the servicemen. 

(This policy of by-passing Medical Corps restric- 
tions on D.O's was emphatically reactivated in 
World War II by General Paul Hawley, Chief 
Surgeon U.S. Armed Forces in the European Theater 
of Operations, directly under General Eisenhower's 
Command. When increasing casualties dictated need 
for more physicians. General Hawley ordered 
Osteopathic doctors reassigned from any non- 
medical duties to caring for wounded, convalescent 
and any servicemen under rehabilitation. Thus 
scores of D.O's were transferred, commissioned and 
given medical duty in forward and rear area military 
hospitals. These included the important Rehabilita- 
tion centers in England, where hundreds were 
prepared for transfer home.) 

And so, with the veterans adding their numbers to 
high school and post-college graduates applying for 
enrollment, the 1920's opened a much broader 
educational program at PCO, which generated more 
student and faculty activities. It would also be a 
period of astonishing athletic performance by PCO's 



teams, and some championships won at individual 
level in tennis. Baseball became very popular and 
brought to the campus several accomplished pitchers 
and not a few good hitters. Some all-around per- 
formers excelled in several sports — basketball, 
baseball and tennis or track and competed if studies 
permitted. And, as has been generally demonstrated, 
the better the athlete, the more successful the physi- 
cian, surgeon, radiologist or specialist he became, as 
this decade proved. More of this anon. 

Among additional appointees to the faculty shown 
in the 1920 Catalog were Dr. H. Willard Sterrett, Sr., 
Dr. Francis J. Smith, Dr. Evalena S.C. Fleming, Dr. 
Frank Zindel, Dr. Mary Patton Hitner, Dr. Dudley B. 
Turner, Dr. James B. Eldon, and the burly athlete. 
Dr. William Furey. A number, like Dean Holden, 
had lately achieved their D.O. degree but continued 
teaching while moving into hospital internships and 
residencies. Dr. Sterrett was soon heading up a new 
Department of Dermatology and Genito-Urinary dis- 
eases. A brilliant professor and stern taskmaster. Dr. 
Sterrett was to have a son, H. Willard, Jr., a 
graduate with the Class of '44, who would follow the 
parental path and specialize in teaching the same 
subjects at PCO. 

GREAT NEW LEADERS DEVELOPED IN 

1920'S 

Four years later there was another increase in 
Faculty, but a surprising reduction in Board 
members, with only five — Blaine W. Scott, Presi- 
dent; T. Everett Ford, Secretary-Treasurer; and John 
E. Greaves, manufacturer; Robert A. Patton, 
capitalist; and Frank Schenuit, manufacturer. Mr. 
Scott was a coal company operator. The advisory 
committee was made up of seven Osteopathic 
physicians from the Faculty: Drs. C.D.B. Balbirnie, 
Edward G. Drew, Wesley PP. Dunnington, W. Otis 
Galbreath, Dean Holden, D.S.B. Pennock, and James 
C. Snyder. 

Both Faculty and Board expanded swiftly through 
the later Twenties. By 1924-25, Dr. H. Walter Evans 
was Professor of Bacteriology and Associate 
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Dr. H. 
McD. Bellew was Professor of Psychology; Dr. 
George H. Tinges instructor in ENT; Ralph L. 
Fischer, Associate Professor in Physical Diagnosis 
and Cardio-vascular and Respiratory diseases; and 
Dr. Foster C. True was instructing in Surgery. Other 
notable additions were Dr. Elizabeth R. Tinley, in- 
structor in Pediatrics; she ultimately became head of 



35 



that department, one of PCO's distinguished faculty 
ladies. 

Dr. D.S.B. Pennock, PCIO's first and among its 
greatest surgeons, must be listed high in the College 
annals. With his two degrees, D.O. and M.D., he 
brought the practice of surgery into the young in- 
stitution. He performed operations in the first sur- 
gery PCIO had, its amphitheater at 19th and Spring 
Garden sts. providing an admirable place to teach its 
techniques. Dr. Pennock also performed abdominal 
surgery in homes, taking his anesthetist when the 
situation permitted no removal of patient to the 
hospital. He was also called overseas on various oc- 
casions, and performed intricate surgery in London, 
including some on members of the Royal Family in 
the latter 1930's. 

With his contemporary, Dr. Edward G. Drew, Dr. 
Pennock, who lived into his 80's, was architect of 
PCO's Surgery department. His private practice was 
from 1813 Pine st. in Philadelphia, and went on for 
over 50 years. He was followed in the Chairmanship 





DR. IRA W. DREW 



DR. DAVID S. B. PENNOCK 

A snapshot taken during a trip to Florida in 1955 



of Surgery by Dr. James Madison Eaton, one of his 
trainees. Another who followed in Dr. Pennock's 
steps was Dr. Arthur M. Flack, Jr. Dr. Galen S. 
Young was head of Surgery in more recent years, but 
Dr. Carlton Street took over thereafter; they 
developed surgical specialties to a wide degree. 

In the contemporary era, PCOM's modernized 
Surgical department has had the talents of Pennock's 
student, Drs. Herman Kohn; and others among 
them, Leonard Finkelstein, Harry Binder, John J. 
Fleitz, Herman Poppe, Arnold Gerber, Raymond L. 
Ruberg, and anesthetists Dr. J. Craig Walsh, and 
Charles A. Hemmer. Dr. Henry D'Alonzo specialized 
in cardio-vascular and thoracic surgery. 

Dr. Paul Turner Lloyd, a graduate with the 1923 
Class, was inaugurating a long and learned faculty 
career as instructor in Obstetrics, one of several sub- 



36 



jects he taught prior to organizing and launching 
PCO's great Department of Radiology. By 1929 he 
was Associate Professor of Preventative Medicine, 
and lectured on Roentgenology. 

The Classes of 1920, 1921 and 1922 turned out 
graduates who distinguished themselves in private 
practice and contributed to the PCO fund raising 
through Alumni channels. Among these from '21 
were the Brandts, Bill and Ruth; Ralph and Cornelia 
Fischer, Walter Scutt, Marion Wilder and, — over 
many years — Dr. Mortimer J. Sullivan, who contin- 
ued a member of the PCOM Board during its Dia- 
mond Jubilee. He had been commuting to its meet- 
ings and College functions from Montclair, N.J. 

Dean Holden and Dr. Foster C. True were outstan- 
ding from the Class of '22, which however had small 
representation in Alumni membership. Dr. True, as 
with Dr. Sullivan, has enjoyed a long and successful 
general practice in Cranston, R.I. Prior to that he 
was from 1924 into the 1930's Professor of Clinical 
Osteopathy, and Assistant Professor of Surgery at 
PCO. He also practiced in Haddon Heights, N.J., and 
has been for many years a member of the Board of 
Directors and member of its Advisory Committee. 

The Class of 1923 had 51 members listed in the 
Alumni record, revealing they had given the highest 
amount to its fund campaign up to that time, of any 
class. Moreover, its members included some who 
were to become leaders in the Profession, and some 
who would have distinguished careers on PCO's 
faculty. Two of the latter, now Professors Emeritus, 




EARLY 1920'S FACULTY BASEBALL TEAM 
Standing, left to right: Edgar 0. Holden. Ira W. Drew, Paul T. 
Lloyd, D.S.B. Pennock, Francis J. Smith, Herbert Fischer. Seated, 
George L. Lewis. J. Ernest Leuzinger, D. Newell. 

are in the College Gallery of Greats— Dr. Lloyd, 
nationally known radiologist, and Dr. J. Ernest 
Leuzinger, long Chairman and developer of the 
Department of Ophthamology, Otorhinolaryngology, 
and Bronchoesophagology. 



PCO ATHLETES ALSO EXCELLED IN 

20'S 

Among other distinguished members of the class 
were Dr. R. MacFarlane Tilley, who became Dean of 
American School of Osteopathy in Kirksville, Mo., 
and the first PCO alumnus to become President of 
the AOA; Dr. Tinley, Dr. Phyllis W. Holden, the 



P.C.O.'S BASEBALL CLUB, 1920 



W^:- TT 




From left: Coach and Dr. Francois DEliscu, John Leach, in- 

fielder: Mortimer Sullivan, catcher: Harold (Chick) Sales, infield; 
Bill Champion, pitcher; Don Thorburn, George Van Riper, out- 



fielders; Foster True, 3rd base, outfield; Paul Fitzgerald. 1st base; 
Tricker IFhitaker. pitcher. Paul T. Lloyd. 2nd base. 



37 



Dean's wife; and possibly the best group of athletes 
any PCO class turned out. They included Dr. 
William D. Champion, pitcher, and Dr. Leuzinger, 
catcher, on a baseball team that, with the hitting of 
Dr. Lloyd and Dr. Donald B. Thornburn, defeated 
among others, Penn Military College, with the great 
George Earnshaw of the 1929-30-31 Champion 
Athletics, pitching against them. 

The early 1920's were replete with PCO athletic 
success encompassing five sports — baseball, basket- 
ball, tennis, track and golf. Each in its turn attracted 
a nucleus of well conditioned, experienced players 
from the first, second and third year classes who, 
despite heavy study and clinic schedules, reported to 
Fairmount Park, the Central YMCA gym, or the 
Bala-Cynwyd Club's tennis courts for practice. Drs. 
Carl and Herbert Fischer, Mortimer Sullivan, Foster 
True, Don Thornburn, Paul T. Lloyd and J. Ernest 
Leuzinger have kept those memories alive since their 
College classes began celebrating 50th Anniversaries, 
and holding Alumni reunions. 

While the College at 19th and Spring Garden Sts. 
had more than adequate space for lectures and 
laboratory work, including its well equipped new 
Hospital building, it sadly lacked facilities for the 
recreational program. So all baseball and basketball 
games were played on the opponents' fields, and in 
their gymnasiums. Even the girls' swimming team 
competed in their rival's tanks, for in the early PCO 
sports thinking, there was always a place for the 
women students, be they D.O. candidates, or those 
seeking the R.N. in the Nursing School. 

Toward the end of the decade real estate advisor 
John G. Keck, searching for a playing field, bid on a 
lot near the property on which PCO would build its 
48th and Spruce Sts. plant — what was then known as 
Passon Field. But the Board decided that $65,000 
was too much and, as Dr. Lloyd added, "after the 
1929 market crash, it was." So the field remained for 
the semi-pros until the later 1930's when PCO played 
baseball on it by arrangement. 

As one veteran PCO athlete related: "We often 
watched from the west windows of our building the 
pitching of a tall, stringy semi-pro black boy who 
would strike out nearly everyone. Nobody knew his 
name. A couple of years later, I went to Shibe Park, 
and there he was in the visitors' uniform — Satchel 
Paige!" (And still striking them out, he could have 
added, while enroute to Baseball's Hall of Fame, the 
greatest black pitcher of all.) 

Others in the early 1920's lineups besides those 



already named were Paul Fitzgerald and Chick Sales, 
infielders; John Leach and George Van Riper, out- 
fielders. Mortimer Sullivan's play attracted one of 
Connie Mack's scouts who invited him to tryout with 
the Athletics. But after serious thought. Dr. Sullivan 
decided against any professional baseball interrup- 
tion of his Osteopathic career. 

Milton D'Eliscu's training and scheduling had 
much to do with PCO's rapid rise on sport's spec- 
trum of the 1920's. The promotions under PCO's 
banner involved sponsorship of top rank indoor 
winter track meets, featuring internationally known 
competitors such as Paavo Nurmi, the 'flying Finn' 
of that era, Willie Ritola, a record breaking distance 
runner like Nurmi, and the great sprinter, Harold 
"Boots" Lever. These were presented in the fifth 
such annual meet in 1924 at the 108th Field Artillery 
Armory on N. Broad St., and created a sensation 
when they all set world records on the cinder track. 
The meet, widely reported on the nation's sports 
pages, was also the first reported in the newly 
launched "Synapsis " PCO's student Yearbook of 
1925, which has been pubhshed by the Third Year 
Classes ever since. 

Amid the steady flow of future osteopathic 
teaching talent from the 1920's decade, the Class of 
1926 kept up the pace. Four of their members are 
still prominent at PCOM as faculty leaders or senior 
Board members. The latter would include Dr. Paul 
H. Hatch, Class of '26 President in its First Year, 
now practicing in Washington when not at his 
Northeast Harbor, Me. summer retreat. He rarely 
misses a PCOM function or Board meeting. Dr. 
Edwin H. Cressman, who began teaching at PCO 
when he completed his internship, and began as in- 
structor in Histology and Genito-Urinary diseases, 
and continues to teach as Professor Emeritus. He 
was until the 1970's Professor and Chairman of the 
Department of Dermatology and Syphilology, carry- 
ing on an extensive private practice in the meantime. 

The 1926 Synapsis' 'prophet' and New Rochelle, 
N.Y. wit. Dr. Donald Watt, had this forecast on Dr. 
Cressman: "The papers of Vienna boom and bloom 
with news of a certain person, known to our profes- 
sion as Ed Cressman, but to the Viennese as Lorenz's 
double; and well he should be, too. An able man is 
he." Now one of the Faculty elders, Dr. Cressman 
has chaired several important committees at the 
College, and has a reputation for clear, concise and 
well organized lectures. As a dermatologist he ranks 
at the top, when he speaks, others listen. 



38 




An early 1 920 !s photograph of PCIO students and Faculty members. 



Dr. Frank E. Gruber, another Philadelphian who 
rose steadily on the faculty, is presently Professor 
and Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and 
Gynecology. There he carries on the work begun by 
Dr. Earle S. Willard and Dr. Edward G. Drew in the 
first two decades, and thereafter for nearly 50 years 
by the late, incomparable Dr. H. Walter Evans. 

The fourth alumnus and Faculty member from the 
1926 Class was its senior year President, the well lov- 
ed, hard working Dr. Joseph F. Py. Now retired but 
still Professor Emeritus in Microbiology and Public 
Health, Dr Py's interest in Osteopathy was stirred 
after his first wife's death during child birth. He 
decided to become a physician, without much money 
to pay the costs. So this son of an Alsatian im- 
migrant, who had worked his way through high 
school, continued to labor in a steel mill while ab- 
sorbing the difficult studies enroute to his D.O. 
Once he had it. Dr. Py took one of the low-pay 
Clinical assistant's positions, progressing from it to 
become head of the Department of Bacteriology by 
1932, and later to Chair the Department of 
Microbiology and Public Health, until his retirement 
due to his health. 

Dr. Py's earthy, homespun platform style 



enchanted his students so that his classes were usual- 
ly highest in percentage of attendance. 

Dr. Py served repeatedly and sometimes con- 
tinuously on Faculty standing committees. He was 
throughout the 1930's and '40's on Dean Holden's Ex- 
ecutive Committee that listed several who would one 
day belong in PCOM's Gallery of Greats. The same 
1942 committee also listed Drs. Ralph L. Fischer, 
Russel Erb, Frederick A. Long, George Rothmeyer, 
Paul T. Lloyd, J. E. Leuzinger, Otterbein Dressier, J. 
Francis Smith, William Baldwin, Jr., and Ruth Tinley 
along with the earlier 'old graduates', Drs. Pennock, 
Ed Drew, H. Willard Sterrett, and Walter Evans. 
Verily, those were years that produced physicians of 
high purpose, steeled for whatever might befall. Dr. 
William B. Strong, 1974, Alumni President, is a '26 
graduate. 

Others from the mid-20's would include Dr. Earl 
H. Gedney'26, and his brother Dewaine Gedney, '38, 
general practitioners in Norristown; and add from 
other classes the names of Drs. William Spaeth, '25, 
H. Mahlon Gehman, Henry B. Herbst, Theodore W. 
Stiegler, Jr. all '27. There were also Drs. William F. 
Daiber, James M. Eaton, Harry Hessdorfer, and 
Herbert Talmage, all 1928 Graduates, so the talent 



39 



list was well stocked — with others like Isabel Wilcox 
and Guy Merryman from the '29 and '30's classes. 
Quite a decade, the Twenties. 

FISCHER BROTHERS' BIG TIME 
TENNIS WON HEADLINES 

Osteopathic therapy and nationally ranked tennis 
tournaments became another publicity producing 
combination for PCO immediately after World War 
I. Big Bill Tilden, probably America's greatest tennis 
player, had suffered a cartilage injury in the knee 
during a Davis Cup match with France's Rene 
LaCoste. He was urged to see an osteopath by L. 
Mason Beaman, who had come to the Germantown 
Cricket Club, scene of the matches, as Chairman of 
the U.S. Lawn Tennis Association. Drs. Carl and 
Herbert Fischer, also playing tournament tennis 
while studying for their D.O. degrees at PCO, made 
sure that Tilden's knee was restored to full use. As a 
result Big Bill became devoted to osteopathic 
treatments, and frequently went to the College and 
spoke to students on the benefits athletes derived 
from manipulative therapy. He also delighted his 
audiences with personal anecdotes from his long ex- 
perience in the game. During his stardom Tilden 
often visited PCO, frequently had treatments from 
Carl Fischer whom he had taught the game of tennis, 
and who recalled Big Bill's asking him for an 
Osteopath's office address in whatever city he was 
expecting to visit for a tournament. Just in case of 
need. 

Dr. Herbert Fischer, '23, had led the Fischer fami- 
ly into the osteopathic fold as a result of injuring his 
back as a boy while playing in a country barn. In con- 
siderable pain, he had been treated by Dr. Charles 
Furey, '12, then with his brother William practicing 
while instructing at the College. Dr. Furey urged 
Herb to stick to both tennis and osteopathy, which 
he and brother Carl did. 

PCO faculty and alumni members were following 
Carl's lawn tennis fortunes with such enthusiasm 
during the season of 1924 that when they heard he 
had been invited to play at Wimbledon in London, 
Dr. C. Paul Snyder and Dr. Walter Evans took him 
to an AOA convention in Atlantic City. There Dr. 
Evans introduced him while Dr. Snyder 'passed the 
hat' and collected enough checks to pay a good share 
of Carl's expenses to England. Nor did Carl Fischer, 
D.O. let them down. 

"As luck would have it. the great Norman Brookes 
was looking for a doubles partner, his former 



Australian teammate, Anthony Wilding, having been 
killed in action during WWI," Carl recalled ^fifty 
years later at his Chestnut Hill office where he still 
practiced. As it turned out the Brookes-Fischer com- 
bination blasted their wav to Wimbledon's finals, 
where it required the Australian doubles champions 
to stop them short of a World's championship. 

Golf was a favorite outlet for faculty members of 
those years. Drs. Carlton Street, '24, Paul T. Lloyd 
'23, W.O. Galbreath '05, Dean Holden '22, E. G. 
Drew. '11 and also D. S. B. Pennock, ASO alumnus 
of '99, all played. And when the students challenged 
with a team, the faculty players, led by Street, a low- 
80's player, Galbreath and Lloyd, showed the 
students how it's done. During the 1930's Dr. 
Charles C. Hillyer '36 led a classy PCO-golf team to 
many victories, and as a graduate won the Florida 
championship. Others of that era who played were 
Don Gibbs, Charles Kerr, and Charley Burroughs. 

The College Announcements for 1923-24 devoted 
nearly a page to PCO's athletic programs. It 
emphasized "abundant opportunity for all students, 
male and female, to take advantage of sports and 
regular exercise." The Athletic Council awarded 
collegiate honors at season's close, and noted that in- 
coming freshmen were assessed a $5 fee to support 
the Athletic Association, and each year thereafter 
dues were to be $2. Moreover, the baseball team, 
scheduled to play Ursinus, Haverford, Villanova, St. 
Joseph's, Pennsylvania Military College and Temple 
University, would receive uniforms and other 
necessary equipment. This was better than in the 
'Teens decade. 

WOMEN AND FRESHMEN ALSO HAD 
TEAMS 

The announcement also noted that the tennis 
team "was exceedingly strong." A court was to be 
provided in the College grounds, but the main thing 
was that State champions in singles and doubles were 
enrolled— meaning, of course the Fischer brothers. 
The track team had won gold medals at the Penn 
Relays, and basketball was now "a major sport at 
PCO." For the women students interested, a local 
YWCA branch had provided a gymnasium for their 
basketball, "and a series of games would be played as 
usual." The booklet carried photographs of the 1922 
tennis squad of six players and the manager: 
Rossman, '24, C. Fischer, Berger, Allen all of the '25 
class; H. Fischer '23, and the manager Vaughn, also 
'23. 



40 



After the 1921-22 season, PCO's successful basket- 
ball team also had a picture made showing Coach 
D'Eliscu and Keiper, the manager, in civvies, and 
players Kline, Powell, Gerlach, Gibbs (all second 
year men), Don Thornburn, Captain Yocum and 
Brocklehurst ('23 Class), and the fleet footed 'Cub- 
by' Street '24, posing in their uniforms. The 
Freshmen also had a team, playing local College 
Freshmen, and some of the local prep school teams. 

Many of the faculty members in the 1920's en- 
joyed sports as much as their students. Moreover, in 
the occasional Faculty vs. Students contests at golf 
and baseball, the professors and instructors often 
dealt the younger fellows a defeat. Such was the case 
in the pick-up teams that featured the annual Dufur 
Day picnics. This was another annual red-letter day 
of that period, originated by the Neurone Society, 
which prompted a full attendance of faculty and stu- 
dent body. 

Dr. Ivan Dufur was Professor of Nervous diseases, 
being one of the original A.S.O. Big Four teaching 




CHEMISTR Y LABOR A TOR Y 



pioneers from the beginning under Drs. Pressly and 
0. J. Snyder. He started as Chairman of the Depart- 
ment of Neurology and Psychiatry, and had settled 
in the Witherspoon building where he established a 
practice that led to his establishment of a fine new 
hospital for mental patients which is still in opera- 
tion. His commodious office in mid-city also became 
a popular off-campus rendezvous for O.J. when he 
wished to discuss policy matters. Or, as was to occur 
in the last months of the 1920's, to plan fund raising 
measures to save PCO's newly constructed Spruce 
Street College-Hospital center. 

With this background the Dufur Day outings 
became a favorite holiday on which older faculty 
athletes enjoyed the games as much as did the 
students. The initial issue of the Osteopathic Digest 
came out Oct. 30, 1927, in five-column, four-page 
format with a lead article on the enrollment of 107 
freshmen from fourteen states and two foreign coun- 
tries. It also featured the Faculty vs. Varsity ball 
game played on the famed neurologist's 60-acre es- 
tate near Ambler, Pa. The game was a light hearted 
exercise with much free swinging against picnic 
pitching, ending with the score 16 to 6 in favor of the 
Faculty. After that the guests played bridge, danced 
on the veranda, and ate hot dogs and sandwiches 
served on the Dufur lawn. These pleasant outings 
continued into the 1930's and were recorded in the 
Digest and the Synapsis yearbook until Dr. Dufur 
retired from the faculty. 

SYNAPSIS BORN IN HOPE FOR 
FUTURE COMMUNICATION 

The first issue of the Synapsis was in charge of a 
staff of seven, of whom three are still listed in the 
AOA Directory — Dr. Paul H. Hatch, Washington, 
D.C., a member of the PCOM Board of Directors, 
who was the Synapsis Treasurer; and two Associate 
Editors, Dr. Florence A. Everhart, also practicing in 
Washington, and Dr. Leo C. Wagner, Grand Rapids, 
Mich. All are Class of 1926. Dr. Paul G. Norris was 
Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Sylvester J. O'Brien the 
Business Manager, and Drs. Lilian J. French and 
Edgar L. Copp were Associate Editors — five men and 
two women who started something which has provid- 
ed ever since a year to year review, photographically 
in the main, but with the traditional student outlook 
on their professors and preceptors, interlaced often 
with both humor and serious reflection. 

The 1925 PCO salute to future students, faculty 
and alumni had its hopeful note: 



41 



"Believing as we do, that this annual com- 
pilation is to serve in a capacity allegorically 
similar to the anatomic unit in that it is to ever 
communicate the personnel and activities of 
one phase of animated existence, to another 
more remote; that it shall transmit in the 
absence of a corporeal association; and that its 
preservation will make for an organized, co- 
ordinated, integrated, osteopathic whole; We, 
representing and executing the will of the 
Junior Class of 1924-1925, do identify it— "The 
Synapsis." 

May the supplications for its longevity, 
solicitations for its maintenance, and 
beseechings for the realization of its salubrious 
purposes encounter cordiality in the hands of 
our successors. . . " 

The initial Synapsis was dedicated to 0. J. Snyder, 
D. 0. and carried a full page portrait of the Founder, 
signed: Cordially and fraternally yours, 

O.J. Snyder 



FURTHER UPGRADING OF 
STANDARDS I.\ 1922 

The pictures of classrooms, the biological, 
chemistry, bacteriology, and anatomy laboratories 
provided awareness of what an advance the 19th and 
Spring Garden Sts. facilities had made over what 
PCO had from 1904 through 1916. Other 
photographs reproduced in admirable claritv depict 
the early X-Ray equipment, the obstetrical room, 
surgical amphitheater, and a typical patient's room 




Dr. Willard Slerrett demonstrates that he is equally proficient in the 
mastery oj each instrument. 



in the new Hospital. A full page photo of the 
Neuron-Dufur Dav picnic assemblage on the Doc- 
tor's lawn was included. 

Dean Holden in six succinct paragraphs wrote the 
first hail-and-farewell of the manv that deans direct 
to young physicians graduating into the world of the 
ill and dependent. One paragraph said it all: "The 
reward of your diligence is the commission to go 
forth and serve. Your labor will be the labor of love 
for mankind and your purpose the betterment of 
humanity. Go where duty calls. It is the end and aim 
of the highest life." 

Of the 28 faculty members pictured and identified 
as to position, rank, academic degrees and 
organizational memberships, all but six have been 
mentioned in the early chapters of this volume. 
Eleven others, including Drs. Edward G. Drew, 
William P. Masterson, James B. Elden, Charles W. 
Barber, H. Willard Sterrett, Mary Patton Hitner, A. 
D. Campbell, H. McD. G. Bellew, and Edward A. 
Green, were listed without photo. The six not 
previously named were Emanuel Jacobson, D.O., 
Associate Professor in Histology and Pathology; 
James McGuigan, D.O., Associate Professor in 
Applied Anatomy; Robert A. Lichtenthaeler, B.S., 
M.S., Sc.D., was Associate Professor in Chemistry, 
Physiology, Physiological Chemistry and 
Bacteriologv: G. H. Newman, Professor of X- 
Radiance: Dr. Robert Peel Noble, Ph.B., M.A., Ph.G. 
was Associate Professor in Chemistry and Physics, 
and Elisha T. Kirk, D.O., was Instructor in 
Anatomy. 

During 1922 the D.O. Course underwent another 
major extension, this time to four years of nine 
months each. This was the first important extension 
since 1911 when the Board had led Osteopathic 
educational uplift in standards, and put the College 
on equal level with its medical counterparts. It had 
also met licensing requirements in certain states 
such as New York by so doing. The extension by one 
month's instruction in each year in 1922 was again 
upgraded in 1925 (to meet Pennsvlvania's practice 
requirements) by requiring applicants for matricula- 
tion to have completed one year each of college grade 
chemistry, biology, and physics. This was also des- 
tined to undergo further upgrading as the entrance 
requirements eventually dictated a full un- 
dergraduate college course with the equivalent of a 
Bachelor's degree. 

As the Twenties moved along, so did PCO's 
curriculum and expansion list of its special lecturers. 



42 



P.C.O. 'S PHI SIGMA GAMMA CHAPTER IN 1920 




This snotc-fleched photo of the Zeta Chapter, Phi Sigma Gamma fraternity was taken in January 1920 on the steps oj the newly acquired 
College headquarters in Mayor Reyburn's former mansion, 19th and Spring Garden Sts. 

The members: Front row. left to right: George Miles, Wilfred Dreenberg, Ralph L. Fischer, Albert Sacks. Nathaniel W. Boyd. Second row: 
Norman Roome, William E. Brandt, George Hoivard, Foster C. True, Roger M. Gregory, Waldo Dillenbeck. Third row: E. W. Brockelhurst. 
Paul T. Lloyd, Frederick M. Keiper, W''. Nelson Hunter, C. Emerson Lindsey, Wendell T. Long, Paul A. Fitzgerald. Fourth row: ]. Maurice 
Westerman. Frank B. Mitchell. J. Anthony Kelly, Harold J. Saile, H. Kelsey Whitaker. Fifth row: Donald C. McGraw. Vincent H. Ober. and 
J. Mortimer Sullivan. 



A comparison between the 1910-11 Catalog and the 
31st Announcement of 1929-30 reveals an 87- 
member faculty teaching from twelve well organized 
Departments. In 1910 there were only eighteen 
Professors, associates, assistants and demonstrators 
in all, and the thirteen Professors were teaching two, 
three or more subjects. For example, Dean Muttart 



taught basic anatomy, diagnosis and technique, and 
was Clinical Professor of nervous diseases. Dr. 
Dufur taught Clinical Osteopathy, Principles and 
Practice, was Chief of Infirmary staff, and also the 
College Registrar. Dr. Flack was Professor of 
Pathology, Bacteriology, and Applied Anatomy and 
was preparing to handle the Dean's duties. 



43 



1920' S PRODUCED GREAT PCO 
EDUCATIONAL LEADERS 

Twenty years later Dr. Flack was Chairman of the 
Department of Pathology, and had four assistants 
with important PCO futures: Drs. Enrique Vergara 
'25, Joseph F. Py '26, Otterbein Dressier '28, and 
Russell C. Erb, the chemistry Professor and graduate 
of Lafayette College and Temple University. The 
Department of Surgery, chaired by the perennial 
D.S.B. Pennock, D.O. and M.D., by '29 had five big 
name D.O.'s and potential department heads 
teaching daily at 2 P.M., and Saturdays at 8 A.M. 
They were Drs. Edward G. Drew, Foster True, Edwin 
H. Cressman, H. Mahlon Gehman, and Harmon 
Kiser. 

PCO by the end of the 20's had eleven fully 
organized departments: Obstetrics and Gynecology, 
Dr. E. G. Drew, Chairman, and Dr. Walter Evans 
moving in; Gastro-Enterology and Proctology, Dr. 
Charles J. Muttart, Chairman; Neurology, Dr. J. Ivan 
Dufur, Chairman; Genito-Urinary Diseases and Der- 
matology, Dr. H. W. Sterrett, Chairman; 
Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology, Dr. W. 0. 
Galbreath, Chairman; Pediatrics, Dr. Ira Drew, 
Chairman; Diseases of the Chest, Dr. Ralph L. 
Fischer, Chairman; Pathology, Dr. Flack, Chairman; 
Radiology, Dr. Paul T. Lloyd, Chairman; and 
Physiotherapy, Dr. Marion A. Dick, Chairman. The 
term "in charge" was used in the Catalog but the 
responsibilities were those of a chairman. An extra- 
ordinary number of 1920's graduates continued to 
teach at the College while conducting successful 
practices. 

Of these a majority won Professor's rank, and in 
time advanced to the chairmanship of departments. 
When Dr. Ira Drew retired. Dr. Ruth E. Tinley '23, 
assumed leadership of the Pediatrics Department. 
When she retired. Dr. William S. Spaeth '26, became 
Chairman. Dr. Charles Haddon Soden '26 directed 
the Department of Osteopathic Therapeutics until 
Dr. John Eimerbrink took over in the 1940's. Dr. 
James Eaton '28 Chaired Surgery after Dr. Pennock 
stepped down, and later Drs. Galen S. Young and 
Carlton Street were Chairman. Dr. J. E. Leuzinger 
'24, succeeded Dr. Galbreath in the Chairmanship of 
Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology and Broncho- 
esophogology, and when Dr. Leuzinger became 
Professor Emeritus, Dr. Charles W. Snyder, Jr., '33 
was made Chairman. After Dr. William F. Daiber '28 
relinquished the Chairmanship of Internal Medicine, 
Dr. Clarence E. Baldwin, '33 moved up, and Dr. 



Daiber became Director of Cardiovascular Training. 
Dr. Vergara was Chief of Proctology, and Dr. Cathie, 
'31 took over the Anatomy Department when Dr. 
George S. Rothmeyer, '27 assumed charge of the 
Gastroenterology Department. 

Dr. Cathie's lifelong work, starting after his 
graduation in 1931, was devoted to improving gross 
anatomy instruction, and developing to the highest 
level his concept of micro-anatomy. He became an 
instructor in 1933, was Professor and Chairman in 
1944, and by 1960 his reputation as a lecturer and 
writer on the subject had won nationwide acclaim. A 
visiting delegate from Great Britain declared that he 
had seen all the best anatomy laboratories and 
teaching aids in the Western world, but with the 
possible exception of the one in London, PCO's was 
the most impressive and complete. Dr. Cathie's self- 
made models of the human body remain as testimony 
to his understanding and appreciation of anatomy. 

Nor should the earlier groundwork for PCO's 
teaching of this basic subject be overlooked. In the 
formative years of the College, members of its Board 
and Faculty organized the Harvey School of 
Anatomy, a non-profit, non-stock Corporation whose 
purpose was "to support the study of anatomy by lec- 
tures and by the dissection of human bodies, under 
the direction of competent instructors." It was 
located adjacent to the anatomy laboratory and 
provided necessities and a collection of models and 
specimens for use in anatomy study. 

The student publication "Axone" begun in 1920 
under the auspices of the Neurone Society had 
developed into a quarterly pamphlet by 1927. It was 
being edited by John McA. Ulrich, a senior, with four 
associate editors representing each class: H. Mahlon 
Gehman '27, Alton Robins, '28, Benjamin 
Groshefsky '29, and Nathaniel Snyder '30. James M. 
Eaton '28 was Advertising manager. 

The Axone had competition when the Osteopathic 
Digest came into being in 1927, and when the first 
issue appeared Oct. 30, Dean Holden as editorial ad- 
visor, wrote greetings and announced its purpose as 
"a means of directing attention to, and advising of 
Osteopathic educational endeavors and 
achievements." The Digest would start as a tabloid of 
four pages; the first issue featured reminiscences by 
former Dean Charles W. McCurdy, a sketch of Dr. 
O.J. Snyder, and the announcement of a First year 
enrollment of 107 students who came from fourteen 
States, with one each from Canada, England, and the 
Philippine Islands. It also carried notice that Coach 



44 



and Athletic Director D'Eliscu was on leave of 
absence to Japan where he was organizing its athletic 
organizations into a branch of the international 
A.A.U. 

When the Synapsis appeared in 1925 it made the 
first effort to gather and record some of the earlier 
history of PCO. As each Junior class tried to improve 
the book, the editors gave space to the College 
Hospital, the reminiscences of older faculty 
members, and increasing pictorial presentation of 
the College and campus, especially after the move to 
48th and Spruce Sts. The 1927 Synapsis published 
the newly written "Alma Mater" by Dr. Walter M. 
Hamilton, '25, later set to music as the PCO anthem. 

BENEFACTOR CHILDS UNDERWRITES 
NEW HOSPITAL 

These developments were overshadowed, 
however, by what was under way toward obtaining a 
larger campus on which to build a combination 
Osteopathic Hospital and College structure to accom- 
modate PCO's increasing enrollments. It was also 
necessary to provide more hospital beds, clinic 
facilities, and as teaching departments expanded, ad- 
ditional space for them. By 1928 the 19th and Spring 
Garden Sts. properties required either renovation or 
the demolition and replacement of the John E. 
Rayburn and adjoining properties with a modern 
Hospital-College building. Development of plans con- 
tinued. 

An unexpected and happy circumstance advanced 
the time to seek a new site and erect a complete new 
College and Hospital. The PCO Building Committee 
Chairman, Dr. Balbirnie, the Scottish born, English- 
educated former pharmacist who had operated a 
group of four drugstores before espousing 
Osteopathy and graduating from PCO in 1911, had a 
close friend and patient in Mr. S. Canning Childs. 
Residing in CoUingswood, N.J., Mr. Childs, Hke Dr. 
Balbirnie, was born in Great Britain. He came from 
Wakefield, Yorkshire County, the son of a small 
town tea merchant. He emigrated to America with 
the family when only fourteen, went to work early 
and developed a remarkable business acumen that 
pyramided into a fortune as he became a chain 
grocery store magnate. 

Mr. Childs never lost his concern for the little 
fellow, and he had particular regard for the healing 
and welfare of those who became ill. He contributed 
heavily to a Vienna hospital in which a doctor friend 
was a physician and surgeon. During a visit to his old 




MR. S. CANNING CHILDS, BENEFACTOR 
The Man Who Helped Save PCOM In '29 

home in England he had paid the costs of an annex to 
the local hospital, commemorating his mother's 
family name of Canning. In a profile carried in the 
Osteopathic Digest of April 15, 1928, his unselfish in- 
terest in this direction was set forth. The article was 
prompted by Mr. Childs' offer two years 
earlier — which had ignited the campaign for a new 
campus and building — to pay $150,000 toward a new 
Marion Childs unit to the Hospital. In subsequent 
discussion by the Board and the Building Committee, 
the probable cost of the new Hospital-College struc- 
ture was estimated at $800,000. It was to cost 
somewhat over $1,000,000, as it turned out. Mr. 
Childs then promised to pay the last $100,000 if the 
fund raising campaign neared the million-dollar 
mark. 

The project really got off the ground when a 
meeting was called by the Philadelphia County 
Osteopathic Society in the Adelphia Hotel on June 
21, 1927. Its purpose was to raise a Guarantee fund, 



45 



to be available to meet interest payments on a 
proposed loan of $100,000 with which to purchase a 
suitable tract on which to build. 

This meeting, opened by a rousing speech from 
Dr. 0. J. Snyder, still actively interested in the 
College he founded, was jammed with Faculty 
members, general practitioners (all alumni, of 
course) and invited friends of the College. Dr. Sny- 
der led off with a pledge of $200 which he doubled 
before the pledging was concluded, and over a dozen 
faculty members offered $100 each, thirteen others 
gave $50 each until $1,873 was raised to go with 
$2,500 previously pledged. This encouraged the Ad- 
ministration and Board later to announce a public 
campaign similar to those that previously had pro- 
duced $60,000 (1916), $102,000 (1919-20), and in 
1923 the sum of $70,000. 

NEW CAMPUS, NEW BUILDING IN 
WEST PHILADELPHIA 

The vision of Dr. Snyder and his inspiring speech 
at the June 21st meeting sparked a successful fund 
raising drive among the whole profession — students, 
faculty, alumni and friends. By March of 1928 over 
40 of the Faculty had pledged to give $100 each for 
five years, and 206 persons had subscribed $8,075 to 
be paid in sums of from $5 to $250 for five years. The 
Board on April 3, 1928, thereupon signed an agree- 



ment of sale to dispose of the 19th and Spring 
Garden Sts. College and Hospital buildings at an ask- 
ing price of $430,000. 

Meanwhile real estate scouts led by Dr. Balbirnie, 
Dean Holden, Robert Baur, Walter Evans and 
Russell Duane, officers and members of the Board, 
purchased for $165,000 a tract of land from the Eli 
Kirk Price estate at the northeast corner of 48th and 
Spruce Sts. in West Philadelphia. It was an ideal 
location, near the new West Philadelphia High 
School, at 47th and Walnut Sts., and the West 
Catholic Boys High School, 49th and Chestnut Sts. 
The site extending 281 feet east along Spruce St. and 
250 feet along 48th St., was in a choice residential 
area a short distance from the University of Penn- 
sylvania campus. It was to be a pleasant change from 
the heavy traffic and combined business-dwelling 
surroundings of 19th and Spring Garden Sts. The 
Board quickly authorized a public campaign for 
financing while the architects. Lackey and Hettle of 
Camden, were preparing drawings for the new 
building. 

It was decided finally to combine the College and 
the Hospital in one structure, rather than wedge an 
administration building between them, as was first 
suggested. The design was Collegiate Gothic, a 
beautiful four story and basement, steel, brick and 






liiii {i 



Present College and Hospital Buildings at 48th and Spruce streets 

46 



limestone trimmed structure, slate-roofed and ivy- 
dfaped that evoked the admiratron of all who beheld 
it, and evoked praise from architectural experts. 

The building, constructed during the boom of 
1929 was ready for occupancy Nov. 16 of that year. 
It had cost $1,030,000. So, while carpenters and 
bricklayers proceeded to their tasks, another 
successful public fund raising campaign was launch- 
ed in January of 1929, and continued into Autumn. 
Widely supported by the Profession and with PCO's 
Attorney Russell Duane as Campaign manager, it ob- 
tained pledges for $1,044,000. This, with the interest 
guarantee funds collected in 1927, promised to take 
care of everything. It was an unparalleled os- 
teopathic building achievement. 

But alas, this was the Autumn of the great market 
collapse. The financial catastrophe of late October 
1929 wrecked the fortunes of millions, and 
precipitated the Great Depression of the 1930's. And 
it did not by-pass Philadelphia College of 
Osteopathy. As the year ebbed, many large pledges 
went unpaid, leaving the PCO treasury without ade- 
quate funds to pay the builder and costs of material. 
It was a crisis without visible options, the worst the 
College ever experienced. 

Alfred Post and Robert Baur, President and Vice- 
President, were businessmen who had been on the 
Board since 1925. Dean Holden was Secretary- 
Treasurer. Drs. Balbirnie and Francis J. Smith were 
the only D.O.'s among the other seven Board 
members. Dr. H. Walter Evans called in his friend, 
realtor John G. Keck for advice and, hopefully, a 
solution. The College had a heavy building mortgage, 
secured by lots on which the new building stood, 
with only pledges for the balance — and they might 
not be forthcoming in the financial panic then grip- 
ping the country. 

GOOD LUCK, DRASTIC DECISIONS 
SAVE COLLEGE 

Events of the next few weeks piled on each other 
like crises in a melodrama. There were insufficient 
liquid assets to satisfy the builder and other 
creditors. Legal advice posed a choice in outright 
bankruptcy, reorganization under a less stringent op- 
tion, or withholding of interest payments from the 
Guarantee fund. All jeopardized the College future, 
and the tough voices of Dean Holden, Dr. Evans, Dr. 
Balbirnie and Dr. 0. J. Snyder prevailed against any 
decision that would lose the building and close the 
College. On this they were adamant. A new appeal 



brought William Harder of the Northern Trust Bank 
rnta eonstthation. Keek set up a temporary office in 
the new College building, from which he negotiated, 
and won the first big break. 

"I went to the builder, who already had filed in 
bankruptcy, and made him a proposition," Mr. Keck 
related 40 years later. "Our lawyers were present. 
We said we could pay $25,000, but no more. I had 
been carrying a $10,000 check from Northern Trust 
for several weeks given me by Harder. He had 
proposed a new appeal to the public after the panic 
eased, under the slogan 'Save Our College.' Then I 
showed the check to the builder, and explained it was 
his choice: either accept it, or take over the building 
and run it himself. He took it!" 

Including other creditors, the $25,000 represented 
only a small percentage of what the 48th and Spruce 
Sts. properties had cost, but at that low ebb in the 
booming 1920's it seemed like a pot of gold. Other 
creditors showed similar willingness to com- 
promise — something was always better than nothing. 
Several, understanding the situation created because 
of contributors' losses in the market crash, simply 
wrote off their claims as a contribution. 

There was a satisfying postlude to these debt 
negotiations, Mr. Keck concluded. Some months 
later he met the builder by chance. 

"He was in much better mood, and explained. 
That $25,000 you were able to pay permitted me to 
liquidate my own emergency obligations, and then 
make a fresh start. PCO did me a favor with that 
offer of part payment.' So even the ill wind may 
bring some balm," Keck added. 

Mr. Keck became a member of the Board of 
Directors during the late 1930's and in 1941 was 
elected President. He remained on the Board 
through the 1950's. When he received an Honorary 
LL.D. from PCO it was Dr. 0. J. Snyder who 
declared, "As one of the Founders I would like to say 
that, but for the efforts of John Keck, this College 
would not have survived." 

But back in the late 1929 and 1930 fiscal future for 
PCO remained rather bleak. Tuition had been raised 
to $250 at the beginning of the 1928-29 College year. 
The sparkling new College and Hospital building, on 
the cornerstone of which was simply inscribed: 
Marion Childs, had new furnishings and well 
equipped laboratories, including an updated 
Radiology department. These for the students had an 
uplifting effect on spirits and determination as well 
as being an inspiration for some remarkable advances 



47 



in education and clinical procedures. Research also 
took on a new enthusiasm. Osteopathy was becoming 
widely known throughout the Eastern states. 



ANOTHER GIFT, AND ANOTHER 
CAMPAIGN 

When the new decade opened, an additional task 
for the Profession was preparing for the 1930 AOA 
Convention, held July 7-11 (for the first time since 
1914) in Philadelphia. In this the PCO Alumni 
Association, which began to make itself felt in the 
20's along with the Philadelphia County Osteopathic 
Society, took major roles. Drs. Edgar Holden, Ches- 
ter Losee, Francis A. Finnerty and Arthur M. Flack 
were the Alumni Association Presidents in the 1923- 
29 years. 

But the College, still feeling the October market 
collapse and its impact on previous fund raisings, 
once more was obliged to call upon its friends in the 
Profession, the Faculty, and among the lay public. 
And again the great PCO benefactor, Mr. Childs 
provided the incentive. He gave outright to the 
College 2,000 shares of American Store common 
stock, valued before the market crash at $180 per 
share. The College-Hospital Board and Administra- 
tion then offered these shares at $100 each to facul- 
ty, alumni, students, or friends. As had happened 
during the earlier campaign, some of the leading 
citizens of Philadelphia and surrounding suburbs 
responded. Some of these names were recalled in a 
brief historical sketch prepared by Drs. Holden and 
Ira W. Drew and published in the January 1950 
Osteopathic Digest. To repeat a few from the list: 
"Mayor Harry A. Mackey, Judge Edwin 0. Lewis, 
Russell Duane, Esq., Justin P. AUman (President, 
Federation of Jewish Charities), William R. 
Nicholson, Jr., Mr. and Mrs. Edward Bok, Mr. Joseph 
Horn (Horn and Hardart), Atwater Kent, Roland S. 
Morris (ex-Ambassador), Jesse Linton, Judge 



Raymond MacNeille, PhiHp Gadsden (President, 
Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce), George 
Markland (President, Philadelphia Board of Trade), 
Jonathan Steere (Girard Trust Co.), and hundreds of 
others worthy of mention. 

"During the course of that PCO campaign Judge 
Edwin 0. Lewis made an important appraising state- 
ment concerning our institutions. We quote him 
from a clipping in a Philadelphia newspaper: "this is 
the most important philanthropy and charity before 
the public at the present time." 

The editors of the 1929 Synapsis were the first to 
put the gratitude of the PCO student body on the 
printed page. In their Dedication of the Synapsis, 
thev remembered PCO's benefactor: 

Dedication 

To his deep appreciation of the 
Science, to his knowledge of its needs, 
and to his desire for its further advance- 
ment, do we owe the new and greater 
Philadelphia College of Osteopathy and 
the Osteopathic Hospital of Philadel- 
phia. 

It is with much affection that we, the 
Class of 1930, humbly and reverently 
dedicate this, the Fifth Volume of the 
Synapsis, to 

Mr. S. Canning Childs 
our devoted benefactor. 

It is said that adversity often becomes the temper- 
ing, and strengthening experience of those who un- 
dergo it. The recapitulation of difficulties and un- 
foreseeable pitfalls in the great changeover from the 
comparative calm of PCO's educational progress at 
19th and Spring Garden Sts., to its modern and more 
elegant home in West Philadelphia may have been 
the hardest course for all to master. It left little 
leeway for the hesitant, the doubtful, or the weak. 
After the trials and uncontrollable factors of 1929- 
30, the men and women who came through it all, 
knew they and their Alma Mater were on their way to 
ever greater achievements — come what might. 



48 



CHAPTER 5 



THE FOURTH DECADE, 1929-1939 
A PERIOD OF TRIALS AND TRIUMPH 



As the gloom of the Great Depression settled over 
the United States, the new College and Hospital 
building at 48th and Spruce streets was nearing com- 
pletion. While the last days of October 1929 will 
always be remembered because of the stunning stock 
market collapse, for the Philadelphia College of 
Osteopathy that Autumn closed a great year of 
achievement, since the new College-Hospital struc- 
ture was considered one of the finest and most 
modern in the country at that time. 

Among the innovative features of the hospital 
were patient rooms done in solid maple, including "a 
maple bed, maple dresser and a beautiful Windsor 
chair by the bed." The room temperatures were in- 
dividually thermostatically controlled, bedside radios 
were provided, as were telephones and electric call 
systems. A solarium was included for each floor and 
furnished in "the new style of reed furniture with 
colorful upholstery." 

This was the beginning of a revolutionary era in 
hospital furnishing, the emphasis being upon making 
rooms appear more like home, and doing away with 
the old white enameled furniture of earlier times. 
Although it was thoroughly modern for its day, the 
new Osteopathic Hospital was comparatively small, 
with 75,000 square feet of working space, and con- 
taining only 76 beds. 

The bill for all these deluxe facilities, including 
the building itself, came to more than a million 
dollars, in round figures $1,030,000. It should also 
be remembered that nearly all of the building fund 
had been obtained in pledges, both from alumni, 
faculty, and mainly from grateful friends (many of 
them osteopathic patients), a matter of over $1 
million was considered a gigantic sum in those De- 
pression days. And a really formidable sum it proved 
to be and certainly for those struggling to pay it. As 
the Depression deepened into the mid-thirties, 
PCO's financial problems increased, and much of the 
bill for the new hospital remained unpaid. 

During the first half of 1929, subscriptions and 



pledges amounted to $1,044,000, which was assumed 
to be an adequate fund for the project. Unfortunate- 
ly, as the Depression squeezed more and more 
pocketbooks, many of the pledges were not fulfilled. 

The site at the northeast corner of 48th and 
Spruce Streets had been purchased in 1928 for 
$165,000. Ironically, a note in the P.C.O. 34th An- 
nual Announcement states: "The present economic 
condition is unusually favorable, and continued 
generous financial contributions to both College and 
Hospital by a host of friends and loyal supporters in- 
sure the prosperity of both institutions." 

Designed in "Collegiate Gothic", the new struc- 
ture comprised four floors and two basement levels. 
It was built with red brick and limestone trim; the 
gabled roofs were shingled with variegated slates. 
Included on the first floor was an auditorium with a 
seating capacity of 500. On the second floor were 
laboratories used for Physiology, Embryology, 
Histology, Physics, and Biology, as well as special 
research laboratories, and four classrooms. On the 
third floor was the Department of Chemistry with a 
complete laboratory equipped for teaching all 
branches of the subject to as many as 150 students. 
There were also Pathology and Bacteriology 
laboratories and two classrooms. A dissection 
laboratory was located on the fourth floor. 

DEDICATIOIS, AND DESIGISATIOIS AS 
"MOST BEAUTIFUL" 

Adjoining the administration and college units the 
new Hospital building offered accommodations com- 
prising twenty private rooms, eight semi-private 
rooms, eight wards, nurseries, delivery unit, 
operating unit, three solaria, work rooms, X-ray and 
Physiotherapy quarters, kitchens, dining rooms and 
serving rooms. The operating amphitheater on the 
third floor had a seating capacity of approximately 
200; there was also a private operating room and an 
anesthesia room. 

Dedication of the building took place over the 



49 




DR. PENNOCK CHECKS SURGICAL REPORT 
Here is an action glimpse ofPCO's first great surgeon. Dr. D.S. B. 
Pennock, conferring with Dr. Michael Coleman '30 outside the 0. & 
R. Others in photo. Stanton. Cobb, Kennedy and Nurse Chambers. 



weekend of February 8 and 9, 1930. It was significant 
of Osteopathy's continuing struggle for recognition 
that one of the speakers at the dedication, Attorney 
Russell Duane, emphasized the need for a cessation 
of warfare between the rival medical factions of 
Allopathy, Homeopathy and Osteopathy. "We are all 
fighting the common evil of disease," he said, "and 
the public is best served by co-operation between its 
outstanding medical agencies. This building is proof 
to the community of the important role osteopathy 
plays in its daily life and the support it commands." 

A final accolade was bestowed by the committee of 
the Philadelphia Art Commission which designated 
PCO's new College and Hospital as "the most 
beautiful building erected during 1929 in the City of 
Philadelphia." 

In order to provide service at moderate cost, Dr. 
D. J. Snyder, then President of the State Board of 
Osteopathic Examiners, announced at the dedication 
ceremonies that the maintenance of the College 
would require payment of only the full-time instruc- 
tors. All other faculty members, about 60 men and 
women, were to serve without compensation. When 
the combined income of the two institutions exceed- 
ed the cost of operation, the charges to patients 
would be correspondingly reduced. 

The principal dedication address was delivered by 
Dr. Calvin 0. Althouse, head of the Department of 
Commerce of Central High School, Philadelphia. 



"Philadelphia is the greatest medical center in the 
world," he told the audience. "It is fitting that this 
building should have been placed in this setting. If 
institutions of this kind are to survive, men will have 
to give to the utmost of their strength. Do not stop at 
this dedication of today — think of what is beyond." 

That the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy did 
think of what was beyond, is attested to by the 
magnificent City Avenue complex now in full opera- 
tion. But there were many years of trial and struggle 
before those latter day accomplishments were real- 
ized. 

In the meantime, as with every individual and 
organization in America at that time, P. CO. became 
short of funds after the stock market crash. One 
source of capital for the College was a block of shares 
in American Stores which had been valued at over 
$200,000. By January, 1930, their market value had 
fallen below $100,000. As a result, the bank was 
calling for new and additional collateral to cover 
loans made to the college for construction of the new 
building. The Directors called upon members of the 
Osteopathic profession to purchase as many shares 
of the American Store stock as possible, and at the 
original price in order to meet the bank's re- 
quirements. 

PRE-OSTEOPATHIC SCHOOL 
FOR NEW STUDENTS 

During this difficult period, while the new hospital 
was being furnished and staffed, and was gearing for 
full operation, Dr. H. Willard Sterrett Sr. had been 
appointed Assistant Superintendent of the Hospital 
in charge of the old 19th and Spring Garden Streets 
branch, pending removal of the hospital to 48th and 
Spruce Streets. Dr. Sterrett had served as Chairman 
of the Internes and Nurses committee and was 
familiar with the various phases of hospital ad- 
ministration. Meanwhile, Dean Edgar 0. Holden was 
spending most of his time at the 48th Street Campus, 
getting all phases of the program there to function ef- 
ficiently. 

One of Dr. Holden's major contributions at this 
time was the establishment of a pre-Osteopathic 
school under his own guidance, to prepare high school 
graduates before their acceptance at P. CO. By 1934 
the minimum requirement for entrance was one full 
year of college work, with emphasis upon chemistry 
and physics. . . . 
These necessary credits could be obtained either at 



50 



an approved liberal arts college, or at the Pre- 
Osteopathic School housed at the 48th street 
building, which offered studies in English, 
chemistry, biology and physics. 

Until 1937, the Pre-Osteopathic School flourish- 
ed, but by that time minimum requirements included 
two years of college; then, in 1954, the three-year 
requirement was established. Now, of course, almost 
all applicants to P. CO. have a BA. or BS. degree in 
regular or undergraduate pre-medical college. Many 
enter PCOM with advanced degrees. It is interesting 
to read in announcements of the early '30's that tui- 
tion for undergraduate courses in the College was 
$300 per year, with laboratory and student activity 
fees amounting to $48 annually! 

So that P. CO. graduates might be fully licensed in 
New Jersey, the first Graduate School of Osteopathic 
Medicine came into existence in 1933. It offered 
classes two days a week for 10 hours each day. 
Although a certain amount of didactic study was 
offered, the emphasis was upon clinical subjects, 
amplified with laboratory work and rounds of the 
hospital wards. This course, which ran for two years, 
qualified P. CO. graduates for New Jersey licenses. 

LOSS OF PLEDGES CREATES A CRISIS 

Before the end of 1930, it was quite evident that 
many of the pledges of money made in 1929 for the 
new building would not materialize. Several hundred 
subscribers had failed to pay pledges which had been 
made in good faith the preceding Spring when the 
nation's prosperity seemed indestructible. Extensive 
efforts were made to collect some $65,000 in 
arrearages, but results of these drives fell far short of 
their goals. P.CO.'s financial difficulties continued 
to worsen along with the economy of the country. 

Yet, somehow, the important work of the College 
and Hospital went on. On October 23, 1930 Dr. 
Snyder spoke to the students about the shortage of 
funds in an unusual attempt to rally their spirits, to 
encourage them to work harder, and to make greater 
sacrifices. "Truly, we are short of money," he told 
them, "but we are as well off as if we were backed by 
millions of dollars, for we have on our faculty the 
best men in the profession — and we have a building 
with the finest equipment obtainable. The point is, 
we want to keep it." 

At that moment in P.CO.'s history, there were 
401 students at the College and 70 bed patients in the 
Hospital. 

Dr. Holden, as Treasurer, was working night and 



day to meet the current obligations and to raise suf^ 
ficient funds for future commitments. Supplemen- 
tary Campaign headquarters were set up in October 
at the Registrar's office in the 48th Street building. 
Campaign workers were recruited from the student 
body as well as the faculty, and daily meetings were 
held to discuss ways of collecting delinquent pledges, 
soliciting new cash contributions, and selling 
Hospital Association memberships. The immediate 
need was listed in 1930 as $89,000. By mid- 
November $14,000 had been raised, and Dean 
Holden's efforts were redoubled. 



ATHLETICS PROSPERED II\ 
DEPRESSION YEARS 

The Depression did not dampen the spirits of 
PCO's athletes, whatever else its economic struc- 
tures did to campus life. The athletic program, for 
one thing, expanded and, if anything, improved in its 




THE ATHLETES' OSTEOPATH 
Dr. Charles J. Van Rank massages leg of Phillies ' great hitter. 
Chuck Klein during the I930's. 



51 



extension beyond Philadelphia and surrounding sub- 
urban area. 

From 1930 through the whole decade PCO fielded 
good basketball and baseball teams, and as the 
College had in the previous two decades, sent out a 
track squad that repeatedly placed well up in dual 
meets, and the Penn Relays. During the early '30's 
Dr. Arthur McKelvie, who had been interested in os- 
teopathy by Dr. Walter Evans when the latter was 
doing bacteriological work in the Army at Longwood 
Gardens, was one of PCO's athletic stars. He ran the 
quarter mile on PCO's relay team, played golf, and 
helped with coaching. 

The Athletic Association of those years had Drs. 
Harry H. Davis as President, Frank Beidler, Vice 
President, W. D. Champion as Athletic Director, R. 
B. Secor as Coach. All of them played. Davis was cap- 
tain of the basketball team on which Dr. Munro 
Purse, Timothy Toomey, Robert Warner, Gordon 
Hornbeck, Harold Christensen and Beidler won their 
'varsity letters. In baseball William (Red) Ellis and 
Edwin Ferren, catcher and pitcher respectively, 
starred in an exciting season of nine games, in- 
cluding one with Princeton University. Temple, 
Haverford, Drexel, Delaware, Moravian, Elizabeth- 
town and Penn Military comprised the schedule in 
most of PCO's baseball activity. Some of the regulars 
like the pitcher, Ferren, came to PCO with good rec- 
ords at undergraduate colleges, in his case Gettys- 
burg. 

Student-Faculty golf matches became popular 
events, as were several inter-class track and field 
meets. The track meets received a tremendous boost 
when Harold M. Osborn, University of Hlinois '22 
and America's decathlon winner at the 1924 Olym- 
pics in Paris, came to PCO in 1934 and reported for 
track! Although then 37 years old, Osborn who had 
swept the decathlon over a field of fifteen at the 
National A.A.U. meet in Philadelphia's Municipal 
stadium during the 1926 Sesqui-Centennial celebra- 
tion, was still winning the high jump at which he 
held the world record 6 ft. QVa mark. When Osborn 
personally conducted the first PCO indoor workout 
for candidates the gymnasium was jammed, and the 
Synapsis described it "the biggest squad ever at 
PCO." Osborn continued to win medals in New 
York, Boston, and Philadelphia AAU and Club meets 
while he pursued his D.O. 

The 1933 basketball team won six and lost four in 
a tough schedule in which most games were on op- 
ponents' floors. With Captain Arnold C. Brown on 





DR. LONG 

He was a highly respected, hard working Professor of the Depres- 
sion era. who served as interim Dean for several years. 



this team were Drs. Carl Frey, Bob Cooper, EHas 
Korn, George Nikola, a three sport man, M.M. 
Schnoll, G. B. Hylander, Bill Furey and Harold 
(Bud) Christensen, another all-around athlete. They 
were coached by AUie McWilliams, former coach of 
the University of Pennsylvania. Christensen also led 
the PCO tennis team during the early 30's in which 
matches were played with Penn, Temple, Villanova, 
Swarthmore, Haverford, University of Delaware, St. 
Josephs, Moravian, and West Chester Teachers 
College. Drs. Walter Streicher, Earle Beasley, Nikola 
and others kept the sport going during their years at 
PCO. It wasn't the top flight tennis of the 'glory 
years' of the 1920's, but it was still highly com- 
petitive. 

The baseball team was coached at the outset of the 
'30's by George Gilham, a former St. Louis Cardinals 
catcher, and PCO played eight games in 1933. Some 
of the basketball squad also played baseball, and 
some of them could hit — Paul Murphy, Hylander, 
Frey, Joe Walker, and Henry Hillard were on the '33 
and '34 teams. They played the same Colleges as in 
basketball, with Penn A.C. the opening contest. 

Golf was also a popular sport at PCO, and in this 
there always seemed to be plenty of candidates. 
Manager-player Charles Hillyer from Jacksonville, 
Fla., a Southeastern States tournament finalist, was 
the best of a talented young team that played eight or 
nine matches each Spring. Others listed as 'varsity 
players included George Prison, Charles Burrows, 



52 



Lincoln Ladd, and William McDougall. Faculty- 
student contests were among the liveliest. 

But sports were not the only recreation at PCO 
during the Depression. A 40-piece symphony 
orchestra was organized at the College in the middle 
1930's, under the direction of Dr. Saul Gaston of 
Curtis Institute of Music. Here again the influence of 
a PCO Faculty member and G.P. came into play. Dr. 
Frederick A. Long, Professor of Principles and Prac- 
tice and Director of Research happened to be a 
violinist, with a love for music. By fortunate coin- 
cidence, members of the Bok family were his 
patients. The orchestra seemed to be a natural 
development. Maestro Caston produced a surprising- 
ly good orchestra from a student body which little 
suspected it had that many who could play 
something besides athletic games. 



DR. ANGUS CATHIE'S CAREER BEGINS 

An outstanding graduate of the College in the '30's 
was Angus Gordon Cathie, Class of 1931. Dr. Cathie, 
a former railroad worker who came originally from 
Massachusetts, was destined to become anatomy 
Professor and chairman of the Anatomy Department 
until his death June 5, 1970. Immediately after 
graduation he took his internship, and joined the 
faculty in 1933. During the many years of his service 
at PCO he was the recipient of every type of os- 
teopathic honor; he was generally recognized as the 
foremost anatomist in the United States; some be- 
lieved him to be the greatest of all time. 

In addition to his activities in the Department of 
Anatomy, Dr. Cathie served in the CHnics as an ex- 
amining physician, as an Instructor in Diagnosis, 
and as Medical Director of the hospital, which in- 
cluded the supervision of hospital clerkships. He also 
served for many years as Student Health Physician 
or as Director of that service. In the latter capacity 
he frequently found himself in the role of confidant 
or counsellor, for which he is remembered by many 
graduates. A bachelor for many years. Dr. Cathie 
devoted his time almost exclusively to PCO. 

During the early thirties, the Department of 
Anatomy had begun to emerge as a separate unit, 
although the subject had always had strong 
emphasis. Until 1934 Edward A. Green, D.O. had 
been Professor of both Anatomy and Physiology as 
well as serving as Registrar. Known as "Daddy" 
Green, (but not to his face by the students) he was a 
stern, but respected taskmaster. In 1934 Dr. Green 



became Professor of physiology only. He was 
succeeded in Anatomy by George S. Rothmeyer, 
D.O., a man of many enthusiasms and activities in 
college and hospital, who continued to administer 
the department in the Green tradition. Dr. Cathie is 
listed as Instructor in Anatomy in the 1933 PCO An- 
nouncement. 

Serving as Assistant Professors of Physiology in 
1935 were William C. Weisbecker, D.O., and 
William Baldwin, Jr. The latter began his career at 
PCO as an Instructor in physics in the pre- 
Osteopathic school, and later entered the D.O. 
program, while remaining on the faculty. He was to 
follow Dr. Weisbecker as Professor and Chairman of 
Physiology, and has subsequently gone on to a dis- 
tinguished career in internal medicine. 

ROMANCE AT PCO 

The same era saw active participation by Drs. J. 
Francis Smith and Marion Dick. Dr. Smith, a Cana- 
dian, enlisted in the Canadian Army at the outbreak 
of World War I. Blinded in combat, he was sent for 
training in physiotherapy as a means of future 
livelihood. During this time he met physiotherapist 
Marion Dick, an American serving with the Canadian 
forces, and a romance developed. Refusing marriage 
because of her ambitions. Miss Dick came to 
Philadelphia to enroll at PCO. Undeterred, Smith 
followed and enrolled, too! At Christmas of their first 
year they were married, and graduated in 1927. Dr. 
Smith served for several years as Professor of 
Neurology and Psychiatry. Dr. Dick, as of this 
writing, is still in practice, and is a square dance 
devotee at 78. 

Complicating the financial picture for the College 
in the '30's was the failure to find a buyer for the 
properties at 19th and Spring Garden Streets. Efforts 
had been made to dispose of these properties since 
1930, but in 1932, they were still on the market. In 
the words of Dean Holden at that time, "It is now 
realized that it is necessary to be patient during the 
continued period of economic deflation. With a 
general return to anything near normal, the financial 
condition of the institution should be considerably 
enhanced. In other words, if and when the economic 
world does readjust itself, the Philadelphia College 
and its Hospital will be in a position to carry out its 
financial program as originally estimated and 
calculated. In the meantime the institution must face 
overwhelming odds in its effort to meet major 
obligations. Every pledge as subscribed in the Cam- 



53 



paign should be honored by each individual insofar 
as it is possible . . . Two things stand out to offer en- 
couragement to the program of eventual stabilization 
of the institution's finances, viz.: 

"(1) The College is paying splendidly; in fact, it is 
running practically at capacity in numbers of 
students possible for it to instruct and train. 

"(2) The Hospital is endeavoring to operate within 
the figures of its operating income and will be little 
or no burden to the general financial program." 

While Dr. Holden worked ceaselessly to effect 
economies in the Hospital operation, the Board of 
Directors took charge of the business affairs of the 
institution. But in 1932 Dr. Holden was drafted back 
into service as Superintendent of the Hospital. At 
the same time, with the resignation of Dr. E. G. Drew 
from that division of his department involving the 
teaching of obstetrics, the Department of Obstetrics 
and Gynecology was dissolved and new, separate 
Departments in these subjects were created. Dr. 
Drew headed the Department of Gynecology and Dr. 
H. Walter Evans was assigned the Professorship of 
Obstetrics. Dr. Joseph Py was named acting head of 
the Department of Bacteriology and Hygiene, re- 
placing Dr. Evans. 

DR HOLDEN' S TREMENDOUS SERVICE 

These changes were part of a continuing develop- 
ment of the expanding College, for with the 48th 
Street building in full operation, larger staffs and 
more reorganization was required. It is remarkable 
that in a time of such severe financial dislocation Dr. 
Holden somehow managed not only to hold the in- 
stitution together, but to see that its growth con- 
tinued without interruption. This he did at a great 
personal cost. 

On February 8, 1932, for example, a free pre-natal 
and maternity clinic was opened at the Hospital 
Annex, 19th and Spring Garden Streets. Dr. Evans, 
the new director of obstetrics, was placed in charge 
of the clinic, aided by a group of graduate physicians. 

At about this time, at a special meeting of the 
Philadelphia County Osteopathic Society, Dr. 0. J. 
Snyder, pioneer PCO promoter, and then President 
of the Osteopathic State Board of Examiners, was 
unanimously endorsed for re-appointment to that 
Board. 

When in 1931 the Pennsylvania State legislature 
was considering bills designed to create a new State 
Board of Healing Arts, combining functions exer- 
cised by several bodies. Dr. Snyder again was in the 



fore-front of a battle to stop passage of this legisla- 
tion. Together with representatives of Homeopathy, 
Dr. Snyder and the Osteopaths presented strong 
arguments against the bills at a hearing in 
Harrisburg. 

As Chairman of the Legislative Committee of the 
Pennsylvania Osteopathic Association, Snyder ex- 
pressed bitter opposition, telling those at the 
hearing: "This medically created State Board of the 
Healing Arts has left nothing undone to give it sole 
power and absolute monopoly to control the whole 
field of the healing art. This will certainly create a 
situation that is intolerable. 

"Nothing very definite is provided in it with 
respect to examinations for licensure. Medical doc- 
tors are not qualified to examine our students, even 
in the basic sciences, for we teach these branches, 
with a view to the practice of osteopathy. 

"We challenge the best trained medical students 
to take our examinations in these subjects, and so on 
through the whole list. And it is for that, and many 
other reasons that an M. D. examining board could 
not adequately pass upon the qualifications of our 
graduates and applicants for licensure." 



DR. SNYDER ENTERS THE ARENA 

After scheduled speakers at the hearing con- 
cluded, Dr. Irvin D. Metzger, Chairman of the Board 
of Medical Education and Licensure was asked if he 
was satisfied with the existing system. He replied 
that "the present act, to my mind, is quite satisfac- 
tory. It has been tested in the courts and held valid." 

It was during this rather heated hearing in the 
Legislative committee that Dr. Snyder's flair for the 
dramatic scored heavily. A Medical representative, 
speaking for the proposed new Board, took it upon 
himself to downgrade PCO's hospital and clinic 
capabilities. He recited what he 'understood' to be 
their serious deficiencies in equipment and facilities 
for the training of physicians. Dr. Snyder stared at 
him in silence during these remarks, and when the 
man sat down, quietly arose. 

"May I ask, sir, what date you were at our College 
and Hospital to observe these deficiencies?" he ask- 
ed. 

"I have never been in your institution," the man 
snapped in reply. 

Dr. Snvder smiled broadly; turning to the Com- 
mittee and its Chairman, he spread his hands in 



54 




THE CLASS OF 1938 INFORMALLY POSES AT SPRUCE ST ENTRANCE COLLEGE HALL 



wordless gesture, and sat down. The proposal died in 
that moment, and was never revived. 

This was typical of Dr. Snyder's many efforts, 
usually successful, to defend and promote the status 
and prestige of the Osteopathic profession. Between 
his untiring work in behalf of Osteopathy in general, 
and Dr. Holden's superhuman struggle to keep the 
Philadelphia College from financial disaster in the 
'30's, these two men left a great legacy for those who 
followed in prosperous times. 

DR. SNYDER HONORED BY 
CITIZENS, PROFESSION 

On November 6, 1937, a well deserved testimonial 
dinner was held in honor of Dr. Snyder at the 
Bellevue Stratford Hotel in Philadelphia. Toast- 
master for this occasion was the Hon. Ira Walton 
Drew, D.O., former Professor of Pediatrics, 



Philadelphia College of Osteopathy, head of 
Pediatrics at the Philadelphia Hospital, and 
Congressman from the 7th District of Pennsylvania. 
Addresses were delivered by the Hon. Philip H. 
Gadsden, Vice President of U.G.I, and President of 
the Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, Dr. 
William S. Nicholl. and Dr. 0. J. Snyder himself. 
The gala affair was an outstanding and memorable 
tribute to the great founder of the College. 

Dr. Ira W. Drew, the Congressman who had been 
Toastmaster at the Snyder testimonial dinner, had a 
surprising, though brief, political career. An 
Osteopath and an ardent Vermont Republican, he 
was persuaded to run for Congress on an independ- 
ent ticket in 1936. He agreed more or less as a joke, 
but to his own immense surprise he won handily as a 
"Royal Oak" candidate so-called because his support 
emanated from the adherents of Father Coughlin, 
who preached from Royal Oak, Mich., and the West 



55 



Coast Townsendites, who represented the senior 
citizen voters. After serving his two-year term in the 
House of Representatives, he retired from poHtics, 
but during his short stint he succeeded in getting the 
Drew-Burke bill passed, insuring national recogni- 
tion and legal rights for osteopaths. Later he served 
for many years on the P. CO. Board of Directors and 
as an "elder statesman" advisor to President Barth. 
In December, 1932, Russell Duane, prominent 
Philadelphia attorney, was re-elected to the chair- 
manship of the Hospital Board. At the same Board 
meeting, Clarence A. Musselman was honored with 
the first vice-presidency. Dr. C. D. B. Balbirnie 
retained the office of secretary, while Dr. Holden 
continued as treasurer. Duane, who was very active 
in civic affairs of Philadelphia at the time, was ap- 
pointed chairman of the Executive Committee. His 
long and devoted membership on the P. C. 0. Board 
reflected an outstanding record of service. This was 
the same Russell Duane who had dehvered the 1912 
Commencement Address at the College. 

BIG ADVANCES IIS RESEARCH, 
EXPERIMEISTA TIOJS 

An indication of the Hospital's activity at the time 
of this 1932 Board meeting is shown in a statistical 
report of the superintendent. For the calendar year 
1932, 1849 patients were treated, with a total of 21,- 
589 patient days. Average number of patients per day 
was 60, average stay at the Hospital, 11 days. There 
were 1006 surgical operations, 196 births, 44 deaths. 
The X-Ray Department showed 3027 examinations, 
while there were 5475 examinations in the Pathology 
Department. 

By April of 1933, the expanded activities at the 
48th Street building had led to a greatly increased 
program of research. In addition to an increasing 
amount of fundamental experimental work being 
carried out by the Research Department directly un- 
der the direction of Dr. F. A. Long, there was in addi- 
tion considerable work in individual departments. In 
radiology, for example. Dr. Paul T. Lloyd was en- 
gaged in a study of the lumbar spine and pelivs, nor- 
mal and abnormal. Meanwhile, Dr. Otterbein Dress- 
ier Professor of Pathology, was making a study of 
blood sedimentation and carrying out animal experi- 
mentation on neoplastic diseases. He was also en- 
gaged in a study of changes in kidney function on 
cases under osteopathic manipulative treatment. Dr. 
Evans as Professor of Obstetrics was researching 
postural changes in pregnancy and was undertaking 



the study of osteopathic care of certain types of ster- 
ility. In the Department of Chemistry, Russell C. 
Erb, Professor, and Howard Stoertz, Associate Pro- 
fessor, were carrying out experiments on changes in 
the rate of salivary digestion brought about by vari- 
ous manipulative procedures. Despite a critical 
shortage of funds, Dr. Long continued to increase 
the number of research projects being conducted at 
P.C.O. 

At about this time, in April, 1933, Dr. Holden an- 
nounced the appointment of a brilliant woman os- 
teopath to the post of Director of the Pediatrics 
Clinic — Dr. Ruth E. Tinley. A member of the Class 
of 1923, Dr. Tinley had been connected with the 
Pediatrics Clinic as associate professor for ten years. 
She had attracted national interest with her outstand- 
ing results with children. Before entering the 
Philadelphia College of Osteopathy, Dr. Tinley 
graduated from Columbia University where she ob- 
tained her Bachelor of Science degree. She also 
graduated from the Millersville, Pa. State Teachers 
College. 

Dr. Tinley's appointment came following the 
resignation of Dr. Ira Drew as Head of the Pediatrics 
Clinic, and as a member of the Board of Trustees of 
the National Association. It was Dr. Drew who had 
been responsible for the development and growth of 
the Clinic at Nineteenth and Spring Garden Streets. 

AOA LEADER HONORED AT 
PHILADELPHIA DINNER 

An historic meeting of the American Osteopathic 
Association was held on September 26, 1933, when 
150 physicians of the College and members of 
Philadelphia County Osteopathic Society gathered at 
the Hotel Adelphia in Philadelphia to honor Perrin 
T. Wilson, 38th president of the A.O.A. Among 
Dean Holden's guests at the affair were Dr. Russell 
C. McCaughan, Executive Secretary of the Associa- 
tion; Alexander Levitt, President of the New York 
Osteopathic Society; Dr. John A. Atkinson, Presi- 
dent of the New Jersey Osteopathic Society; Dr. 
Thomas Thorburn, a Trustee of A.O.A. ; Dr. Ray 
English of Newark; and Dr. H. Van Arsdale Hillman 
of New York. 

Dr. Holden was toastmaster of the evening, in- 
troducing a number of speakers who touched on the 
need for legislation helpful to Osteopathy, and upon 
new educational techniques in the profession. In his 
own address. Dr. Perrin T. Wilson announced, "I 
know it will interest you to hear that my first act as 



56 



President of the American Osteopathic Association 
was to draw up a code for the N.R.A. to assist Presi- 
dent Roosevelt and the National Government in a 
program that will bring back normal conditions and 
help the country back to what prevailed years ago, 
when chaos was not known." 

Dr. Russell C. McCaughan spoke about the need 
for more research in Osteopathic institutions. 
"Limited resources and finances are responsible," he 
said, "but there should be more research . . . The 
question is 'How much farther can we go using 
manipulation as our great contribution in the treat- 
ment of diseases, without statistics and other proofs 
to substantiate our claim?' . . . Furthering research 
demands extensive cUnic and physiological and 
pathological laboratory work." 

He said conditions were very different than they 
were only ten years ago. "The medical profession is 
overcrowded," Dr. McCaughan continued. "From 
every side come pleas from the men in the field for 
the student to select another profession. This in- 
fluence spreads to the osteopathic profession which 
definitely needs more men." 



Dr. O. J. Snyder, 20th President of the 
Osteopathic Association, gave a review of os- 
teopathic problems. He stressed that "Academic 
Freedom" is vital to intellectual and scientific ad- 
vancement. "In November, 1915," he recalled, "the 
Academy of Osteopathic Chnical Research was 
organized with an appeal to the profession that case 
reports be required by everybody. I proposed a 
Booster's club in every state, pointing out how 
organized effort of this character would revive the 
vitality and functions of our National Association." 

Early in 1934, Dr. Otterbein Dressier became the 
new head of the Department of Pathology, both at 
the College and Hospital. This change was brought 
about by the resignation of Dr. Emanuel Jacobson, 
who was forced to give up his hospital duties because 
of the great pressure of outside work. Dr. Dressier 
had been working in the College and Pathology 
laboratory for some time, and had long sought an op- 
portunity to carry out plans for broader pathological 
study in both the College and Hospital 
laboratories — an opportunity now afforded by his 
new position. 




/ / I 

HOSPITAL LA WN FETE AN EVENT OF COLOR AND CHARM 

The photograph reproduced above, made at the Lawn Fete in aid of the Osteopathic Hospital of Philadelphia on Jane 8, gives a hint of the 
attractiveness oj this annual function, the proceeds of ivhich go to replenishing the Hospital's linen supply. 



57 




DR. C. H ADDON SODEN 



E^TRAyCE REQUIREMENTS 

ARE RAISED 

A trend begun in the early '30's continued as the 
decade advanced, with the stiffening of requirements 
for entrance to the College. In September, 1934, at 
least one year of college work in an approved school, 
or a year of Pre-osteopathic study was required in ad- 
dition to four years of high school. Up to this time 
the Pre-osteopathic course at the college had been 
gaining in attendance and importance; with the new 
ruling on admission to the College itself, the special 
course became a vital and integral part of the institu- 
tion. In spite of the new rule, or perhaps because of 
it, the 1934 enrollment in the Pre-osteopathic class 
was larger than ever before, and applications to the 
College likewise increased. Meanwhile a special Com- 
mittee of Speakers was selected to visit high schools 
and colleges throughout the eastern United States to 
speak to student assemblies and senior classes about 
careers in Osteopathy. 

Founder's Day, 1934, was notable for the awarding 
of honorary degrees to two outstanding members of 
the profession. 

Dr. Arthur M. Flack, Sr., former Dean and chair- 
man of the Neurology Department, was presented a 
degree of Doctor of Osteopathic Science by Russell 
Duane, President of the Board of Directors. Dr. 
Flack, who was born in Butler, Pa., in 1875, started 
his career as a banker, working for the Butler 



Savings and Trust Company for seven years. He 
entered P. CO. in 1904, graduated in 1906 with a 
class of 13 members. At that time, the entire student 
body numbered less than 50. After graduation, he 
pursued post-graduate studies at Hahnemann 
Medical College, taking up work in the laboratory 
sciences, and he was among the first to introduce 
present-day laboratory methods of teaching to 
P. CO. He became head of the Neurology Depart- 
ment in 1910, and only a year later helped organize 
the Osteopathic Hospital of Philadelphia. 

A Master of Osteopathic Science degree was con- 
ferred upon Dr. C.D.B. Balbirnie, who had served as 
a member of the directorate both of the College and 
Hospital for twenty years. Dr. Balbirnie was born in 
Balbirnie-Fifeshire, Scotland, in 1869. He began his 
studies at PCO in 1908, graduating in 1911. Being 
older than most of his fellow students, he often 
helped to counsel them and even aided them finan- 
cially. As president of his class, he exhibited the 
same leadership that characterized his work 
throughout his career. When plans were being for- 
mulated for the new 48th and Spruce Street building, 
he was appointed Chairman of the Building Com- 
mittee: through his leadership, personal contacts, 
and his own generosity, a large portion of the needed 
funds was raised, and work on the new building was 
begun. 

COLLEGE CONSOLIDATES, 
IMPROVES LIBRARY 

Few major changes in the physical facilities of 
P. CO. took place in the middle and late "30's. It was 
a period of consolidation. The Spruce Street building 
was being fully staffed and equipped, and it gradually 
swung into a settled, functioning institution offering 
continuous, expert service to the community. In ad- 
dition to the college classrooms and laboratories and 
the Hospital facilities, the library had been built up 
to several hundred volumes recommended by the 
various departments for collateral reading, including 
an excellent collection of all osteopathic textbooks 
and periodicals. The north end of the main 
auditorium housed the College Museum, containing 
numerous valuable specimens and models placed in 
mahogany, plate-glass, illuminated cases much of it 
prepared bv Dr. Cathie. The collection included both 
normal and pathological specimens, serial sections, 
dissections and mounted preparations illustrating 
the major diseases. Among the most notable for that 
time were the collection of bone specimens, human 



58 




DR. RALPH L. FISCHER 



embryos, Spalthoholtz preparations, and develop- 
ment of the Cardio-vascular system in plaster. 

As these were still Depression years, programs for 
student employment were conducted under serious 
handicaps. The National Youth Administration, 
organized under the Franklin Roosevelt Administra- 
tion afforded employment for a percentage of the 
students. Approximately 25 per cent of the students 
found some part-time employment to help with their 
College expenses, though in general P. CO. frankly 
discouraged assumption of tasks involving too many 
hours and taxing the energy of students. A small 
amount of scholarship money was available, but 
because the difficult times had brought an excessive 
number of applications, the two 1300 scholarships 
frequently had to be subdivided. Student loans could 
be obtained, but only to a maximum of $300. 

The Executive Faculty at this time comprised a 
distinguished list, headed by Edgar 0. Holden, the 
Dean. They were: D. S. B. Pennock, Edward G. 
Drew, H. Willard Sterrett, Sr., William 0. 
Galbreath, H. Walter Evans, Ralph L. Fischer, 
Edward A. Green, Russell C. Erb, Frederick A. Long, 
C. Haddon Soden, George S. Rothmeyer, Paul T. 
Lloyd. Joseph Py, J. Ernest Leuzinger, Otterbein 
Dressier, Ruth Elizabeth Tinley, and J. F. Smith. 

Under Dean Holden's direction the struggle to im- 
prove PCOs financial condition continued. As late 
as 1937, THE OSTEOPATHIC DIGEST carried a 
strong plea for additional gifts and pledges. It was 



hoped that the annual campaign would result in 1,- 
000 Endowment Fund subscription renewals. The 
goal was to achieve an endowment of $1,000,000 by 
1949. 

DUANE LED PCO BOARD TO BIG GAINS 

A long-time, active member and President of the 
Board of Directors Russell Duane, retired from that 
position in 1937. A prominent lawyer, Mr. Duane 
had led the College and Hospital through hard times, 
yet under his administration great progress had been 
made. Mr. Duane was a member of Phi Beta Kappa; 
Phi Kappa Sigma; Sons of the American Revolution, 
American Philosophical Society, President of the 
National Society Descendants of the Signers of the 
Declaration of Independence; and ex-President of 
the Contemporary Club. He was also chairman of the 
Philadelphia Committee of Seventy, and author of 
OSTEOPATHY FIFTY YEARS HENCE 

Mr. Duane had been elected President of the 
Board of Directors on September 23, 1931. Under his 
presidency came many improvements — physical, 
financial and spiritual. The system of college endow- 
ment and annual giving was planned, and set into ex- 
ecution under his direction. 

The 1930's ended quietly with the almost un- 
noticed passing of the Depression crisis. Recovery 
had been gradual and undramatic, and the College, 
along with many other solid institutions in the 
United States, had weathered the financial storm by 
dint of quiet, courageous persistence. 

SOCIAL, PROFESSIONAL SOCIETIES 
FLOURISHED AT PCO 

The growth of fraternities and professional 
societies took a sharp upturn during the 1920's, and 
continued into the 1930's at PCO. The first two 
Greek letter organizations were installed during 
PCOs earlier years; the women students establishing 
the Beta chapter of Kappa Psi Delta in 1908, and the 
men bringing in the Delta chapter of Iota Tau Sigma 
one year later. After World War I five more 
societies, two of them clubs, three Greek letter 
fraternities, were established. 

The Zeta chapter of Phi Sigma Gamma came to the 
campus in 1917. about the time the College was settl- 
ed at 19th and Spring Garden sts. The next important 
organization in PCO student life was the Axis Club, 
established in 1919 as the Mastoid chapter, and 
limited to women members. Theta Psi was brought to 
PCO in 1923 when the Gamma chapter was inducted. 



59 



The next year, 1924, introduced two more societies 
to PCO. 

The Styloid chapter of the Atlas Club became the 
last of six to be established in the six Osteopathic 
Colleges then in operation. The same year that Atlas 
was formed at the College, the Lambda Omicron 
Gamma fraternity set up the Caduceus chapter on 
the campus. Forty years later the Synapsis would 
publish accounts of the four still active and prosper- 
ing from among those here listed. They were: the 
Atlas Club, Iota Tau Sigma, Lambda Omicron Gam- 
ma, and Phi Sigma Gamma. The alumni of some of 
the others — the women's Axis Club and Kappa Psi 
Delta in particular — occasionally met, but by the 
1970's even such occasions were infrequent. Atlas 
Club, Iota Tau Sigma, Lambda Omicron Gamma, and 
Phi Sigma Gamma all have occupied large 
Philadelphia houses near campus. 

There were other organizational activities, of 
course; some of them took up the free time that 
fraternity and sorority chapters once preempted. The 
Inter-Fraternity Council still meets, and has its role 
in preserving harmony among organizations as it sets 
rules for rushing and pledging. The Student Council, 
with close cooperation from the Administration, 
soon became an important agency in all phases of 
student life and activity. It consists of the Chairman, 
and another representative from each of the four 
classes, with a ninth member, elected by the student 
body. The Student Council since the 1950's has 
worked closely with the Vice President for Ad- 
ministrative Affairs, Registrar and Director of Ad- 
missions. These offices had been held for many years 
by Dr. Thomas M. Rowland, Jr. When Dr. Rowland 
took on the Executive Vice President's respon- 
sibilities, many of the duties involving student 
registration devolved upon Miss Carol A. Fox, his 
Assistant, who became the Registrar, and Assistant 
Director of Admissions. 

PCO's first student organization was the Neuron 
Society. Somewhere in the fleeting decades it was 
decided that all students in the College were 



automatically members of the Neuron Society. In 
1935 the Synapsis editor published a photo of its of- 
ficers and marked the date of founding, Feb. 24, 
1902. He also noted: "The declared objectives of the 
Neuron Society include the promotion of interest in 
scientific subjects, and the establishment of good 
fellowship among students . . . Neuron develops a 
spirit of camaraderie, the fixation of that memory 
which brings the 'old grad' home again, to look the 
place over and marvel at its progress." 

In that issue of the Students' Yearbook were listed 
the following societies: Senior Neo Honorary Socie- 
ty, with purposes similar to Neuron's; Sigma Alpha 
Omicron, an honorary scholastic fraternity limited 
to senior students who averaged 90 in all three and 
one-half years of professional study, and who had a 
90 percent attendance record in all required classes. 
In 1935 those who made it were Drs. C. M. Becker, 
John E. Cooker, Martha Bailey, J. Marshall Hoag, 
and Ernest Ruzicka. 

The E. G. Drew Obstetrical and Gynecological 
Society, the Physiological Chemistry Society, the J. 
Francis Smith Neurological Society, the Cardio- 
vascular Society, the George S. Rothmeyer 
Gastroenterological Society, the Pediatrics Society, 
the Musical Society (founded by the Class of 1935), 
the Newman Club, the Jospeh F. Py Bacteriological 
Society, the Urological Society, and the Dig-On 
Society, named for Dr. Still's facetious explanation 
of what D.O. meant, were all groups that lasted for a 
time and, in many cases, dwindled and gave way to 
other clubs, groups and interests as the years rolled 
on. 

Religiously oriented societies were formed in the 
1950's, although the Y.W.C.A. had been serving 
women members since 1917. In 1950 the Hillel 
Society took form to serve religious and cultural 
needs of the Jewish students. In 1956 the Christian 
Osteopathic Society was also organized for students 
of Protestant denominations. The Catholic Guild is 
the third organization serving its own flock at PCO. 



60 



CHAPTER 6 



THE FIFTH DECADE, 1939-1949 
OUT OF DEPRESSION, INTO WAR 



The year 1940 was full of promise. Prosperity 
seemed to be returning to a nation that was 
weary of unemployment, foreclosures and vanishing 
profits. The Philadelphia College of Osteopathy, 
thanks to the herculean efforts of Dean Holden and a 
dedicated staff, had weathered the storm. Meanwhile 
another storm's thunder was rumbling — far away at 
first, but the ominous roar soon made itself heard in 
the United States: War in Europe. Hitler's goose- 
stepping armies were on the march. 

Still, isolationist America believed it could remain 
aloof. Of course, on the other side of the world, 
Japan was warring on neighboring China, but that 
seemed even more remote than the Nazi blitzkrieg. 

While everyone kept an anxious eye on the 
developments in Europe, P. CO. like the rest of the 
country went about its daily routine in the hope that 
the war would soon end. These were busy times. A 
"peacetime" draft had begun to create a demand for 
Army and Navy doctors. The days of an abundance 
of medical men would soon be gone. 

Then, suddenly, the attack on Pearl Harbor 
shattered the American illusion of isolation, and the 
United States was enmeshed in the greatest war in its 
history. Students were volunteering or being drafted. 
Professional men in many fields sought commissions 
in various services. 

Along with many other changes wrought by the 
war, medicine experienced revolutionary effects. 
One such change was noted by Dr. Otterbein 
Dressier, P.C.O.'s pathologist, when he addressed 
the Women's Auxiliary in April, 1942. Mihtary 
medicine, he pointed out, had changed overnight by 
the experience of physicians with sulfa drugs follow- 
ing the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. Sulfa drugs 
were relatively untried in treatment of wounds, es- 
pecially brain wounds, until American physicians 
used them at Honolulu. "Their use has definitely 



been proved to be of great benefit," he said. 

Meanwhile students at the College were being 
given an intensive three-week course in poison gas 
decontamination methods. Some 70 freshmen were 
trained to rid local areas of gas, and treat gas victims 
in the event of air raids. At the conclusion of the 
course they were to be put on 24-hour call during 
alerts. 

At the 48th Street building, a program was set up 
early in 1942 for free corrective treatment of men 
rejected by the Army because of physical disabilities. 
Under Clinic Director Dr. Joseph L. Root, the special 
clinics were opened each week-day under an arrange- 
ment with Philadelphia draft boards. Dr. Holden an- 
nounced that Governor James of Pennsylvania had 
signed a bill authorizing the College to operate on an 
accelerated war-time schedule. Under the new 
program, students who previously had been required 
to take four years of nine months each to complete 
their course, were enabled to finish their studies in 
three calendar years. 

When a battalion of Filipinos was being formed to 
help liberate their homeland from the Japanese, Dr. 
Enrique G. Vergara, Associate Professor of Proc- 
tology at P. CO. and a staff member of 20 years' 
standing, organized a recruiting program to enlist 
Filipinos from the Philadelphia area. Dr. Vergara, 
who was President of the Philippine Council of 
Philadelphia, had personal as well as patriotic 
reasons for engaging in this work, since his two 
brothers, Drs. Antonio and Rodrigo Vergara were 
somewhere in Luzon, attached to the U.S. Army 
Medical Corps. 

HOSPITAL ASSUMES 'WAR BASIS' FOR 
CIVIL DEFENSE 

In May, 1942, the Osteopathic Hospital at 48th 
and Spruce Streets was placed on "a total war basis" 



61 




DR. EATON DELIVERS ADDRESS AT COLLEGE 
REOPENING IN 1949 
Dr. James M. Eaton. Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, at the 
rostrum on September 12. when 90 freshman students were welcomed 
at ceremonies in the College auditorium. 



Robert B. Womble, Jr., who was killed in a plane 
crash during war maneuvers at Fort Bragg, N.C. And 
at the Alumni Day Dinner, a 1936 graduate, Lieu- 
tenant Joseph C. Snyder, son of the revered Founder 
0. J. Snyder, D.O.. was presented the annual Alumni 
Award of the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy. 
Snyder, then on active duty with the U.S. Navy, was 
cited for "distinguished service rendered, and loyal 
devotion to the welfare and upbuilding of the 
College." Rising to the rank of Commander, Dr. 
Snyder led a squadron in the Pacific campaigns. Now 
retired, he lives in Bozman, Maryland. 

At the graduation exercises, the address by Dr. 
Robert L. Johnson, President of Temple University, 
placed emphasis on destroying the roots of future 
wars. "Smashing the Axis, important as that is," said 
Dr. Johnson, "will not be sufficient unless we also 
smash the forces which create a new world upheaval 
every generation or so. 

"What does it profit to bring a child into the 
world, or to save a man's life, if he is to live in want 
or to be the victim of an aggressor's bullet? The fact 
that you are members of one profession does not ex- 
empt you from thinking about many other problems 
of the world. . . the problems of war are forced upon 
us, and so will the problems of peace, when the peace 
is won, as surely it will be." 



for civilian defense. Mobile field units, field casualty 
stations and emergency squads were prepared for air 
raids. Speaking before a war emergency seminar of 
the senior class. Dr. Jospeh L. Root, clinical 
Professor of Osteopathy and Director of the Clinic at 
the College, urged that frequent checks be un- 
dergone by everyone for general health and heart 
while engaged in defense or farm work. At the same 
time, Dr. Francis A. Finnerty, president of the New 
Jersey Osteopathic Society, warned the seminar 
audience that "many obscure epidemic diseases, long 
dormant," might strike at the huge armies stationed 
in the tropics and might in turn threaten civilian 
populations thousands of miles away. As a trustee of 
the College, Dr. Finnerty announced that P. CO. had 
inaugurated special refresher courses in public 
health, preventive medicine and tropical diseases. 

Triumphs and tragedies go hand in hand in war- 
time, and P. CO. had its share of both in World War 
II. In May, 1942, the 50th Commencement exercises 
were saddened by the awarding of the degree of Doc- 
tor of Osteopathy posthumously to Lieutenant 



PCO ACCELERATES TO MEET WAR, 
CIVIL NEEDS 

A growing shortage of doctors was making itself 
felt throughout the country, and in 1942, had made 
sufficient impact on P. CO. that Dr. C Haddon 
Soden made it the subject of an address before a con- 
vention of West Virginia Osteopaths. Dr. Soden, 
member of the Executive Faculty of P. CO., 
predicted that the shortage would continue even 
after the war because, "we are not likely to disarm 
and cease the production of war materials as quickly 
as after the last war." 

Noting that thousands of physicians and surgeons 
were being called into the armed forces, he declared, 
"a serious shortage of doctors has been developing in 
the United States." Already, he continued, all ap- 
proved Colleges of Osteopathy had eliminated 
summer vacations in order to graduate students in 
three calendar years instead of the standard four 
years of nine months each. To solve the problem. Dr. 
Soden recommended broader distribution of educa- 



62 







-J 

i 

I 

5 






K 
i 



63 



tion to more young men and women through greater 
college endowment and scholarship programs, and 
larger student loan funds. 

In June, 1942, Philadelphia College of Osteopathy 
announced the opening of its new war-time 
accelerated term for 200 students. The College was 
geared to all-out curricula which cooperated with the 
Government war effort. Many new courses of study, 
closely coordinated with the emergency programs, 
had been added to the roster. The new courses, based 
upon problems that might arise during wartime, com- 
prised comprehensive studies of such subjects as 
tropical diseases, preventive and industrial medicine, 
public health and related subjects, medical 
microbiology and parasitology. In addition to their 
classroom work, many of the seniors were sent to the 
Osteopathic Hospital to assist the supervising 
physicians and surgeons in work brought about by 
the war. Others were allocated to clinics for aid in 
the rehabilitation of rejected draftees. 

"P. CO. students will be found ready for any con- 
tingency," said Professor Russell C. Erb, Associate 
Dean of the College. "Our students are being fitted 
for emergency service in any part of the world, ready 
to meet the shortage of physicians caused by 
demands of our armed forces. They are being 
equipped to combat disease in every clime, from the 
Arctic to the tropics." 

Aiding in the national war bond drive, P. CO. un- 
dertook a unique drive of its own. When a "buy a 
bond" appeal was made to 100 graduates at random, 
91 responded with subscriptions, and the campaign 
was extended with an approach to more than 1700 
alumni in all parts of the world. Under the plan, in- 
terest on the war bonds was marked for the College 
development program, with the result that both the 
war effort and P. CO. benefited. The appeal met little 
resistance and was amazingly successful. 



DR. PY LEADS DRIVE OI\ RARE, 
DEADLY DISEASES 

In the continuing study of how to combat the 
potential threat of imported diseases, a staff of ex- 
perts at the College of Osteopathy was formed under 
the direction of Dr. Joseph F. Py. One of the most 
unusual of the diseases being studied was tsu- 
tsugamuchi, which acquired its name from the 
Japanese meaning "river valley sickness." This dead- 
ly fever is related to typhus and also akin to the so- 
called Rocky Mountain spotted fever. Dr. Py be- 



lieved that as the far-flung American armies invaded 
areas of the Far East, they would be exposed to 
harvest mites which carry the plague from contact 
with mice and rats. In the College's new Department 
of War Medicine, the special staff did exhaustive 
research on this and other diseases that had, up to 
that time, been virtually unknown in the United 
States. On the research team was Dr. Aileen Corbin, 
a Fellow in Bacteriology at P. CO. Dr. Py had been a 
professor of Preventive Medicine and Bacteriology at 
the College for many years. 

Among the maladies being studied were dysentery, 
hookworm disease, malaria, yellow fever, trench 
fever and break-bone fever. In addition, there was 
the sleeping sickness of Africa; Asiatic cholera that 
breeds mostly in Egypt and India; relapsing fever, 
and intermittent fever carried by lice and soft ticks 
in Europe, North Africa and India; and Malta fever, 
or "undulating fever", common to the Mediterra- 
nean area. 

In September, 1942, P. CO. opened its 43rd 
academic year with a heavy enrollment of over 300 
and a number of new wartime courses. In greeting 
the new students. Dr. Holden told them, "The os- 
teopathic profession stands ready to step into the 
breach caused by the shortage of doctors, or to serve 
the nation in any other public health emergency aris- 
ing from the present crisis. Although our Govern- 
ment has seen fit to withhold, to this date, recogni- 
tion of our Profession in the armed forces, we 
propose to carry on to the limit of our capabilities in 
upholding the traditions of Osteopathy. Of these 
traditions, service to our country is paramount." 

Wartime shortages have always been solved in 
novel and ingenious ways. When a severe shortage of 
rubber bands developed in World War II, nurses at 
the Philadelphia Osteopathic hospital solved the 
problem by cutting up discarded surgeons' rubber 
gloves. They found that as many as 35 small bands 
could be made from the fingers, while a number of 
wider bands could be cut from the palms of each pair 
of gloves! 

P. CO. graduated 12 desperately-needed nurses in 
1942. Efforts were being made not only at the 
College but in nursing schools in all parts of the 
country to enroll more and more women for this 
vital work. Not only were nurses needed for the arm- 
ed forces, but as the war progressed, hospitals saw a 
marked increase in cases of war neuroses, industrial 
accidents and other war-related ailments. 

In an address before the Wilmington Monarch 



64 




DR. OTTERBEIN DRESSIER 
This veteran of the 1920's at PCO taught for years and during 
WWII served as Dean after Dr. Holden retired. 



Club, Dr. Dressier predicted that a substitute for 
blood might be found due to requirements brought 
about by the war. "Just as the war has brought 
phenomenal and revolutionary changes in business 
and industry, so it has in the treatment of diseases," 
he said. "The first World War developed blood 
transfusion, and it is hoped and expected that this 
war will develop synthetic blood. The blood bank and 
the remarkable development of pooled blood plasma 
are obvious stepping stones in this direction." 

Dr. Dressier also proposed a national midnight 
curfew be established to increase the country's 
overall physical fitness, and he explained how 
tropical diseases and infestations would play a con- 
spicuous part in public health problems arising from 
the conflict overseas. 

The Philadelphia College of Osteopathy celebrated 
the 50th anniversary of Osteopathic education in the 
United States in 1942. Exercises were marked by an 
address by Rev. Joseph M. Dougherty, dean of the 
Villanova College of Science, and by an elaborate 
clinical demonstration by the P. CO. staff. The exer- 
cises were part of a nationwide observance. One of 
the principal addresses for the occasion was 
delivered by Dr. 0. J. Snyder, founder of P. CO., in 
Lancaster, Pa. at an observance held by the Lan- 
caster Osteopathic Society and the Women's Aux- 
iliary. 



MAISPOWER CHIEF McF^UTT DEFERS 
D.O.'S FOR CIVILIAN DUTY 

Recognition of the importance of Osteopathic 
physicians to the country's home front war effort 
came in the form of a ruling by the U. S. Manpower 
Commission. In November, 1942, the chairman of 
the Commission, Paul V. McNutt sent a deferment 
memorandum to all state chairmen, informing them 
that Osteopathic physicians would be deferred from 
military service in cases where civilian need was suf- 
ficiently pressing. Meanwhile, Professor Russell C 
Erb, Associate Dean of P.C.O., as well as Professor 
of Chemistry and Toxicology, was appointed as Arm- 
ed Service Representative for the College, in 
response to a request from Washington that such a 
post be established. It was Prof. Erb's task to be a 
liaison agent between the institution and officers of 
the Army, Navy, Marine Corps and the Coast Guard. 
Duties of the new position included close coopera- 
tion with Armed Service officials on all matters per- 
taining to College enlistment plans, as well as all 
questions concerning the relationship of students 
with the armed forces. 

In January, 1943, Dr. Joseph C Snyder, as a Navy 
Lieutenant Commander, assumed the duties of Naval 
attache to the U. S. embassy in London. Commander 
Snyder, a 1930 graduate of Annapolis, had been prac- 
ticing at 262 S. 15th St. Philadelphia since his duty 
in the Pacific. 

Augmenting the free clinical treatment given to 
rejected draftees at the outset of the war, the 
Osteopathic Hospital offered, in 1943, the same free 
service to industrial workers who, because of 
physical disability, were unable to meet war plant 
requirements. Dr. Joseph L. Root, director of the 
clinics, communicated with the medical directors of 
the various local war industries and invited them to 
send young men and women who had been unable to 
pass the required physical tests. 

Both in respect to the treatment of draftees, and 
the offer to rehabilitate prospective war workers, the 
Philadelphia College of Osteopathy was a pioneer. 
The service was enthusiastically acclaimed national- 
ly by draft officials and by leaders in industry. 

Whether because of, or in spite of the war, the 
prospect for the future of Osteopathy appeared very 
bright in the 1940's. "A golden era of service for 
Osteopathy lies ahead," said Dr. R. McFarlane 
Tilley, National President of the American 
Osteopathic Association in addressing P. CO. faculty 



65 




LIEUT. COM. JOSEPH C. SNYDER. D.O. 
Son of the PCIO Founder, Dr. Snyder combined a long practice 
with a ivartime Naval Career that began with his four years at the 
Naval Academy. He commanded a squadron in the Pacific during 
WWII. 

members on Founder's Day, 1943. "Osteopathy," he 
went on, "has the searching glare of pubHc approval, 
and will make good, carrying on its heritage of 
phenomenal growth and public service. The outlook 
is bright, but is fraught with responsibilities never 
before faced by the profession." 

At that time, a survey of six osteopathic in- 
stitutions, including the Philadelphia College, was 
under way, conducted by the Bureau of Colleges of 
the American Osteopathic Association. The object of 
these studies was to obtain the fullest recognition for 
Osteopathy in American education. In this connec- 
tion, Dr. Holden announced to the College Board of 
Trustees that he had requested the A.O.A. to make 
an exhaustive official inspection of the institution's 
educational facilities and resources. Tn our claims 
for equal rights and privileges, "Dean Holden said in 
his report, "we must give evidence of maintaining 
the highest standards in all respects . . . Forward- 
looking movements must be conceived and new proj- 
ects initiated." 

ARMED SERVICES GRANT RECOG- 
NITION COMMISSIONS TO D.O.'S 

Shortly after making this report. Dr. Holden was 
advised by Federal officials that Osteopathic 
physicians had been recognized by the United States 
Services as "essential", and also that commissions in 
the Army and Navy were to be accorded them. (Un- 
fortunately, this decision was never formally im- 
plemented by the Service Medical departments.) 



"It may safely be said," reported Dr. Francis A. 
Finnerty, vice president of P. CO., "that the ques- 
tion of deferment of osteopathic physicians is now 
definitely settled, and that our professional place in 
the sun is beyond question". 

In any time, much of the unsung heroic work for a 
hospital is done by the Women's Auxiliary, but dur- 
ing World War II, their contribution was enormous. 
Among their most important fund-raising activities 
were the lawn fetes which at that time were held an- 
nually on the grounds of the hospital at 48th and 
Spruce Streets. Executive Chairman in 1942 was 
Mrs. Edgar D. Doyle. She had held the post for eight 
years and was a veteran organizer of the elaborate af- 
fair. Working with her were Mrs. Edward J. Albert, 
chairman of food service, and Mrs. Charles J. Van 
Ronk and Mrs. G. C. Frantz, co-chairmen of the tea 
garden. The tea garden was an outstanding feature of 
the event, as luncheon, afternoon tea, and dinner 
were provided for patrons in the garden area. Other 
active chairmen of various lawn fete activities were 
Mrs. Titus K. Whitwer, Mrs. Talbert B. Struse, Mrs. 
Raymond Bailey, Miss Ethel H. Bell, Mrs. E. E. Van 
Horn, Mrs. Edward G. Drew, Mrs. Ella Weir, and 
Mrs. Lillian R. Jackson. The 1942 Fete was marked 
by a display of Allied Nations flags donated by West 
Philadelphia businessmen. A special booth was set 
up for the sale of War Savings Stamps. Patrons were 
"tagged" as they entered the grounds, the theme of 
the tags being "Buy War Stamps to help your 
Government; give the stamps to aid Osteopathic 
Hospital." Funds raised by the affair were used to 
buy a year's supply of linens for the hospital. 

The colorful event, complete with flowers and 
plants offered for sale, balloons, lemonade, cakes and 
candy, brightly colored umbrellas and booths was 
enjoyed not only by the general pubhc but by many 
of the small patients in the hospital. The children 
were invited as special guests, and the ramps leading 
from the hospital were filled with rolling chairs oc- 
cupied by the young patients. 

The spring lawn fete was followed in the fall by a 
card party and bazaar, held in the Assembly Building 
of the Woman's Club of Germantown. This bazaar 
featured tables of aprons and embroidered 
handkerchiefs, baked goods and candy. 
Arrangements for the benefit were directed by Mrs. 
Edward J. Albert. Miss L. R. Jackson acted as 
treasurer. Others on the committee included Miss 
Ethel K. Bell, Mrs. John Graham, Mrs. Titus K. 
Whitwer, Mrs. William H. Cumberland, Mrs. Edgar 



66 




THE OLD COLLEGE AND HOSPITAL BUILDING 

Built in 1929 this beautiful Collegiate Gothic structure at 48th and Spruce sts housed PCO in Depression. Recovery I950's ■ 60's. 

EVANS HALL. THE NEW TEACHING CENTER 
Completed in March 1973 this comprehensive classroom, audio-visual lecture auditorium, laboratory and library building adjoins Earth Pavilion 
on City ave. 




67 



"VS. 




^•^^- 



'^rXi 








^t^ 



Wim~^ 




3*S-^. 




% 



- jKkii:.^ 




Climaxing the Dedication ceremonies of Evans Hall was the unveiling of a portrait of the late Dr. H. W'' alter Evans by his grandchildren. The 
portrait will hang in the lobby of the new College building. .4t left, back row are Cynthia, Catherine and H. U alter Evans. Ill: front row. Barbara 
and Allison. Allison /.s the daughter of Dr. Philip K. Evans '54 (second from right) of Wallingford. Pa. Dr. H. Walter Evans, Jr., Asbury Park, 
N.J., is shown standing (right) and seated is Dr. Frederick H. Barth, PCOM's president. Top left, Audio-Visual lecture hall; right. Dr. Mercer 
names those responsible for Evans Hall: lower left. Dr. Rowland delivers Dedicatory reviewing Dr. Evans ' career and devotion to PCOM: right. 
Alumna Dr. Jean Johnston '28 back from London marvels at new campus. 



D. Doyle, Mrs. H. W. Evans, Mrs. William Boal and 
Mrs. Albert J. Taylor. 

Among the annual fixtures was the Auxiliary 
Guild's sponsorship of the sportive Rose Tree Hunt 
club's Autumn steeplechase meeting near Media. It 
had wide publicity. 

Other activities of the Women's Auxiliary in- 
cluded an annual Christmas Bazaar, fashion shows, 
and a number of spectacular charity balls. In addi- 
tion to the herculean task of organizing and super- 
vising all these affairs, many of the committeewomen 
personally devoted their time to making things for 
sale at the fetes and bazaars. Mrs. Catherine Witwer, 
for example, made dozens of aprons which were 
always popular items at the lawn fetes. "Nothing 
bores me more," she once said, "than people who say 
they never have anything to do, when there are so 
many necessary things crying to be done." 




DR. FOSTER C. TRUE 
One of the dedicated PCO scholar-athletes who became a Board 
member in the Earth era. (photo taken in 1930's) 



WOMENS SEWING GROUP SUPPLIED 
HOSPITAL LINENS 

For one lawn fete alone, Mrs. Witwer provided 
over 200 aprons, every one of which she made 
herself. They included ornate Tyrolean-style aprons 
with lacing up the front, short and full-length gar- 
ments in many varieties, colors and styles. 

In 1940, the Women's Auxiliary had a 
membership of 230. With the help of Junior Aid and 
the Needlework Guild of America, these women 
made, bought and paid for all the linen supplied for 
the hospital, including the Operating Room, 
Emergency Room, Obstetrical Department, X-ray 
and clinics, and the Nurses' Homes. 

President of the Women's Auxihary in 1941 was 
Mrs. Henry B. Herbst, who held the post until 1944 
when Mrs. G. C. Frantz was elected. Succeeding her 
was Mrs. Henry J. Glaus in 1947. When death 
claimed some of the most active members during the 
middle '40's, the membership dropped to 150, but 
the rolls were gradually increased with younger 
women. 

The Women's Auxiliary celebrated its 30th An- 
niversary in 1949 — three decades of devoted service 
to P.C.O. 

During the critical war years 1943-45, the Ex- 
ecutive Faculty was made up of Drs. William 
Baldwin, Jr.; Angus Cathie; Otterbein Dressier, (who 
acted as Dean for several years); H. Walter Evans; 
Russell Erb; J. Ernest Leuzinger; Paul T. Lloyd; 



Frederick Long; D. S. B. Pennock; Francis Smith; C. 
Haddon Soden; Ruth Elizabeth Tinley and Joseph F. 
Py. Dr. Pennock was a veteran surgeon by this time, 
having graduated from Kirksville in 1901, and 
becoming head of Surgery in 1910. 

On the Board of Directors at that time were Drs. 
Foster True, Donald B. Thorburn, and R. 
MacFarlane Tilley. Dr. Thorburn was an outstanding 
athlete, excelling in baseball and golf. President of 
the Board was George E. Letchworth. Additionally 
there were the former Board President John G. Keck, 
who had been of so much help in salvaging the PCO 
situation at the depression start of the 1930's 
through his negotiations with Philadelphia bankers, 
Thomas W. Anderson, George Gerlach, Donald 
Helfferich, Frank P. Will, Walter T. Andrews and 
Francis Finnerty, the Board Vice-President. Most of 
these were businessmen with a strong conviction 
that an institution like PCO was not to be allowed to 
flounder during those trying times. 

So they worked with the College and Hospital of- 
ficials and devised ways and means to finance and 
tide over the severest period in its corporate history. 
Moreover, they not only managed affairs for the time 
being, but built a solid foundation for subsequent 
growth that would burgeon rapidly into the largest 
Osteopathic teaching institution in the country, un- 
der the direction of Dr. Frederick H. Barth. 

But the war years were not all grimness and worry 
over finances and payroll meeting. There actually 



71 



were periods for enjovment and time out for social 
affairs. This was not limited to the lawn fetes staged 
on what was then a grassy lawn skirting what is now 
the car parking lot behind the 48th and Spruce sts. 
West Center. The Women's Auxiliary did a splendid 
job of fund raising through gala Charity balls which 
filled the society pages of Philadelphia papers with 
their formal dances in the Bellevue-Stratford and 
other scenes for these affairs. The PCO Musical 
Society gave frequent concerts, and there was Christ- 
mas caroling by candlelight in which the nurses join- 
ed. 

Athletics also continued to be an important part of 
the College schedules. The basketball teams did well, 
baseball was plaved when enough so inclined 
reported for practice, and the trackmen still got in 
shape for the meets indoor and at the Penn relays. 

RADIOLOGY DEPT. WELL EQUIPPED 

But the important fact was that departmental 
organization was well under way. Dr. Lloyd's 
Radiology department, well launched in the 1930"s 
when it was located in the more commodious base- 
ment at 48th street, received important equipment 
bought with a $10,000 gift from Mary Louise Curtis 
Bok. Mrs. Bok. A. Atwater Kent and S. Canning 
Childs were wealthy Philadelphians among the 
friends and patients of PCO practitioners who helped 
to equip the College and Hospital with the best equip- 
ment available in the 1940's. 

Planned and installed by General Electric X-ray 
Corporation, the Radiologv department had an ex- 
cellent diagnostic room, with every modern re- 
quirement — two Coolidge tubes, an erect Bucky 
grid, a stereoscopic cassette changer, and 
Wheatstone tvpe stereoscope. The fluoroscopic 
room had a motor drive table permitting both erect 
and horizontal positions during examinations. 
Another room held a shockproof dental X-ray unit 
and examination chair, and there was a space also for 
developing film. 

Dr. Leuzinger's ENT department was also making 
good progress. The Ear. Nose and Throat Depart- 
ment at PCO, began in 1916 at 1725 Spring Garden 
St. with lectures by Dr. William S. Nicholl, Dr. Earl 
Dunnington, and Dr. Peter Brearly. By 1919 Dr. W. 
Otis Galbreath was attending surgeon, and gave lec- 
tures on EENT from 1923 on. It was then that the 
young man from Temple, urged to enroll by Gal- 
breath to whom he was introduced during a visit to 



Spring Garden street's new tenants, PCO. signed an 
application and was told, "You are now a Freshman 
in our College." The Temple visiting student was J. 
E. Leuzinger. 

A physician with an eye and ear attuned to events, 
their time, place, and significance. Dr. Leuzinger has 
a reporter's recall and ability to record the facts. He 
can describe to each detail his progress through 
PCO's courses, his work in the tinv clinic at 1818 
Spring Garden, his inspiration and help from Dean 
Holden, and his work as a preceptee in Eye, Ear, 
Nose and Throat, with occasional assists to the 
Urology department when Dr. Sterrett called on him. 
Then came 1924 and training in Bronchoesophag- 
ology under the famed Dr. Chevalier Jackson at the 
Graduate Hospital. Five more years were spent, some 
working with Dr. Henry Winsor, and in 1929 a 
Surgical clinic for Ear, Nose and Throat was set up 
Thursdavs, after the teaching session. This led to 
planning the new EENT Department at the new 
College building at 48th and Spruce sts. Dr. 
Leuzinger was a busy man for it was the era of acute 
and chronic mastoiditis. Both Hospital and clinic 
were busy with many children and some adults arriv- 
ing for operations. 

With the passing years. PCO's EENT surgerv 
became widely heralded, and would-be preceptees 
were arriving from all over, hoping to learn how to 
perform tonsillectomies and adenoidectomies only. 
The out-patient clinic and operating room were busy, 
ahhough a good many of those who applied did not 
ha\e the requirements for preceptee. 



DR. LEUZINGER SAW MANY 
INTO EENT 

Dr. Leuzinger from 1932 until he succeeded Dr. 
Galbreath as Chairman, was Professor of 
Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology at PCO on a 
faculty that had 46 Professors, Associates and 
Assistants, and over 40 more Demonstrators and 
Instructors. He was head of the Bronchoscopy 
department meantime. Others who had positions in 
the Department were Drs. H. Mahlon Gehman, 
Charles W. Snvder, Jr., Jean Sheperla, William C. 
Weight. John W. Sheetz, a Marine Reserve who had 
studied at Graduate Hospital: also. George Guest, 
Harry I. Stein, Raymond B. Juni, Alphonso Mascioli, 
Martin Neifield, John Frank, all D.O.'s. From the 
1950-60's men like Dr. Leonard Lewis, Dr. John J. 



72 



Kelch, Dr. Harry Weinberg, Dr. Theodore Maurer, 
Dr. Lynn F. Sumerson, and more recently, Drs. 
Lewis J. Brandt, Dr. Alvin Dubin, and Dr. Ronald 
Kershner have finished the course. 

So, while Dr. Leuzinger greets PCO's 75th An- 
niversary year, a Professor Emeritus, he can survey 
with pride the procession of 0.0. & B. graduates that 
went forth while he was Chairman. One of them. Dr. 
Charles W. Snyder, Jr. is now Chairman of the 
Department and also happens to be Secretary of the 
PCOM Alumni Association. 

While medical students and doctors have always 
found release from the pressures of their profession 
through hobbies and avocations, the war years 
seemed to bring out more than the usual number of 
hidden talents. A number of P. CO. surgeons and 
physicians took up painting and produced some 
creditable artwork. One of the doctor-artists was Dr. 
Edward G. Drew, who had previously studied at the 
School of Industrial Art in Philadelphia. He and 
fellow faculty members, Dr. William S. Spaeth and 
Dr. W. Armstrong Graves, held a three-man exhibi- 
tion of their works in December, 1942, on the walls 
near the X-ray Department. 

"I have found," said Dr. Drew, "that art provides 
the best outlet from the tension of surgery and 
makes a surgeon more fit for his work. Not long ago a 
doctor colleague of mine suffered intensely from acid 
stomach. I removed his appendix, but was not 
satisfied with the results. Whereupon I suggested 
that he take up art. He objected on the ground that 
he could not draw a straight line . . . He finally began 
working on oils — and his ailment disappeared. My 
work in the studio has definitely given me steadier 
nerves for operating." 

In this connection. Dr. Russell Erb, Professor of 
Chemistry and Toxicology at P. CO., recommended 
that pictures be placed on the hospital walls to speed 
recovery of patients. "Patients," he declared, "are 
getting tired of looking at monotonous, institutional 
white walls. They become attached to pictures. They 
remind them of home and this builds up morale, 
shortening their stay in the hospital." 

As the war was ended and the decade of the '40's 
came to a close, Frederic H. Barth made an out- 
standing contribution by serving on the Board of Di- 
rectors. Mr. Barth was appointed to the Board in 
1947. On October 18, 1949, he was elected president 
of the Board of Trustees of the College. 

Frederic Earth's interest in Osteopathy began 
when he developed a severe case of chronic arthritis. 



A friend of his. Dr. Earl Yeomans, Vice President of 
Temple University, suggested Osteopathic treat- 
ment, and he went to see Dr. Charles W. Snyder, Jr. 
After some manipulative treatment, Barth was 
delighted at great improvement in his condition. He 
developed a profound interest in the Osteopathic 
profession. Not long afterward, he was recommended 
to the Board by Dr. Yeomans. 

At the time of Earth's election as President of the 
Board of Trustees, Dr. Guy Merryman became Vice 
President. Other officers included Dr. H. Walter 
Evans, Secretary; Dr. James M. Eaton, Treasurer; 
and Edward Eastwood, Controller. 

Seven physicians and three laymen were named to 
the Board of Trustees. They were Harry M 
Wodlinger, George Haasis, Dr. Paul Hatch, Dr 
Merryman and Mr. Barth, all for three-year terms 
Elected to two-year terms were Drs. Ira Drew, Alex 
ander Levitt and Charles W. Snyder, Jr. Drs. Tom 
masso Creatore and C Paul Snyder were each chosen 
for a one-year term. 

1949 MARKS OSTEOPATHY'S 75 TH, 
PCO'S 50TH ANIMVERSARIES 

The year 1949 marked Osteopathy's Diamond 
Jubilee — 75 years of remarkable growth. In the same 
year Philadelphia College of Osteopathy celebrated 
its 50th birthday since its founding by Dr. 0. J. 
Snyder. This double anniversary was an occasion for 
observances at P. CO. and throughout the country as 




DEA.\ OF THE COLLEGE WELCOMES 50TH ANNn ERSAR Y 
A UDIENCE 
Dr. Otterbein Dressier. Dean of the College, delivers address oj 
welcome at student convocation marking the completion of half a cen- 
tury of progress by the College. 



73 




Mrs. 0. J. Sn yder. wife of the Founder, receives an ovation as she is presented to Alumni. Beside her 
is her son , Dr. Joseph Sn yder. 



well. During those momentous years the science of 
osteopathy had established itself permanently as a 
complete school of medicine, whose general prac- 
titioners and specialists employed all recognized 
diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and, in addi- 
tion, osteopathic manipulative therapy. 

At the Alumni Day banquet on June 10, 1949, 
festivities centered around the 50th Anniversary of 



P. CO. Two groups of alumni were feted: the class of 
1924, which was celebrating its 25th year, and the 
"Old Timers," those who graduated in the years 
1900 to 1910. Among the Old Timers present were 
Dr. W. Otis Galbreath, '03; Dr. Harry E. Leonard, 
'01; Dr. Eugene Coffee, '05; Dr. J. Walter Jones, '05; 
Dr. George T. Hayman, '05; Dr. Frederick A. Beale, 
'08; Dr. Walter Sherwood, '06; Dr. Rene Galbreath, 




The head table at the Alumni Banquet, with Dr. Paul T. Lloyd officiating as toastmaster. 
74 



'06; Dr. I. F. Yeatter, '07; and Dr. H. V. Durkee. '09. 
The principal speakers were Drs. H. Walter Evans, 
Otterbein Dressier, and Ralph Fischer. Certificates 
of Honor were awarded to several alumni for dis- 
tinguished service to the College and Alumni 
Association. The recipients were Dr. Frederick A. 
Long for his work in reorganizing the Department of 
Neurology and Psychiatry; Dr. Ralph Fischer, for his 
efforts in graduate education at the College; Dr. Paul 
Hatch, for tireless efforts to interest the alumni in 
the Association; and Dr. James M. Eaton for his per- 
sonal contributions to the field of Orthopedics and 
his organization of that Department. 

Formal Fiftieth Anniversary ceremonies held at 
the College were conducted by George E. 
Letchworth, Jr., president of the Board of Trustees 
of the College. Dr. H. Willard Sterrett, senior 
member of the teaching staff was chairman of the ex- 
ercises. In an address on this occasion. Dr. George 
W. Riley, nationally-known Osteopathic physician of 
New York, said, "I, like many others who chose os- 
teopathy as a life profession, did so because of a 
remarkable cure accomplished by that system of 
therapy in a near relative of mine after eleven years 
of continuous experimentation by other doctors . . . 
It is singularly interesting to note that service to 
their fellow men was one constant activating element 
in the lives of those whose centenaries have been ob- 
served. 

"The submerging of self; the doing of kindly deeds 
to others; service to one's fellow men is what the 
peoples of all ages and all races have most admired." 

GRADUATE COURSES, DR. ARBUCKLE 
ARRIVE m LATE '40' S 

In April, 1949, P. CO. inaugurated Graduate 
courses in Osteopathic Medicine, Physical 
Diagnosis, Cardiovascular Diseases, and an Intensive 
Review Course. In all, these schedules comprised 
about 500 hours, most of which could be offered for 
credit toward certification. Part I of Osteopathic 
Medicine was given by Dr. Ralph E. Everal together 
with members of the resident faculty. 

An outstanding alumna of the College whose work 
won exceptional recognition in the '40's was Dr. 
Beryl E. Arbuckle. Her work in 1943 and subsequent 
years involved the care of the handicapped, and 
research work concerning cranial birth injuries and 
the alleviation of the many sequellae of such in- 
juries. Under Dr. Arbuckle's supervision, various 




DR. BERYL ARBUCKLE 



phases of cranial projects were carried out in the 
Hospital Nursery in an active Cranial Clinic, in 
private practice, and in the Anatomical Laboratory. 
Dr. Arbuckle received her pre-medical training at the 
University of Natal in South Africa, during which 
time the incident of Osteopathic help to a severely 
crippled child turned her steps to America for the 
study of Osteopathy in 1924. She graduated from 
P. CO. in 1928 and began the study of the 
Osteopathic cranial concept with Dr. William 
Sutherland in 1943. Until that time she had been ac- 
tive in the Department of Pediatrics and was presi- 
dent of the American College of Osteopathic 
Pediatricians, in 1947-48. 

Nearing the end of 1949 a significant note 
appeared in the Osteopathic Digest: "Dr. J. Armande 
Porias, Radiologist of 94 Clinton Avenue, Newark, 
N. J. has recently returned from Oak Ridge, Tenn., 
where he took a course at Oak Ridge Institute of 
Nuclear Studies in the use of Radio Isotopes as 
applied to medicine." 

ASSORTED RECOLLECTIONS OF THE 

'40's 

PCO graduates of the '40's recall, among other 
memorabilia, the School of Nursing, then probably 
at its zenith. This recollection is reinforced, for 
many, by the marriages that grew out of what were 
supposed to be strictly professional relationships 
between student nurses and student doctors. Apart 



75 



from meetings while on duty in hospital and clinic, 
there were concerts and plays in which both groups 
participated. In 1942 a combined group produced "a 
farcical play", starring Wilmington's J. Ford 
Donohue, '42, and Doris Schwartz. There were also 
dances and other social affairs. Further propinquity 
developed from the policy whereby all student 
nurses were to receive one osteopathic treatment per 
week. Junior and senior students assisted in this 
program. 

The School of Nursing, begun in 1919, was at this 
time headed by Margaret C. Peeler, R.N., as Direc- 
tress. Helen M. Sterrett, a sister of H. Willard 
Sterrett, Sr. was Educational Directress. She con- 
tinued active to the 1960's, working in Women's 
Guild projects. Probably the best remembered of the 
Supervisors was Eva Thomson, R.N., a stern, con- 
scientious woman whose warmth was well concealed 
when on duty, but whose deep interest in the best for 
her patients and her student nurses caused her to be 
remembered with respect and appreciation. Both 
directresses went on to well-respected careers in 
other institutions. 

The PCO School provided many nurses for the 
Armed Forces, for the mission field, and for service 
in other hospitals. Among PCO student nurses of 
this era who developed a closer affiliation with the 
profession through marriage are Mrs. Lester 
Eisenberg, Mrs. H. Willard Sterrett, Jr., Mrs. 
Spencer Bradford, Mrs. George Court, and Mrs. 
Kenneth Holbrook. 

Another recollection of the war years is the divi- 
sion of the adjacent athletic field into Victory 
Gardens. Designed to augment civilian food supply, 
and providing wholesome exercise for many 
students, these gardens were wryly named "Back 
Acres", for obvious reasons. 

Among the faculty personalities that left strong 
impressions on the students of the forties was 
Wilbur P. Lutz, D.O. A whimsical manner and a 
fondness for jokes did not hide Dr. Lutz' sensitivity 
and compassion from his students. His genius in the 
field of physical diagnosis and his great love for 
music were a fortunate combination that culminated 
in the development of one of the first sets of re- 
corded heart sounds in the United States. 

AND MEMORIES OF DRS. PY AND 
STERRETT 

Joseph F. Py, D.O. graduated from PCO in 1926, 



having earned his tuition by night work in a foundry. 
He ultimately succeeded Dr. Evans as head of the 
Department of Bacteriology. In the tradition of so 
many PCO teachers, he also conducted a large 
private practice. He used his experiences in this 
highly varied general practice to bring relevance to 
the subject matter presented to his classes, spicing 
his lectures with homespun humor and highly prac- 
tical observations on the art of practice. At the time 
of this writing, having received the Lindback Award 
for Distinguished Teaching and the O.J. Snyder 
Memorial Medal, Dr. Py joined the Gallery of Greats 
with the presentation of his portrait at the annual 
Staff-Faculty Dinner Dance on March 30, 1974. 

The personality of H. Willard Sterrett, Sr. made 
an impact on most students of this era. Attracted to 
the profession and ultimately to his specialty of 
urology by the efforts of W. Armstrong Graves, 
D.O., his family physician. Dr. Sterrett was a 
dramatic and energetic lecturer, and as a surgeon 
performed operations not before done at PCO, and 
seldom elsewhere. The distinguished family service 
tradition was continued by his son, the late H. 
Willard Sterrett, Jr., for many years active in Alum- 
ni Association and staff affairs. 

In the manner of Dr. Sterrett and Dr. E.G. Drew, 
Ralph L. Fischer, D.O. carried the elegant lecture 
style into the field of Internal medicine, in addition 
to his innumerable contributions to both local and 
national professional advancement. 

Home deliveries were the order of the day in the 
early forties, with the students actually performing 
the delivery under the supervision of a member of 
the Department of Obstetrics. Many students gained 
their first insights into the lives of the poor of 
Philadelphia during this service. 

PLANE CRASH KILLS FACULTY 
MEMBERS 

As with other generations of students, the classes 
of this era learned to respect the knowledge and 
teaching abilities of Dr. Edwin H. Cressman in the 
fields of histology and dermatology. His lectures 
were models of clarity and organization. 

Toward the close of this period, a plane, carrying a 
number of members of the profession, who were 
returning from a California convention, crashed in 
Bryce Canyon, Utah. PCO suffered the loss of 
several faculty members and friends, among them 
William McDougall, D.O., of the Department of 



76 




DR. LOUIS G. SCHACTERLE 
Well regarded member of PCO Faculty in the 1 940 's who took over 
Dr. McCaughan 's work after latter 's death in plane crash 

Urology. This stunning tragedy cast a pall of sorrow 
over the College and Hospital for many weeks. 

A bulwark of Administration during the period 
was Louis G. Schacterle. who at various times serv- 
ed as Registrar. Secretary and Treasurer of the 
College, or in some combination of these offices. As 
has frequentlv been the case throughout the 
College's historv. one man served many functions. 



Student financial problems, (prosperity had not fully 
returned to PCO) payroll, admissions, and registra- 
tion were among the tasks that fell on this one of- 
ficial. 

In retrospect and certainly to alumni of that era, 
the '40's typify recollections of "the good old days". 
Considering the development of PCO since its incep- 
tion, they were definitelv years of consolidation, 
development of high professional competence, and of 
strong, dedicated men. Among graduates of the 
period now affiliated with PCOM are Drs. Charles 
Hemmer, Cecil Harris, David Heilig, Albert Fornace, 
I. J. Oberman, A. A. Feinstein, Spencer Bradford, 
Herbert Lipkin, Marvin Blumberg, Morton 
Greenwald, David Cragg, John Sheetz, William 
Morris, Arnold Gerber, Warren Swenson, Isadore 
Feldman, Walter Willis, and Herbert Weinberg. 
Manv others have risen to positions of professional 
leadership in other institutions. 

As a new decade dawned with President Earth 
elected to office, it was clear, as Dr. Earth stated, 
that the prospects were "as bright as the promises of 
God for the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy. It 
will need," he went on, "more than just physical 
eyes to see them — the unseen things are enduring." 

Thus, the 1940's closed and a new. exciting era 
began for the Philadelphia College of Osteo- 
pathy — the '50's, a decade of change. 



77 




-g 



.a 
-e 

-^ 
-S 



0\ 






.^ 






78 



CHAPTER 7 



THE SIXTH DECADE, 1949-1959 
A NEW ERA OF PCO EXPANSION 



There is, indeed a time for everything — a time for 
work, a time for play; a time for rest, a time for 
retrenchment, a time for growth and expansion. For 
the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy, the 1950's 
were a time for growth. It is a curious circumstance 
of history that leaders generally appear to fulfill 
destiny whenever a real need arises, and in the year 
that Dr. Frederic H. Barth became President of the 
College, in 1957, the ambitious plans for a modern 
hospital and medical teaching center began to 
materialize. 

First there was the Board's purchase of the 16-acre 
Moss Estate at City Line Avenue and Monument 
Road. This momentous decision was consummated 
on May 1, 1957 when, for $900,000, the magnificent- 
ly-situated property was acquired by P. CO. In de- 
scribing the scope and significance of this event, Dr. 
Barth wrote for the Osteopathic Digest, "This will be 
the initial move in a building program that, when 
completed under plans of Nolen and Swinburne, 
architects, and George Ewing & Co., architects and 
engineers, will total between twelve and fifteen mil- 
lion dollars. Ours will be among the most complete 
and modern medical teaching centers in any country, 
and we should be proud of the fact that Osteopathy 
will have attained it." 

The concept of this great project set the 
organization's sites on expansion and improvement 
as far as fifty years into the future. Included in the 
new facility were to be administration offices, a 
hospital of 600 beds, a college of instruction and a 
laboratory for experiment and research, a Nurses' 
home, resident and intern quarters, auditorium, 
library, lecture hall, dormitories for students and 
faculty, as well as accommodations for visitors or 
guests. Ultimately, plans for the auditorium as well 
as for the Nurses' home were deferred. But in the es- 
sential areas of instruction and research and in the 
hospital itself, the actual development exceeded even 



the early planners' dreams. Today, the two-unit 600- 
bed hospital — the Barth Pavilion Hospital completed 
in 1973 — is second to no facility of its kind in the 
country. 

Another step was renovation of the Moss mansion 
for use as College Administration offices. To this 
end, a sum of $51,000 was allocated. Meanwhile, a 
Pennsylvania Charter, obtained in 1953, was im- 
plemented to gain educational funds from the State 
Legislature, and what originally may have appeared 
to some as an unobtainable goal, began with amazing 
rapidity to take on real form and substance. 

On June 28, 1957, the College took title to the 
16.24 acres of ground. Almost immediately, the work 
of renovating the mansion, of clearing the land for the 
building operations, and the various construction 
projects began in earnest. 

The first major expansion move after Dr. Barth 
was elected to PCO's Board of Directors was the ac- 
quisition of the Womens Homeopathic Hospital at 
20th St. and Susquehanna ave. It had become 
somewhat burdensome for the women, and when Dr. 
Barth learned it might be purchased, he stirred the 
Board to action. 

After discussions with the Hospital's Board Chair- 
man, Mrs. Walter B. Supplee, and affirmative ac- 
tions on the part of both her Board members and 
those of PCO's Board, the transaction was consum- 
mated May 16, 1951. Meetings were held in the 
Boardroom of the Land Title and Trust Co. and 
details were worked out to the satisfaction of both 
parties. The final settlement took place three months 
later, Aug. 16, 1951. 

In the meanwhile another of the amazing group ef- 
forts in behalf of this important acquisition for their 
College, took place. This time without public fanfare, 
the Hospital staff in a short time was able to ac- 
cumulate over $300,000 in funds and securities to 
help underwrite the North Center project. When it 



79 




DR. FREDERIC H. BARTH 



was over, the property became PCO's and raised its 
assets to well over $1,000,000. 

THOMAS M. ROWLAND, JR. 
BECOMES REGISTRAR 

To understand the impact of this momentous 
change in policy, management, and most of all the 
shift of PCOM's academic and training activities 
from the 48th and Spruce sts. campus to what would 
ultimately rise, a completely new and modernized 
teaching and healing complex, the earlier 1950's 
should be reviewed, if mainly as prologue. After Dr. 
Barth went on the combined College-Hospital Board 
in 1947 the Executive Committee consulted with the 
Faculty leadership on a number of changes. Dean 
Otterbein Dressier had resigned at the end of 
February, 1950. A new Dean's Committee was ap- 
pointed, including Drs. James M. Eaton, Frederick A. 
Long, Edwin H. Cressman, and J. Ernest Leuzinger. 
This committee also consulted frequently with Drs. 
H. Walter Evans, Paul T. Lloyd, and Ralph L. 
Fischer, all having the rank of Professor. They were 
to assume responsibilities of the Dean's office, met 
twice a week and continued in session until 2 and 3 



o'clock the next morning. Dr. Long on Sept. 20, 1950 
was delegated as Dean, and in this manner provided a 
daily link with the post on temporary basis, however. 

Dr. Leuzinger once described the Dean's com- 
mittee duties as "a terrific lot of work, without any 
extra pay whatever." Since the budget demands were 
stretching available income to the limits, there was 
no demand from any of the Committee who in the 
tradition of PCO's long-term key-men, carried on 
without complaint. Among their tasks was the 
screening and interrogation of student applicants 
and the many other continuing responsibilities 
relating to faculty assignments and matters per- 
taining to the classes and students. 

One of the most important moves by the Com- 
mittee took place when Mr. Thomas M. Rowland, Jr. 
was engaged as Registrar and Director of Admissions. 
Upon the recommendation of Dr. Barth, Mr. 
Rowland assumed the work of the Admissions office 
in May of 1950, and by June of 1952 was appointed 
Registrar and Director of Admissions. He continued 
in that important post without interruption for the 
next 20 years. 

Meanwhile he was made Vice President for Ad- 
ministrative Affairs, which entailed a wider area of 
responsibilities relating to College and student af- 
fairs. As Registrar and Director of Admissions Mr. 
Rowland took over much of the Dean's Committee 
work, and many other responsibilities such as stu- 
dent body routine and counsel, and the vital matter 
of student financial help, so that PCO's proud claim 
that once accepted as a candidate for the D.O. 
degree, "you are expected to graduate'" has become 
axiomatic. 

The engagement of Vice President Rowland was 
the first of several major steps that marked the early 
Barth Era. After Mr. Rowland's service overseas with 
the U.S. Air Force Troop Carrier Command in World 
War II, (thev transported Allied paratroopers on pre- 
beachhead operational drops, including the Norman- 
dy invasion, Sicily, and Arnhem-Nijmegen on the 
Rhine) he attended Temple University, graduating 
with a Bachelor of Science degree. With his apprecia- 
tion of disciplines, and a natural talent for un- 
derstanding and guiding students, his contribution to 
the achievements and reputation of present day 
PCOM cannot be overstated. For example how he 
filled in for Dr. Barth when the President became ill, 
and how in the emergency the Board promoted him 
to Executive Vice President in 1973. are part of the 
final pages of this 75th Anniversary report. 



80 




DR. SHERWOOD R. MERCER 

Vice President for Educational Affairs 

Dr. Long served two years as interim Dean, then 
resumed his Faculty position as Director of 
Osteopathic Research which he held for a long time 
in addition to being Professor of Osteopathic 
technique. He was succeeded at the end of 1952 by 
the popular journalist-publicist-osteopath, Dr. 
William E. Brandt, '21, who was prevailed upon to 
act as Dean when he retired as Chief of Public 
Relations for the National League of Baseball Clubs. 
He had served brilliantly, organizing and writing the 
first complete baseball fact book ever produced in 
the professional major leagues. He then developed 
and personally recorded for nightly production over 
a national radio hookup, "Thrills in Sports," which 
provided a tremendous audience for a baseball mind- 
ed D.O. 

Dr. Brandt served as Dean until Dr. Sherwood R. 
Mercer, who had been Dean at Dr. Brandt's Alma 
Mater, Muhlenberg College, came to P. CO. to 
assume the same position. Dr. Brandt was then made 
President of the College for a short time. He had the 
distinction of being the first President of the College 
since the late, revered Founder, Dr. 0. J. Snyder had 
filled the position at the beginning of PCO's history. 

Then well along in his 60's, Dr. Brandt went from 
PCO to act as interim editor of the American 



Osteopathic Association's publications, in Chicago. 
It was his last assignment. Vowing to get in some golf 
before his time was up, he occasionally played at St. 
Davids G.C. in Wayne, not far from the 
Conshohocken family home where his sisters, both 
PCO alumnae, Ruth '21, and Anna '24 had practiced 
all their lives. But failing health overhauled the 
genial author-publicist, and Dr. Brandt passed away 
Nov. 18, 1963 in Riverview Osteopathic Hospital in 
Norristown, at the age of 72. 

With Dr. Brandt's retirement the position of PCO 
President was left open, but as Commencement ap- 
proached. Dr. Barth as President of the Board, was 
asked to preside. This he did in a manner that linked 
the early years of the expansion era to those that 
would bring an entirely new look, and with it the new 
name of Philadelphia College of Osteopathic 
Medicine to the institution. 

In the midst of these momentous activities, 95 
students in the class of 1957 received their degrees. 
This was the College's 66th Commencement, on June 
9, 1957. Standing at the crossroads on the eve of a 
new era for P. CO., the 95 graduates heard Dr. 
Millard E. Gladfelter, Provost and Vice President of 
Temple University, give an address on "Rights and 
Privileges." He reminded students and faculty alike 
that the right to free use of knowledge carries with it 
certain definite responsibilities in a free nation. 
Declaring that those who have learned from others 




D.O. '5 VISIT ILL DR. VERGARA 

When YOU 're sick and in a hospital, company is often just what the 
patient needs. In the case of gregarious Dr. Enrique Vergara. PCO's 
late and famed Proctologist, this took place during the .SO's when the 
wiry little Filipino was confined in the PCO Hospital. Bui he had 
plenty of company: L-r: Rienzi, Blackman, Pleitz, Sichtenwalner, 
Alfred Barloic from York, Pa. and Dr. Naylor from Hanover, Pa. 



81 




PCOM Purchases Womens Homeopathic Hospital 
The Barth Era expansion began Aug. 16. 1 95 1 lohen a major acquisition loas made when the Women 's Homeopathic Hospital. 20th st. and 
Susquehanna ave.. was purchased by the Board of Directors, making PCOM the largest Osteopathic facility in the country with over 400 bed 
capacity, .it top. Dr. Barth and Mrs. Walter B. Supplee. President of the Homeopathic Board, sign final papers. Center right. George H. Diehm. 
settlement o/Jicer presides as both Boards approve transaction in Land Title and Trust Co. Left. Dr. Barth unveils neic PCO sign denoting transfer 
of Hospital. Bottom, crowd representing both parties applaud first of several real estate deals that expended PCO's health care centers from West 
Philadelphia to .Manayunk. and Laporte, Pa., ivith a spacious College and Barth Pavilion on the new campus on City ave.. Philadelphia. 



82 




SURVIVORS POSE AT 1952 ANNUAL DINNER 

Standing, rear, left to right: (first man unidentified), Drs. Harry Binder, Joe Kunkle. Wm. Somerville, Ralph Flint, Jr., Don Guerdon, 
IVendell E. Mook. Meyer M. Belkoff. Hartley Steinsnyder, Sam Caruso, Joseph M. Back. Alex Noon, Saul Kanoff, Charles A. Hemmer, Min- 
nie Shore. Dorothy Sivitz. Harold Finkle. John Capista. Joseph Gilletto, Quentin R. Flickinger. 

Seated, outside table, left to right: Al S. Reibstein. Albert Bonier. .Arnold Naronis, Arnold Melnick. H. W'illard Sterrett. Jr.. Jerome L. Ax- 
elrod, Galen S. Young, William J. Gillespie, Dominic Salerno, Henry D'Alonzo, Irwin Rothman, Martin Raber. 

Seated, inside table, left to right: Dominic Mersico, Theodore Asnis, Andrew D. DeMasi. Isadore Lieberman, Alphonso Mascioli, Vincent 
Cipolla. 



are morally bound to pass their knowledge along to 
the coming generations, he said: 

"In this context it is our right to use for the com- 
mon good, and within the prescribed bounds, that 
which is peculiarly ours because of training, ex- 
perience and outlook. We are bound to policy for 
practice by precedent, professional, legal, and moral 
restrictions. But we are not bound to contain within 
ourselves the genius of thought, observation and 
research." 

Dr. Gladfelter went on to point out that studies in- 
dicated a need for 25 per cent more Ph.D's alone to 
meet the demands of 1965. Even if these re- 
quirements were to be met, he urged the new 
generations of doctors not to limit themselves to in- 
terest in medicine only, but to participate in causes, 
research and the pursuit of truth — all for the com- 
mon good. 



Dr. Barth conferred a Doctor of Letters degree 
upon Dr. Gladfelter and Doctor of Laws on Betrand 
W. Hayward, President of the Philadelphia Textile 
Institute. The two recipients were presented by Dean 
Sherwood R. Mercer. Dr. Barth then conferred D.O. 
degrees upon the graduating members of the Class of 
1957. 

Only the day before. Dean Mercer had been award- 
ed an Honorary degree of Doctor of Laws by the 
Philadelphia Textile Institute at its own commence- 
ment exercises. Dr. Mercer had been active in educa- 
tion since 1929 when he graduated from Wesleyan 
University. Since 1942, he had served as ad- 
ministrator and consultant in higher education in 
Connecticut, New York and Pennsylvania. He joined 
the Staff of the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy 
in 1954 after eight years as Dean of Faculty at 
Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pa. 



83 




PRIZE WINNING MEMBERS, CLASS OF 1959 

Back row. left to right: Bernard Barbell. James W^allace. Paul Parente, Michael Sutula. Gerald Rubin, Domenic Falco, Peter Johnston. 
Bertram Shapiro, Albert Kofsky. Ronald Abrams, William Anderson, William Black. 

Front row, left to right: Sheldon Zinberg, Solomon Kominsky, Leonard Finkelstein, Joseph Glickel. Robert Sivain. Ronald Goldberg, Mar- 
vin Wallach. William DiSanto. 



DR. BARTH BECOMES 
PCO PRESIDENT 

It was not long after the Commencement exercises 
of that year that Dr. Barth was unanimously elected 
President of the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy. 
This was on June 28, 1957, the day that 
arrangements were finalized for the acquisition of 
the Moss acreage and the building of the modern fa- 
cility. From the beginning, Dr. Barth was a key 
figure in planning and construction of the new 
Osteopathic center. 

Barth, a holder of several patents for textile and 
chemical equipment devices, was at one time a 
successful proprietor of an industrial rubber firm 
and also of a hardware and parts supply company. 
For several years he served on the Board of Trustees 
and as Chairman of the educational and faculty 
curriculum committees of the Philadelphia Textile 
Institute, from which he had graduated. In 1947, he 



became active with the Board of the Philadelphia 
College of Osteopathy. During these years he re- 
ceived an honorary degree of Doctor of Science from 
P. CO. and Doctor of Laws from the Des Moines 
College of Osteopathy and Surgery. He was a 
member of Temple University Associates, of the 
Union League, The Engineers Club of Philadelphia, 
and the Capitol Hill Club in Washington, D.C. 

At the American Osteopathy Association's con- 
vention in Dallas, July 8-19. 1957, P. CO. sent a dele- 
gation of 24, led by Dr. Barth and Dean Mercer. Dr. 
Paul T. Lloyd gave the traditional Andrew Taylor 
Still memorial lecture on "Governance in 
Osteopathic Education." A scientific exhibit, 
prepared by Dr. 0. Edwin Owen received the first 
Award of Merit, and Drs. Otto M. Kurschner, 
Thomas F. Santucci and Arnold Melnick were made 
Fellows of the American College of Osteopathic 
Pediatricians. Moderating a number of panel dis- 



84 



Administrative Office Help 
Inspect Moss Mansion s Pool 





WOMEN'S AUXILIARY ARRANGES LA WN FETE 
This was in June 1953. before the 'lawn ' became the parking lot back oj 48th St. W est Center 



85 



cussions were Drs. Walter M. Hamilton and Frank E. 
Gruber. 

This was a period of high honors for P. CO. per- 
sonnel. At an Alumni Association Banquet 
celebrating P. CO. Alumni Day, Professor Kenneth 
L. Senior was given an honorary membership in the 
Association in recognition of his teaching chemistry 
at the College for a quarter century. On this gala oc- 
casion, President of the Alumni, Dr. John McA. 
Ulrich presented a gift of a leather attache case to 
Professor and Mrs. Senior, while certificates of merit 
were awarded to the retiring President of P. CO., Dr. 
William E. Brandt '21, Dr. Ruth E. Tinley '23 and 
Dr. C Haddon Soden '23, Andrew T. Still College of 
Osteopathy. 

Making the occasion especially noteworthy was 
the presence of 24 of the 80-member class of '32, 
which had been comprised of 70 men and 10 women. 
As Toastmaster of the evening, Dr. William H. 
Behringer '38 emphasized in his remarks, 66 of the 
80 were still practicing in 1957. 

Also present was "Old Timer" Anna Marie 
Ketcham, Class of '07 — the only 50-year graduate 
attending. 

Finally in this 1957 year of fresh beginnings, the 
Osteopathic Digest came under new direction when 
Ivan H. (Cy) Peterman was appointed Editor and 
PCO Publicity Director on May 1. Peterman brought 
with him a wealth of experience and skill as a jour- 
nalist, having been on the Evening Bulletin staff for 
several years, and a foreign correspondent for the 
Philadelphia Inquirer. For three and a half years of 
World War II he covered front-line combat, was 
twice wounded, decorated three times, and was one 
of six correspondents who followed the entire U.S. 
combat missions in North Africa and Europe, from 
Algiers to Elbe. After the war he wrote on post-war 
and "cold war" diplomacy, making numerous trips to 
Europe, the Mideast, South America and Africa. 



THE PCO FAMILY BEGETS PROGRESS 

For Philadelphia College of Osteopathy a period of 
transition had begun. The acquisition of land and the 
completion of plans for the City Line Avenue com- 
plex were only the first important steps toward the 
great physical as well as psychological changes about 
to take place over the next few years in P.CO.'s his- 
tory. At the 67th Commencement Exercises, for ex- 
ample. Dr. Barth struck a significant note when he 



told his audience of over 2,000 packed into the 
Irvine Memorial Auditorium: 

"P. CO. is on the move. Its physical plant is rising. 
The past year has seen improvements in our 
educational program at both predoctoral and post- 
doctoral levels. The spirit of our college is alert and 
vibrant. 

"One of the reasons we are in this happy, 
progressive period is that we are having cooperation 
and enthusiastic support from many in the P. CO. 
family. 

"I wish to emphasize . . . that we are progressing 
because we are a family, and ever since this college 
was founded in 1899, members of this family have 
been giving of themselves, their knowledge, and their 
substance to further our common cause." 

The Class of 1958 numbered 95, including two 
women, its members ranging in age from the early 
twenties to the late forties. As 71 of the class had 
families of their own, with a total of 72 children, and 
since five were sons of osteopaths and four had 
brothers in practice, all of them understood and ap- 
preciated Dr. Barth's reference to family spirit and 
responsibilities. 

The Commencement Address was delivered by Dr. 
Charles H. Boehm, Superintendent of Public 
Instruction in Pennsylvania. He said, "I want to 
compliment especially your President, Dr. Barth, 
whose broad, far-reaching vision, leadership, and 
enthusiasm have projected a whole new future, and a 
greater role in the healing arts, for the entire os- 
teopathic profession. He is a man who believes in im- 
plementing dreams; he has drive and ability to bring 
about their realization. He appreciates the fact that 
broad education throughout history has helped man 
to understand his civilization, himself, and his God." 

Some of his words now seem prophetic in light of 
current shortages of fuel, power and — more impor- 
tant — of intellectual honesty. Dr. Boehm believed 
that a complacent, obsolescent America, despite 
urgent warnings by national leaders and definite 
progress by our rivals, had to experience "a second 
Pearl Harbor" before it awakened to the need of 
educational selectivity, in which we stop wasting our 
greatest natural resource — the more able students. 

He suggested that a grateful population might 
someday erect a monument to Sputnik, for Sputnik 
did what no other force had been able to achieve. "It 
jarred from proud smugness, a great but surprised 
nation . . ." American educational authorities, he 
said, had rallied to fashion a system that would 



86 




FOUNDER 'S DA Y HUDDLE, 1959 

State Senator Israel Stiefel explains a Legislative point with 
Board Members Jim Eaton, Ira Drew. 



prepare the next generation "to live in competitive 
coexistence on the brink of total and horrible war — a 
system that must strike a balance between alternate 
hysteria, and evasive complacency." 

One of the more remarkable of the Class of '58 
graduates was Dr. Wesley Heins, Jr., whose name 
had been called five times during honors awards at 
the Commencement exercises. In spite of a series of 
apparently insuperable obstacles, he achieved a truly 
outstanding record at P. CO. Illness had plagued him 
for some time. He lost an entire year of study due to 
an attack of rheumatic fever. A former trombonist 
with name bands, he had made a good living, only to 
see that evaporate with the advent of television and 
"canned" music. Although he had a wife and child to 
support, he still dreamed of studying medicine. He 
had been hoping to become a doctor when World 
War II swept him up with millions of other young 
men, and he found himself fighting with General 
Patton's Third Army. Heins was with the 4th Ar- 
mored Division when it broke the siege of Bastogne 
during the famous Battle of the Bulge. When he 



finally decided to attend classes at P. CO., his wife, 
Valerie, took a secretarial job in the College clinic, 
but when his illness struck, family, friends, faculty 
and fellow students all pulled for Heins. Somehow he 
persisted and graduated first in class, and a record of 
achievement second to none. Midway in a brilliant 
career as radiologist in AUentown Osteopathic 
Hospital, Dr. Heins died suddenly Oct. 9, 1970. He 
was 53. 

At the 59th Annual Alumni Dinner, held in the 
ballroom of the Hotel Sheraton, a special Fifty-Year 
Certificate was awarded to Old Timers, three of 
whom were present to receive them. These "hardy 
perennials" were Dr. Addison O'Neill (Class of 
1903) of Daytona Beach, Fla., Dr. J. Walter Jones, 
'05, of Philadelphia, and Dr. Anne Marie Ketcham, 
'07, of Washington, D.C Attendance laurels went to 
the class of 1923, many of whom were present for 
their 35th anniversary. Fifteen years later, 14 
members of this remarkable class attended the Alum- 
ni Dinner to mark their 50th anniversary! Among 
the '23 class members present in 1958 was Dean R. 
McFarlane Tilley who at the time was Dean of the 
faculty of Kirksville College of Osteopathy. 

DRS. ISORTHUP AND YOUNG 
AOA PRESIDENTS 

About this time, two alumni of the Philadelphia 
College of Osteopathy were honored by their election 
to serve successive one-year terms as presidents of 
the American Osteopathic Association. They were 
Dr. Galen S. Young, '35, and Dr. George W. 
Northup, Class of 1939. These 1958 appointments 
were made at the annual AOA convention in 
Washington, D.C, which was well attended by 
Philadelphia College representatives, led by Dr. 
Barth. Dean Sherwood R. Mercer, Dr. H. Walter 
Evans, Registrar Thomas M. Rowland, Jr. and Cy 
Peterman, Public Relations director, also attended 
the convention. 

As the new college and hospital began to rise at the 
City Line site, progress of a less noticeable nature 
was being made at P. CO. One of the most important 
advances was made in Postgraduate Studies under 
the leadership of Dr. Victor R. Fisher. Fisher, 
President-Elect of the American College of 
Osteopathic Internists, of which he had long been a 
Fellow, had been conducting many individualized 
courses on specialized subjects. His heavy daily 
schedule included teaching, administrative work. 



87 



conferences on catalog, curriculum and endless cor- 
respondence. Under Dr. Fisher's guidance, the Post- 
graduate work kept pace with the most advanced 
medical equipment and information during the '50's. 
Such studies as Radiation Physics and Radiation 
Biology were added to curriculum under Dr. Paul T. 
Lloyd, with some of the world's foremost radiation 
authorities scheduled as guest lecturers. When the 
school moved to City Line early in 1959, two modern 
classrooms were provided for Postgraduate work, 
complete with the latest audio-visual equipment. 
Among new subjects of study offered were Body 
Fluids and Electrolytes, Neoplastic Diseases and 
Proctology, all of these for the first time in any post- 
graduate osteopathic college. Meanwhile, Dr. 
William S. Spaeth, Professor and Chairman of the 
Pediatrics Department, directed and brought in 
national authorities in hematology, cardiac surgery, 
and pharmacology for special lectures. One of the 
popular postgraduate subjects was Electrocardio- 
graphy, directed by Dr. William F. Daiber, chairman 
of the Department of Osteopathic Medicine. 

One of the last classes to attend P. CO. Nursing 
School, the 19 women who graduated in 1958 left 



with a remarkable record. They were not only ex- 
cellent scholars, but put together the highest-scoring 
basketball team in the School's history, losing only 
one game the entire season. In his graduation ad- 
dress. Dr. Andrew De Masi told the group, "You 
belong now to the most personal profession in the 
battle against disease." He added: "Every doctor and 
every nurse should have first, a sense of humor, and 
secondly, an incision." He urged them to keep up 
their standards and principles, emphasizing that the 
same devotion they gave to their studies would carry 
them far in the profession. 

A decade of explosive change ended for P.C.O. 
with the awarding of a million-dollar Christmas gift 
in the form of a State grant. The bill to provide this 
welcome fund was signed on Christmas Eve, 1959, by 
Governor David L. Lawrence, and it was the spark 
needed to set the new building program into swift 
forward motion. This grant meant not only the im- 
plementation of P.C.O. 's expansion plans, but it was 
an important milestone in a long-fought campaign to 
win recognition for the College as deserving of state 
financial assistance along with other medical 
schools. At the same time it opened the way for 
similar grants from the federal government. 



' • If i: 




"AfOr WHEN I BOXED BIJT.MA\ . . ." 
Dannv ParriUo. left, maestro of the parking lot. seems to be 
regaling former police lieutenant Nick Arcaro ivith a verbal rerun of 
one of his earlier pugilistic encounters. Danny met the best in pre- 
television s boxing rings, and Nick knew him well. 



$20 MILLION PCO COMPLEX 
AGREED UPON 

At this point, plans for the proposed $20 million 
complex of buildings at City Line had been refined to 
include: 

A two unit, 900-bed Osteopathic hospital, 
complete with outpatient department and an- 
cillary services. 

A College of Osteopathy, also in two units, 
adequate for 800 to 1,000 students, with 
laboratories, research facilities, and classrooms. 
An auditorium and lecture hall, one unit. 
A nurses' home. 
A library building. 

A student dormitory and union, one unit. 
Faculty and staff quarters. 
Central power and heating plant, and laun- 
dry. 

The restored mansion was now being used as a 
business and administration building, with some lec- 
ture rooms for Postgraduate courses. As the building 
operations progressed, everv effort was made to 
preserve as many as possible of the old shade trees 



88 




NORTH HEALTH CARE CENTER 

Now serving a heavily settled area in North Philadelphia, this Ac- 
cident ward is busy 

remaining on the estate. With this constantly in 
mind, the architects planned the location of 
buildings and landscaping of the grounds to provide 
an established arborial setting for the new construc- 
tion. 

There is never a time when all aspects of men's af- 
fairs are in perfect order, and certainly this has 
always been true of the medical profession — at best a 
demanding and difficult field. While P. CO. made 
steady progress in its expansion program, the profes- 
sion as a whole was facing serious problems. The 
'50's saw such a sharp growth in United States pop- 
ulation, that the supply of new doctors fell far short 
of the need. Directors of hospitals everywhere were 
complaining that there simply were not enough in- 
terns to go around. It is one thing to build more and 
more modern hospitals and physical plants, but quite 
another to find enough talented and dedicated young 



men and women or to train them adequately for their 
roles as doctors. 

So, the decade of the 1950's drew to a close, and 
the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy faced the 
'60's with a commixture of exhilaration, as the 
building program advanced, and of uncertainty, as a 
variety of new problems confronted the entire 
American medical profession. But as in the past. 
Osteopathy knew only one way to attack its 
problems — that was to press forward. Certainly 
Osteopathy had come a long way since the days of 
Andrew T. Still, but no one at P. CO. doubted that it 
had even farther yet to go. 




North Center Accident Ward With Nurse Preparing Table 



89 



CHAPTER 8 



THE SEVENTH DECADE, 1959-1969 
THE TURBULENT '60's 



The flow of time in human experience is not 
marked out in neat units as the calendar sug- 
gests, but is in reality a steady and continuous pro- 
gression of events, all so intricately interwoven that 
it is impossible to trace a real beginning or end to any 
era. Yet artificial divisions of the man-made calendar 
do seem to contain, in retrospect, certain distin- 
guishing characteristics. We like to imagine, at least, 
that each decade makes specific changes in our lives, 
or in the history of nations, or of organizations. 

If for the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy the 
1950's could be looked upon as a decade of explosive 
development and change, the '60's took on an added 
dimension of upheaval and some doubt. In an ad- 
dress to the 1960 graduates of P. CO., Pennsylvania 
Senator Hugh Scott struck a prophetic note when he 
said, ". . . there seem to be some people, surely 
among the satellite countries and even among some 
of our allies, who are willing to fight for the privilege 
of losing their freedoms. A great many of these are 
the students who are rioting at the present moment 
in some of the capitals of the world . . . One 
wonders, contemplating some of this disorderly con- 
duct abroad, just what age groups and what 
motivations are prompting this behavior. 

"Now then," he continued, "to come back to you 
and to your futures ... I would say that you must be 
able to think things through, and I would advise in 
these times that you never accept anything as true 
until you have thoroughly investigated and checked 
to find out if it is true. You must be prepared to dis- 
agree, to dissent, to query, to refuse to believe, and 
to refuse to conform. But that is only the beginning. 
I would also say that you must be able to think and 
decide for yourselves, that you must be able to sort 
out the good from the evil, and that you know why 
you are doing these things." 

But the tide of American disillusionment had not 
begun to rise as the decade opened. All the promise 



of P.C.O.'s growth and achievement was spread out 
before the 1960 graduating class as Dr. Barth 
welcomed them and awarded 83 degrees. He said: 
"Society is demanding long preparation and expects 
great results; this class is no disappointment. It is 
made up of the best prepared beginning osteopathic 
physicians Philadelphia College of Osteopathy ever 
produced." 




THEIR LIVES SPANNED PCOM'S DEVELOPMENT 
Left to right, Dr. Ira W. Drew 11, Dr. H. Walter Evans '17, and 
Dr. William E. Brandt '2L visit City Ave. Campus, in 1963. Drs. 
Drew, and Evans lived to see Barth Pavilion completed, but Dr. 
Brandt died in Nov. 1964. 



90 



FOUl\DERS DAY REMINDS OF D.O.'s 
SPECIAL MISSION 

At the Founder's Day program in 1960, com- 
memorating P.C.O.'s 61st Anniversary, Dr. C. Paul 
Snyder, '10, delivered an address setting forth goals 
for a decade of progress in the '60's. A 50-Year Club 
Member, Dr. Snyder asked "Where are we going? 
What lies ahead for the profession of osteopathic 
medicine as a whole? What is the distinct and proper 
destiny of 14,000 Doctors of Osteopathy? 

"Our mission can be simply stated: 

"We are dedicated lo preventing disease, wherever 
possible. 

"We must try to diagnose successfully, the symp- 
toms and ills of our patients. 

"And thirdly, we must be steadfast in the things 
that characterize the osteopathic physician: We 
must be able to heal before the critical stage is upon 
our patients. We should strive for results before the 
need for heroic measures, the case of super or wonder 
drugs and antibiotics, is the last resort. 

"I think the last is a most important point as we 
look ahead in the 1960's. For, in the past 61 years, if 
we have proved anything, it is that the osteopathic 
technique does take advantage of, does conserve, 
does aid Nature in helping the patient back to health, 
through the residue of vitality and recuperative 
strength the ailing person possesses." 

Dr. Snyder pointed out that there were ap- 
proximately 400 pharmaceutical preparations put on 
the market each year, and that about 6,000 drugs, an- 
tibiotics and other nostrums had become obsolete. 
This raised the question as to whether such short- 
cuts to health were necessarily the best path. As the 
cost of medical care was continuing to rise. Dr. 
Snyder questioned, "Would it be overly bold to 
think our distinct and independent profession may 
take a decisive step? That in the hurly-burly over 
voluntary medical care, and group provisions for 
spreading the costs, we devoted some time to solving 
what government is being asked to attempt? 

"Surely, in the vista of another decade, this 
should be one of the great decisions. And just as 
surely, were we somehow to point a way, would we 
have followed in the pioneering pattern of those men 
we honor today." 

Meanwhile the last Graduation Exercise for the 
School of Nursing took place on May 23, 1960. The 
ten graduates, their friends and families listened 
sorrowfully as Dr. Barth told them, "It is now my 



sad duty officially to announce that, effective as of 
the end of the current academic year, the school will 
suspend operation. . . . You will note that the action 
is to suspend operation, and not to close the school. 
We will make arrangements in other schools for the 
continuing education of the first and second year 
students." 

NURSES SCHOOL A FUTURE HOPE? 

This change had been necessitated by a lack of 
specific funds for nurses' training. Repeated appeals 
to the profession and to state authorities had gone 
unanswered, and since a huge annual deficit had con- 
tinued to build, there was no alternative for the 
Board of Directors but to suspend operations. Unfor- 
tunately the P. CO. action was symptomatic of the 
time, for many other nursing schools had already 
been similarly suspended or curtailed. A serious 
shortage of qualified nurses was developing as a 
result. 

The ten young women who received diplomas at 
the historic ceremony were Nancy Birk, Millersville; 
Karen Fleming, Clarion; Hildegarde Gerling, Quaker- 
town; Joan Glasco, York; Barbara Knosp, Lancaster; 
Loretta Litwak, Darby; Gertrude Perkins, Levittown; 
Pearl Warren, Chester; Judith Williams, Upper 
Darby; and Peggy Witsil, Philadelphia. 

While the School of Nursing suffered this setback, 
the Division of Postgraduate Studies at P. CO. con- 
tinued to grow. In 1960 a record 21 Postgraduate 
courses were offered and 258 physicians and 
residents were enrolled. Under Dr. Victor R. Fisher's 
leadership, special lectures were given by 18 
nationally recognized guest speakers. Increasing in 
popularity was the course on Clinical Electrocar- 
diography. This course, which has resulted in 
notable achievements by a number of graduates, was 
conducted in collaboration with three outstanding 
specialists in the field: Dr. Sidney R. Arbert, 
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine at Seton 
Hall College of Medicine; Dr. Ira L. Rubin, Lecturer 
in Medicine at Columbia University, and an attend- 
ing physician at three Philadelphia area hospitals; 
and Dr. Harry Gross, Assistant Clinical Professor of 
Medicine at Columbia and attending physician at 
several New York hospitals. 

The following year's class of '61 graduated 79 
members who heard Nuclear Scientist Dr. John Ray 
Dunning, Dean of the School of Engineering of 
Columbia University, deliver an address appealing 
for humanitarian approaches to modern science as 



91 



well as to cultural areas of education. Believing that 
the humanities and the sciences were in serious con- 
flict, he exhorted P. CO. graduates to see their kind 
of knowledge "as one province in the spacious and 
various realm of human intellect." 

He continued, "Inserting a chemical into the com- 
plicated human system produces effects which are 
immediate and visible — and other effects which are 
delayed and possibly covert ... I am happy to note 
that osteopathy has taken a far broader view in some 





DR. CATHIE'S HEALTH SHOW EXHIBIT 

Famed PCOM Anatomist in October 1966 at Philadelphia Health 
Show staged his own ''valley of bones" in one of the most interesting 
booths under PCOM auspices. With him are Drs. Earl Triebel and 
Joseph Eshelman. then seniors who assisted Dr. Cathie in explaining 
to visitors what can happen to the body and its bones. 

of these matters. That your approach to healing takes 
into consideration the nature and intricacies of the 
human body and its powers for assisting the 
therapy." In conclusion. Dr. Dunning felt that the 
physician of the future, under the impact of in- 
creasing knowledge and understanding between 
scientists and humanists, must of necessity become a 
synthesis of both. 

DRS. CATHIE AND LLOYD 
Wm LINDBACK AWARDS 

At the Annual Dinner to the Class of '61, the new- 
ly established Lindback Foundation Award for ex- 
cellence in teaching, a cash prize of $1000, was 
equally divided between Dr. Angus G. Cathie and Dr. 
Paul Turner Lloyd. Present at the affair were two 50- 
year alumni members — Dr. Ira Walton Drew and his 
wife Dr. Margaret Drew, both class of 1911. Dr. 
Drew was a member of the Board, a former 
newspaperman in New England, and at one time a 
member of Congress from Germantown. 

Recipient of the Flack Memorial prize in practice 
of osteopathic medicine was Thomas E. Murray of 
Bellmawr, N.J. Murray also received the Dean's 
award, and with Paul Peter Koro, Jr., of Jamestown, 
N.Y., shared the Homer Mackey Memorial award for 
three years' high average in didactic studies. 

During this academic year, 1960-61, a number of 
changes in curriculum were put into effect. Added to 



92 




THE CATHIE SELF-MADE MUSEUM DISPLA Y 
A genius at model construction and fine handwork on skeletal sub- 
jects. Dr. Cathie's reputation for anatomic displays was worldwide. 



the courses of study were History of Medicine and 
Osteopathy, PubHc Relations and Professional 
Economics and Virology. An important impact on 
the teaching program, particularly in the clinic, had 
been made by the addition of a considerable number 
of hours of instruction in the outpatient service and 
in the classrooms. The additional instruction was 
made possible by a Cardiovascular Grant from the 
Federal Government. Dr. William F. Daiber, Profes- 
sor of Osteopathic Medicine and Chairman of the De- 
partment was in charge of the grant program. 

In a major development. Dr. Angus G. Cathie, 
Professor of Anatomy and Chairman of that Depart- 
ment accepted the Acting Chairmanship of the 
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practice. 
Formerly directed by Professor Emeritus Edgar 0. 
Holden with the assistance of Dr. Walter Hamilton, 
the courses in this department had been steadily ex- 
panded, and a yearly manual had been published. Dr. 
Cathie and his colleagues continued revision of the 
manuals and developed a new progression of topics 
of study along with intensified and extended 
laboratory instruction. Dr. Cathie felt that his objec- 
tive was to teach Osteopathic principles and Practice 
in such a way that the soundness of its concept are 
clearly recognized and that this system of 
therapeutics "might be elevated to the position it 
rightfully deserves." 

In which Dr. Cathie's words, "The major premise 
about which this is to be developed is that the osteo- 
pathic school is built around scientific facts oper- 
ating in man, and that the integration of sciences op- 



erating in the body results in the recognition of the 
unitary concept. Developed to its greatest degree, 
this premise assists in the comprehending of the 
cause of disease and offers a reasonable system of 
therapeutics." 

In the early '60's frequent reference was being 
made to the term "Nuclear Era Medicine." 
Awareness of the impact of nuclear energy in every 
aspect of life seemed to be dawning on human con- 
sciousness as the numbing terror of the atomic bomb 
began to wear off. In a major address at the 62nd 
Founders' Day Ceremony, Dr. Paul T. Lloyd, Chair- 
man of the Department of Radiology, spoke at length 




93 




BARTH PAVILION CORNERSTONE CEREMONY 
Happy Dr. Earth wields trowel while left to right. Dr. Mercer. Dr. 
Samuel Blank. Dr. Hal Salkind watch, and W. Stuart Helm, 
Secretary of the Commonwealth, holds the mortar. 



about the importance to medicine of an orderly 
attention to science. But he prefaced his remarks by 
reminding his audience of the sound fundamentals of 
the founder, Dr. Oscar John Snyder, and he re- 
viewed the circumstances which caused Dr. Snyder 
to become an Osteopathic physician. Like many 
others who have chosen Osteopathy as a life profes- 
sion Dr. Snyder did so as the result of a remarkable 
cure in a relative of his after 11 years of continuous 
experimentation with other doctors. 




POSTGRADUATE STUDIES 
RECOMMENDED BY DR. LLOYD 

With the brief history of Dr. Snyder and the early 
days of P. CO. as a background. Dr. Lloyd went on to 
say, ". . . it becomes essential, if we are to be 
successful physicians, that we build well the founda- 
tion through knowledge, by seizing opportunities in 
the classroom, laboratory, clinics and the hospitals. 
Then after graduation, it is just as important that we 
continue the process of learning through Postgradu- 
ate Studies and in our daily contact with patients in 
the office, the home, and the hospital. 

"With all the activity going in the field of science, 
we as students must not be so greatly influenced that 
we fail to further the art of medicine. The deans and 




AN EARLY INSPECTION OF BARTH PAVILION 



OLD FRIENDS AND PCOM PROMOTERS 

Left to right: President Frederic H. Barth. who drove PCOM's 
Campaign to its new campus and prestige on City .4re.. Judge 
Morgan Davis Board Member and former Lt. Gov., and Dr. Ira W. 
Drew", ex congressman and PCO Board Member. 

executive faculties of the Osteopathic Colleges must 
bear this in mind as they set about altering the 
curriculum from time to time." 

As though to uphold Dr. Lloyd's point and to vin- 
dicate the sound procedures of P. CO. training, the 
School of Dentistry at the University of Penn- 
sylvania adopted as part of its study and research a 
theory and treatment developed by Dr. C. Paul 
Snyder, Member of the Class of 1910. In October, 
1961, Dr. Snyder and three associates made a presen- 
tation of the so-called "Snyder Syndrome" before a 
Dental Study Group in Baltimore. He had previously 
made similar presentations before dental societies, 
otorhinolaryngolic groups, and clinics in New York, 



94 




TROOP CARRIER VETERANS 
Back in 1945 when the GI's were coming home, Ed Kurello, 
navigator, and Tom Rowland, crew chief of the 306th and 303rd 
Squadrons in the 442nd Group, U. S. Troop Carrier Command, had 
no inkling their flight patterns would cross once more, over twenty 
years later. But Kurello decided on an osteopathic physician's 
career, and who enrolled him but fellow trooper, now Registrar 
Rowland of P. C 0. During the four years Kurello studied, they often 
recalled duty in England, France and especially Holland, where 
both participated in the hectic Einhoven drop. 

After the ceremonies closed and the awards were made at the 1966 
Class dinner, the two troop carrier vets decided a photo would make a 
good souvenir of another assignment completed. 



Detroit, Washington, Harrisburg and Wilmington as 
well as Philadelphia. 

One tragic note marred the New Year of 1961 
when Board Member and P. CO. Treasurer Dr. James 
M. Eaton died of a coronary attack. He was only 55, 
and one of the best loved members of the College and 
Hospital administrative and professional staffs. He 
had been a member of the faculty since 1930, two 
years after his graduation in 1928, and was made 
head of the Orthopedic Surgery department in 1946. 
Since 1950 he had been Chief Attending Surgeon. 

After graduation from P. CO., Dr. Eaton taught in 
the departments of anatomy, embryology, 
bacteriology, and obstetrics and gynecology. In 1944 
he became a Fellow in the American College of 
Osteopathic Surgeons, delivered the Trenery lecture 
at its 1956 convention and became its president. He 
was a member of A.O.A., P.O. A. and the American 
Osteopathic Academy of Orthopedics. 

Quick witted and a ready raconteur. Dr. Eaton was 
frequently called upon for remarks at the College and 
Alumni dinners. At the same time, he had a sur- 



geon's serious regard for human health and 
emphasized the constant need to seek and perfect 
new means for restoring and maintaining it. 

With all the successes and increasing recognition 
of Osteopathy, it seems incredible that strong opposi- 
tion to it still plagued those who sought moral and 
financial support. Notwithstanding the acceptance of 
many osteopathic principles by various segments of 
the medical profession. Dr. Barth found it necessary 
in 1962 to urge the AOA to institute legal 
proceedings against the American Medical Associa- 
tion for "wilful and damaging disparagement of the 
Osteopathic profession in codes and documents 
published by A.M. A." 

The president of P. CO. announced his action in a 
strongly worded statement to graduates, their 
families, faculty, and members of the College Board 
at the Class of '62 Graduation Dinner, held at the 
Union League on June 9. He said, 

"Today, the Board of Directors dispatched a 
telegram to the American Osteopathic Association 
urging the Association to sue the American Medical 
Association to remove the 'cultist' designation as un- 
true, as totally without foundation and as a patent 




A FAMILY'S MEMORIAL 
The widow of William Hewins on July 12 presented a check to 
P.C.O.M. Hospitals as a memorial to her husband. Left to right, 
John DeAngelis, Mrs. Hewins. Bernice Vasso, Director of Nursing, 
and Ruth Miller. Head !\'urse. and Harold J. King. Manager Barth 
Pavilion where equipment is to be used. 



95 




Left to right, back: Dr. William H. Daiber. Dr. Paul T. Lloyd. Dr. Sherwood R. Mercer. Left to right, front, seated: Frederic H. Barth. 
Gov. William S. Scranton, Vice President John De Angelis. 



denial of the facts as demonstrated by the great 
history of the Osteopathic Profession. We beheve we 
are sound in our approach to heahh care; we beheve 
our educational program is sound and does the job it 
is designed to do; and we resent the use of untruthful 
nomenclature as a device to gain and exercise control 
of health care in the United States and to close out 
avenues of investigation which have yet to be fully 
developed." 

FOREIGN DELEGATES 
IMPRESSED BY PCOM VISIT 

Not long after the dispatch of Dr. Earth's 
delegates from the International Conference on 
Health and Health Education visited the Philadel- 
phia College of Osteopathy and toured the hospital 
facilities. They represented several foreign coun- 
tries, including El Salvador and Greece as well as the 
United States. They expressed intense interest and 
were greatly impressed by what they learned of 
Osteopathy. This visitation underscored the growing 
world-wide acceptance of osteopathic methods and 
principles. 



Nevertheless, efforts to pull Osteopathy under the 
wing of the American Medical Association persisted. 
In April of the following year, the new President of 
the A.O.A., Dr. Charles W. Sauter II, spoke to a 
Special Assembly in the College auditorium about ef- 
forts in California to subvert the profession. 
"There," he told his audience, "the D.O.'s decided 
to turn over their college to the medical profession. 
They hired a medical Dean — a fine educator — and 
that medical Dean Wells about two weeks ago re- 
signed as Dean of the College because the people of 
our profession who thought they were being 
befriended, found they were not so well treated." 

He went on to relate that after a Chief of the 
Department of Surgery had been installed in the 
college, he insisted that all former D.O. Surgeons be 
removed from the teaching staff. Dr. Sauter 
predicted it would not be long before the former en- 
tire D.O. teaching staff would be liquidated. 

Sauter, a P. CO. graduate in 1931, warned the 
students that nowhere in the proposals for 
amalgamation of the osteopathic professions was 
there a promise of protecting the status and rights of 
the Osteopathic physicians. 



96 




BARTH PAVILION, EASTERN APPROACH 



At the 1962 graduation exercises, the address was 
deHvered by Dr. Harry V. Masters, President of 
Albright College. To the 67 members of the gradua- 
tion class. Dr. Masters issued a call for men of princi- 
ple to cope with cynical and "clever" persuaders who 
suggest that old-fashioned honesty is gone with the 
horse and buggy. The graduate osteopath should take 
heed, he advised, of things that need to be 
done — even tell parents how to raise their children, 
"but do it graciously," he said. 

Five Masters of Science degrees in course were 
conferred upon Dr. Warren H. Swensen, '41, and 
Dr. Albert Bonier, '44, in Surgery; Dr. John Hubley 
Schall, Jr., '44, in Chemistry; Dr. Robert Souders 
Bear, '57, in Pathology; and Dr. David E. Wiley, '58, 
in Obstetrics and Gynecological Surgery. 

A major change had been announced for an impor- 
tant figure in the Philadelphia College of Osteopathy 
faculty on the eve of the 1962 Commencement. Dr. 
Paul T. Lloyd, Chairman of the Department of 
Radiology since 1926, became Professor Emeritus of 
Radiology and a member of the Administrative staff 
in charge of Redevelopment of Alumni and 
Professional affairs in the College. At the same time. 
Dr. John J. Gilligan, '54 (M. Sc. '59) was appointed 
new Director of the Department, bringing a special 
facility in the use of isotopes in diagnosis and treat- 
ment. Acting as associates with Dr. Gilligan were two 
experienced radiologists, Dr. A. Aline Swift of Lan- 
caster, Pa., and Dr. Robert L. Meals of Havertown. 

Dr. Lloyd, who resided in Lansdowne, had devoted 
36 successful years to the College laboratory. During 



that time he handled thousands of cases, many of 
them various forms of cancer. The results of his 
diagnosis and treatment ranged from cures and 
arrested growth of tumors to palliation for those 
beyond help. And as he accepted the Professorship in 

1962, he felt that the department was much better 
prepared than ever before to handle the cancer 
patient. New and recently-acquired equipment in- 
cluded a maxiscope for fluoroscopic examinations of 
the lungs, stomach, intestines, spine and skull; a 
large Sanchez-Perez unit for cerebral arteriography, 
a dental unit and a photo fluorographic machine for 
use on chest cases. One of the most awesome addi- 
tions was a G.E. Imperial diagnostic X-Ray that tilts 
the patient as on a surfboard. 

While 67 graduates were leaving the College, the 
largest freshman class in P. CO history was begin- 
ning its studies; 97 new students were enrolled for 
the opening semester in September, 1962. 
Postgraduate rolls were also growing, with 142 at- 
tending some 20 courses. This trend was destined to 
continue through the '60's, with 400 applicants in 

1963, from which 100 were selected. Bv 1965 the 
number enrolled had increased to 105. This dropped 
by one to 104 in 1966, but there were 114 in 1967, 
125 in 1968, and 150 in 1969. 

MODERN TECHNIQUES, EQUIPMENT 
WIDEN LEARNING'S SPAN 

The acquisition of modern laboratory apparatus, 
sophisticated devices that open new doors in ex- 
perimentation, have been a neon light along the 



97 



route of learning in modern PCOM. This is the 
testimony of any professor who has traversed the 
long, less endowed instructional paths in earher 
PCO, and emerged since the 1950's and 60's into 
technology's inviting and greener pastures — or 
should it be laboratories? 

This is attested not only in pathology, anatomy, 
biology and even surgery as it is taught in this 75th 
year since O.J. Snyder, Mason Pressly, and D.S.B. 
Pennock instructed by lecturing and demonstrating 
with stuffed dummies in the beginnings in the 
Witherspoon building. 

During the mid-1960's in an interview for the 
Osteopathic Digest Prof. Spencer G. Bradford summ- 
ed it up in a few paragraphs that bespoke what were 
headlined as "Adventure in Physiology." He lauded 
the updated techniques and the equipment which 
"allow our people now to do sophisticated ex- 
periments that, while demanding in the first year and 
a half of study, have had an uplifting effect on begin- 



ning students of osteopathic medicine." 

Dr. Bradford's statistics at that time still give the 
reader pause, and certainly make the potential stu- 
dent think. "We give 110 hours of physiology lec- 
tures, 120 hours of laboratory work, 55 hours of 
pharmacology lectures, with 60 hours of 
laboratory — you can understand why of our students 
who eventually drop out (because they find the 
study load too heavy) one out of three has had dif- 
ficulty with physiology." He added that anything in 
the mid-80's is a good mark, and above that is ex- 
cellent. Yet many a D.O. returning to Alma Mater 
from years of private practice, heads for the 
Physiology department to see how it's going these 
days. Dr. Bradford likes to think of it as a little bonus 
that has accrued. But now, as in the past, the routine 
is far from easy. But the experiments — as revealed in 
the accompanying photo on the functioning of the 
cardiograph — are more interesting and up-to-date 
than ever. 




MARVELS OF THE CARDIOGRAPH UNFOLD 

Professor Spencer G. Bradford (in gown) shows a section of First Year Class the things a cardiograph reports about the human heart. A 
regular lecture feature, photo shows I to r: Students Joel Mascara, Sam Kushner, Mark Radbill, John W. Painter, Jr., George Moore, Stan 
Markunas, Jr., W. J. Saks, Harry E. Manser, Robert Ligorsky, Lawrence Schmitzer, Sally Rex, Marcus, J. J. Peditto, and prone "patient, " 
Stanley Poleck. 



98 




Post operative Care in four photos, circa 1968 showing 1. Dr. Galen S. Young with two nurses checking on a patient. 2. Dr. Lester 
Eisenberg with two residents and nurse checking on cart equipment. 3. Two nurses carrying out instructions with patient. 4. Checking up for the 
night. 



99 




THREE HONORED ON 70TH FOUNDER S DA Y 

Founder's Day 1969, the 70th anniversary ifPCOM's beginning in 1899, brought the prized O.J. Snyder Memorial Medal to former Dean 
Edgar 0. Holden, '22, then in failing health. The Dean whose magnificent courage and good management brought PCO through the Great 
Depression of the early 19.30's was celebrating his 75th birthday on the same Feb. 1 on uhich he was accorded PCOM's highest distinction. Dr. 
Charles W. Sauter II, '31 was accorded an Honorary degree of Doctor of Laws, as was also Robert L. Kunzig, Director of Pennsylvania's 
General State Authority. 

It teas from the .Authority that much of the financing of the S7.2 million Barth Pavilion on City ave. was provided in the Commonwealth s 
program of helping provide adequate health and hospital care facilities for its people. Dr. Barth presided and conferred the honors, after which a 
buffet luncheon was served in the College auditorium, the students and faculty enjoyed it in what was one of the most pleasant Founder's day 
celebrations — and next to the last — ever held in the 48th street College building. 



100 




Bank Pavilion Near Completion, Spring 1967 



GROUND BROKEN 
FOR PCOM HOSPITAL 

A ground-breaking ceremony for the Osteopathic 
Hospital Center took place on September 18, 1962. 
Lieut. Governor John Morgan Davis, an active 
member of the College Board of Directors, assisted 
Dr. Barth in officially turning the first spadeful of 
earth. Former Governor George Leader also broke 
some sod, saying that his only regret was that the 
college had "asked for so little" state aid. 

The Philadelphia College of Osteopathy had 
received an appropriation of $241,600 from the 
Pennsylvania legislature for the fiscal year 1962-63, 
and it was hoped that this would be substantially in- 
creased in succeeding years. 

A unique honor came to Dean Sherwood R. 
Mercer in 1962 when Columbia University awarded 
him a special citation in appreciation of his 
leadership and organizational contribution to the 
Columbia School of Engineering's Combined Plan 
Conference, held periodically at Arden House, 
Harriman, N.Y. Dean Mercer did a major portion of 
the work of assembling top-rank intellectual talent 
from the U.S. and foreign countries for the 1954, '57 
and '61 Conferences. 



Graduates of P. CO. in 1963 heard Lt. Governor 
Raymond P. Shafer deliver a commencement address 
calling upon doctors of the future to think more 
about service to community and country. Noting 
that modern professional men are inclined to become 
specialists, he warned that people are "not getting 
much beyond their selfish interests," and only a few 
are contributing to the general welfare in broader ac- 
tivities. 

"This nation came to greatness," he said, 
"because doctors, lawyers, merchants and others did 
not delegate the duties of their citizenship to lesser 
men." 

Two honorary degrees were conferred at this exer- 
cise, both Doctorates of Law. The first to be 
presented by Dean Mercer to Dr. Barth was Attorney 
Samuel A. Blank, Chairman of Philadelphia College 
of Osteopathy's Board of Directors. When a State 
Legislator before the Second World War. Mr. Blank 
pioneered laws which have brought P. CO. to its 
equality of recognition with other medical teaching 
institutions of the state. The second Doctorate of 
Laws was conferred upon Lieutenant Governor 
Shafer. Four degrees in course were awarded: Mas- 
ters of Science were conferred upon B. T. Bailey 



101 




Flack, D.O. (Osteopathic Medicine), of the Class of 
'31; upon Meyer Kirschbaum, B.S., D.O. (Physiol- 
ogy), Class of '50; and upon Leonard H. Finkelstein, 
B.S., D.O., Class of '59, and Spencer G. Bradford, 
D.O. (Physiology), '42. 

The College community was saddened by a num- 
ber of deaths in 1962 and '63. It was a great loss to 
P.C.O. when Dr. Victor R. Fisher, Class of '36, died 
in May, 1963, at the age of 51. Dr. Fisher had long 
been a professor of internal medicine and active in 
the American College of Osteopathic Internists, of 
which he served as president for a time. He also 
served as trustee on the Board of the American Col- 
lege of Osteopathic Physicians. At the College he was 
Director of the Division of Postgraduate Studies. 

Another untimely death that year was that of Dr. 
Abraham Levin, age 55, a graduate of P.C.O. in 1935. 
Very active in the American College of Osteopathic 
Surgeons and other osteopathic organizations. Dr. 
Levin was a member of the Department of Surgery 
and an experienced and popular professor. 



Above: 1. Pavilion lobby ivith planter, ample seats and reception 
desk. 2. Nurses' Station. .3. The main kitchen: it can serve 600-bed 
hospital. 4. Staff and employees' cafeteria. 5. The Laboratory. 6. The 
Pharmacy. 7. Central Supply Storeroom. 







DR. BARTH PROCLAIMS 
WIDE PCOM EXPANSION 

An associate of Founder 0. J. Snyder, Dr. David 
Sands Brown Pennock had also passed away late in 
1962. Dr. Pennock was 82 and was listed among the 
Professors Emeriti of the College. With Dr. Snyder, 
he helped estabhsh the Hospital, securing the 
original charter from the Commonwealth. He was 
Past President of the State and County Osteopathic 
Societies. 

Winner of the 0. J. Snyder Memorial medal on 
Founders Day, 1963, was Dr. H. Walter Evans, 
Secretary of the Board of Directors and an associate 
and confidante of Dr. Snyder. Dr. Barth presented 
the medal, and addressed the assemblage, recaUing 
highlights of P.C.O.'s past, and discussing its future. 
In outlining the continuing campaign to obtain ade- 
quate state financial assistance, he pointed out that 
up to 1963 a total of $4,718,000 had been granted to 
P. CO. for building purposes by the Pennsylvania 
General State Authority. 

"We can now move ahead firmly," he said, 
"toward an expanded faculty, fully salaried and full- 
time, capable of handling twice the number of 
students we now have." 

The nation's shortage of family physicians con- 
tinued to become more acute as the decade advanced, 
and while this was of great concern to Americans as a 
whole, it offered greater opportunities to P. CO. and 
its expanding student body. Under the direction of 
Dr. William F. Daiber, the Department of 
Osteopathic Medicine was paying particular atten- 
tion to this need. As Dr. Daiber put it, the family 
physician is "the component parts of every other 
physician, powered by a motivation toward and a 
fascination for a direct, personal mission of healing." 

In 1964, the Department of Osteopathic Medicine 
was operating with a staff of 28, and while the con- 
tent of courses was progressively increased, the 
making of an all-around doctor expanded to the clin- 
ics and laboratories. Assisting Dr. Daiber in this pro- 
gram was Dr. Theodore W. Stiegler, Jr., who directed 
the P. CO. cHnics. Also active in the courses for 
would-be family doctors were Albert J. Fornace, 
Ralph J. Tomei, Joseph E. Giletto, Gerald Scharf, A. 
F. D'Alonzo, Lois E. PuUum, John J. McHenry, 
Henry B. Herbst, Ted Weinberg, James A. Frazer. 
Sidney Kochman, Dominic Marsico, Anton Claus, 
Morton Silver and Philip K. Evans. 

Dr. Daiber felt that if more general practitioners 



had wide general knowledge, it would preclude so 
many examinations by specialists, since a good physi- 
cian can diagnose from his own knowledge. He also 
advocated de-emphasis of the use of antibiotics and 
the overuse of wonder drugs until the sure necessity 
of such proven prescriptions was clear. 

Underscoring the need for general practitioners 
was the 1964 Commencement address delivered by 
Dr. Carl E. Seifert, Regional Representative of the 
U.S. Commissioner of Education from the Depart- 
ment of Health Education and Welfare and an 
Honorary Alumnus of P. CO. Dr. Seifert deplored 
the lag in preparing general practitioners in times 
when specialization is so popular. He pointed out 
that while 8200 medical and osteopathic students 
were enrolled in the nation, the country needed at 
least 12,000, and by 1970 would probably require 
double the number that would graduate in 1964. 
There was an even greater shortage of dentists and 
nurses. 

"Now we are moving in the age of cybernetics," 
said Dr. Seifert, "a productive system utilizing both 
machine power and machine skills. It is the time of 
automation and the computer. . . . Already educa- 
tion and medicine have felt the impact of the 
machine. It promises unlimited freedom, but it im- 
plies a new form of society with the need for wide 
diversity. Most certainly this new order carries the 
basic assumption that a balance will be possible 
between the number of jobs, and job seekers. Yet 
there is now an imbalance in this relationship." The 
greatest need, he repeated, is for more professional 
people, notably family doctors. 




PCOM students study tentative architect's drawing of the soon to 
be constructed Evans Hall on the new campus. 



103 



CHAPTER 9 



THE SEVENTH DECADE (continued) 
NEW BUILDINGS, NEW HORIZONS 



Automation and the age of computers was much 
on the minds of physicians in the 1960's. At the 
1964 Founders Day celebration, Dean Emeritus Ed- 
gar 0. Holden offered some starthng suggestions of 
scientific things to come. One was the probable 
emergence of "computerized humans", the result of 
increasing use of automated devices in the treat- 
ment, and electronic monitoring and measurement 
while probing for the cause, and diagnosing illness 
through nuclear chemistry and other facets of bio- 
medical engineering. 

At this same ceremony, Dr. Barth presented the 
eleventh award of the Snyder Memorial Medal to Dr. 
Paul T. Lloyd, saying, "Dr. Lloyd is the premier 
radiologist of the osteopathic profession; he is among 
the select few who lead that specialty in all schools of 
practice throughout the world." 

The continuance of campus dissent and protest 
was beginning to arouse America as the middle of the 
decade was reached. In his 1965 Commencement ad- 
dress, Hon. George L Bloom told the graduates of 
P. CO. that "physicians as well as everyone else 
these days would be well advised to protect our way 
of Hfe." 

Quoting Edmund Burke, he reminded his 
audience, " 'AH that is necessary for evil to prevail, 
is that good men do nothing.' Politics, indeed, is a 
patriotic duty to insure against totalitarian tyranny. 
It is the practical exercise of the art of self- 
government and someone must attend to it if we are 
to continue to have self-government," Judge Bloom 
declared. 

While the 1965 Commencement exercises were in 
progress, a crew of 60 men were erecting forms and 
pouring the first tons of concrete for the Teaching 
and Research Hospital on City Line Avenue. Ex- 
cavations had been dug in March to a depth of 26 
feet, and now at last the actual structure began to 
rise. When completed the redesigned structure 
would rise five more stories and provide the key unit 
of P.C.O.'s new campus. 



Back copies of The Osteopathic Digest tell the story 
of progress on this impressive structure; one of the 

1965 issue covers showed an architect's drawing. By 

1966 the cover photograph depicted the scaffolds and 
partially finished brick work of a rising building, 
while the 1967 issue proudly displayed a photo of the 
Dedication Ceremonies at the entrance to the com- 
pleted building. 

But a history of the physical plant of Philadelphia 
College of Osteopathy is by no means centered 
around the erection of a modern building complex on 
City Line Avenue. Within the day-to-day activity of 
the living College are continuous changes and im- 
provements. Notable among these in 1965 was a new 
"Hearing Laboratory" with latest equipment to 
provide Otologists opportunities for surgical repairs. 
The microscopic and acoustic testing equipment 
devised for studying the middle ear and the mastoid 
enhanced P.C.O.'s reputation in the treatment of 
eye, ear, nose and throat. Behind these im- 




"irs IN THE DIGEST GIRLS. . ." 
Dr. Ruth Waddell Cathie. Professor and Chairman of Pathology, 
advises new women students Leona Ewing. Barbara Michalik, and 
Gloria Devonshire where to read about new Barth Pavilion, just 
opened. 



104 





fmA 


HI 




1 


1 J| 


n 




kl 


^ 


/ 




^ 



NEW STUDENTS MEET DEAN THOMAS 
This informal moment after the Oreintation convocation provided 
Freshmen a first meeting with Dean Thomas, seated. At right, 
Richard Manceri. others. 1-r. Roy Warren. William Connelly, David 
Byers. Paul Taylor. 

provements was Dr. J. Ernest Leuzinger, veteran 
Professor of E. E. N. T. and Chairman of the Depart- 
ment. He had obtained federal grants to help in the 
purchase of expensive devices. He was assisted in the 
department by Dr. Charles W. Snyder, Jr., Dr. John 
W. Sheetz, Jr., and Dr. Theodore P. Maurer. In their 
new laboratory, they used a sound-proofed testing 
booth where ear patients wear a double set of 
earphones, much as the airplane pilot or switchboard 
operator. The laboratory also contained a powerful 
new microscope which opened the way for more 
detailed study of the mastoid and middle ear. Repair 
of perforations was now possible. 

MODERN SCIENCE AND 

THE OSTEOPATHIC CONCEPT 

Mechanization continued its march into all phases 
of American life, and it was the subject of Dr. Earth's 
talk at the 75th Commencement exercises in 1966. "I 
need hardly emphasize before this assemblage the im- 
pact of mechanization on the lives of each of us." he 
said. "The implications for this class must be con- 
sidered as computers and electronic diagnostic 
devices intrude farther into all aspects of 
professional practice. . . . The physician faces a dou- 
ble problem: on the one hand he wants all the help 
he can get from the computers, instruments of 
analysis, and other scientific aids, yet he cannot sur- 
render the priority of his own humanity — his 
physician's skills, personality, judgment, or 
character. 



"It is here the osteopathic concept, modern as 
tomorrow, comes to the aid of the physician. Proper- 
ly used, it is his best instrument to protect and 
strengthen his human qualities in relation to his 
patients." 

Following the awarding of degrees to the 83 
graduates, honorary degrees of Doctor of Laws were 
conferred upon Dr. Arthur L. Schultz, newly in- 
stalled President of Albright College, and Elmer S. 
Carll, widely known banker. Executive Vice Presi- 
dent of Industrial Valley Title Insurance Company 
and a member of P.C.O.'s Board of Directors. Dr. 
Schultz delivered the Commencement address, calling 
for faith to bolster knowledge. "Today's problems," 
he said, "are mere footnotes in one chapter of the 
book of progress. You will always underrate the 
future . . . that future will be greater than the most 
fantastic story you can write." 

Along with mechanization came the nation's first 
steps toward socialized medicine. Long promoted by 
political liberals, and equally resisted by many 
allopathic physicians and lay conservatives, the in- 
evitable Medicare became law in 1966. Medicare 
started by covering 19 million people over 65 at a 
cost of one and a half billion dollars. "Medically 
needy" persons were estimated to be 35 million, and 
the cost of providing medical service for them was 
expected to reach nearly four billion dollars by the 
early 1970's. 

At the 1966 Graduates' Dinner Dr. Earth en- 
visioned a tremendous boom in hospital building and 




VICE PRES. R0WL4ND GREETS STUDENT LEADERS 

Each .iiitumn potential First Year class leaders are invited to a 
briefing by the Director of .Admissions. In 1967 they were, 1-r: Ed 
Czarnetsky, Bill Novelli {who became Class President) George 
Dainoff, John Pulich. Richard Ennza and Dave Berndt 



105 




Dr. Lewis J. Brandt '68 is presented with Alice Barth Award at 
Class dinner. b\ lice President Rowland 



also in nursing homes and schools for doctors, 
nurses and technicians. Despite the awesome im- 
plications of Medicare's future, the graduates and 
guests at the dinner seemed unperturbed, as many 
saw encouragement in some of the financial benefits 
that were expected to aid medical education and 
hospitals. 

At this dinner, two members of the Class of 1916 
received 50-year certificates. They were Dr. Charles 
R. Heard and Dr. Paul R. Thomas. Also honored was 
a still older P. CO. graduate. Dr. Ira Walton Drew, 
Class of 1911. Top prize winner in the 1966 class was 
Frederick James Humphrey H, who captured five 
awards: Public Health Award, the John H. Eimer- 
brink, D. 0. Memorial Award; the Belle B. and 
Arthur M. Flack Memorial Award for proficiency in 
practice of Osteopathic Medicine; the Harold L. 
Bruner, D. 0. Memorial for proficiency in Allergy; 
and the prized Homer Mackey Memorial Award for 
highest scholastic average. 

While the new City Line Avenue building con- 
tinued to rise, and while mechanization invaded the 
healing professions, P.C.O.'s research programs 
were exploring some relatively new subjects. 
Heading the Department of Physiological Chemistry, 
Dr. Albert P. Khne was aided by a General Research 
Support Grant of the National Institutes of Health. 
His research projects included such investigations as 
measuring the accumulation of toxic elements, lead, 



mercury and copper in clams of the Delaware Bay. 
Another project was an effort to determine the nor- 
mal blood level of RNA. This problem arose as a 
result of a furor about the so-called "transfer of 
training" though the use of injectable brain extracts. 
As a side result of this line of investigation there was 
a possible bearing on blood transfusions. Dr. Kline 
and his assistants had begun work on what was 
known as "Project 5", which dealt with the making 
and testing of possible new analgesics and anticon- 
vulsants. After three years this project had yielded a 
variety of new compounds of the kind proposed. 
Testing of the compounds on animals was being con- 
ducted under the direction of Drs. Bradford and 
Thomas. 

$50,000 RADIOLOGY GRANT IN 
'WONDER INSTRUMENTS' 

At the same time, a wide new area was appearing 
for exploration and research, using some of the ad- 
vanced techniques and recently developed electronic 
equipment. Chairman of the Radiology Department, 
Dr. John J. Gilligan obtained a federal grant for some 
$50,000 worth of "wonder instruments." Among the 
acquisitions was Isotope equipment. Obtaining this 
opened up several new avenues. Along with a new 
medical scanner they fitted into diagnoses of many 
tvpes, especially in respect to malignancies, in deter- 
mining the seat of trouble in the brain, kidneys, 
spleen, liver, or thyroid. Blood volume deter- 
minations were done by using a Volumetron. 




VETERAN PROFESSORS MEET FUTURE D.O. 'S 
Seated at left and righ t. Dr. William Spaeth and Dr. Carlton Street, 
with Dr. William F. Daiber. standing at center, meet Dr. Street 's son 
and wife and two other members of matriculating Class of 77 at 1967 
First Year's orientation 



106 




CHRISTMAS PARTIES GET BIGGER AND BETTER AT PCOM 

Upper Left: The Settlement kids pat on their own song and dance for the parents in the Auditorium. 48th and Spruce Sts. 

Upper right: The First Year Class in harmonious carol singing. (Remember 'em? Class of 71) 

Center: Christmas is also for the Womens Guild, here selling gifts at the "67 bazaar. That's Betty Jean Childs in background. Mrs. 
Young. Jr. later. 

Lower Left: President and Mrs. Barth have rarely missed PCOM's annual Christmas festivities. The Student Christmas Show and 
Caroling vies with the Childrens party that brings out the kids with, of course, their student dads and Student Wives. Here we have the gift 
distribution, aided by Leonard Limongelli (at rear) in the 1967 party. Santa Claus is played by Jeffrey Loux. Jr. The latter two are now 
D. 0. s, of coarse. 

Lower Right: Singing and guitar music — and a gal — made a sure hit daring that '67 Yale celebration. Remember? 



107 




CANDID CAMERA. LAB SHOT 
Joel Woodruff . Stephen Wood, Barclay Wilson and James Ziccar- 
di watch dials on a stimulating unit. 

The Isotope Equipment was received in 1965 after 
a grant of $10,000 upon Dr. Gilligan's application to 
the Atomic Energy Commission. It was maintained 
under rigid control and a licensing arrangement un- 
der A. E. C. regulations. 

On July 1, 1966, Dr. Charles H. Boehm began his 
duties as newly-appointed Assistant to the President 
of Philadelphia College of Osteopathy. Dr. Boehm 
was a widely known educator who for eight years was 
Superintendent of Pubhc Instruction in the Com- 
monwealth of Pennsylvania. He had recently com- 
pleted a year and a half as head of U. S. A I D group 
which, in collaboration with UNESCO and the 
World Bank, developed a ten year plan to be used by 
the Ministry of Education in Colombia. Other 
foreign studies and consultant services bv Dr. 
Boehm included one to the Soviet Union in 1959, to 
West Germany in 1961, representing Pennsylvania 
as guest of North Rhine-Westphalia, and in 1963 at 
invitation of Sweden's government and industry. 




Under three governors of Pennsylvania, Dr. Boehm 
supervised the state school buildings subsidized con- 
struction of $l'/2 billion, initiated the Master degree 
and liberal arts programs at the 14 State colleges, 
started educational television in Pennsylvania and 
reorganized the Department of Public Instruction in 
1956 and '62. In 1959-60 he expanded a special 
statewide education program. 

Last group to complete four full years at P.C.O.'s 
48th and Spruce Streets building was the 1967 
graduating class. Succeeding classes would have the 
use of the newly finished Frederic H. Barth Pavilion 
on the City Line Campus. This impressive structure 




"Take a deep breath. Sis. " says Dr. Caruso. 



THE BL UE LIGHT TREA TMENT 
P.C.O.M. s Pediatrics Department leaders check on newest equip- 
ment and premature infant's response to therapy for bilirubin. Left to 
right: Dr. Samuel L. Caruso. Dr. W^illiam S. Spaeth, Dr. F. Munro 
Purse. 

had cost a total of $7.1 million, and was planned as a 
growing concern, ready to expand with the com- 
munity it would serve. The concrete and steel foun- 
dations, sunk to a depth of 26 feet were made to sup- 
port six additional floors with an increase of the 228- 
bed capacity to 600 as the need should arise. The 
original building, dedicated on June 10, 1967, con- 
sisted of five stories with two additional floors below 
ground level. Metal and ceramic tile was used for 
some of the interior surfaces, and the most up-to- 
date facilities were provided. These included air con- 
ditioning throughout, automatic beds operated by 
the touch of a button, toilet facilities in every room, 
television lounges, gift shops, snack bar and small 
dining rooms for ambulatory patients and their 
guests. 



108 



BARTH PAVILION DEDICATION GALA 
EVENT 

The biggest ceremonial occasion of the City 
avenue campus project up to then took place as part 
of the 1967 Commencement-Reunion weekend. It 
was the Dedication of the newly completed Frederic 
H. Barth Pavilion, as the ultra-modern teaching 
hospital had been named. It took place on the es- 
planade to the Hospital entrance, on a sunny June 
10, 1967. The major speaker was Director Robert L. 
Kunzig of the General State Authority of Penn- 
sylvania, representing Gov. Raymond P. Shafer. Mr. 
Kunzig spoke briefly on the Commonwealth's role in 
providing funds to build the hospital so that more 
trained physicians and surgeons would become 
available for the badly needed care of an expanding 
population. 

There was a full program, beginning with the In- 
vocation by Dr. George R. Barth, President Earth's 
brother and pastor of the Evangelical United 
Brethren Church in Lancaster, Pa. After the 
National Anthem PCOM's Chaplain, the Rev. Dr. 
Paul W. Poley, gave the Dedicatory Prayer in which 
he returned thanks for the blessings that had attend- 
ed the rise of this new center for aiding mankind. Dr. 
Ira W. Drew '11, gave an earnest review of Dr. 
Barth's role in leading PCOM to this great moment 
in its development, emphasizing his ceaseless efforts 
in procuring the campus and the State's fiscal sup- 
port of the new building program. He explained that 
this motivated the Board in naming the Hospital 
after Dr. Barth. Dr. Sherwood R. Mercer delivered 
the Dedicatory remarks as Dean and Vice President 
for Educational Affairs, and included a reference to 
Dr. Barth's twenty years' work and perseverance in 
behalf of the College. 

Dr. Barth's response noted the understanding and 
cooperation his requests brought from many 
authorities, including Govs. Leader, Lawrence, and 
Scranton. Among those who attended the 
ceremonies were Congressman J. A. Byrne, Judge 
John Morgan Davis, Judge Charles Weiner, Con- 
gressman Joshua Eilberg, Judge Leo Weinrott, Judge 
J. Sydney Hoffman, Dr. and Board Chairman Samuel 
A. Blank, Dr. John W. Hayes, President of AOA; Dr. 
Leon A. Kowalski, President of the Pennsylvania 
Osteopathic Association; and the Very Rev. Mark J. 
Mullin, D.M. Superior, St. Vincent's Seminary. A 
sandwich luncheon was served afterward on the lawn 
of the Administration building, formerly the Moss 
Mansion. 




EDWIN H. CHESSMAN, D.O., M.Sc. 
Founders Day speaker in 1968 when he was awarded the O.J. 
Snyder Memorial medal. Dr. Cressman reminded that "buildings 
cannot teach, so research and teaching are paramount. " 

The Class of '67 heard Dr. Paul Russell Anderson, 
President Nominate of Temple University dehver an 
address on "The Osteopathic Physicians in 
America." In his view, no graduates before 1967 had 
enjoyed such a favorable outlook for employment 
and high earnings. He based this statement on five 
important social and economic trends: 1. The huge 
increase in population with its demands for more 
medical service; 2. A steep increase in personal in- 
come, up 50 percent in twenty years; 3. A corres- 
ponding rise in the level of medical services in a 
country that was spending $45 billion annually on 
health care, research and new facilities; 4. An aston- 
ishing increase in U.S. technology which included 
new cures and therapies for what were once regarded 
as incurables; and 5. A major manpower deficit in 
the prime working ages which meant physicians were 
entering a wide gap in the supply of practitioners. 

With only 400 doctors of osteopathy graduating 
throughout the country in 1967, plans for the next 
unit of the City Line Health Center took on added 
significance. The new Osteopathic College, to be 



109 



built in conjunction with the Frederic H. Barth 
Pavilion teaching and research hospital, would be 
equipped to train from 800 to 1000 students. 
Underground passageways would link the college 
with the hospital, where bedside instruction would 
supplement regular courses. This much-needed 
building, together with the planned Nurses' 
residence, would hopefully make possible the re- 
establishment of a nurses' training program as well. 
An important and significant advance in the 
Department of Otology took place in 1967. A Tues- 
day afternoon Workshop was established under the 
direction of Dr. Alvin Dubin and Dr. Theodore P. 
Mauer. Using micro-surgical equipment and the 
other modern devices of the Department, students 
and interns attending the workshop could observe 
the examination, treatment and microsurgery in- 
volved in Outpatient cases of infection, deafness, or 
congenital defects of the ear. The sessions were con- 
ducted under strict surgery disciplines, and, 
scrubbed and gowned, student observers watched the 
most minute and delicate operations, such as repair- 
ing an eardrum under microscopic guidance. A mag- 
nified image of all that takes place inside the 
patient s ear gave the surgeon full control over such 
delicate procedures. 

BISHOP CORSON ASKS RETURN OF 
MORAL STANDARDS 

As the end of the '60's drew near, doubts and un- 
certainties increased throughout American society. 
So much so. that a national feeling of uneasiness was 
reflected in Dr. Earth's words to the graduating class 
of 1968 when he said, "The times in which we live 
seem to breed distrust; machines we invent appear to 
be using us, we seem but computer units with no real 
control over our destinies. All this is dehumanizing 
us. And I believe this dehumanizing process is at the 
base of our social trouble. We are being so 
homogenized by mass communications and new 
cultural forces that we are losing our individuality 
and, indeed, our strength of character . . ." 

In his Commencement address to the Class of '68, 
Rev. Bishop Fred Pierce Corson, Resident Bishop of 
the Philadelphia Area, United Methodist Church, 
pleaded with the graduates to help restore moral 
standards in the nation. "We must learn to dis- 
tinguish between men of success and men of value," 
he said. "Men of success seek power; men of value 
seek principle. We judge success by accumulation, 
the other by moral character." 



Honorary Doctor of Laws degrees were conferred 
upon Bishop Corson as well as on Herbert Fineman, 
Democratic floor leader in the Pennsylvania House 
of Representatives; and Senator George N. Wade, 
Republican member over the years of both House 
and Senate, and like Fineman a friend of P.C.O.M. 

At the annual Class Dinner, "Old Grads" were 
represented by Drs. Henry N. Hillard '34, President 
of the Alumni Association; John McLain Birch '43; 
Otterbein Dressier '26; George Essayian '39; Aaron 
Feinstein '42; N. H. Gartzman '52; Charles A. 
Hemmer '43; Richard Koch '38; Paul T. Lloyd '23; 
Alex Maron '46; Charles W. Sauter '31; and Charles 
Snyder '33. A special introduction was made for Dr. 
Lindsay H. Thomson of Huntingdon Valley, Pa., 
Class of 1918, then numbering only seven. 

By this time the Barth Pavilion was running 
smoothly. Graduates in the Class of '68 had pursued 
some of their studies in the new facility. The 
Surgical Center, with six major surgery units and 
equipped with the latest automated devices was in 
full swing. Over $1,200,000 had been spent on new 
equipment. Chairman of the Surgical Department 
was Dr. Carlton Street. He was assisted by Dr. Her- 




HIGH HONOR FOR DR. CATHIE 

One of Dr. Angus G. Cathie's biggest surprises and happiest 
moments came Sept. 9. 1967 at a hurriedly called convocation in 
PCO 's auditorium to confer a Special Award for Outstanding Service 
in Osteopathic Education. Dr. George W. Northup, Editor of 
American Osteopathic Association publications, presented the plaque 
that had been bestotved upon Dr. Cathie by vote of the Board Trustees 
of the AOA. It bore the signature of Dr. Earl K. Lyons, then President 
of AOA, and Dr. True B. Eveleth. Exec. Secretary, AOA. 



110 



man Kohn, Clinical Professor, and Dr. Galen S. 
Young, Clinical Professor. Dr. Herman E. Poppe was 
Vice Chairman of Orthopedic Surgery and Dr. 
Robert A. Whinney was Vice Chairman of Urology. 

In addition to Surgery, the Obstetrical and 
Gynecological Department and Nursery were 
relocated on City Line Avenue, all with new, modern 
equipment and enlarged space. The new quarters 
contained 45 beds, four labor rooms and three de- 
livery rooms. The new Nursery contained three 
units: one for well and healthy infants who require 
no more than normal care; the second for intensive 
care, where every necessary facility and service is 
available for critical cases; and a third for suspect 
cases, babies who may have infection of varying 
degrees. These last, of course, are kept isolated until 
any danger from infection or contagion has been 
removed. Chairman of the Obstetrical and 
Gynecological Department was Dr. Lester Eisenberg, 
newly appointed Professor of Obstetrics and 
Gynecology. 

The enlarged space and new facilities of the Earth 
Pavilion helped bring about increased P.C.O.M. 
enrollment, with 125 in the class of 1972. 

DR. CATHIE CITED BY A.O.A. 
FOR EDUCATIONAL SERVICE 

A member of the staff who had graduated in 1931 
had completed his 35th year of teaching at P.C.O.M. 
at the close of 1967. Dr. Angus G. Cathie, who over 
the years had probably received more honors and 
awards than any other instructor, was again honored 
at a special ceremony on September 9, 1967. 
Without any previous notice Dr. Cathie was called 
from the audience and Dr. George W. Northup, 
Editor of the American Osteopathic Association 
publications, presented him with a citation for out- 
standing service in Osteopathic education, by action 
of the Board of Trustees of the American 
Osteopathic Association. The plaque bore a hand- 
some certificate signed by Dr. Earl K. Lyons, Presi- 
dent and Dr. True B. Eveleth, Executive Secretary, 
American Osteopathic Association. 

Dr. Cathie's writing on anatomical subjects was 
well known, as was his amazing handiwork in 
creating models of the human skeletal composition, 
intricately assembled so as to appear human to the 
uninitiated. A collection of these exhibits had been 
shown at numerous conventions and professional 
symposia throughout the country. 

The 69th Annual Founders' Day in 1968 was the 



occasion of a double celebration, as the hospital held 
"Open House" for more than 2,000 visitors — the 
first public inspection of the new facility. At the 
Founders' Day Program held in the College 
auditorium, an honorary degree of Doctor of Laws 
was conferred upon Col. Ralph E. Jones, Dean of the 
Valley Forge Military Junior College. Dr. Edwin H. 
Cressman, Chairman of the Department of Der- 
matology, received the O.J. Snyder Medal and 
delivered the traditional address. In it he emphasized 
that, with a new campus and facilities, "teaching and 
research must still remain paramount." 

The 1967 and 1968 P.C.O.M. Alumni Association 
reunion programs met with more than usual success, 
with extraordinary interest being sparked by the new 
Frederic H. Barth Pavilion, and by the proximity of 
fine motor hotels on City Line Avenue. The agenda 
combined luncheons, tours, reunions and 
professional seminars on current health subjects. 
The seminars were arranged by Dr. Paul Barsky, '47. 
Among the dinner guests at the '67 Reunion was Dr. 
Leon A. Kowalski '36, of Philadelphia, President of 
the Pennsylvania Osteopathic Association. Also 
present were two members of the Class of 1917. 
These Fifty-Year Alumni were Dr. Earl B. French, 
Philadelphia, and Dr. H. Walter Evans, Professional 
Director of the College Hospitals, and Secretary of 
the Board of Directors. 

Dr. Cathie continued to have honors heaped upon 
him, as the veteran anatomist lectured, taught, wrote 
articles and directed the anatomy course for 
P.C.O.M.'s largest class of 150 students — the class of 
'73. In January 1969, the New York Academy of 
Osteopathy held an Angus Cathie day program in the 
Regency Hotel, New York City. There, speakers 
delivered special papers praising Dr. Cathie's many 
contributions and achievements, and he was 
presented with a plaque carrying this citation: 

"With deep appreciation for his devotion and ser- 
vice to the lifelines of osteopathic education, the un- 
dergraduate student, the basic medical sciences and 
contribution of palpatory diagnosis and manipulative 
therapy, as expressed in the concept of Osteopathic 
Medicine." 

This was signed by Robert B. Thomas, President, 
and Lawrence S. Robertson, Secretary of the New 
York Academy. 

The 1968 yearbook of the National Academy of 
applied Osteopathy was dedicated to Dr. Cathie, and 
he responded with an article on the Sino-Bronchial 
Syndrome. 



Ill 



48TH STREET BUILDING RENOVATED, 
THOMAS IS DEAN 

While the City Line complex was growing, a major 
renovation of the 30-year-old 48th Street building 
was undertaken. In 1969, additional classroom and 
laboratory space was provided, and much of the in- 
terior was modernized. One of the expanded facilities 
at 48th Street was Dr. Cathie's anatomy lab on the 
fourth floor. Some of the expansion was made possi- 
ble by the moving of certain departments to the 
Barth Pavilion. One of these was the Pediatrics sec- 
tion. In the new building, Pediatrics could now han- 
dle 32 patients in the nursery, and there were 28 
beds, two rooms for isolation, and a crib room. The 
Department was being directed by Dr. William S. 
Spaeth, with the assistance of Drs. F. Munro Purse, 
Clinical Professor, and Samuel L. Caruso, Clinical 
Professor and Vice Chairman. 

Dr. Paul H. Thomas, member of the Class of 1955 
and Associate Dean since 1967, became Dean of the 
P.C.O.M. on March 15, 1969. Dr. Sherwood R. 
Mercer, who had been serving as Dean since 1954, 
continued as Vice President in charge of Academic 
Affairs with offices in the Administration building 
on City Avenue. Dr. Mercer also continued as 
Professor of the History of Medicine. 

By the time Graduation Day arrived in June, 1969, 
the theme of social and academic upheaval was even 
more prevalent than it had been in preceding years. 
Dr. Barth deplored the "New Cynics" who imitated 
Crates' and Zeno's Cynics by not cutting their hair or 
beards, carrying sticks and mallets, and begging. 
"But where the original cynics despised wealth," he 
went on, "sought virtue, questioned all things in 
order to find what was true, these imitators mock all 
things, including the true, using the mask of 
philosophy to disguise license and irresponsibility." 

The Commencement address that year was 
delivered by Lieutenant Governor Raymond J. 
Broderick, who was awarded an Honorary Doctor of 
Laws degree. He spoke of the maladies that bring 
decline and disaster to empires and societies, and he 
emphasized that all was not well in the nation's body 
politic. 

At the 1969 Class dinner on June 7, Dr. Barth 
called upon the 90 graduates to join and support 
local, state and national osteopathic societies, and 
urged them to remember that more osteopathic 
teaching institutions were vital to an independent 
profession in order to provide a choice to an Ameri- 
can public that abhors a monopoly. 



In his first appearance as Dean of the College, Dr. 
Paul H. Thomas handled the awards with wit, charm 
and confidence. 

In the following month, Dr. Barth, who had been 
serving as President of the Philadelphia College of 
Osteopathic Medicine since 1950, was elected Presi- 
dent of the American Association of Osteopathic 
Colleges at the closing session of the organization's 
annual meeting in Chicago. Barth succeeded Dr. 
Morris Thompson, of Kirksville, Mo., as president of 
the A.A.O.C. 

The 1960's ended with the Frederic H. Barth 
Pavilion operating on a near capacity basis. This had 
been accomplished in only 18 months time after the 
opening ceremonies, and with a smooth transfer of 
major units from the Osteopathic Hospital in West 
Philadelphia. The decade ended as it had begun, amid 
an air of doubt and uncertainty, yet so much had 
been accomplished at P.C.O.M., that its future could 
not be thought of in any terms but growth and 
success for the College. 

Still, the great American introspection was to con- 
tinue; the Watergate hubbub, and the oil-gas energy 
crises were yet to come, while the Philadelphia 
College of Osteopathy waged an endless struggle 
agamst inflationary costs, and the increasing demand 
for physicians, nurses, hospital beds, and all types of 
expanding health care. 

All in all, the College entered the '70's as it had 
looked upon a new decade ten years earlier — with 
unflagging hope, mixed with the complexities of 
healthy living in a confused American society. 




PCO.M ALUMNI LEADERS HUDDLE 

An early Seplem ber 1 967 gathering during the College activities sur- 
rounding opening another year brought out. (standing) l-r: Drs. John 
Cifala. up from Virginia: Henry Hilher. Lancaster. Pa. Charles W. 
Snyder. Jr.. and (seated) Archie A. Feinstein and Charles A. 
Hemmer of the Hospital staff. 



112 



CHAPTER 10 



THE 1970's 
FULFILLMENT AND NEW CHALLENGES 



When Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medi- 
cine entered its seventh decade and took 
stock of all that had happened before, it had to con- 
cede that the past is indeed the prologue, and fulfill- 
ment of a long sought objective brings with it broad 
new challenges. The College was possessed of a new 
campus with the most completely equipped teaching 
Hospital, most sophisticated College complex replete 
with audio-visual instruction aids in theatre-style 
lecture halls, and clinics integrated into the learning 
process in a smooth and welcomed extension of 
pubHc health care. 

Moreover, it was building up a faculty matured 
and preeminent in the field of Osteopathic medicine. 
If there were problems, they were in the nature of 
imponderables that sometimes are part of giant leaps 
forward, and the sudden realization that all must 
now be geared to transmission over four years' study 
and clinical practice toward the D.O. degree. The 
assumption was that the product gaining that degree, 
like the educational improvements around him, 
would probably be better. This seemed to be the 
mood as the 1970's began. 

At the 1970 Commencement ceremonies. Dr. J. 
Scott Heatherington, President of the A.O.A. told 
the 81 graduates and guests, "Doctors, more than 
some other men, have great opportunities to use 
their talents creatively, or to waste them. You can 
waste them in the race for monetary gain, in the 
struggle for status and power, or in the simplest way 
of all: by not fully utilizing your skills and 
talent — by not truly caring. 

"The choice of the kind of physician you will be 
must be made during your earliest days of practice. It 
will be in many ways a final choice, a fork in the road 
you take, but can never retrace. I hope you will 
choose wisely." 

The problems faced by osteopaths and by the na- 
tion as a whole, were complex ones. Dr. 
Heatherington continued. "We have a limitless 



supply of those with intelligence and expertise to 
analyze society's problems, but few with the motiva- 
tion or courage to come aboard and help solve 
them." 

Like the individual student or doctor, P.C.O.M. 
began the 70's with the finest educational advantages 
available; new, modern buildings — all, physically, 
that a great medical complex could ask. It remained 
for those who followed the founders and developers 
to carry on in the great tradition of wisdom and hard 
work that was Osteopathy's heritage. 

In President Earth's words, "As each student 
comes along the road of development, education and 
experience, at every step each has reached back to 
his heritage." This heritage, he explained, was made 
available through the good offices of parents and 
grandparents, teachers, clergy and other sponsors 
and advisors. 



^^^^v i''-'^/'$^ i*'^^^^^^ 




H 


1 




^BE I ^'^"^^^1 






1 




Ip^.. 1 




n^^^^^^i 


■ 




■w 






^^^1 


1 




k 


^K C^ 




I^^^^^^^^H 


■ 




■■V'l 


■Ui^Hidi 




HHIM 


■ 




H 



MASTERS OF SCIENCE AND SPONSORS 
Dr. Charles W. Snyder, Jr., left, and Dr. John J. Gilligan, right, 
congratulate their proteges. Dr. Ronald A. Kirschner, and Dr. NoelL. 
Melhorn on winning M.Sc. degrees 



113 





DR. Ef'AMS COMPLETES A MISSION 
Nobody in the PCOM family more appreciated the Cornerstone 
ceremonies for the Barth Pavilion than Dr. H. Walter Evans. Here 
the veteran PCOM planner and Secretary of its Board makes typical- 
ly brief remarks in the nearly completed Teaching Hospital. Seated: 
Dr. Barth, Rev. Poley, Bishop Corson, Drs. Charles W. Snyder, Jr., 
J.E. Leuzinger, and Board Member William J. McCarter, realtor. 




NEW EQUIPMENT, NEW DIRECTOR 
Dr. Robert L. Meals '56, New Director of the Department of 
Radiology, with a unit of the new equipment installed at Barth 
Pavilion in the 70's. 



THE FREITER MEMORIAL MEDITATION CHAPEL 

Given by Mrs. Sophia Freiter Barth, wife of PCOM 's President, 
this beautiful stained glass u'indow and mahogany furniture was in- 
stalled in memory of Mrs. Barth s parents. 



114 




•^f - r 
GROUP ALUMNI CLASS MEMBERSHIP FOR 72 

Alumni President Dr. Charles W. Sauter II hands Alumni Associa- 
tion Membership certificate to Class President Norman fFeiss. 





JUSTICE ROBERTS RECEIVES LED. 
Dr. Barth repeats ritual as Board Chairman Judge Hoffman places 
hood on 72 Commencement speaker. 




THEY WON DISTINGUISHED TEACHING A WARDS 
Dr. Charles IV. Snyder. Jr. and Dr. Clarence E. Baldwin accept 
Vice President Rowland's Congratulations at 1972 Class Dinner in 
Union League. 



THEY SH.4RED TOP COMMENCEMENT A WARD 
William Croff and Lee Adler. from Drexel Hill and Havertown, 
Pa. respectively, smile their pleasure as Dr. Rowland bestows plaques 
of Student Council for best Academic records. 



115 



NEW COLLEGE BUILDING IS BEGUN 

Two Honorary Doctor of Laws degrees and a Doc- 
tor of Science degree were conferred by Dr. Barth. 
The LLD's went to The Reverend Alfred W. Price, 
D.D., rector of Saint Stephens Episcopal Church in 
Philadelphia; and to The Hon. Don H. Stafford, 
member of the Florida House of Representatives, a 
candidate for Congress, and a sponsor of legislation 
favorable to the osteopathic profession. Recipient of 
the D. Sc. degree was Dr. Heatherington, who 
delivered the principal address. 

Meanwhile, the City Avenue complex was con- 



tinuing to grow. In July, 1970, contract awards were 
given out for the construction of the Library and 
Classroom Building at an estimated cost of $5.8 
million. Plans called for a six-story structure built of 
steel, concrete block and brick veneer. There would 
be laboratory space, a bookstore, student post office, 
lecture halls for 200 students, and the library. The 
Department of Microbiology would occupy the third 
floor; Pathology the fourth. Physiology the fifth, 
and the Department of Osteopathic Principles and 
Practice would be on the top, sixth floor. 

By contrast with the Depression years of the '30's, 
P.C.O.M. doctors and hospital personnel were ex- 




TEN PCOM ALUMNI ENJOY ALUMNI LUNCH AT BAL HARBOUR. FLA. 

Ten. sons of Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine are shoum at the 1972 Annual lunch of the PCOM Alumni Association held at 
the Americana Hotel in Bal Harbour. Fla. Oct. 10. 1972. 

Left to right from center foreground: Dr. George Northup, Class of 1939, former President of the .imerican Osteopathic .Association, and its 
Editor: Dr. Gordon Zink. Canton, Pa.. '36: Dr. Nicholas S. Nicholas. PCOM Faculty Member: Dr. David Heilig of Dre.xel Hill. Pa.. '44: Dr. 
Wayne English of Kirksville, Missouri, '58: Dr. Clarence E. Baldwin Philadelphia, '34: Dr. Ronald Kirshner. Philadelphia, 'bb: Dr. Berkley 
Brandt, of Auburn. Washington, '66: Dr. David Lukens, Takoma, Wash, and Dr. Charles W. Snyder, of Philadelphia, '33. 



116 



periencing a degree of affluence unheard of in those 
earUer, difficuh times. Interns now started at $8,000 
a year. First year residencies received $10,000, sec- 
ond year $11,000 and third year $12,000. 

Taking over direction of the 228-bed Barth 
Pavilion, William J. Stout became Hospital Ad- 
ministrator in 1970. A native of Virginia, with wide 
experience in several administrative positions, Ad- 
ministrator Stout was 45 when he assumed the Barth 
Pavilion post. He succeeded Harold J. King, whose 
retirement had left the position open. Mr. King was 
assigned to the handling of scholarships and student 
financial loans under the direction of Vice President 
for Administrative Affairs Thomas M. Rowland, Jr. 



DR. CATHIE, DR. EVANS PASS AWAY 

Commencement Eve in 1970 brought the shock of 
a severe loss to P.C.O.M. On June 5, 1970, Dr. 
Angus Gordon Cathie died in the Barth Pavilion. He 
was in his 68th year — a fountain of influence, 
counsel and wisdom throughout the Osteopathic 
community, and among the most highly respected 
and oft-honored physicians in the Profession. He was 
regarded as the top authority on Osteopathic prin- 
ciples and practice, while old grads and young 
students considered him to be the best anatomist in 
the country. Only the week before his hospitaliza- 
tion, he had for the ninth time delivered a lecture to 




THE HEAD TABLE ANNUAL PCOM ALUMNI LUNCHEON AMERICANA HOTEL, MIAMI 
The Annual PCOM Alumni Luncheon at each AOA Convention is one of the highlight events of the year for the former students at the 
Quaker City college. The year 1972 was no exception as an overflow crowd of some 250 on October 10th shared the luncheon hall with faculty 
and staff members of Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, held in the Americana Hotel in Miami. Florida. At the head table, seated 
left to right: Mrs. Richard A. Scott: Richard A. Scott. PCOM Student Council President: Mrs. Richard (Barbara) Plummer. President of PCOM 
Student Wives Au.xiliary: Mrs. Barth and Dr. Frederic H. Barth, PCOM President. Mrs. Barth is Dean of Women at the college. Standing, left 
to right: Mr. John DeAngelis, PCOM Treasurer and Vice President for Financial Affairs and Mrs. DeAngelis: Dr. Robert W. England, PCOM 
Dean: Dr. Robert J. Furey, then President of the PCOM Alumni Association, and Dr. Sherwood R. Mercer, PCOM Vice President for Ad- 
ministrative Affairs. 



117 



the Postgraduate Seminar of the American College of 
Osteopathic Surgeons, meeting in Michigan. Among 
his last duties was giving a practical examination to 
the First Year Class. 

To associates, Dr. Cathie once confided. I never 
want to retire. My work is my pleasure." Although 
very ill, he kept to his schedule and filled lecture and 
speaking engagements almost to the end. 

P.C.O.M. underwent another grievous loss later in 
the year with the death of Dr. H. Walter Evans. Dr. 
Evans was 80 when he died November 9, 1970. 
Graduated from P.C.I.O. in the Class of 1917, Evans 
became an instructor in bacteriology and obstetrics 
and gynecology at the 19th and Spring Garden 
Streets school. He progressed to full Professorship in 
1935. When the 48th and Spruce building was com- 
pleted, he devoted much of his time to administra- 
tion, planning and staff supervision. During the 
Depression years Dr. Evans and a fellow founding 
member of the Stephen Girard Lions Club, John G. 



Keck, contrived the pay-as-you-go plan that kept the 
College operative. Meanwhile his own practice grew, 
and during a long, busy lifetime he delivered infants 
in hundreds of homes, for mothers didn't go to 
maternity wards in those days. He was a member and 
past President of the American College of Osteo- 
pathic Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and also of 
the Pennsylvania Osteopathic Association. Recipient 
of the 0. J. Snyder Memorial Medal for distinguished 
service in 1963. Dr. Evans was also awarded the 
Lindback Foundation's prize for Distinguished 
Teaching. This award was presented to him at the 
1970 Commencement Eve dinner, only a few months 
before his passing. 

While the new college building began to take form 
and the steel construction rose on City Avenue, 
curriculum changes were taking place at P.C.O.M., 
and Dr. Barth emphasized to faculty and un- 
dergraduates alike, that the real core of the organiza- 
tion was not new buildings, fine as they might be, but 




m ^ 



THE 1972 PCOM CLASS DINNER IN THE UNION LEAGUE 



118 




U ith Dr. Leuzinger steadying the Jornier Dean. Dr. Barth con- 
gratulated Dr. Holden on receiving the Snyder Memorial Medal. 
February L 1969. 



RECIPIENTS OF THE O.J. SNYDER MEMORIAL MEDAL 

19.53 DR. D.4V1D S. B. PENNOCK 

1954 DR. MARGARET H. JONES 

19.55 DR. CHESTER D. SWOPE 

19.56 DR. RUSSELL C. McCAUGHAN 

1958 DR. PHIL R. RUSSELL 

1959 DR. IRA W. DREW 

1960 DR. C PAUL SNYDER 

1961 DR. JAMES M. EATON 

1962 DR. J. ERNEST LEUZINGER 

1963 DR. H. WALTER EVANS 

1964 DR. PAUL T. LLOYD 

1966 DR. ANGUS G. CATHIE 

1967 DR. CARLTON STREET 

1968 DR. EDWIN H. CRESSMAN 

1969 DR. EDC4R 0. HOLDEN 

1970 DR. FREDERIC H. BARTH 

1971 DR. JOSEPH F. PY 

1972 DR. GEORGE W. NORTHUP 

1973 DR. WILLI A.M F. DAIBER 

1974 DR. HERMAN KOHN 

The 0. J. Snyder .Memorial Medal, presented in memory of the co- 
founder of Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, is award- 
ed in recognition of leadership and service to the College. 



the quality and character of its personnel. Among 
the curriculum changes put into effect in 1971 were 
greater clinical emphasis and contact built into the 
first year roster. This included a new course entitled 
"Clinical Correlation", an introductory course in 
"Physical Diagnosis", and a new course in 
"Neurosensory Sciences". In the second year 
scheduling changes permitted more clinical courses 
to be included, thus allowing time for more such ex- 
perience in the third year. Also in the third year, 
students became involved in practical training, being 
introduced to the hospital and becoming involved in 
patient-care training. The fourth year program was 
revised to include clinical training under physicians 
carefully chosen and approved specifically for this 
purpose at four other base hospitals. 

In February 1971, Dr. A. Archie Feinstein became 
Professional Director and Director of Medical 
Education. Dr. Feinstein brought to his new post a 
distinguished career of service, not only as a physi- 
cian and surgeon, but as a professional who had 
proven himself as Chief of Staff and Medical Direc- 
tor at the Metropolitan Hospital in Philadelphia. 
Previously he had moved to a residency in general 
surgery at the Knickerbocker Hospital in New York. 
Then he was a resident in neurology at the Universi- 
ty of Minnesota Hospital where he did much work in 
the division of Polio during its period of epidemic. 



ENROLLMENT IN 1971 AT NEW HIGH 

In 1948 he entered into private practice in 
Philadelphia. He was Medical Director and Director 
of Medical Education at Metropolitan Hospital from 
1960 through 1970, when he accepted similar but 
wider responsibilities at P.C.O.M. In addition to his 
duties at P.C.O.M., Dr. Feinstein served as 
Secretary-Treasurer of the Pennsylvania 
Osteopathic Association and was on Pennsylvania 
Governor Scranton's Hospital Study Commission. 

Vice President Thomas M. Rowland, Jr. an- 
nounced that in 1971, P.C.O.M. enrollment soared 
to a new all-time high, with over 900 applicants. 
Rowland had recently been elected Secretary of the 
Board of Directors, succeeding Dr. H. Walter Evans. 
As the new Secretary, Mr. Rowland added another 
responsibility to an administrative record that in 
turn made him Director of Admissions and Registrar 
and Vice President for Administrative Affairs of the 
College and Hospitals. In addition to these ad- 
ministrative duties, Mr. Rowland was also an assis- 
tant Professor of Professional Economics at the 
College. A graduate of Temple University with a 
B.Sc. degree, he served throughout World War II 
with the Troop Carrier Command. He had at various 
times served with the Multiple Sclerosis Society of 
Philadelphia, the Philadelphia Association for 
Retarded Children, and was President of the Welsh 



119 




DR. THOMAS M. ROWLAND, JR. EXECUTIVE VICE 
PRESIDENT, PCOM 

Society of Philadelphia, oldest social organization in 
America. 

Early in 1971, Dr. Charles W. Snyder, Jr. assumed 
Chairmanship of the P.C.O.M. Department of 
Ophthalmology, Otorhinolaryngology and Broncho- 
esophagology. He succeeded Dr. Ernest Leuzinger, 
who retired after long service with the P.C.O.M. 
faculty. Dr. Snyder brought the experience of recent 
postgraduate studies which he completed in London 
the preceding year. 

At the 72nd Founder's Day celebration, Penn- 
sylvania Secretary of Education, Dr. David H. Kurtz- 
man emphasized the increasing need for doctors and 
nurses, and complimented P.C.O.M. for its rapid ex- 
pansion during its 73-year existence. "The story of 
its success," he said, "lies in the fact that of more 
than 5,000 doctors who have graduated since its 
founding, some 3000 are still practicing, and serving 
their fellow man. That is a pretty good endorsement 
of Osteopathic medicine." 

Shortly after this event, Dr. Barth boarded a plane 



for Geneva to attend meetings of the United Nations 
Commission on Human Rights. As a member of the 
U.S. Delegation appointed by President Nixon, Dr. 
Barth had another of his many opportunities to serve 
the nation. He had previously served as Acting Post- 
master of Philadelphia, and he had attended 
meetings of the Technical Committee of Government 
and non-Government Organizations of the White 
House Conference on the Aging. 

P. CO. ESTABLISHES UPSTATE CLINIC 

As evidence of P.C.O.M.'s continuing growth and 
expansion, a new Medical Center was established at 
Laporte, Pa. Here, an electrocardiometer was in- 
troduced in April, 1971, in a pioneer project 
providing free heart examinations for people of the 
adjacent communities. The Laporte Center had been 
set up in the former Mokoma Inn, purchased by 
P.C.O.M. and situated on a sizeable block of land also 
acquired by the College. At opening ceremonies. Dr. 
Barth outlined the purpose and plans of the Health 
Center, which would provide modern diagnosis and 
treatment for Sullivan County and other areas in Ap- 
palachia. Part of the Center's financing came in the 
form of a grant from the Appalachian Regional Com- 
mission. 

It was the beginning of a comprehensive new enti- 
ty in the serving of Philadelphia and surrounding 
area with more adequate hospital and health ser- 
vices. The Barth Pavilion had 209 beds and 28 
bassinets available as its four floors and basement 
were put into service. The basement housed a 
splendidly equipped Radiology department and other 
laboratories, including the Surgery department and 
ancillary services. It also housed the kitchen and 
cafeteria which supplied the food for the entire 
hospital and staff. 

Bv the end of 1973 the yearly census and patient 
care had risen to new highs in PCOM's experience. 
In 1973 alone Barth Pavilion Hospital had received a 
total of 5,739 patients, had treated 682 pediatric 
cases, had 311 births, and there had been 4,404 sur- 
geries completed. 

The College-Hospital building at 48th and Spruce 
sts. had by then been completely renovated and con- 
verted into the largest and most heavily used clinic 
of the four — redesignated as Health Care centers in 
1974 — now operated by the College. They included 
besides the West Center at 48th and Spruce, North 
Center at 28th and Dauphin sts.; the Roxborough 
Center, and the recently established Laporte, 



120 



Sullivan county, Center in northeast Pennsylvania. 
Earlier PCOM physicians had helped run the Salva- 
tion Army's Harbor Light clinic at 8th and Vine sts., 
but this was discontinued when highway improve- 
ment took over the locale. 

West Center Health Care Clinic was placed in 
charge of Dr. Eleanor Masterson, '57. It continued to 
serve the health needs of a great many people in 
West Philadelphia, treating 21,992 cases in 1973. Dr. 
Edward M. Gianforte, '65 became clinic supervisor. 

Dr. Lloyd also continued to headquarter at West 
Center, as Director of the Cancer Education 
program, one of the major Consulting Sections es- 
tablished by the College. 

The Anatomy department, taken over on July 1, 
1973 by Dr. Vincent T. Cipolla, '46, continued to oc- 
cupy the entire fourth floor of the former College 
building. This is where first year students receive 
all instruction in gross anatomy and micro-anatomy, 
the latter under Prof. Emeritus Edwin H. Cressman. 
The teaching staff includes Assistant Professor Dr. 
Richard Notzhold, Ph.D., Assistant Professor 
Dominic Castrigano, and Mrs. Joan Moore, M.A., 
Embryology and Genetics instructor. 




DEAN THOMAS' FINAL ROLLCALL 
Dean Paul H. Thomas begins the final rollcall for the Class of 
1 972 Sunday June 6th in Irvine auditorium. Seated on platform are 
President Barth with Honored guests and members of Board and 
Faculty. It climaxed a long, demanding year for Dean Thomas, the 
WWII Marine turned to higher education. Two weeks later to the 
day, while catching up on work, he tvas found dead in his College of- 
fice. 




RECOVERY ROOM NURSE 
Among the long term PCOM regulars, Betty Johns, Recovery room 
nurse, can look back upon a lot of cases. A graduate of the Nursing 
School in 1947. Betty has ivorked in PCOM hospitals ever since, from 
the Spruce St. College Hospital to Barth Pavilion since it was opened 
in 1967. 

JSORTHUP FOUNDERS DAY SPEAKER 

A noteworthy address was delivered by Dr. George 
W. Northup, Editor of AOA Publications and a 1939 
P.C.O.M. graduate, when he was the key speaker at 
the 74th Founders Day program. Dr. Northup 
referred to the abjuration found in the Hebrew 
Prophet Habakkuk 2:2— "And the Lord answered 
me, saying, Write the vision and make it plain upon 
tablets, that he may run that readeth it." 

There is, these days, too little vision, too much 
pragmatism, he declared. Professors and teachers of 
medicine have become too occupied with things in 
medical education, rather than the objectives of their 
teaching. 

"In an age when men of ideals are being 
overshadowed by men of ideas, practicality seems to 
be a substitute for integrity," said Dr. Northup. 
"Technology is crowding out the place of religion 
and philosophy in the souls of men. Status is replac- 
ing service, success is judged by material returns 
rather than on quahty of service rendered." 

Dr. Northup was awarded Philadelphia College of 
Osteopathic Medicine's highest honor when he 



121 




THAT HA WAIIAN AOA CONVENTION OF 1971! 

It was the first time the AOA convened in Honolulu, capital of our 50th State. It had been three times to Miami. San Francisco. 
Philadelphia, and five times to New York. But Hawaii was ''something else again. ' ' to use a cliche then starting the rounds. .411 Osteopathic 
Colleges were represented and PCOM's delegation included Board members. Administration, Faculty and the wives. The gentlemen bought 
bright shirts and women gay bathing suits. The date was .Nov. 14-18. 1971. 

In this picture report PCOM's family seems to be enjoying the shirtsleeve informality of the luncheon. Plenty of Alumni there, as Center 
photo in above grouping indicates. Upper left. PCOM President Frederic H. Barth speaks to the group. Upper right. Dr. Marion E. Coy, 
AOA President, KCOS '38. talks on the Convention agenda. Lower right. Vice President Sherwood R. Mercer tells something to Board 
members Elmer Carll and George Mansfield, while at right Dr. Galen S. Young '35. and Dr. Barth await their turn at the microphone. Both 
spoke. At lower left, as Dr. Mercer rises to the occasion. Dr. and Mrs. Barth. Vice President and .Mrs. John DeAngelis. and Dr. Charles W. 
Snyder. Jr., Alumni .Association Secretary, who also spoke wait expectantly. All this is the Sheraton Waikiki. just a long jump fiom the 
bathing beach. 



122 



received the 0. J. Snyder Memorial Medal in 1972. 
His list of accomplishments was long and varied. In 
1958-59 he was President of the American 
Osteopathic Association. He was also a member of 
the AOA Board of Trustees, its Executive Com- 
mittee, and Vice Chairman of the Bureau of 
Professional Education and Colleges. A delegate to 
the American Council of Education, the U.S. Public 
Health Conference on Asian influenza. Dr. Northup 
was a member of several New York and New Jersey 
associations, including both Academies of Science. 
Amid these activities, he found time to write a 
volume entitled Osteopathic Medicine: An American 
Reformation in 1966. He was also the author of 
numerous articles in osteopathic journals. 




THE WISHBONE TRADITION A T PCOM 

One of the standard rituals at the Commencement season is the 
presentation b\ Dr. and Mrs. Mercer of a wishbone pin to wives of 
seniors of the Graduating Class. It takes place at close of Graduation 
Dr. and Mrs. Mercer at left. Mrs. George Vilashis. seated, while Mrs. 
.Anthony Ferretti. and Mrs. John Stevens Jr.. watch Mrs. Ronald Ellis 
at rear. 

DR BARTH WINS AOA'S HIGHEST 
HONOR 

At another ceremony, thousands of miles away. 
Dr. Earth was awarded the AOA's highest 
recognition — the Distinguished Service Cer- 
tificate — at the Annual Convention held in 
Honolulu, Hawaii in November, 1971. The cer- 
tificate read: "In Recognition of Your Outstanding 
Accomplishments in the Field of Osteopathic 
Education." 

In the aftermath of World War II, much of the 
preparedness activity that had marked the war years, 
was gradually forgotten. Most hospitals discontinued 
various disaster drills as the nation returned to 




DR. BARTH GIVES DR. DAIBER 
O.J. SNYDER MEMORIAL MEDAL 
The 0. J. Snyder Memorial Medal is the highest award conferred 
upon anyone by PCOM. First bestowed upon Dr. David S. B. Pennock 
in 1949 upon its 50th .Anniversary Founders day. it has been given an- 
nually since that time. On Jan. 20. 1973 it was awarded to one of the 
great and highly regarded Professors of the College. Dr. William F. 
Daiber. long Chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine, and 
since it was established. Program Director for the section on Car- 
diovascular Training. 




PCOM Leaders Robed for Commencement 
At left is Board Chairman Judge Sydney Hoffman, who read a 

Commencement statement for the Board. 

Center. E.xec. lice Pres. Thomas M. Rowland. Jr. who represented 

Dr. Barth at 7.3 Commencement. 

Dr. Sherwood R. .Mercer, right, who presented Mr. Rowland for 

Doctorate degree. 



123 



peacetime normalcy. But in 1972, P.C.O.M. joined 
with other area medical colleges and hospitals to 
prepare for the possibility of sudden attack or other 
large scale calamity. "Disaster Day" drills were held, 
and plans were laid to hold two such drills each year. 
The major consideration, according to Dr. William 
F. Daiber, who was in charge of the P.C.O.M. exer- 
cises, was to have access to and time to call all 
available persons — physicians, nurses, interns, 
trainees of all kinds, who would staff every depart- 
ment and emergency facility. 







A LIVELY PRACTICE SCRUM, RUGBY 



An emergency Medical Advisory Council, drawn 
from the Philadelphia area and Southern New Jersey 
communities, was established. Serving on this coun- 
cil were Dr. Robert W. England, Associate Dean of 
P.C.O.M. and Dr. Reginald W. league. Class of '37. 

In March, 1972, Dr. Robert C. Erwin, a founder of 
the Allentown Osteopathic Hospital and past chair- 
man of the hospital's surgical department, was 
named Chairman of the Department of Surgery of 
the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine. 
Dr. Erwin, Chairman of the Board of Governors of 
the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons, had 
served several terms on the Board of Directors, and 
was the immediate Past President of the ACOS. A 
P.C.O.M. graduate. Class of '38, he was Past Presi- 
dent of the Pennsylvania Osteopathic Association, 
and the Lehigh Valley Osteopathic Association, and 
he received the Honorary degree of Fellow from the 
American College of Osteopathic Surgeons in 1959. 

Work of the Women's Auxiliary in the '70's was 
augmented by a notable increase in membership of 




THOMAS M. ROWLAXD. JR.. LL.D. 
.4 highlight of 1973 Graduation Exercises was conferring of 
Honorary degree upon PCOM's Exec. Vice President. Judge Hoff- 
man reads citation as Dr. Mercer hoods the candidate, and Dr. Barth 
folloics proceedings. 

the Student Wives Auxiliary. By the end of January, 
1972, membership numbered 91, a new high for this 
group. Under the Presidency of Mrs. David Fesak, 
SWA had held a number of fund-raising bazaars, teas 
and Christmas Seal sales. The Christmas Bazaar in 
1971 conducted a highly successful sale of handmade 
articles, directed by newly-elected president Mrs. 
Richard Purse and Bazaar Chairman Mrs. Richard H. 
Plummer. More than 100 of the wives took part in 
providing handmade gifts and helping to sell them. 




Ai THE 1973 COMMENCEMENT 
Dean Robert W. England (left) congratulates the recipients of the 
Master of Science degrees and their sponsors. (L-r) Dr. James L. 
Harris (M.Sc. in Surgery), his sponsor. Dr. Robert C. Erwin. Chair- 
man of the Department of Surgery: Dr. Robert J. Rodgers (M.Sc. in 
Radiology): Dr. Robert L. .Meals, sponsor and Chairman of the 
Department of Radiology and Dr. David IT. Cragg (M.Sc. in 
Radiology). 



124 







!■ r , J 






* V 



J'.^").-^ 



PCOM'S GRADUATING CLASS OF 1972 




PCOM'S GRADUATING CLASS OF 1973 



125 




*9fif ""mis^ 



RELATIVES AND PCOM GRADUATES, 73 

This ivas the first PCOM Commencement Exercise in Philadelphia s stately Academy of Music, and some parents and other kin grouped 
outside for cap-and-gown photo 




THE OSTEOPATHIC OATH IN ACADEMY OF MUSIC, J 973 



126 



WOMEN'S GUILD PRESENTS 
MASQUERADE BALL 

One of the more imaginative and artistic events of 
the P.C.O.M. social calendar, the Women's Guild 
Costume and Masquerade Ball, was held late in the 
fall of 1971. It took place at the Bala Golf Club on 
October 23 and attracted a capacity crowd. The affair 
was directed by a committee under the chairmanship 
of Mrs. Nicholas C. Pedano. Many of the costumes 
were colorful and highly original. Top prizes were 
given to Mr. and Mrs. James Chadwick who came as 
the famous French artist Henri de Toulouse Lautrec 
with his wife as one of his paintings; and to Mr. 
Edward Simmons and Miss Betty Jean Childs who 
dressed in authentic-looking green frog costumes. 
Dr. and Mrs. Nicholas S. Nicholas won the Fanciest 
Costume prize for their attire as a Far Eastern poten- 
tate and his queen, complete with jewelry and lacy 
robes. 

A series of faculty promotions and appointments 
were made in September, 1972. In the Department of 
Anatomy, Dr. Vincent T. Cipolla was elevated to 
whole-time Assistant Professor. Dr. Cipolla soon 
afterward became Acting Chairman of the Depart- 
ment. Dr. Anthony P. Del Borrello was promoted to 
whole-time Instructor, while Mr. Edward Adickes 
became Laboratory Assistant. 

New Chairmen of departments included Dr. 
Walter L. Willis, Department of Dermatology and 
Syphilology; and Dr. Clarence E. Baldwin, Depart- 
ment of Internal Medicine. Dr. William F. Daiber 
was elevated to the post of Professor Emeritus. 

A new Acting Dean had been installed following 
the unexpected death of Dr. Paul H. Thomas. This 
was Dr. Robert W. England, one of the first D.O.'s 
to be certified by the American Osteopathic Board of 
General Practitioners. Dr. England also served as 
chairman of the Department of Family Osteopathic 
Practice at the hospitals of the College. He was chair- 
man and Professor of Osteopathic Principles and 
Practice, and Professor of Anatomy. In addition, two 
years earlier, he had been appointed co-ordinator of 
the College's new Primary Health Care Medical 
Center at Laporte, Pa. After graduating from high 
school in Collingswood, N.J., he entered Houghton 
College, N.Y., where he earned his B.A. degree. He 
then began studies at Eastern Baptist Seminary, and 
in 1952 he received a Baccalaureate in Divinity. It 
was at the suggestion of his family physician. Dr. 
Theodore Cohen, that he took up the study of 
Osteopathic Medicine at P.C.O.M. There he was 



awarded his D.O. Degree in 1956 and became in- 
structor in Anatomy in 1957. He also held a degree in 
Educational Administration as well as fellowships in 
the American Academy of Osteopathy, the American 
College of General Practitioners of Osteopathic 
Medicine and Surgery and the American School 
Health Association. 

For the Pediatrics Department, the newly installed 
Chairman was Dr. Samuel Louis Caruso who took 
over the leadership in September, 1972. Dr. Caruso 
had been vice Chairman of the Department since 
1970. He was a graduate of the University of Penn- 
sylvania where he received his B.A. Degree, and of 
P.C.O.M. which awarded him D.O. and M.Sc. (Ped.) 
degrees. 




ALUMNI ASSOCIATION OFFICERS 74 
From left. Dr. Charles W. Sauter II. past President; Dr. Robert J. 
Furey. immediate Past President: Dr. Richard Koch. President-Elect: 
Dr. W'illiam B. Strong. President for 1 974: Charles W. Hemmer, 
Treasurer: Dr. Chas. W. Snyder. Jr. Secretary. 



ALUMNI ASSOCIATION PRESENTS 
MACE TO PCOM 

In a historic ceremony at the 1972 closing 
Luncheon and Annual meeting of the Alumni 
Association, Alumni President Charles W. Sauter II 
presented Dr. Barth with a handsomely designed 
mace. The design and crafting of this mace followed 
study and research in heraldry by Alumni Historian 
Dr. Paul T. Lloyd and the designer, William F. J. 
Ryan of New York, a member of the Academic Inter- 
nationale D'Heraldique. Mr. Ryan had begun active 
participation in the art and science of heraldry in 
1939 and had designed more than 1000 coats-of- 
arms. 



127 



The P.C.O.M. Mace is about four feet long, with 
two descriptive nodes and a golden crown at the 
apex. This heralds the sovereign authority of the 
College to confer the degree of Doctor of Osteopathic 
by virtue of powers given it by the State of Penn- 
sylvania. The Commonwealth's coat-of-arms is 
engraved on the upper node, immediately below the 
sphere. Thus the mace heralds the ritual wording 
used each time the President confers the D.O. degree 
or any Honorary degree the College is empowered to 
give. 

At the Commencement Processional the following 
day, Marshal Lloyd was in the lead, carrying the 
P.C.O.M. Mace, as Dr. J. Ernest Leuzinger, also a 
PCOM Marshal, marched on the other flank. 

The Alumni Reunion and Seminar Weekend in 
1972 boasted a new record of attendance. Among the 
activities that drew huge turnouts were two days of 
seminars and workshops and the final general 
meeting of the Alumni Association. Responsible for 
organizing the Professional Program was chairman 
Robert J. Furey, '52, and his committee, chaired by 
Dr. Albert D'Alonzo. Particularly noteworthy was 
the seminar on Jaundice, divided into nine dis- 



cussions moderated by Dr. Albert F. D'Alonzo, 
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine. This 
provided a full update on diagnosis and treatment of 
jaundice. Speakers included Dr. Joseph V. Koehler, 
Dr. William J. McGrath, '68, Dr. John J. Gilligan, '54 
with Dr. Peter Tilley, KCOS '62, Dr. Samuel L 
Caruso, '47, Dr. Clarence E. Baldwin, '34, Dr. 
William F. Daiber, Dr. Galen S. Young, Dr. James J. 
Giliberto, '47, and Dr. Charles A. Hemmer. 

During the decade of the 1930's the PCO Alumni 
Association began to gain members more rapidly 
than previously. In 1932-33, the Association decided 
to continue reunions and their dinner-dance, despite 
depression problems, during Commencement week, a 
policy that has continued to the present. Dr. Ralph 
L. Fischer was President then. Dr. Harry C. 
Hessdorfer Secretary, and Dr. James M. Eaton 
Treasurer. A prize of $25. was awarded to John H. 
Eimerbrink, for the remarkable high average of 93.98 
for his four years. Edward S. Prescott had Honorable 
mention at 92.57 average. 

Dr. J. Ernest Leuzinger became President for 
1933-34 and that year at its annual conclave the 
Alumni Association gave a Gold medal to Dr. Arthur 




PLOM ill MM BOARD OF DIRECTORS IN 1973 

Standing: left to right: Dr. Spencer G. Bradford '42. Chr. History Com.. Paul Gehert. Alumni Exec. Secy.. Dr. E. DeVer Tucker '27. Dr. 

Robinson G. Fry '56, Dr. J. Marshall Hoag '34. Dr. Robert S. Maurer '62. Dr. Alfred A. Grilli '48, Dr. William B. Wilson '32. Dr. Archie A. 

Feinslein '42. Seated: left to right. Mrs. .Margaret Archer. Alumni Office Secy.. Dr. Charles W. Sauter II '31. Dr. Robert J. Furey '52, Dr. 

Richards. Koch '38, Dr. William B. Strong '26, President; Dr. Charles A. Hemmer '43, Treasurer; Dr. Charles W. Snyder Jr. '33, Secretary. 



128 



M. Flack, Jr. who had an average of 94.75. Dean 
Holden made the presentation with appropriate 
remarks. When the 1934-35 election was held Dr. 
Donald B. Thorburn, '23 moved up from Vice Presi- 
dent, and served two terms through 1936. In March 
of that year the Alumni Office was established for 
handling Association activities with the Executive 



PRESIDENTS OF PCOM 
AL UMNI ASSOCIA TION 



1920-21 


Dr. John H. Bailey '12 


deceased 


1921-22 


Dr. Carl D.Bruckner '10 


deceased 


1922-23 


Dr. Carl D.Bruckner '10 


deceased 


1923-24 


Dr. Edgar 0. Holden '22 


deceased 


1924-25 


Dr. Chester D. Losee '20 




1925-26 


Dr. Francis A. Finnerty '11 


deceased 


1926-27 


Dr. Francis A. Finnerty '11 


deceased 


1927-28 


Dr. Francis A. Finnerty '11 


deceased 


1928-29 


Dr. Arthur M. Flack '06 


deceased 


1929-30 


Dr. Ira W.Drew '11 




1930-31 


Dr. Paul T. Lloyd '23 




1931-32 


Dr. H. Walter Evans '17 


deceased 


1932-33 


Dr, Ralph L. Fischer '21 


deceased 


1933-34 


Dr. J. Ernest Leuzinger '25 




1934-35 


Dr. Donald B. Thorburn '23 




1935-36 


Dr. Donald B. Thorburn '23 




1936-37 


Dr. Donald B. Thorburn '23 




1937-38 


Dr. George W. Gerlach '25 


deceased 


1938-39 


Dr. R. McFarlane Tilley '23 




1939-40 


Dr. M. Lawrence Elwell '20 




1940-41 


Dr. M. Lawrence Elwell '20 




1941-42 


Dr. Karing Tomajan '30 




1942-43 


Dr. Karing Tomajan '30 




1943-44 


Dr. James H. Chastney '25 




1944-45 


Dr. George B. Stineman '32 




1945-46 


Dr. George F. Johnson '36 




1946-47 


Dr. Paul H. Hatch '26 




1947-48 


Dr. Joseph C. Snyder '36 




1948-49 


Dr. Guy W. Merryman '30 


deceased 


1949-50 


Dr. Guy W. Merryman '30 


deceased 


1950-51 


Dr. William B. Strong '26 




1951-52 


Dr. Reed Speer '37 




1952-53 


Dr. Reed Speer '37 




1953-54 


Dr. Roy E. Hughes '28 




1954-55 


Dr. John E. Devine '28 




1955-56 


Dr. Arnold Melnick '45 




1956-57 


Dr. Frederick H. Lenz '45 




1957-58 


Dr. H. Willard Sterrett, Jr. '44 


deceased 


1958-59 


Dr. John McA. Ulrich '27 




1959-60 


Dr. DavidJ. Bachrach'27 




1960-61 


Dr. George S. Rothmeyer '27 




1961-62 


Dr. Boyd B. Button '39 




1962-63 


Dr. Henry N. Hillard '34 




1963-64 


Dr. Henry N. Hillard '34 




1964-65 


Dr. Henry N. Hillard '34 




1965-66 


Dr. Henry N. Hillard '34 




1966-67 


Dr. Henry N. Hillard '34 




1967-68 


Dr. Henry N. Hillard '34 




1968-69 


Dr. Aaron A. Feinstein '42 




1969-70 


Dr. John A. Cifala '45 




1970-71 


Dr. Galen S. Young '35 




1971-72 


Dr. Charles Sauter U '31 




1972-73 


Dr. Robert J. Furey '52 




1973-74 


Dr. William B. Strong '26 





Committee, but without a paid, full time Director. 
This system ultimately resulted in a small office at 
the North Center. Among the Alumni Presidents for 
the next few years were Dr. R. MacFarlane Tilley 
'23, (two terms). Dr. M. Lawrence Elwell '20. The 
Alumni banquet in 1942 was held at the Bellevue 
Stratford Hotel, in 1942 and Dr. Holden reported 
over 500 Association members were contributing to 
the Alumni Giving fund. 

In June 1967 the Alumni Association engaged 
Paul Gebert, an experienced veteran in alumni af- 
fairs, and Dr. Earth provided an office in the Ad- 
ministration (Moss mansion) building on the City 
ave. campus. Dr. Lloyd had accumulated a large 
amount of Alumni historical matter, and under the 
recent Presidents, Dr. Robert J. Furey '52, of 
Wildwood Crest, N.J., and Dr. William B. Strong 
'26, New York City, the Association has held large 
and popular Annual reunions at which the lun- 
cheons and formal dinner dances have been high- 
lights of the Commencement-Reunions program. 

OLD-TIMERS DRS. VAN RONK, TRUE, 
BRYANT AT '72 REUNION 

At the 1972 reunion were 50-year members Dr. 
Foster C. True and Dr. Alice Schwab Bryant, both of 
the Class of 1922. The only 1912 60-year class 




THEY RAN 1973 PROFESSIONAL PROGRAM 

Dr. Albert F. D'Alonzo '56 (right), co-chairman of the 
Professional Programs, served as moderator for the seminar on "The 
Drug Scene". Members of the panel included (l-r) Drs. Joseph M. 
DiMino '66, Associate at Eagleville Hospital; Thurman D. Booker 
'64. Associate, Eagleville Hospital and Alvin Rosen '53. PCOM's 
Associate in the Department of Internal Medicine, Clinical Director 
and Associate Medical Director of Eagleville Hospital. 



129 



member present was Dr. Charles J. Van Ronk, hale 
and hearty at the head table, he was the athletes' 
physician who had cured many big name stars. Dr. 
True was still performing surgery at the Osteopathic 
General Hospital of Rhode Island where he had been 
on the staff since 1932. 

Officers of the PCOM Alumni Association for 
1972-73 were as follows: President: Dr. Robert J. 
Furey, '52; Elect-President: Dr. William B. Strong, 
'26; Vice President: Dr. Richard S. Koch, '38; 
Secretary: Dr. Charles A. Hemmer, '43; Historian: 
Dr. Paul T. Lloyd, '23; Immediate Past President: 
Dr. Charles W. Sauter, II, '31. 

In connection with PCOM Alumni and their Pro- 
fessional activities, there should be reference in this 
work to the Pennsylvania Osteopathic Medical Asso- 
ciation. It was incorporated June 6, 1903 for the pur- 
pose of promoting public health by raising and main- 
taining the high standards of Osteopathic education, 
is today among the strongest state organizations in 
the field of practicing physicians, osteopathic or 
medical. Its first President was Harry M. Vastine, 
D.O., and the President in 1974 is Dr. Raymond J. 
Saloom, PCO '60. 

As of Nov. 1, 1973 there were 1,417 members of 
the Pennsylvania Osteopathic Medical Association. 
The figures are from its Executive Director, Robert 
E. Young, L.H.D., based at the new headquarters at 
1330 Eisenhower boulevard, Harrisbiu"g, Pa. 

There are nineteen Osteopathic hospitals in Penn- 
sylvania as of 1974. They are located in AUentown, 
Grove City, Clarion, Harrisburg, Bristol, Erie, Lan- 
caster, York, Philadelphia— PCOM and Metropoh- 
tan. Parkview, PCOM's North and West Centers — 
Farrell, Norristown, Springfield, Delaware Co., Troy, 
and Oakdale. 

At the Faculty-Staff dinner and dance held on May 
13, 1972, a special gift was presented to Dr. J. Ernest 
Leuzinger, Class of 1924. The gift was an excep- 
tionally lifelike portrait of Dr. Leuzinger. Dr. Galen 
S. Young as Master of Ceremonies had set the stage 
by explaining how staff members, upon motion of 
Dr. Lloyd, had voted to honor Dr. Leuzinger and 
ordered a portrait made. The fine painting now hangs 
in the new College Library in Evans Hall on City 
Avenue, in PCOM's Gallery of Greats. 

Starting in the Fall term, 1972, Mrs. Sophia 
Freiter Barth, wife of PCOM President Frederic H. 
Barth, was named Dean of Women at the College. 
Mrs. Barth was a graduate of Temple University, 
where she majored in English and minored in 




DEAN ROBERT r. ENGLAND 



DEAN'S STATEMENT ON PCOM EDUCATIONAL 

OBJECTIVES 

By Dean Robert W. England, D.O. F.A.A.O. 

A major objective of my Deanship is to render leadership with a 
view toward providing an enjoyable and meaningful osteopathic 
medical educational experience as well as one that is thorough and 
practical. 

A second objective (shared with Dr. Thomas M. Rowland, Jr., Ex- 
ecutive Vice President) is the growth of PCOM as a major health 
center for the osteopathic profession at the tertiary level. 

Curriculum modification and schedule changes have been instituted 
in the last few years toward implementation of these goals and objec- 
tives. 

There have been significant gains in numbers of both clinical and 
basic science faculty. A strong faculty is essential for the best utiliza- 
tion of the tremendous facilities we now have. 

Continuing medical education programs have been reemphasized 
and programs for 1 973-T4 have been marked by excellence and record 
attendance. 

.4 strong emphasis shall continue to be maintained with regard to 
the osteopathic philosophy and concept in diagnosis and therapy. 

The osteopathic profession is regarded as distinctive and indepen- 
dent. Those distinctives are vital to health and preventive medicine. 



130 




1973-74 BASKETBALL CHAMPS 

Winner of the first-place trophy in the Inter-Medical Basketball 
League was PCOM's team, shown above on the steps of Evans Hall. 
Back row (left to right) Frank Guinn. coach: Chuck Kelly. Ted 
Koerner; Bob Pick; John Eisely: John Flinchbaugh and Chris 
Mason. Front row (left to right) Chuck Diakon: Joanne Chinnici, 
scorekeeper and Mike Gallagher, coach. Team members not shown 
include Francis Blais, Bobb Biggs, Dan Einhorn and Bob 
Oristaglio. 



Business, graduating with a B.S. degree. She also 
held a Master of Education degree from the same 
college. An accomplished golfer, she was Women's 
champion of the Torresdale-Frankford Country 
Club. She was a member of the Alpha Zeta chapter of 
Delta Pi Epsilon, the National Honorary professional 
graduate fraternity in education. 

About the same time, Miss Virginia A. Thompson 
was appointed Director of Nursing of the Frederic H. 
Earth Pavilion Hospital. A graduate of St. Hubert's 
High School, Miss Thompson was the recipient of an 
Associate Degree in Nursing from Gwynedd Mercy 
College. She held a B.S. degree from the University 
of Pennsylvania. She then did graduate work at Penn 
while on a two year assignment as a Nursing Super- 
visor at the Barth Pavilion Hospital, after which she 
served as a staff nurse at Georgetown University 
Hospital. 

CLASS OF '76 ENTERS 181 STRONG 

The largest matriculating class in PCOM history 
up to that time was the Class of 1976, 181 strong. 
They assembled as a group for the first time in the 
College auditorium the evening of Thursday, 
September 7, 1972, to receive the annual orientation 




PCOM'S 1973-74 RUGBY .SQIAD 



131 



and preliminary instructions from the College Ad- 
ministration leaders. The "Bicentennial" class, as it 
became known, had several identifying factors which 
added to its distinction. Seventy-five percent of its 
members were from Pennsylvania, representing 26 
of the Commonwealth's counties. Another large 
percentage was from neighboring New Jersey. Four- 
teen were women candidates for D.O. degrees, eleven 
were sons and two were daughters of practicing 
D.O.'s while 27 were veterans of the Armed Services. 
In his address to the group. Dr. Barth reminded 
them, "We must have professional attitudes 
throughout; we pride ourselves on appearances so 
as to make good impressions on the public . . . The 
disciplines the students will undergo, and the self- 
discipline that must come with it, are vital to 
professional and corporate discipline in today's 
professional schools and professional societies." 

Concluding, Dr. Barth mentioned it would be the 
Bicentennial Year graduation class, and that 1972-73 
would also mark the 75th Anniversary of the College. 

All summer long, in 1972, the Laporte Medical 
Center of PCOM, had been working to aid victims of 
the terrible floods that had raged through Penn- 
sylvania in June. It was tropical storm Agnes that 
struck Sullivan and surrounding counties with un- 
precedented rainfall, leaving the area isolated when 
swollen creeks and rivers swept away most of the 
major bridges and whole sections of concrete 
highways. 

Urged upon PCOM's Administration by State 
Health authorities as a means of supplying medical 
and clinical services to smaller towns and rural areas 
not adequately supplied with physicians and 
hospitals, the Rural Primary Health Care and 
Outreach Center, established in September, 1970, 
was the scene of great activity during and after the 
flood disaster. When the storm struck, the Center 
was not yet two years in operation, but everyone in 
the county knew its capabihties. Under the direction 
of Dr. Robert H. Abbott, along with his assistants. 
Dr. Barclay M. Wilson, Dr. Stephen G. Wood, and 
Mrs. Anna Trick, R.N., the Center was well prepared. 
They also had the able assistance of R. Gary Rainey, 
Francis H. Oliver and Chester J. Madzelan, Fourth 
Year student physicians. 

PCOM'S DOCTORS AID MANY STORM 
REFUGEES 

Among the earliest arrivals at the Center were 30 
young girls from the Hemlock Girl Scout Council of 



Harrisburg, who had been camping on the Loyalsock 
Creek. They were fortunate to escape drowning, and 
had arrived wet, frightened and hungry. The Army 
truck convoy that brought them had been only a 
jump ahead of collapsing bridges. The Center ad- 
ministered typhoid shots, and arranged for hotel 
rooms and warm food. All this time Loyalsock Creek 
to the north and its tributaries were tearing down 
bridges at Dushore, Forksville, and Hillsgrove on 
Route 87, spilling campers and trailers into water- 
filled ditches. Along 220 at Sonestown to the south, 
the Muncy River rushed through the town smashing 
homes, flooding streets, yards, and washing away 
substructures of buildings, bridges and roads until 
access to Laporte from that direction was virtually 
impossible. 

Ten elderly Citizens from Sonestown made it, 
however, one woman requiring a typhoid shot and 
sedative. More fugitives arrived from Wilkes-Barre, 
Kingston and Sullivan County towns. Meanwhile 
volunteers from PCOM, led by President Barth, were 
attempting to get through. Though it was five days 
before access highways and bridges were made 
passable for motor vehicles. Dr. Barth's party arrived 
at the height of the flood. Laporte Medical Center 
remained the only major facility for treating flood 
victims in the region. 

Other PCOM students assisted in areas around 
Harrisburg, Wilkes-Barre, Plymouth, and Pottstown, 
the latter being the hardest hit of cities near 
Philadelphia. 

PCOM student volunteers also flew with the Naval 
Air Command out of Horsham, north of Philadel- 
phia, helping to distribute emergency supplies of 
food, medicine and clothing donated by thousands of 
more fortunate citizens. Throughout the long period 
of rehabilitation, the Center continued to assist the 
flood victims and to prevent the outbreak of serious 
disease epidemics. 

DEAN THOMAS' DEATH STUNS ALL AT 
PCOM 

The unexpected passing of Dean Paul H. Thomas 
was widely mourned by PCOM students, faculty and 
alumni. Dean Thomas was only 46 when he died 
suddenly June 18, 1972. A 1955 graduate, Thomas 
had served on the faculty for all but six years spent 
in general practice. He had accumulated membership 
in 24 organizations, with affiliation in many others. 
He was a Post-doctoral Fellow in the National Heart 
Foundation and, concerned with national health care 



132 



requirements, he served with the Department of 
Health, Education and Welfare. He was also on the 
National Board of Examiners for Osteopathic 
Physicians and Surgeons for six years, acted as con- 
sultant to the AOA's Council on Federal Health for a 
year, and continued as HEW consultant. 

During World War H, Paul Thomas joined the 
Marines and helped storm the Japanese stronghold of 
Okinawa. By war's end he had become a sergeant. In 
the Fall of 1951 he entered PCOM after spending 
some time at the University of Pennsylvania. In 
1961 he began teaching at PCOM and he was asked to 
supervise the Clinical clerks program. Meanwhile he 
was continuing postgraduate studies, taking 
physiology at Temple University Graduate School of 
Medicine, and emerging in 1966 with a Ph.D. in 
Physiology and Pharmacology. From 1965 through 
1967 he was Associate Professor in Physiology and 
Pharmacology. Twice during the late '60's he was Co- 
Chairman with Dr. Albert P. Kine, Professor and 
Chairman of Physiological Chemistry, of the 
National Osteopathic Research Conference. Dr. 
Thomas became Associate Dean in 1967, was 
promoted to full Professor and was appointed Dean 
of the PCOM Faculty in June, 1968. 

The new College building was nearing completion 
in early 1973. At the same time, Dr. Barth's nine- 
year dream of a modern apartment building for 
senior citizens came to fruition as the steel 
framework for the $4 million structure rose. Provi- 
sion was being made for 214 efficiency apartments 
and 36 one-bedroom apartments in the 12-story 
building. Completion was scheduled for Spring of 
1974. Located at the corner of Monument Avenue 
and Stout Road on land acquired from Philadelphia 
College of Osteopathic Medicine, the apartment is 
adjacent to the City Line campus and the Barth 
Pavilion Hospital. Officers of the apartment's 
management, under the name of the Overmont Cor- 
poration, a non-profit organization, were Dr. 
Frederic H. Barth, President; Mr. Thomas M. 
Rowland, Jr., Vice President; Dr. Sherwood R. 
Mercer, Secretary; and Mr. John DeAngelis, 
Treasurer. 

PCOM'S 75th ANNIVERSARY BEGINS 

The Founders Day observance held on January 20, 
1973 marked the advent of PCOM's 75th anniversary 
celebration, which was due to continue through 
Commencement of 1974. Dr. Barth bestowed the 
Snyder Memorial medal upon Dr. William F. Daiber, 



for many years Professor and Chairman of the 
Department of Internal Medicine and a PCOM alum- 
nus. Class of 1928. A Fellow in the American College 
of Osteopathic Internists, Dr. Daiber had long been 
active in and honored by this specialty college, while 
also holding citations from the American Heart 
Association and the Pennsylvania Blue Shield, on 
whose Board of Directors he had served since 1955. 
He was Chairman of the Department of Internal 
Medicine from 1951 through 1969, and continued as 
Program Director of Cardiovascular Training at the 
College. 

Dr. Barth closed his address with this pertinent 
comment: 

"The tradition of PCOM— of its Board, Ad- 
ministration, Faculty and Student Body — has been 
that of fostering an independent profession, of 
providing its students with the foundation on which 
to continue those traditions. It will not be easy; it 
will be 'the road less travelled by,' but it is the path 
of the future." 




PCOM'S JUBILEE ANNIVERSARY A WARD 
Congratulated by Exec. Vice Pres. Thomas M. Rowland. Jr. Dr. 
Herman Kohn and Mrs. Kohn admire the O.J. Snyder Memorial 
Medal bestowed upon Dr. Kohn at 75th Annual Dinner as Dr. 
Mercer compliments him. 

The Alumni Association under the leadership then 
of Dr. Robert J. Furey, '52 announced during its 
Board of Directors' meeting Jan. 20, 1973 in Barth 
Pavilion that it was inaugurating a Scholarship loan 
program in behalf of deserving Fourth Year students. 
Five loans of $500 each had already been allocated by 
the Board through its officers. Dr. Furey, President, 
Dr. Charles A. Hemmer '43, Treasurer, and Dr. 
Charles W. Snyder, Jr., Secretary. The Board also 



133 








THE LLOYDS AND LEUZINGERS A T JUBILEE DINNER 

Drs. Paul T. Lloyd and J. Ernest Leuzinger were 50-Year Alumni 
at 75th Anniversary Celebration 

revealed it would have $10,000. available for a con- 
tinuing Alumni Student loan program beginning 
with the 1973 Fall term. 

At this meeting Vice President Rowland stopped in 
at the Alumni Association's luncheon and in warm 
greetings emphasized that, with a fine new campus 
and facilities, the College welcomed the Alumni's in- 
creasing interest in their Alma Mater's affairs. He 
said it was reciprocated by the Administration and 
Faculty, in which a great many PCOM alumni, past 
and present, have continued their connection with 
the College and its Hospitals. 

The Alumni Weekend and Reunions of June 1 - 2, 
1973 added to the "forward look" at PCOM by stag- 
ing an excellent professional program along with the 
Annual Luncheon, Dinner-dance, and rewarding 




those the Board selects for special distinction. The 
Alumni Award went this year posthumously to the 
late Dean Paul H. Thomas, and was delivered to his 
widow after a moving acceptance by Dr. Albert F. 
D'Alonzo. In it he likened the popular and talented 
Dean to "Mr. Chips, moving sympathetically among 
his students, a helper, a friend and guide, never 
relaxing discipline as he accomplished the proper 
objectives." He then read Mrs. Thomas' letter thank- 
ing the Alumni for the Award. 

Fourteen of the remaining 17 living members of 
the 50- Year Reunion Class of 1923 returned, and Dr. 
R. MacFarlane Tilley, New Milford, Conn, in- 
troduced them as Dr. Paul T. Lloyd, Alumni 
Historian, stood beside him. 

There were 252 alumni and their wives at the 
dinner, and 132 at the Saturday luncheon. All were 
enthusiastic over the accredited Professional 
program, "The Drug Scene," Co-Chaired by Drs. 




DR. ALLEN MAKES TABLE VISIT 
Member of Philadelphia City Council. Mrs. Ethel D. Allen '63 with 
husband call on Lt. Gov. and Mrs. Ray Broderick at 75th Anniversary 
Dinner. 



THE 75TH ANNIVERSARY DINNER 
THE HEAD TABLE PROCESSION 

Albert D'Alonzo, C. W. Snyder, Jr., and Galen S. 
Young, Sr. 

Only a few weeks later, on March 3, 1973, the 
move was made from PCOM's old home at 48th and 
Spruce Streets to the ultra-modern College 
classroom, laboratory and Hbrary building on the 
new City Avenue Campus. This was the seventh time 
since its beginnings in rented rooms back in 1889 
that faculty and students, administration and staff, 
had made such a major move, but this time it was not 
a complete changeover. The last move was in 
February 1930. from 19th and Spring Garden Streets 
to the new building at 48th and Spruce. Evans Hall, 
as it would be named, after the late great PCOM 
promoter, was to be dedicated at exercises planned 
for May, 1973. 



134 




75TH JUBILEE ANNIVERSARY 
The Head table with Exec. Vice President Thomas M. Rowland. Jr. at podium: (to his left) Board Chairman Judge J. Svdner Hoffman. 
Mrs. Barth. Vice-President and Mrs. John DeAngelis, Dr. Gladfelter of Temple. Dean England. .4sso. Dean Bradford and their ladies. Held at 
Marriott, City Ave. Feb. 8. 1974 



The moving operation was a considerable under- 
taking, but it was handled smoothly under the able 
direction of Vice President Sherwood Mercer, Dean 
Robert W. England and Vice President John 
DeAngelis. Roswell Paine, Coordinator of Special 
Projects, managed the reception of the properties 
and goods. As it was unloaded, the material was sent 
to the proper office, floor or department. Assisting in 
the procedure were Joseph Gallo. Comptroller; 
Robert D. Fraider, Purchasing Agent; John F. 
Gallen, Jr., Superintendent of Buildings and 
Grounds; Charles Diehl, College Accountant; and 
Herbert Dibble, Personnel. 

f^EW TEACHING TECHNIQUES 
INAUGURATED 

A new departure in teaching technique, in line 
with advances around the country in audio-visual 
methods, was introduced in the Department of 
Physiology and Pharmacology in 1973. A lecture en- 
titled "The Pharmacology of Tranquilizers and 



Sedatives" was given in the college lounge via televi- 
sion. In charge of the program was John Rudolph, a 
skilled technician working under Roger Bacharach, 
who was directing the photography, art work and 
assembling of video tapes. This was "exhibit A" of 
what was being done to meet the increasing need of 
instructional channels in an age where demand was 
far outrunning the supply. This particular lecture 
was taped in December, 1972. Using equipment from 
the Department of Osteopathic Principles and Prac- 
tice, which under Dr. Robert England and his staff 
pioneered audio-visual instruction during the 
preceding year. Dr. Bradford's department began in 
mid-summer to assemble material. Dr. Bradford 
provided dialog and spoke without notes, script or a 
single interruption. He envisioned rapidly increasing 
use of this type of teaching, as he believed such tapes 
could be loaned to students and played like cassettes 
on home sets. 

Recognition of PCOM graduate. Dr. William E. 
Betts, Jr., '56, came in the form of the degree of 



135 



Fellow awarded by the American College of 
Osteopathic Surgeons at their 45th Annual Clinical 
Assembly of Osteopathic Specialists in Atlanta, Ga. 
in 1973. Dr. Betts' citation read in part: "William E. 
Betts, Jr., D.O., Lancaster, Pa. ... a radiologist 
whose skills in his chosen specialty field of practice 
have not only greatly increased the scope of the 
Department of Radiology, Lancaster Osteopathic 
Hospital, but whose knowledge has been shared 
locally and nationally, aiding in the continuing 
education of those privileged to work with him at all 
levels . . . admired by his peers and held in their high 
esteem for his precision, skills, scholarship and in- 
tegrity." 

Another '56 graduate, Dr. J. Harris Joseph of the 
Tri-County Hospital in Springfield, Pa. was also 
given a Fellowship by the American College of 
Osteopatic Surgeons. Dr. Joseph had gone to London 
in 1960 to study at the Royal Cancer Hospital. He 
was responsible for initiating cancer-screening 
programs in Osteopathic medical institutions 
throughout Pennsylvania. 

Two deaths that saddened the PCOM community 
in late 1972 and early 1973 represented important 
losses to the College. Dr. Earl R. Yeomens died 
suddenly at his home in Mt. Airy on January 5. Al- 
though he was in his 77th year he had been active to 
the very last. For 25 years he had been Athletic 
Director and from 1957 Vice President of Temple 
University. In 1958 he became a member of PCOM's 
Board of Directors, a post he held until his death. 

Long a teacher and Associate Professor of 
Anatomy at PCOM, Dr. Blanche Clow Allen passed 
away in Massachusetts December 26. She was 71. 
For many years she was assistant to Dr. Angus 
Cathie; together they had taught anatomy to many 
hundreds, including a number of the College faculty 
members, one of whom was Dean Robert W. Eng- 
land. 

1973 COMMENCEMENT IN ACADEMY 
OF MUSIC 

When the 1973 class of 137 graduates convened 
for Commencement exercises on June 3 for the first 
time in the Academy of Music, they heard Dr. 
Earth's remarks delivered by Vice President 
Sherwood R. Mercer. Seated on the stage. Dr. Barth 
listened as his message was read to the assemblage: 

"I have been ill, as many of you know, for several 
months. I wish now to thank those of the faculty and 
staff who have so skillfully and understandably taken 



care of me. No one could have received better care 
than I received and I am grateful for it. 

"I wish also to thank the members of the Board, of 
the administration and faculty who have so un- 
selfishly and effectively carried on in my 
absence ... It has been a source of strength and 
comfort to me to know that my loyal colleagues have 
been conducting PCOM's affairs in order to advance 
its program, enhance its standing and contribute to 
the forward movement of the osteopathic 
profession." 

The Board of Directors is conscious of its respon- 
sibilities and dedicated to the development of the 
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine as one 
of the great schools of medical learning in the United 
States. 

To that end we are co-ordinating our efforts and 
co-operating in every way with the administration, 
the staff, the faculty and the students. This is not 
mere rhetoric or a fanciful dream but a realistic ap- 
praisal of our potential. 




JUDGE J. SYDNEY HOFFMAN 



136 



As Chairman of the PCOM Board of Directors, 
Judge J. Sydney Hoffman conducted the traditional 
conferring of an Honorary degree at the Commence- 
ment exercises. In presenting Executive Vice Presi- 
dent Thomas M. Rowland, Jr. for the Doctor of Laws 
degree. Dr. Mercer said: 

"You have played a major role in 
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine's 
life for one-third of the College's existence. You 
have as Director of Admissions admitted 1,848 
men and women to membership in the great os- 
teopathic profession. You have, as Registrar and 
as Vice President for Administration, daily 
helped to shape the College's life and the direc- 
tion of its destiny. You have been, as counselor 
and friend, a great help to hundreds of students 
in ways only each of them knows. 

"Above all stands your character and your in- 
terest in and deep concern for people. All who 
have known you and worked with you have felt 
the reassurance of your presence, your support 
and your advice. 

"You have built an enviable career of your 
sense of the importance of each person, you 
loyalty to the Osteopathic profession and your 
dedication and deep devotion to PCOM." 

In delivering the main address for Commence- 
ment, Judge Hoffman began by summing up the 
Earth Era, with special attention to the decade of the 
1960's, which brought about the new City avenue 
campus and its recently-dedicated Evans Hall, along 
with the 250-bed teaching hospital. Earth Pavilion. 
In a proud reference to PCOM's rise from a two- 
room beginning in the Stephen Girard building in 
1899, the Judge summed up its growth as it ap- 
proached its 75th Anniversary: He said: 

"Enrollment has more than doubled since 
1960 when there were 302 students. That 
enrollment now is 625 and next year will be 672. 
By 1980 we expect that there will be well over 
1,000 students at PCOM and fully 70 percent of 
the graduates will be serving communities in 
general practice. We would be remiss if we did 
not acknowledge those people and groups who 
made this possible. 

"There are many great names in the pan- 
theon of leaders of this College — 0. J. Snyder 
and Mason Pressley, the founders; Deans Flack, 
Holden, Dr. Evans, Dr. Eaton and John Keck 
(Chairman of the Board during the Depression). 
"Standing sholder to shoulder with them is a 
man whose vision, courage and tenacity have 
spearheaded the most recent dramatic 
growth ... I refer to . . . Dr. Frederic H. 
Barth. . . . We are all in his debt and pray for 
his speedy recovery. 



PCOM's 75th Anniversary Year 1974 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 
J. SYDNEY HOFFMAN, Chairman 
GEORGE D. MANSFIELD, Vice-Chairman 
THOMAS M. ROWLAND, JR., Secretary 
JOHN DEANGELIS. Treasurer 

FREDERIC H. BARTH 
ELMER C. CARLL 
JOHN MORGAN DAVIS 
WILLIAM J. DAVIS 
ROBERT C. ERWIN 
B. T. BAILEY FLACK 
WILLIAM C. FLANDERS 
PAUL H. HATCH 
E. JOHN HESKETH 
GLENN J. HOFFMAN 
RICHARD S. KOCH 
HERMAN KOHN 
J. ERNEST LEUZINGER 
WILLIAM J. MCCARTER 
LEON MELTZER 
JAMES H. REID 
SAMUEL J. ROBERTS 
REED SPEER 
MORTIMER J. SULLIVAN 
FOSTER C. TRUE 




PCOM'S WELL BREAST CLINIC 
Dr. Paul T. Lloyd. Professor Emeritus in Radiology, and for 
years head of that Department, nou' devotes himself to studying and 
researching as he conducts the Well Breast clinic at the 48th St. 
Health Care Center. 



137 



L^ 'imp 




Upper left: Typical Emergency room procedure with senior students observing cardio-respiratory examination by Dr. John Gianforte, '64, Supevisor of 
West Center clinic since 1970. Dr. Eleanor V. Maslerson, '57. Director of the Health Care Center in the newly renovated and modernized old College-Hospital 
building at 48th and Spruce Sts. has stepped in to check patient s condition. Watching, left to right. Stephen Krathen. Kenneth A. Morris, Mitchel Edetstein, 
Jerry Cohen, and Samuel Manfrey, all members of graduating class. 

Upper right: Dr. Masterson prepares to take EKG of patient Mrs. Margaret Green, while Nurse Harriet Riggins assists. 

Center: Dr. Masterson at her desk in Hospital side, first floor of West Philadelphia Health Care Center. 

Lower left: The Clinic maintains a complete, and updated case records room. Here Dr. Masterson is checking over a patient's earlier history, .it right 
Mehlika Balkan, a Turkish student learning the clinic records, runs the desk. David Cooley, senior, stops to make a call. 

Lower right: This average morning brings Chief Nurse Mrs. Rosalie Clark's granddaughter, Nikki Lee. into the pediatrics room to check her weight 
progress. 



138 



This was the largest class to graduate up to that 
time, exceeding by 12 the number graduating in 
1972. They had completed their course just as the 
newly constructed Evans Hall was dedicated and put 
into service. 

The Hall's dedication ceremonies had been held on 
May 31, 1973, and the sophisticated $6 million 
building for classrooms, laboratories, lecture halls 
and hbrary was a fitting memorial to the late Dr. H. 
Walter Evans, physician, teacher, and a lifelong 
leader in PCOM's expansion and development. Dr. 
Frederic H. Barth attended the ceremonies; this 
was his first public appearance after his long illness. 
President Earth's greetings, read by Vice President 
Sherwood R. Mercer, emphasized Dr. Evans' great 
contribution to the progress of the College. Exec. 
Vice President Rowland presided. Later Dr. Barth 
posed with Dr. Evans' portrait, as the late physi- 
cian's two sons stood beside the oil painting. 

Representing the PCOM Board of Directors, 
Chairman Judge J. Sydney Hoffman, Superior Court 
of Pennsylvania, declared, "Nowhere in American 
government is there a more effective instrument 
than Pennsylvania's General State Authority, and I 
am happy to publicly express the gratitude of PCOM 
for its aid here and in keeping Pennsylvania in the 




A T THE 75TH ANNIVERSAR Y DINNER 
Executive Vice President Thomas M. Roidand, Jr., with Ms. 
Catherine Cairone. talk with former Governor George Leader and Mrs. 
Frederic H. Barth prior to program at which Gov. Leader delivered the 
main address. 



forefront of higher education in this country." He 
closed by saying that the College hoped soon to ex- 
pand Evans Hall in order that the entire didactic 
program could be concentrated there. 'The Frederic 
H. Barth Pavilion and H. Walter Evans Hall are sym- 
bols of PCOM's new tomorrow," he said. 

The 75th Founders Day ceremonies included the 
traditional pilgrimage to Dr. 0. J. Snyder's resting 
place in West Laurel Hill Cemetery, where a large 
group representing the College and student body paid 
homage. 

The 75th Anniversary dinner was held in the 
Marriott across City ave. with 700 in black tie and 
formal dress attending. Dr. Rowland presided, in- 
troducing more than 40 guests. Former Governor 
George Leader recalled events from 1955 when he 
first became aware that PCOM was receiving no 
State aid. He credited Dr. Barth with obtaining the 
first appropriation, and commended his leadership, 
after ten years obtaining parity with other medical 
schools in Pennsylvania. He complimented the 
College in more than doubling its enrollment (302 to 
709 since 1957) and by 1978 expected 1,000 
students. And, most important, the former Governor 
had ascertained that 75 percent of PCOM's graduates 
were becoming general practitioners, many of them 
"right here in Pennsylvania." 

Dr. Millard Gladfelter, Chancellor of Temple 
University, confined his remarks to its part in 
providing its share of the Commonwealth's annual 
$1.2 billions in health care. He said PCOM was doing 
its part in seeking out communities of 50,000 or less 
in population in which clinics, hospitals, and 
physicians are badly needed. He said its Rural Health 
Outreach and Training center in LaPorte, Sullivan 
county "could well be a model for significant reshap- 
ing the delivery of health care to less populated 
areas." 

As the 75th Anniversary Year of PCOM ap- 
proached, the Alumni Board of Directors voted to 
participate in plans for various celebrations, and to 
publish the history of PCOM. When the Founder's 
Day program was held on February 8. 1974, the 
event took place in Evans Hall, and it marked the 
first major function of the 75th Anniversary com- 
memoration. Presiding was the recently appointed 
Executive Vice President of PCOM, Dr. Thomas M. 
Rowland, Jr. Dr. Herman Kohn was the recipient of 
the O.J. Snyder Medal at this historic program. Dr. 
Herman Kohn, for many years in the surgery depart- 
ment, reviewed his 50 years in PCOM's service. 



139 



Judge Hoffman spoke in place of ailing Dr. Barth. Dr. 
Sherwood R. Mercer conducted the memorial ser- 
vice, reading the names of those who passed away 
since the past Founder's day — Dr. Albert P. Khne, 
popular Chemistry Professor; Dr. Donald B. Thor- 
burn, 50-year alumnus and G.P.; Dr. H. Willard 
Sterrett Jr., '34, Professor of Urology; and Dr. Paul 
Barsky, '47, head of the Courtesy and Consultation 
staff, Internal Medicine. 



DR. DAIBEWS INSPIRING REVIEW 
AND PREVIEW 

For PCOM, the promise of the '70's was perhaps 
best expressed by Dr. William F. Daiber in the ad- 
dress he delivered when he received the coveted 0. J. 
Snyder Medal: 



"Now, in this year of our 75th anniversary, with a 
wealth of tradition, physical assets, leadership, 
technical and skilled personnel, we have the most 
promising outlook we have ever had. Our present 
status and image is due to the entire past, but we are 
extremely grateful to the present administration for 
its tremendous accomplishments. Our professional 
stature is at highest level, and is certain to increase. 
The greatness of an institution is commensurate with 
the greatness of its leaders and their co-workers: — in 
this case the board of directors, faculty, staff, and 
student body. 

"It is with great pride our institution carries on 
with its medical education and health service 
program. We are grateful for the blessings of God 
which have been continuous, and I hope we may 
continue to deserve His blessings." 













MEMORIAL WREATH ON FOUNDER'S GRAVE 
Traditional Visit to Dr. O.J.Snyder's grave in snowv W^est Laurel Hill Cemetery by large delegation for 75th Founder's Day. 

Front roiv, l-r: Dr. Mercer, Judge Hoffman. Dr. C. W. Snyder. Jr.. Dr. Rowland. Dr. Lloyd. Dr. Feinstein, Mrs. Barth, Vice Pres. 
DeAngelis, Mrs. Joan Moore, Dean England, Cy Peterman. At rear are Class and Student Council Presidents. 



140 



PATRONS 



ADMINISTRATION 
Dr. & Mrs. Frederic H. Barth 
Dr. Thomas M. Rowland, Jr. 
Dr. & Mrs. Sherwood R. Mercer 
Mr. & Mrs. John DeAngehs 
Mr. & Mrs. Paul J. Gebert 
Mrs. Margaret F. Ferguson 
Mr. Ivan H. (Cy) Peterman 
Mrs. Anthony T. Meli 

1909 
Dr. Frederick A. Beale 

1912 
Dr. Charles J. Van Ronk 

1921 
Dr. M.J. Sullivan 

1923 
Dr. R. McFarlane Tilley 

1924 
Dr. Lilla Lancey 
Dr. Lois S. Goorley Wood 

1925 
Dr. Louisa B. Smith 
Dr. William S. Spaeth 
Dr. Theodore W. Van De Sande 
Dr. Ruth H. Winant 

1926 
Dr. Earl H. Gedney 
Dr. William B. Strong 
Dr. Edna K. Williams 

7927 
Dr. Joseph Calafiore 
Dr. & Mrs. Henry B. Herbst 
Dr. Herman Kohn 
Dr. Joseph A. Sullivan 

1928 
Dr. John E. Devine 
Dr. Walter R. O'Neal 
Dr. Walter P. Spill 

1929 
Dr. Paul Baldridge 

1930 
Dr. Charles J. Karibo 
Dr. Harold 0. Lyman 
Dr. Richard T. Parker 

1931 
Dr. B.T. Bailey Flack 
Dr. & Mrs. Charles W. Sauter 
Dr. Harry A. Sweeney 

1932 
Dr. Frank A. Beidler 
Dr. Harry E. Friberg 
Dr. Linford L.B. Hoffman 



Dr. Edward S. Prescott 

Dr. & Mrs. George S. Robinson 

Dr. George B. Stineman 

Dr. Marion Van Ronk 

Dr. William B. Wilson 

1933 
Dr. Julius E. Levine 
Dr. & Mrs. Charles W. Snyder, Jr. 
Dr. Rachel A. Witmyer 

1934 
Dr. & Mrs. Clarence E. Baldwin 
Dr. Charles P. Dickerman 
Dr. F. Adelaide Farrand 
Dr. Harrison H. Gerow 
Dr. & Mrs. Kirk L. Hilliard 
Dr. Milan Kuna 
Dr. Stephen Szalay 

1935 
Dr. Charles H. Black 
Dr. Charles E. Burrows 
Dr. Crawford A. Butterworth 
Dr. Louis Garfield 
Dr. L. Stowell Gary 
Dr. Ida C. Schmidt 
Dr. K. George Tomajan 
Dr. & Mrs. Warren J.E. Tucker 
Dr. Charles F. Winton 
Dr. & Mrs. Galen S. Young 

1936 
Dr. Ferd C. Gettler 
Dr. George H. Guest 
Dr. & Mrs. William A. Jeffrey 
Dr. Philip M. Lessig 
Dr. H. Cory Walling 
Dr. Robert F. Wiegel 

1937 
Dr. Robert D. Barnes 
Dr. & Mrs. Charles Battalino 
Dr. & Mrs. H. Paul Bellew 
Dr. & Mrs. Lemar F. Eisenhut 
Dr. M. Stephen Lamia 
Dr. Theodore C. Loux 
Dr. Henry J. Maciejewski 
Dr. & Mrs. Reed Speer 

1938 
Dr. William H. Behringer, Jr. 
Dr. Ruth V. Waddel Cathie 
Dr. Dewaine L. Gedney 
Dr. Elias Kaggen 
Dr. Richard S. Koch 
Dr. Harry P. Scally 
Dr. Emanuel M. Viscusi 



1939 
Dr. Marvin E. Blumberg 
Dr. Brant W. Ditmore 
Dr. Fred A. Gedney 
Dr. & Mrs. Richard B. Lentz 
Dr. C. Wayne McClintock 
Dr. George W. Northup 
Dr. T. Louise Riddell 
Dr. Raymond L. Ruberg 
Dr. Ralph J. Tomei 

1940 
L. Roy Dunkelberger 
Margaret Hassett 
D.F. Hassett 
William G. Morris 
Robert S. Roscoe 
John W. Sheetz. Jr. 
Keanneard T. Steigleman 
Elizabeth M. Strathie 



Dr. 
Dr. 
Mr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 

Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 

Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Mr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 

Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 

Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr. 
Dr, 
Dr, 
Dr, 
Dr 
Dr 

Dr 
Dr 



1941 

David Cragg 

Morton Greenwald 

David Silverman 
1942 

Miguel Alvarado 

Daniel B. Bond 

& Mrs. Spencer G. Bradford 
. Charles J. Stukafether 

Stanley Dorman 

A. Archie Feinstein 
. John Legnosky 

Alexander W. Mazerski 

Roberta C. Root 

A. Leon Smeyne 
1943 

Clyde C. Henry 

Anthony S. Jannelli 

Wesley C. Luther 

Donald I. Phillips 

William Scott 

1944 (JAN) 

Morris J. Cherry 

Ravmond E. Dietz 

J. Barton Freedman 

David Heilig 

& Mrs. Charles R. Kaelber 

Seymour G. Kaufman 

Edward B. Parris 

Paul Scherba 

Sidnev Slotkin 

1944 I OCT) 

Salvatore .\quila 

Albert Bonier 



141 



Dr. Richard H. Bornian 

Dr. Wesley V. Boudette 

Dr. Charles B. Flack 

Dr. Sidney Kochman 

Dr. & Mrs. Jerome H. Kohn 

1945 
Dr. Leonard R. Becker 
Dr. John A. Cifala 
Dr. Max Marcus 
Dr. Samuel V. Origlio 
Dr. Morton Terry 

1946 
Dr. & Mrs. Paul Alloy 
Dr. Harry E. Elston, Jr. 
Dr. Harold H. Finkel 
Dr. & Mrs. Daniel M. Finkelstein 
Dr. Michael R. Gallo 
Dr. Harold Kirsh 
Dr. Murry E. Levyn 
Dr. Jane Morris 
Dr. Harold H. Polan 
Dr. & Mrs. Herman E. Poppe 
Dr. Benjamin Schreiber 
Dr. Marvin P. Simon 

1947 
Dr. & Mrs. Samuel L. Caruso 
Dr. Andrew DeMasi 
Dr. & Mrs. Saul Kanoff 
Mr. Richard Kanoff 
Dr. Seymour S. Segal 
Dr. & Mrs. Warren W. Williams 

1948 
Dr. Michael Belkoff 
Dr. Alfred Grilli 
Dr. Allen Kleederman 
Dr. John J. Molinari 

1949 
Dr. Joseph E. Kunkle 
Dr. Leonard Wallner 
Dr. Joseph Zamot 

1950 
Dr. & Mrs. Theodore .4snis 
Dr. Charles Breuninger 
Dr. Stanley S. Brownstein 
Dr. Joseph Chaikin 
Dr. Abraham S. Cooper 
Dr. Clare W. Elliott 
Dr. William Fisher 
Dr. Meyer Kirshbaum 
Dr. William Martz 
Dr. Richard D. Mayer 
Dr. Samuel H. Rubinstein 
Dr. Murray Schreiber 
Dr. Benjamin Serota 

1951 
Dr. Bernard Abramson 
Dr. Irvin J. Angert 
Dr. Thomas F. Carney 
Dr. L. Kenneth Cook 



Dr. Thomas M. Easton 
Dr. Arthur L. Feldman 
Dr. & Mrs. John A. Fidler 
Dr. & Mrs. Martin J. Raber 
Dr. James J. Riviello 
Dr. Sidney Weiss 

1952 
Dr. Joseph Azelvandre 
Dr. Edwin S. Carlin 
Dr. Lloyd Eslinger 
Dr. Frank Falbey 
Dr. Bernard Fisher 
Dr. & Mrs. Robert J. Furey 
Dr. Paul R. Galutia 
Dr. N. Harry Gartzmann 
Dr. William E. Junius 
Dr. Hyman Kanoff 
Dr. Morton H. Rothstein 
Dr. & Mrs. Harry Rubenstein 
Dr. Norman Rudin 
Dr. Sidney Snyder 
Dr. & Mrs. Daniel Varroney 
Dr. Harold Walmer 

79.5.3 
Dr. Jack J. Brill 
Dr. & Mrs. John E. Brooks 
Dr. Gustave V. Conti 
Dr. Jennings B. Joye 
Dr. Marvin M. Keagy 
Dr. Estelle S. Loeb 
Dr. Leonard S. Papel 
Dr. James H. Quarles 
Dr. Joseph C. Sabato 
Dr. Benjamin C. Scharf 
Dr. & Mrs. Morton Silver 

1954 
Patricia Attarian 
Dr. Roderick C. Cannatella 
Dr. Richard K. Chambers 
Dr. Robert B. Davies 
Dr. Philip K. Evans 
Dr. & Mrs. Emil M. Felski 
Dr. John J. Flaherty 
Dr. Earl A. Gabriel 
Dr. William G. McDowell 
Dr. Abraham L. Price 
Dr. Norman Rudolph 
Dr. & Mrs. Meyer R. Sonneborn 
Dr. Harold Teplitz 

1955 
Dr. \^"alter A. Fox 
Dr. David Kernis 
Dr. David B. McClain 
Dr. William D. Mitchell 
Dr. Joseph L. Muscarella 
Dr. James Powell 
Dr. Leonard J. Tierno 
Dr. E. Noble Wagner 
Dr. Emerick Yost, Jr. 



Dr. Herbert L. Zigerman 

7956 

Dr. William E. Betts Jr. 

Dr. Robert W. Capitain 

Dr. John C. Crawford 

Dr. Albert F. D'Alonzo 

Dr. Alvin D. Dubin 

Dr. Robert W. England 

Dr. F. Jay Friedlin 

Dr. Robinson G. Fry 

Dr. Rodney T. Jacobsen 

Dr. Frederick J. Jaeger 

Dr. Robert L. Meals 

Dr. S. Paul Sadick 

Dr. & Mrs. Paul S. Snoke 

Dr. Richard K. Snyder 

Dr. Alexander D. Xenakis 

Dr. Warren C. Young, Jr. 

Dr. Joseph Yurkanin 

Dr. Frank F. Zaccardi 

Dr. Abraham Zellis 

7957 

Dr. Daniel H. Belsky 

Dr. Stanley W. Bilski 

Dr. Jerome I. Flicker 

Dr. Richard D. Hockstein 

Dr. Eleanor V. Masterson 

Dr. Harry N. Pepe 

Dr. Elliott B. Port 

Dr. William A. Schmidt 

Dr. Jerome H. Sulman 

Dr. Salvatore Vasile 

Dr. Paul W. Weiss 

7955 

Dr. Michael C. Di Marcangelo 

Dr. Francis A. Fucile 

Dr. Donald J. Greenspan 

Dr. Anton F. Kilonsky 

Dr. ^ illiam H. Levin 

Dr. R. Dale McCormick 

Dr. Gerald I. Ringold 

Dr. Emil E. Schnellbacher 

Dr. Hubert M. Stravrand 

Dr. A. Andrew Trimble 

7959 

Dr. Joseph Glickel 

Dr. & Mrs. Ronald Goldberg 

Dr. John A. Kelly. Jr. 

Dr. & Mrs. Lawrence Manin 

Dr. & Mrs. Stanley L. .Miller 

Dr. Tomulyss Moody 

Dr. Charles J. Neun, Jr. 

Dr. Ralph F. Otten 

Dr. John R. Scott 

Dr. Michael Sutula 

7960 
Dr. Nazzareno S. Bernardi 
Dr. ^'illiam L. Bollman 
Dr. Francis C. Collins 



142 



Dr. James H. Coretti 

Dr. Joseph V. Koehler 

Dr. Floyd Krengel 

Dr. & Mrs. Harry L. Moskowitz 

Dr. George J. Pappas 

Dr. Theodore R. Racciatti 

Dr. Oscar F. Rothchild 

Dr. Raymond J. Saloom 

Dr. Marvin E. Sultz 

1961 
Dr. Harrison F. Aldrich 
Dr. Stanley Z. Berger 
Dr. & Mrs. Robert G. Bowman 
Dr. Elizabeth B. Hughes 
Dr. Ferdinand T. Manlio 
Dr. Samuel R. Mowery 
Dr. Thomas E. Murray 
Dr. Floyd J. Pearman 
Dr. Carl R. Spease 
Dr. Donald R. Stoltz 
Dr. Harold F. White 

1962 
Dr. Peter Cocco 
Rev. George T. Gruman, D.D. 
Kathryn Brinsko 
Dr. Robert J. Lewis 
Dr. Robert S. Maurer 
Dr. Lawrence Nessman 
Dr. Robert A. Renza 
Dr. Seymour Schlossberg 
Dr. Paul A. VanHouten 

7963 
Dr. Joel P. Amidon 
Dr. Anthony Cincotta 
Dr. & Mrs. Allen C. Lahey 
Dr. Theodore W. Michell 
Dr. Norman B. Richter 
Dr. & Mrs. Melvyn E. Smith 
Dr. John W. Stathakis 

1964- 
Dr. Paul G. Kushner 
Dr. Ann-Judith M. Roberto 
Dr. David J. Silverstein 



7965 
Dr. Robert A. Ball 
Dr. Thomas H. Henderson 
Dr. Vincent G.J. Lobo, Jr. 
Dr. William Luzinger 
Dr. Gerald L. Melamut 
Dr. Constantine W. Michell 
Dr. Roy N. Pasker 
Dr. & Mrs. Galen D. Young 
Dr. Michael Yurkanin 

7966 
Dr. James H. Barker 
Dr. John J. Bittman 
Dr. Ronald A. Kirschner 
Dr. Clayton Lindemuth 
Dr. Merrill J. Mirman 
Dr. Thomas A. Quinn 
Mr. Harry J. Schultz, Jr. 
Dr. Pauline M.D. Schultz 
Dr. Kerwin H. Seiden 
Dr. William H. Sidow 
Croydon Family Health Center 
Dr. & Mrs. Jack Silvers 
Jeff Silvers 
Renee Silvers 
Jonathan Silvers 
Deanne Silvers 

7967 
Dr. Joseph A. Ackil 
Dr. Donald E. Asbel 
Dr. Gerald J. Corr 
Dr. Philip L. Ehrig 
Dr. John E. Gdowik 
Dr. Kirk R. Hilliard 
Dr. Peter J. Nicolazzo 
Dr. Louis J. Totani 
Dr. William Vilensky 

1968 
Dr. Ronald E. Ayers 
Dr. T. Fred Bear 
Dr. Amanda C.T. Blount 
Dr. George L. Bradlev, Jr. 
Dr. James L. Harris 
Dr. Howard R. Levy 



Dr. Charles A. Mauriello 

7969 
Dr. Robert A. Barnes 
Dr. & Mrs. William M.L Barrett 
Dr. David A. Bevan 
Dr. Alan J. Biczak 
Dr. John V. Cady 
Dr. A. Clifton Cage 
Dr. Robert D. Ligorsky 
Dr. John G. Shutack 
Dr. Barclay M. Wilson 
Dr. James E. Witt, Jr. 

7970 
Dr. Michael J. Chaffier 
Dr. Thomas P. Devlin 
Dr. Joseph C. Gallagher 
Dr. Edward A. Metz 
Dr. Robert T. Motsay 
Dr. Joel J. Rock 
Dr. Albert Sine 
Dr. John J. Wasniewski, Jr. 

7977 
Dr. David J. Kendall 
Dr. Elvin L. Martin 
Dr. William M. Novelli 
Dr. Gerard M. Papp 
Dr. & Mrs. Robert R. Speer 

7972 
Dr. & Mrs. William J. Croff 
Dr. Michael G. Johanson 
Lieut. Clayton D. Lanphear, HI 

MC, USNR 
Dr. Arthur H. Manus 
Dr. D. Wesley Minteer 
Dr. A. Iain Narraway 
Dr. Norman Pollock 
Dr. Richard L. Siren 

7973 
Dr. John M. Ferretti 
Dr. Barry M. Krein 
Dr. Richard F. Lutinski 
Dr. Arthur S. Piatt 
Dr. Michael J. Slavin 
Dr. John S. Stevens 



143 



I